Daihatsu HVS Concept

The Daihatsu Hybrid Vehicle Sports Concept is a lightweight sports car that puts emphasis on the joy of driving together with ‘environmental compatibility’. I like the term they use – environmental compatibility!

Daihatsu says the HVS Concept gives you the performance of a 2.0 litre car with better fuel economy than a 1.0 litre car. How does this hybrid system work?

The HVS Concept is powered by a 1.5 litre DVVT DOHC engine and three motors. A combination of these are used in an advanced 4WD system optimised for sporty driving.

Two of the electric motors power the front wheels while one electric motor powers the rear. The torque control mechanism in the 4WD system controls power given to the rear left and right wheels separately and independantly.

The result is a combined fuel consumption of 4.1 litres per 100km.

The Daihatsu HVS Concept is a 2-seater. Dimensions are 3715x1695x1235 (l x w x h). The front motors are rated at 36kW and the rear is a left-right controllable 20kW motor. These electric motors draw power from a Nickle Hydride battery system. The petrol engine is a 1.5 DOHC with DVVT rated at 77kW at 6000rpm with 140Nm of torque at 4400rpm. The car also comes with a CVT transmission.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• I wonder how long Nickle Hydrite battery will last in our tropical country

• Lee Wye Jon on Sep 20, 2005 at 10:54 pm

darn… i would sooo buy this car (if i had the cash)… it looks great!

• karheng on Sep 20, 2005 at 11:47 pm

Now this one looks more like the Cuppucino..

• daniel on Sep 20, 2005 at 11:50 pm

oih.. 4.1l of fuel per 100km? damn.. i would so like to own this car.. hope p2 will make this kind of car in the future.. put a 60k price tag, and it would be selling like fried bananas.. hehe..

• mine daihatsu is agressive with these models and they really want to make an impact in the automobile market under the flag of toyota…hope it wont going 'die-hard-soon' :P

2 cent 2 cent…juz joking :D

• Marmitecrab on Sep 21, 2005 at 12:31 am

Car looks funny. Front and rear look like faces.

Actually, looks a bit like BMW Z3…

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 21, 2005 at 12:37 am

I do agreed the technologies, but this car looks F***K ugly and SUCK!!

Front like an Idoits and the back like a Stupid FISH! Just HATE IT!!

• WTF!!!…

interior scheme copycat from Gen2…??!!!..center pillar console..bra look like meter panel..???..3 spoke steering…???

the japanese copycat the gen2…??muahahahah

• duh, looks more like z4, ugly, ugly

• it looks very close to an audi TT

• Handsfree on Sep 21, 2005 at 5:45 am

Hopefully someday… our proton can have such quality design car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! been it callled copy cat. but…. the quality is A1 commpared to Gen2…… wake up proton

• How fast can it go?

• :( Daihatsu has no more interesting idea? Let P2 engineers give fresh idea loo..

• ijas_Eng.Camp on Sep 21, 2005 at 4:18 pm

Perodua xnak tiru ke?

• amouse on Sep 22, 2005 at 12:59 am

hhm.. canot la.. i try to accept it but then some how still look like a rat a$$.

• cbljkkj on Sep 22, 2005 at 2:34 am

Some of you are actually quite mindless. If u think properly, "three spoke steering wheels" are everywhere. The color scheme and air conditioning vents are of the Pagani Zonda and Enzo.

U think that Gen2 came with an original design??? Hahaha don't make me laugh. At least it saves more petrol than most cars on the market and I like it for that fact. Sporty design but only beef is the front and rear lights

• Aris Tee on Sep 22, 2005 at 5:22 pm

Isn't this the Copen? with front n rear changed? :P

• SEE FU on Sep 22, 2005 at 5:32 pm

Lapan Lima lima…lima (8555) AR!! I guess your eyes got some sand or something hidden inside lei!!….Any problems??….I see it from HORIZOTAL til VERTICAL and then from the TOP from the BOTTOM….Almost every angles….NONE of it LOOKS like TT!!…..Can you explain to me Which angle you see….looks like TT lei?? ………………YAU MO KAO….CHOU!!

• stupid rafidah on Sep 22, 2005 at 9:50 pm

haha audi TT,

funny lah doesn't a bit look alike at all,reminds me of the miata

those samller car segment cars,this car looks freat on the inside but the outside looks mid 90's,but still its a convertible yay!or is it an open top

ah nvm at least dun have top look like sport car

tell me do u think proton will make a convertible haha,think again

nice interior

its got a 3 motor system like the new lancer paul blogged about earlier

nice can make it 4 wheel or front wheel or rear

thats the uniquesness of this car 3motorpowered hybrid

u think this coming to malaysia,haha think again

government not so good one,maybe in 25 year time kua wakkakkakakkaka

i think i heard news now that they wanna let 1.6cc and above to be imported only ,sad ,sigh :(

• Spyder RMX on Oct 19, 2005 at 3:41 am

quite nice looking maybe need some lips or bodykit than it'll look perfect!

But how sure can the FC be"? 2.0cc car with 4.1 liters per 100km? very nice figure