Nissan AZEAL Coupe Concept

This is Nissan’s AZEAL Coupe Concept. Don’t be fooled by it’s expensive looks, it’s meant to be an affordable entry-level performance vehicle to target young buyers. Think Scion and you’ll know what they’re trying to do.

Many car manufacturers are trying to emulate what Toyota is doing with Scion. Reach the young consumers and build a lasting good impression in hope that it will build brand loyalty. When these young ones have more money later on, they will continue buying your higher end models. The car is small but designed in such a way that it looks bigger than it actually is.

The car is a front-wheel drive powered by a 2.5 litre 4-cylinder turbocharged engine mated to a 6-speed manual transmission.

Budget 350Z anyone? :)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• looks great, by buget i hope 70K LOL!

• Cool~~~~~~ i like this concept car! if this car vili sell on market ..hope the price will be around RM 60k-80k.

• honourMe on Oct 07, 2005 at 1:53 am

70k? keep dreaming. this car wouldnt even land in msia. unless, u got an AP.

• neurra on Oct 07, 2005 at 2:00 am

w00t.. 2.5L turbocharged? summore the frame looks really small n light.. wonder wat's the accel. figure like..

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 07, 2005 at 2:12 am

Awesome!!

• aksMs on Oct 07, 2005 at 5:19 am

It's a Nissan. Hmm…even if this concept goes into production and make it to our shore, it's more likely will be an IMPUL….not a Nissan. 70k for a 2.5 litre turbocharge? Who are you kidding? Yeah, dream on. I think it's gonna be 160k, at least! By the way, how much is 350Z?

• karim alias on Oct 07, 2005 at 5:27 am

looks like a mini 350Z. hope it is affordable.

• karim alias on Oct 07, 2005 at 5:29 am

350 Z is around RM250K..

• Cyrus on Oct 07, 2005 at 5:32 am

Yeah.. agree to aksMs. 70k for this car !? guys.. if this really happens, than kancil is selling in 2k and Waja selling in 10k ~~

let's have a more statistic calculation for this car.. currently a Japanese 2.4cc sedan car such as Camry and Accord ( both CKD) is selling around 170k, and this car come with a 2.5cc 4 cylinder turbocharged engine, a coupe, and not CKD model (most probably it will be) .. i afraid the price would be at least RM200k .. target customer is the youth ?? haha.. yeah.. the rich youth in m'sia ~~

• Cyrus on Oct 07, 2005 at 5:34 am

karlim alias

r u sure a 350Z is only worth RM250k, 1st hand or 2nd hand ?? sorry mate, no offences ~

CheeRs ~

• karim alias on Oct 07, 2005 at 5:52 am

If i'm not mistaken 1st hand but sorry if i could mistaken it with the price of Murano (somewhat around 250K same as Harrier)

• wow! esp the interior! min.180K here…..

• er…. 350z is bout 550k

• MutantTomato on Oct 07, 2005 at 7:18 am

Karim Alias: You sure ah bro? Because the last I checked, the 350Z was going for $80k in Australia, and RM350k in Malaysia. Then again, this was about 2 years ago la… The prices might have changed by then.

Paul the "demi-god" of motoring, maybe you can help us misguided lot? :P

• wahh..

i always be amazed with Nissan's idea…a step ahead from other car marque..it's design quite futuristik but still can be accepted in our time frame…just look at Nissan Murano and a new nissan sentra…even it's sister..renault cant beat Nissan's design

aarrgghh..who's the designer aaa…?

• nissan 350z?

check out its price at www.nissan.com.my
    click on imported models

u wouldn't believe ur eyes

• Streamyx User on Oct 07, 2005 at 3:19 pm

Private Registration inclusive of 1 Year Road Tax RM 4,386.00, 1 Year Comprehensive Insurance Premium RM 14,640.50 with a sum insured of RM 551,000.00 and Ownership Claim Fee RM 50.

BTW, this car is a ugly piece of sheet.

• KL Lim on Oct 07, 2005 at 4:00 pm

Nissan just got young age designer after so long with their old fashion designer ..

• epalhead on Oct 07, 2005 at 5:45 pm

the car looks cool…..but for 70k in m'sia……daaa

imagine m'sia without proton & perodua….

• Sad Malaysia Driver on Oct 07, 2005 at 5:50 pm

maybe this car will cost RM250K++, car for young drivers? I think we'll see old rich "uncles" driving these around?! haha!!

• narquis on Oct 07, 2005 at 5:51 pm

since its manual transmission, the gear knob is badly position.

• neurra on Oct 07, 2005 at 6:46 pm

narquis: imho, i think it'll be semi-auto.. anyway, the current Civic Si has that gearknob position too wat.. Civic EP series

• NIssan Dealer on Oct 07, 2005 at 6:59 pm

Tht is 1.5 million when it come in to Malaysia…

• Marmitecrab on Oct 07, 2005 at 7:13 pm

Looks too metallic, in and out. Not sure if I can live with it though (provided I can afford one). If you notice, Nissan cars nowadays taking a lot of design cues from parent company, Renault. The CEO, Carlos Ghosn is using a lot of french designers on Nissan's new car projects.

• narquis on Oct 08, 2005 at 12:37 am

neurra: semi auto? but it has the cluth pedal. Supposingly semi auto will not have cluth pedal fitted rite ?

Quote : The car is a front-wheel drive powered by a 2.5 liter 4-cylinder turbocharged engine mated to a 6-speed manual transmission

• xnak ah,the air cond holes so big and square shape! there is more than 10 holes so that my son`s hand and foot will get stucked on dashboard hahaha..

• Affordable entry level car to the rest of the world, but LUXURY car when it comes to Malaysia…. well, IF it comes..

Anyway, love the design.. Murano-ish front grille.. looks awesome!

• muhahah on Oct 09, 2005 at 12:15 am

this car will be Rm70k if only the engine is 1000cc without turbo and only plastic interior :P

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 09, 2005 at 9:33 am

Aim this car at the Honda Civic/Toyota Corolla Altis pricing range and that's about as far as you can go in Malaysia.

Wait.. I think they can raise it more (Not Nissan , the Factor.G!)