Monday is not a public holiday

There are rumours going around that Bernama has issued a news flash informing the public that Monday October 24 2005 is a public holiday.

If you receive this rumour, please do not spread it further. Monday is not a public holiday. Bernama is lodging a police report in order to get down to looking who started the rumour.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jlchannel on Oct 21, 2005 at 6:27 am

Why Malaysian always ask for public holiday?

• Mark Vincent on Oct 21, 2005 at 8:31 am

yeah lor,why need that much holiday for what?we got deepavali and raya coming..yet people are still hoping for more holiday..

• yes!!! monday is public holidayyy… Only Pahang state maa!!! Sultan Pahang birthday..

• hokkien lang on Oct 21, 2005 at 9:45 am

jlchannel said,

October 20, 2005 @ 10:27 pm

Why Malaysian always ask for public holiday?

the answer is……:

they got triple pay on that day ma………

• MutantTomato on Oct 21, 2005 at 11:01 am

Seriously, in NO OTHER COUNTRY do you see such rubbish!! Where else on Earth do you see "carying forward" holidays?! If it comes and goes, it comes and goes! Why the hell does it need to be carried forward?!

Its only the lazy "curi tulang" kinda bastards who expect a working day between two holidays/ a working day following a holiday weekend/ a working day before a holiday weekend/ etc, to be also included in a holiday! And please don't bring up the "we work hard so we deserve a holiday" excuse! If you want a holiday, there is something called "leave." Apply for leave and don't whine!

The other "standard shit" people will try to pull off is, when KL is on holiday, the Selangor fellas will say "No point working la! Our clients are all KL based!" Also works the other way around.

Its no wonder our PM said Malaysia is a country with 1st world infrastructure but a 3rd world mentality! That couldn't be more accurate! If most people could put in solid work in as many days as there are holidays in this country, I think we could be one of the best/most developed 3rd world countries around!

Sadly, I don't forsee that happening anytime soon…

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 21, 2005 at 4:27 pm

Holiday? WHY??? Only Idoit will believe it!!

• SEE FU on Oct 21, 2005 at 4:34 pm

Siapa itu orang Yang buat benda GILA???

Semalam, Saya punya ORANG GAJI sudah pergi HOliday yo!!

Pagi ini, 2 dua orang gaji saya ini akan diPECAT!! YOU ARE FIRED!! FIRED!!

Jangan main2 SAYA sudah rugi semalam, pasal tak ada orang kerja di kedai saya!!!

YAU MO KAU…..CHOU!!!

• Aris Tee on Oct 21, 2005 at 4:38 pm

I've been working too much lately… got only 2 weeks of leave annually… and haf to work on all the public holidays… i'd do anything for a holiday… u can't live with only sundays as a rest day

• siren on Oct 21, 2005 at 7:23 pm

Geez Mutant Tomato, what job do you work in? Seems like you have an easy life :)

• Holyday on Oct 21, 2005 at 7:28 pm

MutantTomato,

Get your facts right. "Carrying forward" of holidays happens in other countries too. Hong Kong, Australia, Singapore etc.

• EDDIE FANS on Oct 21, 2005 at 7:59 pm

TOO MANY HOLIDAYS IN MALAYSIA, IT'S NOT GOOD FOR COUNTRY AND PEOPLE.

• Verne on Oct 21, 2005 at 8:25 pm

In the midst of the sombre, sad mood over the passing of the PM's wife, it is really idiotic to be spreading rumours like this. Only a heartless, low-life piece of shit would do something like this. It's bad enough to be spreading rumours, but in an event like this, even more unacceptable. Where is the respect and civility?

This person should be shot, tortured, raped, shot again, then put in jail. Then shot again.

F*cktard.

• KISIO on Oct 21, 2005 at 8:54 pm

mau cuti saja, kerja tamau, gaji tinggi mau, bonus mau…. apasal banyak org mcm ni…

• MutantTomato on Oct 21, 2005 at 11:20 pm

siren: On the contrary, I don't have an easy job at all. My job technically doesn't allow me any leave at all. I do biotech research.

All I'm saying is, if so many holidays are given, this carry forward nonsense is allowed to continue, and if people keep demanding that more holidays be given, we will NEVER rise from a 3rd world.

• Marmitecrab on Oct 22, 2005 at 2:03 am

MutantTomato,

I agree that we still have a 3rd world mentality but to put the blame squarely on the fact that we have too many holidays is stretching it too far, l think.

Developing a country requires us all to share a vision and to work towards it. Unfortunately, our vision is often blurred and issues like economic disparity between the races can cause us to fall back oftentimes. Allow me to illustrate: it would take us all, irrespective of race to work efficiently to help realise this goal. Instead, we have many cases of one race commenting "why should I work hard so other races can prosper?". It is attitudes like this that causes us to still be stuck behind. Just one of the many underlying causes, IMHO.

• nonok_racer on Oct 22, 2005 at 2:06 am

hello mesti la kena cuti malaysia ni kan antara ranking negara yang waktu bekerja paling panjang dalam setahun + gaji sikit nak mampos pastu barang harga macam sial semua mahal.so memang sepatut nyer bagi cuti pun asyik keje jer no life ma

• Malaysian bolah ma!.

for government is good for us who pay us !. holiday ..holiday my foot!.

• MutantTomato on Oct 22, 2005 at 3:46 am

Holyday: I stand corrected. However, does that make it any less stupid (the carrying forward thing)?

Marmitecrab: If at any juncture I implied that the ONLY reason why we are still a 3rd world country is due to the numerous holidays we receive, then I apologize. However, its is one of the myriad reasons why we are still in the doldrums. When I say so, I compare us to other more successful countries, like Singapore and Japan.

Remember that Japan was devastated by the war and ultimately by the two atomic bombs. This happened approximately 50 years ago. Not only did they suffer physical devastation, for many years, Japan had trade embargos and various other restrictions imposed upon them. However, in the time they took to rebuild all that was lost, they managed to be one of the world's strongest economies.

Singapore? Singapore had nothing and still has nothing. When I say "nothing," I speak of natural resources, agriculture, oil, precious metals, etc. Yet, they are also among the strongest economies around.

How do these two countries do it? I would summarise it as the mentality of its people. They work hard. They are conscientious. They have ethics.

We on the other hand, suffer from a perenial sort of laziness. The term coined locally for this malady is the "tidak apa" attitude. We expect the Government to give us many things. One such thing is numerous holidays. Although all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy, too many play days will definitely make Jack a lazy ignoramous of a boy.

Efficiency and productivity already suffers as a result of the "Malaysian mentality," which, in my humble opinion, is slightly worse than the 3rd world mentality. What more when holidays are liberally dispersed throughout the working year. Ask yourself this question; when faced with a long weekend i.e. the holidays start on a Thursday or Friday, do you feel productive on the day before the holiday? For that matter, do you find yourself planning your holiday at the start of the week?

I will probably ruffle a few feathers by saying all that I have just said. However, I couldn't care less. I have stated my opinion and I, just like anyone else, am entitled to my opinion.

• cbljkkj on Oct 22, 2005 at 5:34 am

People are even treating their work like it is a holiday. Lousy customer service and they pay little attention to you.

• Deodorant on Oct 22, 2005 at 9:23 pm

Random: Hong Kong has more public holidays than Malaysia does. 17 to 15 or something like that (I work in Malaysia following HK holidays, so I get off days when HK is off, and have to take annual leave if I want Deepavali/Raya off).

In any case, I found this prank extremely distasteful and disrespectful to the First Lady. Was spread via email though so the cops shouldn't have too much trouble tracing the source (if they want to, lah).