2008 Vauxhall Vectra: Who needs drivers?

Current Vauxhall Vectra VXR

Vauxhall says that it’s new Vauxhall Vectra set to debut in 2008 will be the first car in the world to actually drive itself.

Vauxhall’s Traffic Assist technology makes use of lasers, video cameras and a computer to detect the road curves, spot warning signs, determine lane markings, and most importantly, detect other vehicles so you don’t crash into them.

An onboard computer processes data fed in through the many sensors and controls the throttle, steering and brakes – that’s basically driving the car!

GM also has other innovative technology in it’s pipelines. It is developing body panels which repair minor dents and blemishes itself. A special alloy is used which heats up as an electrical current is passed through it. When the panels cool down, the small dents and marks are removed in the process.

Source: Auto Express

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• "KITT, drive to office , cepat sikit ada meeting pukul 10.00 am" – how cool would that be..No need to take license anymore, just buy the car.

• on-and-off on Oct 20, 2005 at 7:15 pm

this idea is not new, but there are so many challenges to this, for eg. when the person actually wants to move closer to the front, or when parking..even during highway drive, unless the speed is slow, it may become more dangerous to drive, if for town driving, then it may be even more dangerous..or maybe i just got the whole concept wrong..

nvtl, the self healing alloy concent is cool though. i always thought this is possible, but i was more incline to having boday made of superhard rubber composite, then when collison happens it just bounced :-) and no more dents!

• ddkwh on Oct 20, 2005 at 7:23 pm

cool!! feels like something of the far future we've seen in movies. but what im wondering is…what will happen in the case of an accident?! or trying to explain to the policeman that it wasnt me driving when it knocks down a little kid or something like that…

• This is soooooo….K.I.T.T. The only thing it may not have is the ability to speak. Oh wait, thy are going to put in AI too?

• ThAt's wHat i CAll a CAr!!!!!but it reminds me of the OPTRA.

• hfrshah on Oct 20, 2005 at 7:42 pm

Cool i guess, tho do you really want to let electronics drive your car? I trust myself more thank you.. Citroen has a system similar to this too, a test mule of a C3 Pluriel using Autopia Programme developed by Spain's Council of Scientific Investigation (CSIC). No news when its gonna be on sale yet tho.

As for the self reforming body panels, that wont repair paint scratches right? That is by far the most common defect of a car's appearance. But its a cool feature anyway, good job, Vauxhall

• Joshua on Oct 20, 2005 at 7:47 pm

the front grille looks like proton savvy. hahahahha. how cool it will be to have a car that drives itself, then we can save time by brushing and dressing up in the car. haha.

• Kancil Killer on Oct 20, 2005 at 7:51 pm

If one of the sensors mulfunction…. hm… there goes the car…

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 20, 2005 at 8:26 pm

years back one malaysian invented a self-driven car, don't know what happen now.

• nohiddenagenda: wasn't it by UTM? i remember a black coupe kind of car. Looked very cool.

• SEE FU on Oct 20, 2005 at 8:29 pm

Drive itself??

Wah, will GHOST car be approved by BOLEHLAND JPJ?

Out JPJ will say if Accident happened who should be blamed. GHOST? or Machine……what a JOKE car. Sensors…….usually the problems is occured on these sensors first……Who will trust IT?? Hands UP!!

Anyway, I will not buy it!! Driving is FUN not a problems to me.

YAU MO KAU……..CHOU!!

• It reminds me on Zulkifli Harun, the inventor who equip his car with several sensor. Its look cool in that era but nobody in the automotive industry want to develop the system to perfection. His invention now can be seen in upmarket car such as Mercedes, Peugeot. Maybe if national car maker employ him, we can see his invention in Wira, Waja and Perdana. The real problem, he is Malaysian. So nobody know him.

• basis.guy on Oct 20, 2005 at 8:43 pm

hehe nissan sunny had that technology long time ago, infact it implemented in the car bumper, My nissan sunny 130y , hit other car bumper, hydrant and rail in slow speed, no dent at all ..hahaha cos the bumper plastic is so flexible

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 20, 2005 at 9:07 pm

the UTM project is ARG-10, a research by AARG of UTM. I saw the car when i studied there, nice. It is years back… don't know what happen.

the one i mention is zulkifli harun mentioned by shai. ARG is prototype car and does not have any of this.

what i dream the most is Pintu Suka Hati Doramon heheh…

• I doubt it come into existing as this articles states it to be. Can you imagine the lawsuits involved if the car were to crash?

Maybe that's why its going to be an a Vauxhall first (UK) and not in the US.

• Mango on Oct 20, 2005 at 9:40 pm

i perfer to drive it my-self. i enjoy the driving espeacially at highway. if not, what the point we have rx-8 / skyline those car in the road? the feel of "driving" can't be replace.

"… 所有吔没成行前都是一个神话 …"

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 20, 2005 at 9:56 pm

then this car is not for you.

• December on Oct 20, 2005 at 10:00 pm

Perfect recipe for lazy forknuts, and also towards disaster, of course this car cant be driven in Malaysia as the road conditions are superfine, prolly the car need to be installed with a pot hole detector and kampung roads identifying system as well as stupid schoolkids crossing road detecting system, with all these, this might tickle Malaysian's fancy. You buy the car, you drive it, dont let the car drive itself, might as well take a bus, at least you get to see girls. Bleh. Im stoned.

• Streamyx User on Oct 20, 2005 at 10:13 pm

OMFG THE CAR REPAIRS ITSELF ROFL.

• In a couple of years, human won't need their hands or legs anymore the way things are going.

• diabloCruiser on Oct 21, 2005 at 1:52 am

haha…the car also needs to detect many things….like grandpa and grandma crossing roads, stupid dogs and cats running on the road…..dead animals, some motor racer dudes, ect ect…..i think this car is good to be a taxi…with a credit card payment functions…..also good if the technology is use on buses so no more OMO = one man only but NME = no man ever…..:P i mean practically public transport in mind……..but personally i do prefer to drive my own car if i paid so much for it…..right guys?

• My point of view: kampung roads, small town i think you hv to drive manually….This system more suitable for highway road that long and constant. Imagine during this car driving by iteslf, you can do anything such as read newspaper, gosok gigi, make up , eat, sleep (if you brave) and etc… when the you destination reach…then you baru turn it to manual drive and start drive by you own.

• cbljkkj on Oct 21, 2005 at 4:30 am

One question. If it has sensors to detect whatever is in front of it. What if a cat or dog dies in front of it??? If an animal runs across the highway while you are travelling at 110kmph. I'm sure that would be a fun ride.

• Am i the only one that thinks if someone stuck a PROTON badge on it, it really looks like a Proton?

Seriously.

• aksMs on Oct 21, 2005 at 2:41 pm

swee: im sure you're not the only one lah. i have thought of that since they launch the new vectra. i thought it was the new Proton Waja, back then…HAHAHAHA…

• rafreez on Oct 21, 2005 at 7:38 pm

can u imagine if people with bad intention…hack into the system using blutooth or rf…then when u get in they will control the car and drive u somewhere to rape or kidnapped u…or just drive ur car from top of the hill into the ravine…I dont trust machine or computers even thou I'm n IT person…

• albagmane on Oct 21, 2005 at 9:43 pm

gosh this vauxhall so arrogant.. "who needs drivers?"

how bout now? their shit cars are all required drivers now, don they?

damn this company so arrogant..

• haha "who needs drivers"

if all 4 passenger in the car crash and burn we can only blame it on vauxhall rofl. wat happen if chip crash? u "crash" also lor…

• neurra on Oct 23, 2005 at 1:44 am

L337 r0x0r!

repairs itself!

• David on Nov 15, 2005 at 5:53 pm

Now car also no need driver…. Guess what it will be in future……. ????