Negative Image Hurting Proton Sales

Look at all the unsold parked cars in Proton’s factory in Shah Alam. Manufacturing capacity doesn’t seem to be a problem for Proton. The problem is selling all the cars.

Picture by Bloomberg.

Somehow Proton does not realise that it’s declining sales are because the we, the rakyat are sick of them shortchanging us on the quality control issues. The export market Protons are of so much higher quality than ours. Proton Persona vs. Proton Wira. Anyone would take the Persona anyday. Proton used to hold 60% of the auto industry but it’s share dropped to 44% last year, a steady decline from 48% in 2003.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Harry on Jun 14, 2005 at 11:36 pm

That is why I dont understand why proton took so long to change its supplier for power window. And even that they have to resort to TUV to get rid of the bad suppliers. Hack, you dont need TUV. All you need to do is LISTEN to your customers NOT your SUPPLIERS.

I read somewhere that these lousy suppliers got political connection but in an open market, your products will suffer… and suffer badly! No surprise that malaysians prefer the other car!

• MKT 101 on Jun 15, 2005 at 12:53 am

How to sell a bad product like Proton cars?

Don worry, even with limited choice, there's enough stupid customers out there to buy bad products. There are "Stupid Poor" & "Stupid Rich" buyers. Also there are "Smart Poor" & "Smart Rich" buyers. Their name speak for itself.

So in any market, these 4 buyers type always exist. Well up to Proton to grap which group of buyers n we as potent buyers…wanna fall in which group..? Price? Quality? Both? None?

• shame on proton to get this kind of report by foreigner, may be the leadership was in the wrong hand & emphasis only $$ but poor quality. Even new savvy, still cannot get good sound quality when closing the door . When you close the door, just feel like ordinary cheap proton car with the noisy 'pam' sound to close the door, not like MyVi you can feel it likes Toyota car. I think TUV only control the manufacturing defects but the poor plastic quality still the same. same material, what TUV or … also get same result. poor material's car. Guys agree with me. Buy Lotus shares get technologies but quality, NO. Making shame to Lotus too, to put 'tuned by Lotus'. For Hyundai in leadership of right hand they not only built car even super giant ship which created world fastest delivery record. I saw Hyundai history in the discovery channel, they are great. But luckly, we still have perodua as our nation car maker.

• Huyndai first car, the Pony, Korea's first independently designed and manufactured model was first unveiled in 1974! Huyndai is in fact a lot older the Proton.

• Zhj: until recently Hyundai has still been using Mitsubishi engines in their cars.

• When somebody quoted "WAJA" as so far is okay. I would like to clarify and change their view. Thus far, my 2002 WAJA 1.6 A have changed the following manufacturing defect parts :

1) Air-con switch X 2

2) Door Handle X 2

3) Side wing mirror (Black paint peel off) X 2 sides, recently LHS side mirror black paint about to peel off again)

4) Wiper motor X 1

5) Glove box handle X 1

6) Repainted FR passenger door (Lack of 1 layer of paint)

Potential Proton owner, will you consider to buy Proton/WAJA? For me, "No turning Back".

• Disgusted Proton own on Jun 15, 2005 at 7:49 am

I am driving a Proton Iswara 1.3S sedan (Year 2000 model). It is about 5 years old now and I can tell you the quality is lousy. Water seeped inside the boot from both rear lights, the air-con compressor was damaged after 3 years 6 months, the speedometer stopped working after 4 years 4 months and now the fuel gauge needle dances up and down! Now that's Proton's quality. I bought a Proton because I couldn't afford to buy Japanese or Korean cars. If I have the money, I won't buy a Proton. I can tell you the quality is lousy and the spare parts are expensive. My next car definitely won't be a Proton. Maybe I will buy the Chevrolet Aveo sedan if it is available in Malaysia. Even the Perodua Myvi's quality is better than Proton Savvy. Proton Savvy aka Potong Sawi is really crap!

• akari on Jun 15, 2005 at 8:24 am

omg… they still did't realise the fact of their lose still blame other's?? why perodua as local carmaker did't blame others leh?

*Gen2 consider small car meh? hmm

• Wilfred on Jun 15, 2005 at 4:16 pm

True on facts…but as we can see…the government or the authorities do not seems to accept the fact…and continue with their protection scheme…anyday…the Proton will collapse…if they still won't change their attitude….its just time matter

• beegfoot on Jun 15, 2005 at 4:21 pm

I agree with most that proton builds the most unreasonable quality cars out there – be it in any market! I am still maintaining my 21 year old Mitsubishi Galant 1600 – done over 400K with it and never encountered any "reliability" or "quality" issues.

Proton? Don't think I've heard of it in my vocab! Perodua – yes, why not!

• i agree with View's comment that no turning back to proton! my family used to have proton 1.5 sedan before, after 10years, i think the quality will improve but then my new wira aeroback special edition… dissapointed me!! delivery also the worst. When you order for such colour for manual transmission then after waiting for 1 1/2 month then still no stock but they said have other colour or other mode (auto mode). Shame on proton delivery effeciency also. Even when they claim have so much colour but till the end they only come out 1 or 2 colour only. Then if you insist, then you have to wait & wait… For me that's enough for proton!! 1 more thing is the service center. No proper standard at all, engine tuning with hearing only (no equipment), not able to perform aircon check, type alignment… some center may have but some do not. lousy standard for the mechanics also. After few times, the problem still there. Even my friend's new iswara also same, when go to outside mechanic, 1 time already settle the problem. Labor changes so high then lousy job done, do you still want to go to the service center after the 10kkm service (free labor charge until 10kkm?

• Rachmaninov on Jun 15, 2005 at 8:15 pm

Proton needs the courage to admit their failure. Enough of those absurd excuses quoted by the "Godfather" which insulting the wisdom of Malaysian again and again. Look at Mitsubishi, they change almost the entire high-level managing crew after the scandal of car defect problem broke in March, 2004, and took several strong remedial measures to protect their brand and to save consumer trust. What have Proton done besides complaining? We are in the era where market is controlled by consumer. If Proton keeps on living in their own ivory tower, it is foreseeable that someday, they will become history. Anyone who is interested in the Mitsubishi Scandal, I have put the story (reported by TIME) here:

• Rachmaninov on Jun 15, 2005 at 8:19 pm

Sorry…the link is here.

• proton is a shame to all of the malaysian

so let's us boycott it from now onwards

15 years old model like wira or 10 years old model like satria selling at 50k+++ …wow only those stupid buyers will go buy them now!!!juz stop buying proton cars now ..they will die one day

• proton is like cheap imitation products….ahhahaa…like adidas change to adibas..proton is cover by politician

• Boycotting Proton isn't the answer.

Avoiding purchase of inferior products is. And if proton continues to be this inferior product, the please. don't buy the damn thing.

But if they improve, really do so, then go on. Put them on your consideration list if you're in the market for a car they offer.

An ideal choice made is one made with much involvement – research, observation, comparisons, test drives, peer feedback, more research, etc etc. So make sure you go through the cycle when you consider your cars. Don't buy purely on brand image or historical reference (although understandly, perception and experience plays a role in purchase decisions on an emotional/ sub conscious level). Buy because its the best car for your purposes and reasons.

• FREEEEDOOOOM!!!!

scream it like Mel did in his Braveheart film!!!

hehe… spread the word guys!!! isn't the God Father himself keep campaigning for M'sia Boleh! so now is the time that we The Rakyat speek the truth!!! hey guys, it always about politic men its politic… that old man is so damn corrupt!!! lets give the way to Perodua now!!!lets make pool and see what true Malaysian will say about Proton!!! the wind of change is here…

• Yo Paul, i wonder, how old are you actually? hehehe.. anyway keep up the good work! this kinda site will surely brighten up many M'sian mind set!!!

• kahping on Jun 16, 2005 at 10:26 am

I hope Mahaleel & Mahatir will read my comment so that they have courage to admit their failure instead of pintpointing their competitors for selling cheap but with better quality & design.

Attached here with my unhappy experience for buying a iswara sedan at 2004. I Do agreed with beegfoot statement :

1. U will need to wait for 2 mths for ur car yet u cant get the colour u want… their delivery are sucks.Even when they claim have so much colour but till the end they only come out 1 colour only. & U left no choice… either to wait or abondend ur deposit & left with nothing.

2. The service center are SUCKS as well. No proper instrument at all, when i found my alignment are out on the 1st week of driving, i wanted to tune it back. Bt i was told by Edar staff, they cant provide tyre allignment as they have no equiment at all. this is what they called FREE SERVICE ( of coz free ,coz u r doing nothing, stupid proton! )

3. One the first 1000km i service at EDAR, i was shock RM130 !!!! with lousy Petronas 4T. I could done the same things at others workshop at RM78. Or RM98 for Shell Semisintecthic 4T. This is what they called free service! UTTERLY NONSENSE!!! Really throat cutting!

4. Their service staff are extremly lousy & arrogance. Even u told them what the problem with ur car they js pretend dunno, n when the problem are not solved. I was told by the staff "oh, tak apa la, datang lain kali baru buat". SHIT, I M paying u ur salary to solve my problem yet u making even much more trouble for me. Really wish to scold them ("@") . Since the 1000km onwards , i never & ever want to go back again!

4. Design are hundred years ago & The parts are flimsy and poor of quality. Water seeped inside the boot from both rear light for less than 1 yr i bought.

5. of coz lot more………………

Feel like im a fool who has been throat cutting. Im paying 36k for all this kind of nonsense/ suffer? IF i were in LA or AUS i can use tis RM36k (USD10k) to owned a Cheverolt with much better quality,design & service.

I love my country bt i wouldnt support blindly for those "rubbish". I Swear i will never,ever take another proton, nt to make myself suffer anymore.Make me feel shame

Proton will, for defintely collapse!Js a time of matter & I wish proton will collapsed asap.

During that time,our nation can enjoy cheaper Jap (CKD) car at with better quality/ safety.

• kahping on Jun 16, 2005 at 10:53 am

I cursed u Proton ; for bringing our nation the shame always!

• wow!!! i hear you man!!!

• !!!WE hope Mahaleel & Mahatir will read OUR comment so that they have courage to admit their failure instead of pintpointing their competitors for selling cheap but with better quality & design!!!

• Talkcock on Jun 17, 2005 at 1:36 am

But Mahathir said Proton must remain competitive. “If labor cost is high, maybe we may not be able to compete and maybe we will say goodbye to Proton,” he warned.

When goodbye? I ready champagne already.

• wow you guys are really cursing now. I am on the side of the majority ie if i have $ i wont go for proton. i have iswara 98 aeroback. i did have unhappy moments with it, when purchased the salesman corned me to buy the instant tyre puncture repair $19. sales exec without policy. I passed by eon center and saw that guy again his name Jimmy in Melaka. The boot never seeped water via rear lights, strange??

on the other hands, i must say that many younsters have had a 1.3 cc car to drive owed it to iswara. at that price and sporty enough, no competition. no wonder it is still the best seller in 2004, albeit the carburator engine. its fuel consumption in myvi comparison chart 15.7 km/L. that is the best to all the cars compared there, including aveo, jazz, etc.

i think iswara will sell becos of the price range.

• Gerry on Jun 17, 2005 at 4:46 am

Where is your photo of all the unsold Juaras stacked higher than Mt. Kinabalu??

Heard that more than 100,000 units were unsold – all shipped to Afghanistan???

Anyway, don't even think of buying a Proton car – you can take my word for it. After all, I own a Proton Wira (can't list the problems here as I don't think that there is enough space.

• AllStar on Jun 17, 2005 at 6:42 am

shame on you…potong!!!!

• A victim of Proton&# on Jun 17, 2005 at 10:41 am

By far, this is the worst care maker that is placing itself in competing with Japanese, Korean and EU cars of its class. Never have I experienced a car with so much problem. I used to drive a Wira 1.5 and the car is not strongly build. Build quality is no where near OK. I'm currently driving a Waja 1.6 Premium and I feel the pain and shame of having to replace one part after the other. The cost of maintaining the car is way too expensive as compared to other makes. My dad drives an E280 Masterpiece(modified from 260E-1990 make)and the power window has not spoilt since then. Not fair to compare these cars, says Dr. M? I don't think so. If Proton cannot even emulate what the Koreans are doing with Hyundai, we might as well make do without such low grade, expensive to maintain cars. Not that I eagerly want to critique Proton's "effort" but this is the fact and the world knows. Proton is taking the approach of selling on low price when they should be emphasising on quality instead. How is Malaysia going to advance in the heavy industry especially the automotive industry? Never! Oh I forgot, there is the other car maker which has smatter and less egoistic leaders. Why colaborate with VW? Is Proton so ambitious that they want to take the EU market by storm. They have failed since they started. There was a report some time back saying that Honda wanted to buy a stake in Proton but certain persons in Proton thinks the Japanese are planning a colonisation process through the purchase of some shares. I would think Honda would make a better partner. Ever dreamt of driving a Proton iVTEC, or Proton CAMPRO (without cam profiling). The Malaysian consumer is not that naive anymore. We have gain a considerable amount of knowledge and the growth of the market flooded by foreign makes are giving us more alternatives. Even if Proton prices its mid-class sedans at RM60+k, many would still go for a foreign brand that cost a couple of thousands more looking at the maintainence cost they would save in the future. Enough said.

• Well guys, nothing to say about my Proton GEN2. 17K on the clock since January 2005 and no problem with it like people always say. On the highway/backroad, Vios, Jazz can eat my shit..Aveo? Not even close (comparison based on price bracket)

Maybe some of you is just dumb or should I say a hipocrite bunch of losers that don't know how to maintain a car.

Good luck with your future Hondas or Toyotas. If not for Proton, some of you will not have the chance to ride in a car so keep your trap shut and buy something else if you have the money.

• Adan, may be u r lucky to get 1 without prob. i got the new SE wira aeroback, 1st week only, it let me down already. even until now 1 1/2 year already the 'sound' still there. Went to fix few times but just a while coming back again. May be the performance of GEN2 is good but % to get problems car is high for proton! Ur comment seen like u r working/from proton factory/sales, right?? So bias to proton. Proton quality had been proven for years, crab & shit!! For GEN2 takecare ur front absorbers, man! potential problem!!

• adan, off ur sound system, listen for any abnormal sound!!

• "If labor cost is high"

Sure high, lazy ppl sitting around doing nothing, then complain too much work cannot finish.

Change the WHOLE management and staff…. include the advisor.

• I too will not consider another proton car.

I am driving a Wira 1.3GL manual 1997… I only buy this car because it was then the cheapest car I can own (Iswara booking is FULL, it claims").

I still buy Malaysian made car, Perodua MyVi… book my car already, wait for the delivery.

• proton… your time is OVER.

The first car was selling at RM17,000 Proton Saga. If this company manage well, Proton could continue selling cars today at below RM40,000

BUT poor quality, POOR management KILL the company

• This question was posted on the yahoo.com.my

“Should the government protect Proton from foreign competition?”

more than 65% respondence agree to “No protection please. Proton needs to compete globally or sink ”

Having to raise my children, I know we to let them learn by themselves.

Our son Proton is now 30 years old, still studying in the University, and when there was a big bully push him around, father have to make a trip to the school to inform the teacher , and look for the bully.

Poor old father is now 65+ and one will imagine how long will father still need to do this.

Our son Proton graduated and started working is a big firm, at now age 40, married and have child of his own, his manager scolded our son proton and make him do the report again, poor old father, now at age 75+, DO YOU THINK HE NEED TO GO TO THE OFFICE TO SCOLD THE MANAGER.

GROW UP PROTON

• zerofighter on Jun 18, 2005 at 4:50 am

Why Karamjit Singh can't get Sponsorship!!!!!!

i just read the article and the frist thing come out of my mine is " how could this happen to karamjit again "..we oledi have a winner here and yet no people want to sponsor him.do u people know what's is the team name or not? is Petronas Eon Racing Team (PERT) coz i got the team t-shirt( i work 4 eon ). petronas no money??? eon no money??? if them don't have it how did? maybe next time i do a flag sell for karamjit better..wish karamjit all the best….

• I sent my 2002 WAJA to PROTON dealer yesterday.

This is due to I can't withstand the undercarriage "squezzing sound" which have happened since last few weeks.

When I lodged the complaint, the service manager smile at me, then saying that this was nothing new to him. Without retify the rootcause, he knew the sound was came from the bracket holding brake piping. He point at the bracket, this is culprit.

The bracket is not properly weld, cause the friction in between the two metal.

Well, my car was bought in Nov/2002, whereas the PROTON WAJA was launched in yr. 2000, there were no counter measure done after 3 years. looks like their feedback mechanism btw. service centre is not working at all.

Hah! The poor PROTON.

• kahping on Jun 18, 2005 at 6:53 am

Im all against what u say, Adnan!!

"If not for Proton, some of you will not have the chance to ride in a car "

This is stupid. If there's are no protective policy over proton & perouda. U can use ur 60k to buy a Subaru WRX instead of ur clumsy/problematic Gen2.

Subaru WRX vs Gen2 at the price same for 60k, what will u choose?

Ur GEN2 will only have the chance to eat WRX shit!

BTW, Adnan are u Proton Sales Rep?

• Adnan, I would like to change your view !

I saw a brand new Gen-2 laid down in Proton Edar Autocity, Juru [ Covered with grey plastic cover ], fully dismantle with only the car body and 4 wheel. I did have a chance send my car for warranty claim, the mechanic told me they can't fix the problem of the car. They didn't disclose what is the problem?! Must be attacked by serious cancel?! :)

I also experienced when I call the same service centre on the faulty wiper motor, their first response : Is it Gen-2?

A-Ha ! Gen-2 also having wiper motor problem.

Adnan ! Better watch up. It is soon-to-heppen.

Make asure you keep your wallet full, if your warranty is over…………..

• Read the Business Time yesterday .

MyVi booking already surpass 33,000 units. Already 33,000 people are sure that MyVi is better then Savvy.

Proton…. start thinking.

• our nation on Jun 18, 2005 at 6:47 pm

mind u….didnt u see the video presentation at all proton showroom about the CAR?? WE do not claim ANYTHING without RECORD!! Pls think 1st…if not for Proton, do u think most of Malaysian can afford to own CAR?? If u really LOOK into wat Proton's Engineer had done, then u will appreciate our efforts! one more question, R U a PERODUA SALESMAN? they claim they had sent 80 engineers to Japan to "develop" THE car..but the truth is all the critical dimension and structure of the car was designed by Japanese! wat they did was to change the headlamp! I am not anti-Perodua…afterall they r our 2nd national car manufacturer…but as their CEO said, PERODUA WILL NEVER produce their own vehicle….

For ur info, PERODUA only owns PERODUA 49%…the remaining are Japanese. If we ourselves DO not PROTON, WHO else will? WE spent close to RM500 mil to design Savvy from SCRATCH!! mind u…wat our competitor did was to spent RM200 mil just to get the BLUEPRINT!!

If u r still not convinced on the rigidity of Savvy body structure, u can contact me ANYTIME!! PROTON is capable of taking over LOTUS & MV Agusta and WE r STILL in- control of OUR own NATIONAL car company. Y do u think WE spent so much money buying these world class company? have u test driven SAVVY?? if u havent, pls drive it 1st….or mayb u just another J**K who pretends to know about car but the fact is u dun know a DAMN sh*t!!!

• the car on Jun 18, 2005 at 6:49 pm

for my point of view before you compare proton and perodua. you must understand that both car manufacturer are in two different position. Proton begining with the production of Waja, Gen-2 and latest Savvy, we should be proud with our own malaysian capability in planning, designing, producing and trying to sell our own products. Proton currently don't need to pay any royalty to the foreign entity such as the japanese for the design and technology.

For Perodua, yes it true we heard less complaint on the quality and the impressive design but do you know that the model produce by perodua are just like a cut and paste from the japanese's daihatsu. Perodua is still depend on foreign technology to came out with a design. they pay for royalties for design of craftwork, engine components and interior component. this scenario of paying royalties for the design and etc. is an old story of proton when the tie up with mitsubishi.

My conclusion, i am proud with the effort made by Proton in producing our own national car for the sake of national pride. at least, they initiate an early step in pushing malaysia toward as a develop country. the main weakness in proton is not the products (Vehicles) actually it's the after sales service which includes the knowledge of the sales people and the technical staffs in the products.

• maniam on Jun 18, 2005 at 6:53 pm

perodua is no longer malaysian car, dear. the name remain ours, the ownership is not anymore…

• Philip on Jun 18, 2005 at 9:03 pm

Adan oh Adan, "Engkau ni apa, salesman Proton ke?" If you would like to defend Proton so much you may continue but the actual fact is that Proton isn't producing any car of satisfatory quality. Proton will never improve enough to compete with the better players. I would personally pick Perodua as the better(infact much better off) of the 2 national cars(I don't think the others can be considered national cars just by changing badges-Naza, Inokom). It is either your Gen.2 is the only few that is made up to quality…quality?? I still don't think it's of any good quality since the materials used are still the same. The only difference is with the fitting, maybe they used the ever reliable SUPER GLUE to stick the parts together instead of just clipping it together. I agree with most of the others that Proton isn't producing cars that are of better quality and they must, allow me to stress it again, MUST grow up and improve. Don't they ever learn after so many years! Pure dumbness and ignorance.

• when mahathir say high cost to build the proton model so they cant sell proton model at lower price….how come they can bought lotus share and build factory?that mean they have enough money that come from high profit after selling thier product…

• Hi Folks,

Read thru the following really tounching story…..

Subject: A True Story About 2 Sons

Once, there was a family known as Malaysia. In 1985, they were blessed with

their first born, Proton. The family loved Proton all they can. They gave

Proton everything. They protected Proton from the bigger boys in

Kindergarden. They told Proton, "You're young, you need protection from

them. It's okay to make mistakes, you're young. Even if you don't learn from

mistakes…it's okay…you are young."

Proton became spoilt. He always depended on parents and used up all his

allowance on useless things. When he had to do his chores, he paid people to

do it and the work is lousy, causing the parents having to call repairmen to

fix all the mess that he made.

Anyway, when Proton was 10 (but he still acted like he is 1 or 2 years old),

he had a younger brother, Perodua. At first, everyone thought this younger

brother will be like Proton. Anyway, this new baby was more handsome and

looks smarter than Proton. Malaysia knew there is a possibilty Perodua could

be smarter than Proton. Since they love Proton so much, they decided that

Perodua can only learn a few things. Cannot learn the same thing as Proton.

This is so that Perodua wouldn't beat Proton at what Proton is doing.

Although Perodua was also protected by Malaysia, he learn to be independent

very fast. He made good friends with Daihatsu, who had an elder brother

Toyota. The two of them helped Perodua in everything. Perodua, being

independent and smart, learnt a lot and in a short while, was becoming as

good as, if not better, than Proton.

Malaysia realized that Perodua was becoming better than his brother.

Although proud of Perodua, they still love Proton best. They paid Lotus

(which is older and well known worldwide) to be friends with Proton. Using

this advantage, Proton mentioned Lotus everytime he wanted to tell people

about himself. On this own, he was still the same.

Moreover, Proton is always not updated. When doing his work, he still uses

the typewriter and refuses to use the computer. Perodua, so much younger,

used the computer, with broadband for his work. Perodua was improving so

much that Toyota has assigned him with his work, codename Avanza.

2005. Proton is 20 years old, Perodua only 10. It was obvious that Perodua

was the more successful of the two siblings. What is worse, Proton said he

still need his parents to help him for another 10 years. He still need

protection from the big boys. In May 2005, Perodua was about the show

Malaysia his best work so far…codename Myvi. Proton, being

jealous…quickly came up with an unprofessional remark about Perodua's work

and show his work at the same time as Perodua on purpose

The future of Malaysia and her two kids are still unknown. But it would be

obvious that Perodua will shine, leaving Proton crying. It would be a wonder

if in 2015, Proton will ask Malaysia for another 10 years of help and

protection…maybe this time…protection from Perodua as well………..

– THE END –

• wa impressive… your true story really long man. maybe should try a novel next time. ajak aja. the message is clear. agreed la.

• By the way, can someone tell the DG eon to stop using carburator engine for our beloved proton(iswara). It is meant to be obsolete since 15 years back (correct me if mistaken). Bolehland want to be the developed country right, use fuel injection la at least. i say this because i love my country as yet.

• kahping on Jun 19, 2005 at 2:46 pm

What so good about ownership if they ( Proton) dont have the intention to produce quality car, improve & listen to their consumers.

They ( Proton) eventually will sink & take over by others in a free/open market.

• dear kahping, i think when u say that if there is no protection over proton in terms of taxes, one could get a foreign car does not really apply as taxes over imported car was always very high even in the preproton era. before the first proton saga, only the richer could ever drive an imported car comfortably. the youngsters always think twice. my bro first car then was small honda civic. comments much needed. love and thanks.

• dear our nation, for me, may be the savvy is as best as u say tat. very rigid and have a very good performance, but the problem is the price!! even it can overtake many cars while driving in the highway, but wat for? as many person only hope can own a good car with reasonable price. averageincome of malaysia nation only around 2k permonth. u think is very easy for a person to buy a 40k plus car. if u ask many person to choose, they must fully use their money to buy a good car which enough for a family usage. thats why so many person choose to buy myvi but not savvy. they cant use their valuable money to choose a car just because of its rigidity. i can tell u, if some one wana buy a savvy for family use, must make sure dun have a family member with high more than 180 cm.

for a different only 1k plus cheaper can u give me a reason why they must choose savvy? why so many person choose myvi? because they need a good car with reasonable price only, dun care it is 100% malaysia car o not. i was waiting for savy for a long time oso, lastly it disappointed me. 42k price only can own a so call rigid car with a half-auto window and manual side mirror. lastly, u ask us to test drive it first. i wana to know oso have u go to test drive myvi?? :)if not then u go to try it 1st. after tat try to think which one is worthy. by the way, are u from proton? i think so. haha.

• our nation , you ask "R U a PERODUA SALESMAN?"

how do you know, let me introduce some of my PERODUA SALESMAN friend in the forum.

Jln Ipoh, KL———Harry

Desa Pandan, KL———MKT 101

Jln Loke Yew, KL———-view

Bdr Penggaram, Bt Pahat———-kody

Jln Tampoi, JB———–kahping

Tmn Perindustrian Plentong, JB———JAWA

Jln Dato Kapten Ahmad, Kluang—–SexyThng

Jln Bakri, Muar—–Gerry

Pekan Simpang Kuala, Alor Setar—-Aj

Bdr Amanjaya, Sg Petani——-Noradzini

Kuala Krai, KB———Accord Kia

Malim, Bachang Melaka——–Aeroback 4×4

Jln Rasah, S'ban———-F-R

Medan Warisan, Kuantan——–cloudz

Tasek Industrial Estate,Ipoh Perak—–eAthena-Seir3n

Kamunting Jaya, Taiping——Kevin

Jln Chain Ferry, Butterwordth Penang—-Ex Proton Owner,

Dato Keramat Road, Georgetown—–HQDC

Balakong, Slg—– fork

Kuala Ibai, Tgganu—-mp5onfire

by the way, the location are PSSB sales office.

everyone above have supported Perodua or MyVi or dislike Proton, do that make us all Perodua Salesman !!

• Dear our nation ,

another Perodua Salesman, RPH is sitting beside me.

he he h a ha

• Dear Paul.

I heard Petrol increase RM0.20 in 1st July 2005.

It this true ??

• Read today's The Star StarBiz.

the Geely car from China is coming, to make Malaysia its HUB for Asean.

The Malaysian plant have a annual capacity of 40,000 to 50,000 units, 1st car expect to roll out end of this year, 2005.

proton, are you ready ?

• Harry on Jun 21, 2005 at 8:13 am

these proton supporters are damn thick head. Read this again: We dont care whether the car is rebadged or not as long as it is not proton!! Get it?! hehehe

• Accord Kia on Jun 21, 2005 at 9:36 pm

to adnan and nation,

please shut yout bloody mouth. u said that many people can own a car because proton car is cheap and lousy quantity. hey…fren, ppl will grow up one. nowaday, nobody will think about proton except the two idiots like you two.

adnan, sell your car before paying too much maintenance. proton, if you wan ppl to change the perception to you. i tell you is not easy, now you can survive is because u only got one competor which is perodua. if in future got more than one local munufacturer, you will die instantly.

go back and drink your milk. PROTON

• hurray… I have supportor

look here, not as we want proton to die, give us (the buyer) what we want, then we will buy your car.

• Bernard on Jun 23, 2005 at 8:43 am

Why is Proton selling Campro engine but (without cam profiling) in reality. And funny thing is we Malaysian still buy it..? They should just say its DOCH or Twin Cam sudah lah. No need to bluff us. And why Gen2 and Savvy drive shaft all rusty one..?

I'm just like any Proton owners out there. Bad experinces and lots of frustation owning Proton cars. My 96' Satria and 01' Wira had almost similar quality defect and that's 5 years apart. During this time I guess not much improvement on Quality. Now its 05' another 4 years apart and still have so called similar Quality defects again. Come on man..Proton. How you want me to buy another car from you..?

• bangau on Jun 25, 2005 at 6:08 am

I have to agreee…comments like this is a good read! bravo!

• guest18 on Jun 26, 2005 at 8:18 am

me driving nissan sunny 1989 , heck cost me 9k to buy and 1k to fix age old problem and now it is running nicely without giving me any trouble and steady 10 ringgit for 100km

I can out run any proton below 1.6 except waja and have fuel consumption better than any car offered by proton or perodua

• hehe. guest18… i remember you from the autoworld nissan forums. i have a 1984 nissan sunny 130y at home too. it's using a 1.5 E15 from a nissan langley.

• krizijau on Jul 05, 2005 at 10:57 pm

hehehe…waja used the old mitsu engine rite?that's why its better than campro engine. I'm an owner of old wira 1.5 and so far had spent more than 2k to maintain this car. What I can say is for the proton supporter is, if u given a chance to drive the honda, toyota or others for a month and then u will regret to drive back your proton. We malaysians very proud of our brand and hope this Proton will live forever but we need proton also support us by giving the best quality product, with the acceptance range of prices. The news lately say that the proton argue with malaysian trade ministry because of national brand name is given to the naza and inokom and also perodua because their models are not really goin' through R&D in this country. These models are rebadged models and being sold as some of our national car. That's also explain why they said that the cost of doing R&D will make the price of protons are not compettative anymore. News update:Naza motors will rebadge the Peugeot 206 soon, I always wonder what the price in the market would be?

• STOOI on Jul 12, 2005 at 5:33 pm

can someone confirm to me that savvy manual transmission is terbalik? i heard that it's reverse gear is on the 1st gear of a normal car. is it true? and the signal is also terbalik of a normal car. is it true? and rumors telling me that savvy is using renault engine (tiara engine). as i undestand that tiara fail due to its engine always break down in the UK. i really hope that savvy will save proton but looks like it is not helping. have not seen a savvy in Penang but i have seen few myvvi. is really cool.

• zizie on Jul 12, 2005 at 7:39 pm

Does anyonyone have a problem with Gen2..? The promotion is good with no d/p and pay only after the third month, i'm kinda considering to buy it. But after going through what u guys have said in here about Proton. I'm not sure anymore.

So, any Gen2 users with problems…?

zizie

• STOOI on Jul 13, 2005 at 4:55 pm

im not Gen 2 user but i have a friend who bought it last month. i test drived it though. so this is what i can say about it honestly

1) External outlook is good, in fact the best for me compare with all Proton other models

2) Internal design i kinda like it when i look at it again n again. except for the stupid weird clock design in the middle of it. i hope for a digital clock instead of analog one

3) the door is difficult to open, at times it can be really really difficult to open the door. same for the boot. cannot open from external. very troublesome. yet is very difficult to get it open. they should incooperate automatic opening of it (nice suggestion)

4) during test drive, feeling no power for 1.6 campro engine. do not know why, but smooth drinving though.

5) Still having the exact brake sound during braking like my wira 1.5 1996 model

6) so far no break down… but in future i do not know la. hopefully they have improve on the quality by now.

Lastly, i will not be buying proton for my next car for sure. i would rather buy produa or korean car. They PROVE to have better quality and less problem face. I do not want to buy a car that worry me too much on the quality or maintanance cost. Even if Gen 2 have perfected its quality, they have not PROVE it so far.

To Proton, pls PROVE to us and not only let us know. HOW? i guess proton have to think for it. Good Luck proton

• zizie on Jul 14, 2005 at 12:56 am

Thanks, STOOl. appreciate your kind comments.

i guess i have to test drive it myself first, then decide.

For the option Myvi i have to wait for another 7 month, and downpayment is quite high 10% RM4,890 and monthly is RM542. As for the Gen2 i got a really good deal. One person decided to sell his Gen2 after given a company car. The car is only 1 year old. The d/p is only RM2K and monthly RM555 and only take a week to process ready by 1 week. Tell me what you think?

As for the design i kinda like the Gen2 design better than the Myvi looks a bit compressed. But at the same time worried about the maintenance and quality.

So far i haven't heard from a real Gen2 user that they have a problem with their car but they agreed about the door problem, yet so far they said ok, but from a none Gen2 users all critisise like hell..

Does anyone can confirmed me: the rumors of the first Gen2 released had been ask to be returned back to the factory 24hrs due to bad performance and several problems accured?

• ala Zizie..u just go on buy that Gen 2..biasak le..many ppl condemn protons nowdays…For my opinion…end of the day…its all up to budget..yang penting, bole bayar bulanan!..keta gempak/mahal pon..tapi bulanan lari tak bayar pun ..buat per kan? ..Gen2 now ada improve sikit..that new tuned (black colour) ones, looks ok to me. Better now, 3 mth free instalments. Checkout the Wira special edit. (WiSe)?..consider a good buy also. i bought black!.

• narisinna on Jul 29, 2005 at 3:31 pm

proton lousy car hyundai accent best car please buy hyundai.don;t support

no quality proton car like a milo tin

• Why Savvy & Gen2 on Aug 01, 2005 at 8:59 am

I do not like the way proton markets their cars, especially the Savvy. What is the selling point of the car?

Speed? An advertisement was saying someone delivering pizza from KL to Singapore in 30 minutes…. and the top speed of Savvy is 170kmh. Well, do the maths, 30 minutes only cover a distance of 85km. How could one reach Singapore from KL in 30 minutes by driving at 170kmh? Those who came out with the advertisement are really insulting our intelligence.

Another advertisement is about a driver with her eyes covered and driving a Savvy in a busy street. What was the advertisement trying to tell potential customer? Strong body build? Isn't that naive to believe that customer will buy the Savvy because it can withstand wild ride in a busy street. The marketing people are either do not understand what the consumers want or they cannot find any good and strong selling points for the Savvy. Thus, they have to resort to advertisements that make little sense.

A car manufacturer that is able to come out with good cars may not guaranteed survival (Lotus and MGRover?) Having a totally new platform for Savvy and Gen2 may not be a smart move. If they cannot achieve a reasonable sales, they will not achieve the economy of scale. The cost of these cars will not be able to compete with the rest in the market. It is not a matter of wether their cars are having quality problem or not, if they cannot bring down the production cost in a few years, quality is irrelevant. It has become a downward cycle for Proton. Without good quality car, they cannot sell, without sales, they cannot make good profit to pump back to R&D, without good R&D, the car manufacturer will suffer more in quality issues and will not be able to come out with new future replacement models. Eventually, it will be forced out of the market.

• franky on Aug 02, 2005 at 2:12 am

I have an iswara 1.3. I need to buy it because the policy of this country was distorted some 20 years ago to create our own national car. Iswara 1.3 is a Milo can with a carburator engine, that is all.

Its poor quality has spoke for itself, proven over times and need not be deliberately point out one by one here.

We are victims of this policy and vision.This national car is being developed and sold at our expense, with our own sweat and blood-covered money. Until a new and fair import duty and car policy are announced and in placed, all Malaysians, be it buying Proton or Non-national cars, Bumis or non-bumis are funnelling their hard-earn salary for a unfair system.

We are buying natinal car because the distorted system make it more expensive to buy foreign cars. Toyota Corrolla was selling at 15K, 20 years ago, but, now it is some 100K++. A Nissan Sentra 1.6 without tax is some 56K only and people still make money? This is the in-justice we need to cope with if you ever decided to buy a car.

And then there is AP policy. Does it help? What went wrong now, could it be "not even distributed"?

To cut the story short, we Malaysians are all victims, it is true for those that buying a Proton now, or buying a better Perodua or a Korean or a Japs.

To everyone, especially those thinking of buying a car, here is some advice:

(a) If you can affort, buy what ever you desire.

(b) If you can wait, put your money into investment. That would do better.

(c) if you really need to buy a car as our public transport system is so poorly designed, buy a second hand car.

For a second hand Proton car: it makes not different, you will get all the headaches as a new car do but it is a lot more cheaper! and you do not need to wait, did not get the kind of colour…. so on and so on…

For second hand imported car, your tax and duties were pay off by the first owner, and you still enjoy a good car and a good re-sell value.

For those that still cann't differentiate between their love of their country and their rationality: go ahead, buy a national car, we can immediately recon you from a far.

Do the above until the day we have a fair car duty system or acceptable national car, whichever come first.

• Initial D on Aug 06, 2005 at 7:17 am

Actually, Proton makes us smart.(hehehehe) By making bad cars, we go and look for better(foreign) car and increase our car knowledge. But by having the knowledge, we dislike the proton car after knowing how bad it is when compare to other car. So, can you draw the conclusions?

I agree with all the statements………..saying proton is bad. But BUT there is something good about proton car, it is good for modification. In my opinion, that is what I can think of. You see, on the street, there are many proton car especially wiras that is modified until it looks like a japanese car. Agree? IMO, proton cars are for mod, use it without any mod will give you the 'proton troubles'. After modifying, it seems good though.Any comment?

• takenforaride on Aug 12, 2005 at 9:50 am

couldnt agree with u guys more…my family has owned 3 protons, and here's the problems:

proton wira 1.5 a (1994) ….power windows (both), dashboard vibration, suspension vibration, gearbox problem, falling bumpers, faulty aircons

proton aeroback 1.6 a (1998)…very noisy engine, rusting roof and doors

proton iswara (bought as 2nd hand)….auto tranmission replacement, power windows, suspension problems,

and as for other protons, they dont even dare to publsih the 01-100kmh figures, for the fear of "embarassment…a waja 1.6 is actually slower tha a toyota vios 1.5 in 0-100kmh, a diffeence of 2 seconds!!

i acttually nearly bought a proton wira, but luckily defer my decision …lousy color choice, and more than10 years body/techonology!!

after so many teribble experinces, u can be absolutely sure that my next car would not be a proton..the proton has been too arrogant for too long…what, they want another 20 years of government protection so they can continue to sell us 20-30 year old cars at exorbicant prices, and rips us off?

• takenforaride on Aug 12, 2005 at 9:54 am

the 1998 proton aeroback 1.6's rear windows/boot were teribbly off center/aligned…there was a huge gap on the left side, even your finger can poke through!!….and on the right side, it was too tight…and u know what? proton actually "lulus" this car to be delievered to us!!

• marina mat sapi on Aug 26, 2005 at 12:04 am

proton waja betterthan toyata unser.more economy

• What The Heck on Aug 28, 2005 at 6:18 am

Hello friend, what the heck are you bloody people supporting the bloody Proton ?, I once own a Proton Waja 1.6 and the performance is really sucks !!!!!!!!. The year later I've sold back the Waja and get the Toyota Vios and damn……. I couldn't believe the performance the Toyota Vios has shown me. I don't care about the price of the Toyota Vios (not to say that I'm a bloody rich-lah) but the Proton that I'm hoping to trust the exellent quality is bloody terrible. Hey Proton, just shut down your company-lah or give it over to other company-lah. And to the main people who handling this Proton, BALIK KAMPUNG LA KAU !!!!!!!!!, KLEPET SUNGGUH !!!!!!!

• Geng Kereta on Aug 28, 2005 at 8:38 am

Hey What The Heck……

I'm completely agree with you and to the rest of the person who has own the proton cars before. Saya sendiri pun pernah ada kereta proton, proton wira 1.8 exi you………. but the damn car has giving me nothing but problems, problems with the engine mounting la, steering brackket la, alignment la and even with the so called Proton Service Centers personels. I've once hantar my proton for 10000 km service and to repair the exhaust housing which cause the vibration noise (tengok ! belum sampai 50000 km sudah ada problem) and the service personel said to me the word TAK APA….. esok boleh bikin maa…., proton apa ini macam ??????, Up to that point and until now, never I trust any car made by proton. and you know what after that, 2 bln kemudian i jual balik and i bought the toyota altis. until now my toyota altis haven't give me any problem maa, what dou think ????? I had driven my toyota altis from johor to perak already (in the year 2003) and until now the mileage is nearly 300000 km++, still no problem, it is still strong overtaking 3 car at one at the highway. proton wira can do like that ka ???? sori la kawan. anyway, to all of the proton owners out there, change your cars to other brands before it is too late. dah la kereta proton mahal nak mampus, kualiti tak dak pulak. HOI PROTON !!!! TUTUP KILANG LAGI BAGUS, DON'T WASTE THE MALAYSIAN MONEY BY MAKING THE USELESS AND UNRELIABLE CARS. JANGAN SOKONG PROTON……

• Initial D on Aug 29, 2005 at 9:52 pm

ada proton punya people see this ke?

• Initial D said,

August 29, 2005 @ 1:52 pm

ada proton punya people see this ke?

—> They have been seeing this since day 1 their saga was launched. But the Blind and Deaf policies of the directors rather quiet about it and today…globalization is on the brink and its time to feel their wrath ~

• Waja owner on Sep 25, 2005 at 3:13 am

My friend work as a mechanical engineer and his company got the project to design proton & perodua interior parts. His comment is : Proton not so sensitive in product quality. On the other hand, Perodua is very stringent to the product quality. So my thought, buying a Perodua car is much better than to buy a Proton car.

I'm regret in buying my waja. Should buy Vios/City since day one.

• Initial D on Sep 30, 2005 at 4:54 am

did anyone read nst? there is a reader who write to nst under the title "tax based on local content". I agree with some and disagree some other. Proton really is jaguh kampung. All the issue on protecting the local car industry centres around proton……always " to protect proton….." , seems like other local car makers like perodua doesn't get much attention. Hm…….wonder why it is so? Earlier proton cars are much better. For eg. proton wira, according to what i know, older wiras use mitsubishi ecu which is much better than the one ones currently used by present wira a/b that is siemens. Duno why they wanna change when something is good? They are content with their old car sales until they neglect the quality of the car. That's why i think the quality degraded year by year. Some famous problems is still not resolved until today though. Any comments?

• SUper ViOS on Oct 18, 2005 at 1:42 am

buy ~ TOYOTA car, Honda, or other car… For saftey ~ reason… i driving a vios untill now no regert… the Quality i can say it is REALLY better THAN PROTON Or PRoDua.. And performance also Very nice…

My advice DON't Buy PRoton !!! Becoz Proton Killz… because now's day when i open the newspaper… Almost 90% of accident is PRoton. 80% ppl didn't Survial in accident…

SO think wise ~

Think For those ppl u love…

For Your live !!!!

NO PROTON !!!!

• sunni on Oct 30, 2005 at 4:37 am

proton car better than toyata vios

• Coro||aGT on Nov 21, 2005 at 7:36 pm

Hi … im from sarawak n working as an english teacher in a remote area (kampung ler tu) … currently using a toyota corolla ae91 (model 1987!!!! still alive n kickin) …

now, my comment –

Proton car's problem's in Sarawak

– Power window (will fall down, cable putus etc..)

– suspension (hahaha i like this the most) usually will not last 6 months, squeaking ekkke eeeek, too damm forkin low, maybe proton RnD FORGET that most sarawak roads are forkin bumpy(heck, some are even suitable for WRC championship event !!)

– water seeping in (lampu belakang, depan) hehe i've even saw iswara front light full of water, can keep a goldfish inside …

weakness in proton car

– body is not strong (thus, the nickname "milo can car", Ouch!)

– price too expensive (aduhhh ehhh) for such a low tech car like this, if u wanna sell more, lower the price please, most people buy proton coz its affordable, but not now, foreign cars are gettin cheaper n cheaper, u guys will not win a war u cant win if u dont listen to us consumer !!!!

and by the way, at my school, im the only teacher who using non proton car – the others are using protong's, all of them complained n complained (hehe) about their car, most of them bought proton coz its the cheapest car but did not expected it to be junk like this … did alotta brainwashing asking them to change to other car – stay away from proton …….

And by the way, my toyota … hehehe … although its an old car… mind you, i've smoked wira, waja, iswara, satria n even perdana in it …. wanna try?

• Toyota Guy on Dec 12, 2005 at 8:08 am

Hoi Corol lagt,

I've just read your comment and I am very agree with you. You see, my father once own a Toyota Corolla GL (1981 model) from the year 1982 until 2003 and now I'm the one who take over the car, and until now the damn toyota still alive and strong. And it still can smoke any iswara, wira, waja and any of the proton cars. I have a lot of friends who owned the proton lousy products and all of them complained that the quality is sucks. And you are totally right, with the condition of the Sarawak road which is most of it were very suitable for Rally WRC, surely any proton cars cannot withstand the torment rather than the toyota which until now are still strong and kicking. I know because I've still using the toyota and I'm living here in Betong, Sarawak. And I had done some research myself, maybe some of you out there know about this matter and maybe some of you don't. The perodua products are much more better than proton. We seldom see people sending any of the perodua cars for repairs, even if there is, the percentage would be very little rather than proton cars which ALWAYS have problems and need to be sent to mechanics to be repaired. And why it is so, you see, the perodua is created with the colloboration of both perodua and daihatsu. Few years back, the daihatsu was taken over by toyota and now it is automatically the perodua is under the colloboration of perodua and toyota. Amaizing right ?, so thats why the quality of the perodua products like kancil, kelisa, kenari, rusa and kembara much more better that proton in term of the quality. In other words, the perodua manufacturing quality is much more better that proton since it is also under the control of toyota. For those of you out there, please don't buy proton cars, it is better for you to buy perodua cars, please don't support proton products, they are selling the lousy cars at the price which is not reasonable. Open your eyes and listen to the reality that the proton offers. And for those who already drive and owned the toyota……….., well……….. cayalah !!!!!!!!!

SAYA RESPEK LU !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• king (Member) on Apr 25, 2006 at 11:29 am

Philip said,

June 18, 2005 @ 1:03 pm

Adan oh Adan, “Engkau ni apa, salesman Proton ke?” If you would like to defend Proton so much you may continue but the actual fact is that Proton isn’t producing any car of satisfatory quality. Proton will never improve enough to compete with the better players. I would personally pick Perodua as the better(infact much better off) of the 2 national cars(I don’t think the others can be considered national cars just by changing badges-Naza, Inokom).

Stupid philip still dun know that perodua is no longer a national car but just a rebadged daihatsu under toyota control.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 5:45 pm

The main problem here is that Proton is too pampered by our dearly beloved Government. When will Proton ever stand on its own feet? If they're really serious about the competition they should focus more on R&D and quality control. I've driven a brand new Gen.2 and I'm simply appalled by the quality of the interior trims. The plastic bits are not cut properly and one can see small but annoying protrusions around the dash. The rear bumper is not aligned properly. The alloys wheels are butt-ugly and overstyled. Proton engineers and designers – please be serious with your work! Seen the new Saga? There's tonnes of evidence showing how lazy the engineers are at facelifting the Saga – for instance the bumpers don't match the rest of the car. The 3-quarter view looks terrifyingly awkward. How on Earth could you expect Proton to compete with other marques without government intervention?

• Bodak on Jan 31, 2010 at 3:48 am

well i might think there are such reasonable why proton keep their low quality car while not reducing the price. Perodua is such a good example,they cant afford to maintain the quality at lower price,and then finally the company are surrender to outsider.

Proton will continuously keep this track for a longer time.

• Car critic on Apr 01, 2010 at 9:54 am

Proton Saga, wira, Savy and Perdana suck. Proton Waja and Persona, i think ok la…