My dyno tuning experience

I got my GReddy E-Manage installed today at N1 Racing in Sunway. I managed to get the last unit. I was actually aiming for the second hand unit but someone had bought it already. So I got a brand new one.

They had an installation and tuning package bundled together with the E-Manage unit for a total of RM1500. Got a fuel pressure regulator too for RM70.

There was already a Proton Waja on the dyno so I had to wait till it was finished before my car could go on the dyno to tune the E-Manage. The Proton Waja was nicely kitted up and it had a 4G93T GSR in there with a custom turbo controlled by a standalone Haltech ECU. Expensive stuff.

My bumper’s still unpainted from the accident. It’s been almost half a year. I’m still deciding whether to repaint the car or not so it’s going to stay this way for quite some time. I’m kind of growing onto the green which I originally felt lukewarm about.

Since my car is front-wheel driven, the front wheels are placed on the dyno rollers. The tuner gets into the car and shifts the car into gear. The car doesn’t move as it’s strapped down, but the wheels spin the dyno rollers. These rollers measure torque and horsepower over different RPMs.

Notice in the first picture of this blog post, the front of my car is hooked up to a harness to keep it on position.

The same straps tied to my rear rims. To prevent the car from moving forward of course! If you notice, there are rollers near the rear wheel too. These are not used during my dyno tune, but if you have a four wheel drive vehicle like a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution this dyno machine can measure power at wheels for all four wheels. The front rollers can move backward and forward to adjust to the wheelbase of the car being dynoed.

The wire sticking into my exhaust pipe is connected to a Wideband O2 sensor. It’s that thing with the two fans. This measures the air-fuel ratio by detecting oxygen in the exhaust stream. We need the air-fuel ratio readings to tune the GReddy E-Manage.

This high-powered fan simulates the actual road condition of wind blowing into the engine bay.

Here’s the car being dynoed.

I’ve always wanted to see how my wheels look like when they’re spinning. That’s not something a driver can do while driving the car.

Small single-piston disc brake :)

This is the GReddy E-Manage piggy-back engine management unit. It allows 16×16 rpm air-fuel ratio tuning points. It can also adjust the VTEC engagement points if your engine has such features. There is no screen unlike the APEXi S-AFC2 so it’s a little less cool, but it makes up for that with more features. The GReddy E-Manage has 5 controls for you to control 5 of the RPM points by yourself. But to access all the other features, you need a computer with the E-manage tuning software which costs more.

After the tuning, there was a rough 10% improvement in horsepower. I still have to do some work on the engine before it can release it’s true potential, which is not much, but the tweak freak in me is dying to get it out.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D on Nov 03, 2005 at 3:58 am

is this stock engine? wat engine is it?

• 1.8 – 4g93 sohc. you can find this engine in the normal wira 1.8. but mine is a mitsubishi from japan, not from the wira.

wira 1.8 limited edition, satria gti and putra uses the 4g93 dohc.

• HumanSanzz on Nov 03, 2005 at 4:47 am

hi Paul

I have a Wira 1.6 auto.Can i make any adjustments like yours since it is a auto transmission.Is there any diff????

From wat my friend told me,turbocharged car need more services such as have to change the air filter or black oil.Is this true???

Haiz 1.6 auto still lack of power.

• a turbo car maintenance is the same as a normal car if you stick to stock boost levels and etc. just change your oil and etc regularly at strict intervals and everything will be fine.

yeah you can do the same mods as mine, no problem. but you'll face the fueling problem i have now if you dont get a 1.8 ECU together with the 1.8 block.

• E-nabill on Nov 03, 2005 at 5:15 am

is the 10% improvement noticeble on the road….??i mean practically day to day driving?like if u compare ur rpm wen u drive at 100km/h.izzit the same as last time….jus curious abt ur current torque curve actually…

• I forgot to take back the dyno charts. Silly me. The power is pretty linear as it's an NA engine. Low end torque has improved. It's noticeable. I haven't really revved the engine. Have to do something else before I can do that :P

Other than power, tuning the air-fuel ratio to stoichometric (something like a perfect balance) instead of rich will help you save petrol.

• oh man nice rims.

anyway, where do you recommend to get myself 'foamed' to stiffen my chassis? anywhere Paul recommends, I go snoop.

your satria looks simplistically mean. scared man.

• danishbrad on Nov 03, 2005 at 6:07 am

really awesome

• Mivec Gti - makai le on Nov 03, 2005 at 6:27 am

paul … try to use mivec injetor .. is helpful for your fueling problem..

better use 4g92 lah.. convert 1.8cc can potong vtec .. i'm sure.

• Great Wall Of China on Nov 03, 2005 at 7:10 am

Paul…

what's your car number??

i want to buy 4D for it….hehe

• Aris Tee on Nov 03, 2005 at 7:35 am

Paul, u CAN see your rims when running. U pass by a shiny car, preferably black suv or mpv, and look to your right. The reflection would be on the car… hehe… i do that sometimes… but dun do this dangerously tho… ;)

• Chorwin on Nov 03, 2005 at 7:42 am

Wow!! Paul, a great blog!!!

It sound great to tune your baby, but i know it sure cost your pocket some money. I think to mod my Gen2 as well, but really no extra money at this moment.

Today I spotted a white color Gen2 on the road, if not wrong it a 1.3 version. Anyway, as usual, proton opt the cheap 1.3 model with no painted door handle, side door strip, and not alloy rims. this is what Proton do normally.

Don't know how the power of the 1.3Gen2… hope you could blog on it too. ^ ^

• - archangel - on Nov 03, 2005 at 10:19 am

If you read the local car magazines, you can see that there's a shop in Jalan Ipoh i think doing the "foaming". If i remember correctly, it's called KL Auto. Alternatively, you can head on over to www.iamtagged.net for more information. =)

• get a new paint job and change the grill… maybe people will think its rice but at least it will look good :)

• original identity is the best! :P

• SEE FU on Nov 03, 2005 at 3:57 pm

Paul, Wah Busy lei!!

Just wonder, I saw 2 gas springs were installed on your hood/bonnet. Any reasons? Weight reduce of the Bonnet ROD??

Its seems you have TAI CHU HEAU (pay a lot), How much you pay for Just Engine Tunning and Dyno test?

Only My little advises, you should change the Grille using Mitsubishi Logo and the rims change to Chrome type. Repaint the whole car with Metalic Black. Add the spoiler with break lights at the Rear roof area. Change the exhaust pipe size bigger with Chorme or Stainless steels type. But……..F***King Expensive to do so lei!! …….In that case better buy a brand new one lah.

YAU MOU GAU……CHOR!!

• Driver on Nov 03, 2005 at 6:33 pm

Paul, your car will be damn good looking if you wash your car regularly :))

• archangel ,

thx man. if not mistaken, KL Auto was featured in CBT in Sunday Times.

• gegaoff on Nov 03, 2005 at 6:53 pm

ah, SEE FU, i think the original color is the best, indeed.

anyway, PAUL, u need to wash ur car nicely. is dirty everywhere though.. hehehe… :->

cheers…

• it's been in the workshop leh… obviously it's dirty.

• SEE FU: those gas springs allow the bonnet to stay open without having to put the bonnet stand.

• Cyrus on Nov 03, 2005 at 9:29 pm

Hey Paul,

i am kind of confuse when u said wira 1.8 limited edition used the 4g93 dohc. my previous car was a Wira Aero limited edition (purple color), that imported from England(cause it was exported to england~~), and i am very sure tat it was a 1.8 sohc engine.

by the way, i had a question in my previous 1.8 wira aero, i noticed that it comes with a 5 speed auto gearbox. it may sounds rediculous to u all and even to me, but honestly, i could feel the gear shift from 4th to 5th and i also noticed the obvious rpm dropped (it dropped about 200-300rpm). i hv told this to quite a lot of mechinical, most of them just think i was joking but they cant even give me a good explanation about that. i may be wrong, but it was wat i noticed last time when i was driving my 1.8 wira, hope u can help me to figure it out ~ Thanks ..

• Cyrus: the limited editions with DOHC are the sedans with the tiang gol wing. as for the gearbox, i have no idea man. the putra auto has a 4 speed.

• proton has auto gearboxes of 5 speed? if so, it's a new thing to me.. never heard of it b4.. haha..

as for the dyno, paul, why did they harness your rims at the back?? although not much strain is put onto it.. is it the normal procedure? to tie the rims?

doesn't the normal satria have the little 'U' thing to hook ex: when you get towed.. i know the satria GTi and the r3 have one at the back.. i just find it different to tie the rims.. :D

btw, your ad07s look kinda new.. haha.. nice choice. :P

and since the dyno in N1 is the single roller dyno.. the readings it produce, does it differ much from the dual rollers used in Links or Speedworks? which is more accurate?

• michael lee on Nov 03, 2005 at 10:36 pm

Most of us have the problem of relating horsepower to what we can feel. The best way is to drive a friends car that has been modified – but this is often not possible. A VERY ROUGH way is to switch off your aircond. compressor when you are driving – do you feel any difference ? I then put the car onto a dyno at the shop ( negotiate this with the operator, dyno use is very expensive ! ) and measure the fall in hp AT THE WHEELS, when the compressor is switched on and off.

In my car, the fall was 2 – 4 hp depending on speed – so this means that the feeling I get is roughly equivalent to 2 – 4 hp. The conversion I was interested in promised 10 – 15 hp increase. I therefore paid, fully confident that there would be a noticeable difference. I was not dissappointed, and the additional torque made the car a lot better to drive at slow speeds and heavy traffic.

While at the shop I was also told that a lot of people were wasting their money on air filters, exhausts, etc. where sometimes the power actually dropped !

Hope this helps …

• SEE FU on Nov 04, 2005 at 1:29 am

Paul arr!! Aso!! Why your Bonnet stand cannot do so arr??

For me, I still prefer the original bonnet STAND. Because….my concerns are

1) Weight issue: I think The rod is still light than those gas springs.

2) Dangerous: Some X-brand gas spring might be Exploded due to overheated at high temperature especially in the Engine room.

3) Is it Necessity?? How often will you open the Bonnet??? Once a day??

4) Corrosion issue. Did you painted or applied ANTI-RUST after welded a small Brackets on the car body?

YAU MOU GAU……CHOR!! Good luck man!! :)

• SEE FU: very light only. i dont know about the gas explode thing, but a few cars like the rexton have these gas absorbers. necessity? hell no, for the cool factor only, plus the mechanic can peek around the engine bay easier without the rod getting into the way. as for corrosion, there's no welding. screw on only.

• rikeys on Nov 04, 2005 at 4:22 am

Dear Paul,

hope to see your graph soon pls post it

I also did mine with a 2nd hand SAFC thanks to Links

you can read about my experience & see the chart under :

<a href="http://www.autoworld.com.my/forum/allposts.asp?summary=1&Forum=ap200110301&access=1&status=1&subject=Dyno+1st+then+Mod%2E%2E%2E%2E">Link

• peter on Nov 04, 2005 at 8:28 am

Nice Paul, thanks for sharing this. The images provide a nice insight. I think the green is quite nice on your car too. If the rest of the car is in good shape, maybe just paint the front bumper! If you can't decide after a year, haha.

• wEtwEtwAtEr on Nov 04, 2005 at 12:59 pm

fuyoh !! gei lun monster !! hahaha… i wonder if i should reveal the dyno figures. hehehe.. :P

• lol if it was dyno figures to be proud of i would have revealed it here already. unfortuntely its not! :P

• Tan Yee Wei on Nov 04, 2005 at 10:04 pm

This is probably wierd but wth…

Your tyres look horny. What brand/model are they?

• horny??????????????? o.O

yokohama advan neova ad07 195/50/R15

• shangrila on Nov 06, 2005 at 3:20 am

Paul & all others,

if you want to look at your car, and how you look while driving it .. one tip is to look at yourself in the glass reflection in petrol stations, especially when u turn off after pumping petrol. then u can all see the nice car & the leng chai behind the wheel!

• Jason on Nov 06, 2005 at 6:01 am

paul, so its RM1500 all in, no hidden fees? quite value. how long it took for them to tune your car?

• i love the horny tyres too. LOL

• Dinkz on Nov 07, 2005 at 8:26 am

mates, u guys need to learn more about tuning vehicles. buy at the bottom end of the market, i guess you get what you pay for. for those of you, most of you, i believe, smart enough read this..

Q:What's the most expensive thing that i'll ever spend on in my life..?

A: A house! Probably spend 15-20 years earning for it..

Q:Correct! So you're paying so much for this thing over your head, to give you safety, comfort, reliability and satisfaction, who builds this for you?

A:Engineers, Architects, Contractors, and certified people that not only know what they're doing, they spent a good number of years through education on how to do it right, calculations, theorys, examples, from the right education sources. Pretty much they spent a good 4-7 years of their lives in higher education to deliver these things to us.

Q: Bingo mate!, I'd NOT HAVE AH chue, AH kow, Muthu, or Ali who says i've done it tonnes of times before to build it right? No sane person would even look that way.. man, i cant imagine if it falls down on you while you're sleeping…

A: Yea, hor, after build so half ass, then i have to spend again rebuilding it.. (which most people get ripped anyway in the car scene)

Q: So then what's the next most expensive thing you buy in your life?

A: A wife, i mean car lor..

Q: So you want the workshops that came out from cherry trees, without certified engineers or techicians to work on your car? People that used to sell oil( eg. boss of amoil, boss of n1 racing) or banker ( boss of dmt, that was sold of a few good months ago) or Accountant ( boss of hiperacing) or wah last time i work in new zealand wan, under gwailo, so what i dont know leh? (links power).

A: Wah lau eh, no wonder i hear so many people get ripped off, pay so much, and car is still shit. Sit there for so many years, never come out. Lets face it, there are more snake oil sales men out there than there are true engineers. So when your car fails, or products on it fail, they blame the product and not they're dodgy install, or the stupid mistakes they made. Most of you i believe have been guinea pigs. Publicity is on the outlook of the shops, they look good, customer service is great, but you get pumped, ripped and suckered!

Q: So what do you do in situations like this?

A: Sue the bugger!

Q: You could, but it dont work that way in this dodgy country. that's why, in countries like Aus, you have to have 4 years of minimum technical training and certification in order to work as an aprentice in other bigger shops, then you have to have at least 2-3 years of experience before you can even own your own shop to work on. Most of the shops here, dont even know how to tune or build and engine the right way.

A:What can we do about this then? Find out more about the people that build your car, before you even think about spending your money. As any other business, investment or project, its the people that make it happen right, and the people that make it go so wrong. you've been through it. you know.

POWER TO THE PEOPLE!

I hope you guys dont get suckered in to shit like this. as the saying goes, cheap things not good, good things not cheap!

• eMalaysian on Nov 07, 2005 at 7:02 pm

Paul,

I don't know much about car engine. So tell me did you get a SOHC? Why not a DOHC? Double better than single isn't it?

• simple – the SOHC was cheap.

• aksMs on Nov 08, 2005 at 5:20 am

Eh Paul, you should stick to the green la. Repaint the whole body.

So, you use the open pod air-filter. What brand? Any signicant differences to the power? My previous Satria 1.6 only use standard element K&N. Didn't get to feel the difference much since the clutch wore out already.

Did you change your manifold or you just wrapped it?

• Prometheus on Nov 08, 2005 at 9:58 pm

So you're Running a 4G93 sohc.

I always want to ask this but dunno where to ask..

Is your engine transplant legal.? I've heard that you can transplant upto 10% more "powerderful" engine (or 10% larger ).

What about Turbos and Superchargers? Is it legal to strap on turbos and superchargers? What About Nitrous? Is there any where we can find out for a fact? The intrest in Legal Modifications arises because of the Insurance factor. If we get hurt in an illegally modified car, i think that its an excellent excuse for the insurance company not to pay a single cent.. Anybody thought of that? Same as all those who go for track days at the Sepang Circuit.. Insurance does not pay for any racing activities there… SO the question is WHAT ARE THE LEGAL MODs for our cars..

I drive a stock standard Proton Putra. Original and Unadulterated (including the chrome proton grill) because I bought a Proton and I stand by my decision. No need to bluff myself by throwing away the grill and slapping on a "made in cheras" mitsubishi grill.."which doesn't improve the performance" ha ha ha .. No offence to those of you who prefer the Mitsubishi grill.. its your choice..i'm sure you have your reasons. I've got no money to buy a mitsubishi car, so i bought a proton !!

• Prometheus on Nov 08, 2005 at 10:03 pm

BTW.. So far, after 6 months of ownership.. I really am quite happy with my poor mans' sports coupe… Comfortable Cruisng speed 140-160kmh, Top Speed Attained 200 kmh. I just wished i had airbags

• Flannel on Nov 10, 2005 at 12:18 am

OMG!….They had an installation and tuning package bundled together with the E-Manage unit for a total of RM1500. Got a fuel pressure regulator too for RM70.!!!

what a wasting lots of money, just to get extra 10% hp?? lol

better u buy dohc engine or mivec dohc :P coz after a few months it will be back to normal hp:P

• rikeys on Nov 10, 2005 at 6:52 pm

Paul:

its not the power of dyno chart to be proud of .. its about looking at the chart & checking where is the torque & HP curves & at which band the car performs best … its also about Air Fuel mixture for better FC as well. I dynoed not for track racing. I did it for FC and wanting to know more about my car. Its tuned to run a low end torque of 3000rpm for city driving.

I saw SpeedWorks Gen2 chart & there were very bad torque curves lower end & then the highest was towards 5000rpm. Which means this car needs to rev very high to achieve the power it can. Which is maybe good for track but not for daily road drive.

• maestro on Nov 11, 2005 at 10:29 pm

Paaul,, i have been thinking you wowuld be driving a souped up 911… so you're like the blokes too eh?.. thats good to know…

since your like the rest of the blokes too,…. could tell me about Waja..

(i have to ask you because if you go to the clubs for wajas… the most they know is to fit in nice rims and white lights… the car downshifts everytime because of the heavy rim or the wrong sized tyres.. and the light blinds drivers and isnt that bright anyways…

what can waja owners do to their cars… without changing engines. .. changing heads is OK i suppose… trying to avoid paper work with JPJ…. the 1.6 in the waja.. is powerless… after driving a 2.2 car… it feels like i'm dragging a live in trailer behind with the waja…

• 4G63T on Nov 13, 2005 at 7:15 am

Paul,

If you dont mind, would you share your dyno graph which us?

I'm just curious, since we both have the same engine in the same chassis..although I have a lightened GTi flywheel, clutch and gearbox.

• TS.Lim on Jul 20, 2009 at 7:22 pm

Cyrus,

I know i'm really late to get into this forum.

But I agree with you, I'm now driving a wira 1.8 uk spec, it has DOHC engine, and dual airbag, and i also notice has 5-speed auto gearbox. the 5th gear jus drop around 200rpm only, make the car running 120km/h just at 2,800rpm.

But, i not very can notice the gear shift, if only I very concentrate to look at the rpm meter with the radio turned off.

Btw, i not really believe proton got 5-speed gearbox for long time ago. Maybe they have made some modification on the gearbox so that it looks good to export to england, izzit right? haha…