The AP Saga Chronology

For those who have been in the dark on Rafidah and the AP Saga, here is a nicely compiled chronology of events by The Malay Mail.

June 28: Proton CEO Tengku Mahaleel Ariffs interview with Oriental Daily appears. He complains the Government is not supporting Proton enough, saying it is being treated unfairly.

June 30: Proton board meets to discuss the interview, and gives Mahaleel two days to explain his comments.

July 4: Proton chairman Datuk Azlan Hashim meets adviser Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

July 5: Dr Mahathir defends Mahaleel for the stand he took. He also brings up “irregularities” in issuance of APs, and says he had asked International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz to investigate how Korean cars were under-declared.

July 7: Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi says Rafidah was asked to explain the matters raised by Dr Mahathir. She is also to write to Dr Mahathir to explain.

July 19: Rafidah said she was prepared for attacks from anyone at the Umno general assembly on the AP issue. “When they raise it, very good. It will give me the opportunity to explain,” she said.

July 20: Rafidah breaks down in tears at a Press conference when asked to explain her relationship with Dr Mahathir. Describing it as a “father and daughter” bond, she maintained that she had not done any wrong to Dr Mahathir and vice-versa, thus the question of apologising did not arise.

July 21: The speculation in Utusan Malaysia on whether Rafidah would resign from the Cabinet over the AP issue leaves her fuming. “This is a very stupid story. I dont want to comment about that. Why did you highlight it? You all would like to see me step down? If you dont, then dont ask this question. Those people are detractors, so dont.”

After that, the importers who cheat in the declaration of value are identified. PGE fee of 30-38% is charged on makes imported by these AP cheaters.

Source: The Malay Mail

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Guess who loses when the PGE fee is imposed? We the consumers ;(

As usual, it is the rakyat that loses big time ;(

• so…. who win…. Proton and his vendor…. and all the unsold cars.

• DOG THE WAN on Jul 25, 2005 at 10:09 pm

Dr Wan DOG THE WAN,

LATOK RA FE DAH sudah Kata BEFORE jaga bincang Perkara AP itu. See Rakyat kena juga, saya bersama DOG THE WAN sudah TRY to help you all but Rakyat Tak mahu dengar, Apabila AP list di_PUBLISH_kan itulah MASALAH!

I selalu PROTEC raykat BANAFIT, kau semua tak tahu saja. Pitty LAH awak semua kena bayar lebih. Sekarang POTONG akan betul2 potong kamu leher.

SANKQQ

• stupid rafidah on Jul 25, 2005 at 10:57 pm

July 19: Rafidah said she was prepared for attacks from anyone at the Umno general assembly on the AP issue. “When they raise it, very good. It will give me the opportunity to explain,” she said.

July 20: Rafidah breaks down in tears at a Press conference when asked to explain her relationship with Dr Mahathir. Describing it as a “father and daughter” bond, she maintained that she had not done any wrong to Dr Mahathir and vice-versa, thus the question of apologising did not arise.

July 21: The speculation in Utusan Malaysia on whether Rafidah would resign from the Cabinet over the AP issue leaves her fuming. “This is a very stupid story. I don’t want to comment about that. Why did you highlight it? You all would like to see me step down? If you don’t, then don’t ask this question. Those people are detractors, so don’t.”

wah terrer oh,july 19 cakap 'bring it on"

nanti on july 20 cakap 'oh how dare u accuse me (boo hoo) wtf

nanti on july 21 cakap 'how dare u ask this ques rela nampai i mati kokok ke?'

step down lah,how is our automotive industry gonnaimprove like this

come again today say proton is increasing output for savvy,all bull shit what for improve,nobody wanna buy lah,gulung tikar balik kampung,might ass well recycle all he milo tin and sell makes more money

• December on Jul 25, 2005 at 11:19 pm

all lies.

• Conan on Jul 26, 2005 at 12:13 am

All drama for the ppl to see… Soon this case will be swept under the carpet again…

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Jul 26, 2005 at 2:16 am

haha..

if u like rafidah..

send sms to DAPAT ..

keywords RAFIDAHWTF

if you want to be the next lucky AP punya penerima..

TYPE APAPLY and send it to DAPAT

hahaha.. kuang kuang..

• cut your trout now my b u know o u don't know!, who?. who u all volt for that u all say good n now u all say there r bad? is who u all volt for always , now u all know how this all people who play at your back that all this will u all volt for. their all only know good for there own minority not for country, is like perompak kind of way don't even know how all the resources come from who whit not think where all the profit come from Mosley of it.

at the end become indon .

• Leong on Jul 26, 2005 at 4:57 am

Hey, 'stupid rafidah',

What a nickname you got there.

• july 25 – Mahaleel ousted

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jul 26, 2005 at 7:21 am

mitsu….. what's the number….. you forgot…

i got 1

46664 ……… (say in hokkien…)

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Jul 26, 2005 at 4:28 pm

hokkien?

dapat? .. 32728 laaaa..

tapi aaa.. DAPAT tau.. bukan LAPAT.. heheh (kidding) ..

still looking this saga..

but it think that's no more issue yet.. end up with mahalel expired this sept..

• DOG THE WAN on Jul 26, 2005 at 9:39 pm

DR WAN is DOG THE WAN,

Itulah Problem diMalaksserR, TUNGGU MAHA REL cume cakap issue AP sikit saja, tapi sudah kena FIRE. NO FREEDOM to give your true feeling and voices in this Country.

You all should becareful yo, nanti MATA-MATA/polis/KLDP/Army ka, will find you. Jangan Cakap banyak di INTERNET. Puji Mereka lah sikit.

Sebagai Contoh macam ini: BANSAi LATOK, BANGZai LATOK! ikut orang cina and Jepun kata Long life kan.

• i think ikut hokkien 'bangsa'i is better lah, hahaha.. I always suspiccion of the hokkien teaching this word to the japanese to call their emperor.

• Michael Lee on Jul 28, 2005 at 5:21 pm

Kleeman Motorsports in yesterday's launch say's that they target 250 unit sales this year and they still were allocated 850 AP's last year ? … and then for this year they were given 199 AP's.

Wah ! … with all the large discrepancies, looks like it is very easy to apply for the allocations. Simply hantam first – no wonder there are so many AP's floating around !

• Michael: Kleemann just launched only, so I guess the 850 was just a starting sum/predicted sales figure which was readjusted the next year when real sales figures were available. Perhaps Annie readjusted the sales targets after she did some market research. Probably she realised not many Malaysians have that deep pockets after all?

• cokelight on Jul 28, 2005 at 8:42 pm

Rafidah should stop passing the buck to Pah Lah. Stop asking God to be her witness. Stop beating around the bush on the explaination of the AP issue. You are the leader of the wanita UMNO. Start behaving like one.

• stupid rafidah on Jul 29, 2005 at 6:08 am

hey yeah rafidah is a gran fata faka,haha

stop swearing in gods name or ask god to be ur witness lah,tiao why u become so much like pas liao everyting have to swear in gods name,aiyo so incapable stop passing the ball around lah ,make ur own decision no need to pak tok nak buat ape ,pak nanti nya ckap ku nak cakap ape,'Pang sai' rafidah,you know what u should cancel ap system apa macam pun tilak susah ,keta proton buat murah so can fight,we should let businessman do business and politician be politician,it looks like politician are so much concern bout the business,r they profitting from this,MALAYSIA wake up and think…