Jaguar XK safety lid

Not sure if stuff like these belong in gadget blogs or a car blog! Jaguar has showcased it’s new Pyrotechnic Pedestrian Deployable Bonnet System used on the Jaguar XK.

When your sleek new Jaguar XK hits a pedestrian, what happens is some minor explosives pop up the 40 pound bonnet up a few inches to create a cushioning effect between the engine and the bonnet. This is to isolate the pedestrian from all the hard points in the engine bay. All of this happens in 30 miliseconds.

Video of the active deployable bonnet system in action

This active deployable bonnet system is part of measures to meet a new European safety legislation. The legislation requires that car manufacturers commit to introducing in two phases active and passive pedestrian safety mechanisms in their cars.

This active bonnet system allows the bonnet design to be lower and sleeker, rather than bulging due to the inches of cushioning space required for pedestrian safety. With this system, the extra space is only created when needed. The system also has logic to differentiate inanimate objcets such as traffic cones from pedestrians.

I wonder what are Proton’s plans for this since their cars are exported to the UK.

Source: Ford Media

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 27, 2005 at 9:14 am

Errhm , how about using airbags in the engine bay front area?

• E-Nabill on Sep 27, 2005 at 10:07 am

its hard to balance pedestrian safty and passenger safty since improving one of thm means sacrificing on the othr…i tink passenger safty is much more important than pedestrian safty,only uk priorities this,europ,japan and the US dont really bother,i tink their crash safty test oso dont include pedestrian safty points…

• Streamyx User on Sep 27, 2005 at 2:50 pm

wow whats the point. Jaguar now a car meant to hit people eh?

If hit at high speeds confirm die, slow they dont die.

• rkaru on Sep 27, 2005 at 5:30 pm

Pyrotechnics? Hmmm… a source from Customs once told me they were in a dilemma as of how to dispose of all the fireworks they confiscated. They can't burn them, they tried once and it caused such a huge explosion residents nearby panicked. They can't bury them as it'll cause an ecological disaster. Sooo…

I suggest Proton make agreement with Customs to use those fireworks for their Pedestrian Collision Early Warning System (PeCEWS). I'm no auto engineer, but basically, just combine it with a proximity sensor (like the reverse sensor) so that fireworks will shoot up the moment a Gen2 is about to hit some people having teh tarik and roti canai at a roadside mamak stall.

Solve 3 problems at one go.

• Michly on Sep 27, 2005 at 5:45 pm

whats the different leh ..Let say if really hit a pedestrian.. ya he is safe for the first hit but roll down to the side,, bang, hit by another car… or crash under the car , still die …. so whats the point.

• Aris Tee on Sep 27, 2005 at 5:51 pm

cool… they should fit these on every car for our safety :D

• hauzi on Sep 27, 2005 at 6:11 pm

damn u guys think too much again..

i bet not such cushion things happen in future proton's car..no matter 5/10 years…….proton cant even produce a NICE car at the moment,u think they can make such car meh?

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 27, 2005 at 6:14 pm

I think the idea is good, but if your car bumper kiss by a dog or cat or sensors mulfunction; I don't know your bonnet/hood can be returned to the original position. I guess the Hood hinges will be damaged, or not resetable.

Furthermore, a Pedestrian Deployable bonnet system only works if pedestrian hit at low speed. What is the speed limits? 30km/h or 50km/h, still not guaratee by car makers.

Also, this Pedestrian Deployable bonnet system will not works if the car front end is short like SAWI or MYVI or KANCIL. The Pedestrian head or shoulder will hit the GLASS before the bonnet. I think it depends on car body shape and styling too.

Overall, I give 50 points out of 100 for safety performance…….What do you think lei??

• ex-mivec on Sep 27, 2005 at 6:23 pm

Streamyx User said,

September 27, 2005 @ 6:50 am

If hit at high speeds confirm die, slow they dont die.

Hahahaha…agreed with u streamyx!

• how about them SUVs? you have no chance to hit the bonnet with those unless u're YAO MING.

• SaDdNesZ.jc on Sep 27, 2005 at 7:16 pm

I'm sure Proton won't need this technology. The alluminium used on Proton cars are soft enough to cushion any fall…

Try purposefully knocking your head against the body of any proton and see who gets more injured… (use watermelons if you're pain intollerant)

I bet you'll come out dazed, but the Proton will need a good remodelling…

*This gives me an idea! Someone should try this:

Malaysian Book of Records for the Fastest person to flatten a PROTON only using their heads! I'm sure it can be done within 30 minutes or so…

(Just make sure you don't go after the Savvy though…)

• monomania on Sep 27, 2005 at 10:29 pm

sorry for a off-topic, i saw the ads for new city, is coming soon this Oct 11. Is it open to order? anyone has any idea on the pricing? thanks!

• chief on Sep 27, 2005 at 10:41 pm

now they don't die anymore. they get injured and sue you !

• michael lee on Sep 27, 2005 at 10:45 pm

" Also, this Pedestrian Deployable bonnet system will not works if the car front end is short like SAWI or MYVI or KANCIL." – DOG THE WAN

… put more powerful spring – bonnet opens higher and faster – then, call fire brigade to remove pedestrian from top of lamp post.

… competition – line up a few Savvy – competition – charge through Petaling Street – see who can keep the pedestrian in the air for a longer time.

Sorry Paul … looking at some of the earlier comments, the above is safer than using your head to flatten a Proton.

• SEE FU on Sep 28, 2005 at 12:23 am

Wah!! Cushion BONNET loh!!

If SOMEONE don't like you, THEY CAN kick your car front end and make your CAR bonnet RISE up, then Damage your car Engine or steal your TURBO. FUNNY.. lei……I can see a big potential that Many of these car will be POP up all the time….in KL…..BEE COZ you are staying in BOLEHLAND….MANYAK ORG suka cari pasal lei!!……..YAU MO KAU…..CHOU!!

• SEE FU on Sep 28, 2005 at 12:27 am

Also!! IF POTONG use it!! Lagi problems, QUALITY issue will cause your Car bonnet POP up anytime and No warranty to claim…..WAh ahahaaaahaaaa!!

Better jangan install to POTONG cars!!……SAYA Bersetuju dengan angkat dua KAKI!! YAU MO KAU…..CHOU!!!

• michael lee: you think playing Sepak Takraw meh :P

• Streamyx User on Sep 28, 2005 at 10:58 am

Yo Paul, why chief name yellow?

I want to be moderator too you know.

BTW. agree with what he said about the suing issue.

• streamyx user: if you fill up your website address in the comments form, your nickname gets linked to the address. a link's colour is that colour. nothing to do with moderator or anything.

• stupid rafidah on Sep 28, 2005 at 10:14 pm

haha wah good oh if i drive fast fast and then i hit someone and the hood just pop to hit that someone and it will be like cannot

the hood hit the guy and he ends up further hahhahaha

good weapon

LOl!

• hokkien lang. on Sep 29, 2005 at 7:37 am

(Streamyx User said,

September 27, 2005 @ 6:50 am

If hit at high speeds confirm die, slow they dont die. )

well that is jaguar. if not .. that jaguar oledi 'eat' (langgar mati) people.

ha… ha… ha…

• Bobby on Sep 30, 2005 at 4:14 am

I think that pedestrian safety has to start at the grassroots level. That new feature is cool and all, but if people just knew how to cross the street properly and drivers knew how to manouver their cars better, there'd be no need to install this kind of measure on any new car that comes along.

• jonny winterbottom on Sep 18, 2014 at 7:23 am

WHAT A LOAD OF BULLSHIT I HAVE JUST BOUGHT A 2013 MAZDA MX5 DAMAGED REPAIRABLE BECAUSE THATS WHAT I DO AND THE AIRBAGS HAVE BEEN DEPLOYED LOOKING AT THE IMPACT ON THE BUMPER REINFORCER IF THIS CAR HAD HIT A PERSON THEY WOULD BE DEAD ANYWAY !! SO WHATS THE POINT IN PART DESTROYING THE BONNET BY LIFTING IT FROM THE REAR ALSO DESTROYING THE BONNET HINGES WITH TWO EXPLOSIVE RAMS THAT COST £350 + VAT EACH TO REPLACE WHAT A TOTAL WASTE OF TIME MORE CARS WILL BE WRITTEN OFF AS THE RESULT ITS HARD ENOUGH TO REPAIR THEM WITHOUT ALL THIS EXTRA COST OF USELESS GADGETS BAD MOVE MAZDA BAD MOVE INDEED !!