Suzuki IONIS

Suzuki unveiled this interesting automotive work of art at the Tokyo Motor Show 2005. This concept car is called the Suzuki IONIS.

The Suzuki IONIS is a fuel-cell powered electric motor car. It was designed in collaboration with the Musashino Art University.

The car uses steering-by-wire, drive-by-wire and brake-by-wire, which allows the driver’s seat to be positioned anywhere, not just limited in a fixed position. This way, multiple internal seat layout configuration is possible.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• karim alias on Oct 01, 2005 at 5:25 am

looks like a bullet to me.. tapi interior sangat cantik..sofistikated and moden..

• Naruto on Oct 01, 2005 at 5:25 am

wtf ?!!!!

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 01, 2005 at 5:50 am

wow,fuel cell car….

haizz…can't get it here lah…

• stupid rafidah on Oct 01, 2005 at 5:51 am

thumbs up

good for unmarried man

• mud_chains on Oct 01, 2005 at 7:20 am

Looks like sad face car man….

• E-Nabill on Oct 01, 2005 at 7:37 am

hard to tel wer is the rear end and wer is the front end,could be either way! i tink its designed by a man who has been very depressed…mid life crisis perhaps?!!

• Selipar on Oct 01, 2005 at 9:16 am

ahhhhh!! (jaw-dropping)…the most impressive part for me is the front panel..the bluish dashboard LCD panel, fully digitized computer controlled…uses steering-by-wire, drive-by-wire and brake-by-wire just like FI tech (somebody naughty enough might sabotage the car by cutting off the controller wires..no wire..no drive :) ).

fuel cell technology car seems very close to be practical for mass usage in the near future by generating electricity via hydrogen or oxygen passing through the proton exchange membrane fuel cell (PEMFC).

the fuel is refillable once running out..but using methanol much more preferable as easier & cheaper to mass produce.

but anyhow…..no money no talk guys!!

• rafreez on Oct 01, 2005 at 5:41 pm

I think I'll hold my intention to buy a new car for now…lets wait for another 5-10 years so we can save enough money to buy this type of hi-tech n nature friendly type of auto…

• rafreez on Oct 01, 2005 at 5:46 pm

if let say got same shortage/faulty on the electronics on this car, what would happen…"HONEY THERE's A LORRY IN-FRONT"…"SAYANG I'VE TURN THE STEERING BUT IT WONT TURN, I'VE HIT ON THE BRAKES BUT IT WONT STOP AAAAHHHHHH"…scary man…

• rafreez on Oct 01, 2005 at 5:48 pm

or even if computer Virus infected the system…dielah…

• rajanichand on Oct 01, 2005 at 6:05 pm

look ugly for me..

maybe my taste is sporty one.

this one look FUNNY for me..

funny like ke .. Look! .. it's a FISH MOUTH in the front.. Hahaha

• kenit on Oct 01, 2005 at 8:24 pm

Exterior seems liks funny alien year 2005 ha..ha

Interior look nice.

• cbljkkj on Oct 01, 2005 at 11:07 pm

I remember Toyota designing a car similiar to this with the help of Uni Students to help ease the use of petrol..Interestingly the dashboard and meter cluster bear a striking resemblence..hmm

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 02, 2005 at 3:06 am

3 or 4 seater?? Not so clear saw the Steering wheel located at the center lah. Who want to buy this? Just 1 seat extra compare to MOTOBIKE!…Ugly so……..weird!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 02, 2005 at 7:30 am

It's a four seater. The driving position can be adjusted and thus the place where the driver does not use becomes the passenger seat , or so I thought.

And if it's fun and cheap , why not? I love small utility cars , they seem more like a walking private room to me =P

• hokkien lang. on Oct 02, 2005 at 9:26 am

is totally out of my mind!!!!!!!!!!

it can change from right side to left side……

walau eh! too prefect man…

it feel like driving a plane not a car? see that 'gps'..

touch at that screen and say "scotty warp 70km/j" and then engage

btw did it got manual over-ride? just in case if the driver got problem?

• gegaoff on Oct 02, 2005 at 9:39 am

got any pic to show how a person drive in any position inside this car? god, so cool man!!

• michael lee on Oct 02, 2005 at 6:34 pm

" … automotive work of art …"

In many ways – YES ! but that front view looks like the face of a horny toad that cannot find a girlfriend … poor thing.

• Joshua on Oct 03, 2005 at 7:39 pm

wierd la this car. the only thing i like is that it has a lot of glass panels all over the car. very see thru, i like.

• driver on Oct 04, 2005 at 5:22 pm

the seats resembles old barber shop's chairs….

• roni_united on Oct 12, 2005 at 12:50 am

look great ya… I like the interior, is moden and same like staying in UFO.

Great job man.

• Manish K. Tiwari on Nov 15, 2005 at 7:00 am

I really want buy. I love it so muchhhhhh.

Great Engineering…..

• kalingga on Dec 15, 2005 at 12:00 am

wow, is good. aku juga mau punya emang harganya brapa ya

• kalingga m w on Dec 15, 2005 at 12:05 am

ahhhhh!! (jaw-dropping)…the most impressive part for me is the front panel..the bluish dashboard LCD panel, fully digitized computer controlled…uses steering-by-wire, drive-by-wire and brake-by-wire just like FI tech (somebody naughty enough might sabotage the car by cutting off the controller wires..no wire..no drive ).

fuel cell technology car seems very close to be practical for mass usage in the near future by generating electricity via hydrogen or oxygen passing through the proton exchange membrane fuel cell (PEMFC).

the fuel is refillable once running out..but using methanol much more preferable as easier & cheaper to mass produce.

but anyhow…..no money no talk guys!!