Vehicles Stolen in Malaysia

Statistics have shown that in the first six months this year alone, 35,888 vehicles were stolen, leading to RM357 million ringgit in losses.

The number is broken down to motorcycles – 26096 cases, cars – 4756 cases, and vans/lorries – 3036 cases.

Vehicle theft contributes 45% – almost half of the countries overall crime index for the first half of this year. This was an increase from 41% for last year.

On average, it takes a carjacker 3 minutes to steal your car, and within the next half an hour it could be already stripped and sold for spare parts or shipped out of the country as far as South Africa.

A stolen car is driven to a warehouse where it is sprayed a new layer of paint, and chassis and registration numbers are altered if it is decided to be shipped out of the country to be sold. Vehicles stolen near the borders like Johor are usually driven out of the country immediately after the preparation and efforts by the police to recover the vehicles are unsuccessful due to lack of cooperation by the neighbouring countries.

Update:

Just walk into any second hand dealership in Batam, Indonesia and you can find Proton Perdana V6 or Proton Wajas sold for half the price. A Perdana V6 can be bought for about RM31,500 and a Waja 1.6 (A) for RM27,000. The cars can also be rented for about RM100 a day.

A local mechanic Attan, 30 revealed the situation. He said many of the cars in Batam were smuggled ones. “I do not have many customers with Proton cars, which tend to break down easily, especially on our roads which are full of potholes.” Ouch. I suppose Proton bashers would love that statement. Click here for more.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• stupid rafidah on Sep 25, 2005 at 11:04 pm

hm…in sarawak ,brunei dun want proton cause their cars much cheaper haha

evo 9 only b 38k x2.2=rm84k

haiz…

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 26, 2005 at 3:49 am

Install Immobilizer and make sure to lock your car accelerate and brake padels when you parked will prevent your car to be stolen. I knows it is a bit troblesome but I think it is the safer methods than just normal alarm system.

• MutantTomato on Sep 26, 2005 at 4:45 am

Yup. Read the full article at the link provided and I have heard of the tow truck method being used many a time. What easier way is there than to just tow the car away? Its also possibly the safest, as no one will suspect that the car is stolen.

All the security systems and immobilizers in the world will not help if the driver concerned forgets some basic rules of common sense. You will be amazed at the number of people who have their cars stolen simply because they leave a spare key in their glove compartment! People also assume that since their car is parked in their house, it is untouchable. Wrong assumption! If a thief can steal your car by bypassing your security systems, how hard can it be to bypass your electric gate, or worse, open your padlocked manual gate?

I only wish the authoritis here would allow us car owners to install some "mental" security/ anti hijacking systems, like they have in South Africa. These fellas have pepper spray "guns" attached to the roof area of their car! Come too close and you get blasted with some spray! Some choose to use chemicals that burn the skin but are harmless to the car's paint.

If I were to design a security system, I would make it so that if a thief were to break into the car, no alarm would go off. Instead, the anti theft system would be activated. The system would then lock the thief inside the car, fill it with foam (the kind used in foam filling doors, etc), and blast a 150Db high pitched siren INSIDE the car! At the same time, it would send a panic broadcast to the nearest police station.

Anyone interested in helping me develop this anti-theft / torture device? :D

• akari on Sep 26, 2005 at 4:51 am

lol perdana V6 for RM31,500 and waja1.6 (A) for RM27,000 also no ppl want…

• pojot on Sep 26, 2005 at 5:54 am

dear mutanttomato

i thought about that once

but think of the consequences if the car security accidentally goin crazy?with you inside it?

• and wouldn't that foam ruin your whole interior? and it hardens right? kena the face then i think you can forget about breathing or blinking. go in the mouth, better still.

but what the heck, it's nice to dream. :P

i still like the flamethrower security system.

• Kesian laa proton, No. 1 ranking

• Johnny Boy on Sep 26, 2005 at 5:05 pm

At "the land with no laws" ( just imagine selling smuggle car is legal ) i think everything goes…………

wonder if they have a smuggled Ferrari bcoz im intend to buy one……hehehe…..stupid batamans…….

• Robeni on Sep 26, 2005 at 5:52 pm

why korean cars such as hyundai and Kia are not in the top list ?

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 26, 2005 at 7:34 pm

Well , we can have two conclusions , either that Proton cars are very popular , so a lot of thieves steal them. Or , Proton cars have lousy security so thieves aim for Proton vehicles.

Which one would you prefer?

• MutantTomato on Sep 26, 2005 at 8:03 pm

eirc and pojot: bro, i know of all the technical issues as to why it wouldn't be possible la… but heck, it IS nice to dream right? :D

ok ok, so maybe not foam then. Something else? maybe like a giant airbag? Big and strong enough to pin the fella to the chair. All the doors would be locked too and the whole car immobilized. The siren would definitely be going off too! As to what would happen if the owner himself accidentally set the system off, maybe a special voice recognition code or something could be installed? So if you, the owner, were stuck inside the car, all you'd have to do is shout out "CODE ALPHA OMEGA MYRIMIDON EPSILON DOUBLE NINER!" or something cool like that!

ahahahahaha! I'm so full of it…. :D :D :D

• December on Sep 26, 2005 at 8:33 pm

Mutant Tomato..that is one badass torture device, love to see the look on the thieves face once police get him busted..

• I bet our government know wat the neighbour is doing, and i seldom see our interpol really working together with them to recover those vehicle from their country…oni b4 these cars is 'moved' out from our border.

Since our government is so lenient towards these barbarian…initially made them thought that such thing is a 'legal' action and who cares whether the car is smuggled or wat??

Btw…perdana and waja really became the cheaplak car in this barbaric land…sad ~

• MutantTomato on Sep 26, 2005 at 10:27 pm

december: Bro, you are too kind with your compliments! :) But then again, it is nice to know there are people who appreciate my twisted suggestions…

It might sound extreme and all but think about it again; what can be considered as an extreme punishment for someone who steals/robs from another person, and worse, hurts/kills the person in the process? To me, NOTHING is too extreme! That's why for these sort of "hurt/kill + rob" cases, the Govt. should either chop the fella's hand off, or better yet, hang the MoFo! Why bother keeping them in jail? For a chance at redemption? Well, if rehabilitation and redemption were possible, then why do we have repeat offenders? Well ok, I change my stand on this; hang the repeat offenders. There? Is that fair now? :)

Or better yet, why don't we just chain all them fu*kers up and make them work as labour for all our road projects or land clearing? No need to pay them! Just give water and scraps collected from trash cans for food! If they die, throw their bodies into some river! yes! YES! YESSSSSS!!!!!!

okay…..I'm going to calm down now…. :P

• Proton is on the top stolen car list due to its demand for 2nd hand parts.As we know, many Malaysian use Protons and Proton Edar and EON spare parts are very2 expensive. That's why Proton become the main target.

• hokkien lang. on Sep 27, 2005 at 8:16 am

i use to work as locksmith for few month.

my boss teach me how they open a car and how to start the car..

they use simple device only…. not hi-tech device like in movie…

i was totally shock!!!!

• hokkien lang. on Sep 27, 2005 at 8:16 am

he warn me… do not practice this skill

• honourMe on Sep 27, 2005 at 4:41 pm

thanks to our best neigbours- Indon and Thai

• SEE FU on Sep 28, 2005 at 12:33 am

Saya Rasa, Hanya satu cara untuk menghalang PEROMPAK itu mencuri KERETA anda!! Iaitu……………CARA Mr. BEAN………..Remove your STEERING WHEEL when park your car!!! 101% SAFE……….m(^ o ^)m

What do you think??………..YAU MO KAU…..CHOU!!

• hokkien lang. on Sep 29, 2005 at 7:10 am

i agree with you.. SEE FU that the olny way.. that thief can't stole our car…….

• i know 3 ppl who got their harriers stolen. my schoolmate got his stolen and his dad replaced it with a BMW.

another pal got his pajero stolen long long time ago (at least 6 yrs) and interpol call the family, found the car in Germany, LOL.

• mded (Member) on Jan 19, 2006 at 2:35 am

Installing Engine stall immobilizer can help diminish the risk of car theft. There is one type of engine stall immobolizer that will let you hide the switch anywhere you like. Even the person who install for you in the first place wouldn't know where you put it after you hide them yourself. And the price to install them is very cheap. It doesn't use hi tech tools like sensors etc. the price of the system, (braking will trigger engine system to stall) will cost no more than RM800. Enough to put your anxiety down.. get nice sleep.. only you would know where to push the swith..

• Fondee on Oct 02, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Loss my 14 months old Honda Civic on Monday(28th Sept) in SS18. Police said total of 6 Honda Civic reported loss in Augt & Sept in SS18. 4 are latest model and 2 are older model.

1/8 unit equipt with the positional tracking.

2/8 units park the car in their own house.

5/8 units park outside the house.

~All owner discover the loss of car early morning.

~Non of stolen car recovered as at today.(1 Oct 2009)

~The idiot use lorry to toll the car away.(No matter how advance your car's alarm nor high tech lock u used, The car can still be toll).

Tokio Marine Insurance Bhd said my vehicle aged 14 months. Thus, claim of 85% of amount insurred only.(Wondering why I can't get the full amount insurred or Mkt value which ever lower?)

• Mohamed Mokhtar bin Ahmad on May 30, 2012 at 1:51 pm

On the 18th May 2012, I checked in at Hote Pine Tree, Batu Pahat and was advised to park at the premises outside the Hotel. The next morning, I couldnot find my car, a proton waja black in colour WNA1929. Anyone who finds it , please contact through H/P No 012-2133589. Thank you

• wendy on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:58 am

Hi!I found a few stolen cars around my son’s primary school and they have been parked there for months if not years.It has been the cause of the congestion along the road and has limit the parking spaces for parents to drop their children. What is the best thing to do ? Who shall I report it to ?