Renault offers to buy Volvo, Ford declines

Industry rumours say Renault has approached Ford Motor Company for an offer to buy Volvo as it needs to compete with German premium brands, which it cannot do with it’s own large vehicles. Ford declined the offer.

Renault is now looking elsewhere for a premium brand to purchase. Seems that it cannot use Nissan’s Infiniti luxury brand as even though it is well known in the USA, it has no profile at all in Europe.

One brand that might fit the profile is Saab, owned by GM currently.

We also might see another big merger in the future. Carlos Ghosn has been studying the feasibility of forming an alliance with either GM or Ford through means of a share exchange.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 16, 2005 at 3:18 am

Volvo brand is getting well known and most of the models are great, If I were Ford I will not sell it too. Better to sell off Ford lah but Renault sure reject it Ha ha ha…..

• aksMs on Oct 16, 2005 at 4:13 am

Saw the new S40 and S60. S40 was targetted at younger market. Damn nice. Been a fan of XC90 thou…. :) But all I can afford is the 240 injection..hehehe…

Volvo got strong market all over the world. Not big but strong. It has strong market not just in Europe, but in the US too.

Poor Renault. :)

• gegaoff on Oct 16, 2005 at 4:33 am

but Renault aim those GM own's company is a good move… GM keep have lost in their annual report… GM just like a big but dump company at all… go ahead Renault!!!

cheers…

• SEE FU on Oct 16, 2005 at 5:12 am

Even if GM is called General Moron I don't think they are that Stupid to sell off the companies which has future, Chinese always said "Ji YAU MAI (Buy) CHO MO MAi(Sell) CHO" or means "Only Buyer make mistake not the Seller".

YAU MO KAU……..CHOU!!

• MoMoSosicko on Oct 16, 2005 at 8:42 am

Volvo got a very strong branding in eroupe and the rest of the world .. it will be one of the stupidest ford to make if the happen to agree.

• Renault are still sore they couldn't scoop up Volvo before Ford got to them. IIRC, talks of a Renault/Volvo merger popped up every two or three months in the late 80s and early 90s.

But Infiniti is coming to Europe anyway. They'll arrive in 2008. It'll take Renault/Nissan that long to figure out how to stick a Diesel engine in the next-gen Skyline/G35.

• I think offering to buy Saab from GM might be much better bargain for Renault when the lazy giant was in such a trouble position. This also might stop the disgusting projects such as 9-2X and 9-7X – when even the GM agrees.

• tenent_ec on Nov 17, 2005 at 6:08 am

well, my family have been using volvo for almost 16 years…starting from 244 till S80, VOLVO is a damn good car, from my opinion laa…i've tried using BMW, Mercedes, Renault but it still cannot satisfied my familiys' taste…so, if VOLVO were being sold to Renault, man…what a waste…