Highway speed limit to remain at 110km/h

Those who hoped proposal to raise the highway speed limits to 120km/h are in for a disappointment, as Minister of Works Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu said the government had rejected the proposal and will not entertain anymore proposals on the speed limit as it is final.

The Cabinet had earlier agreed to the proposal to raise the speed limit, but rethought it’s decision due to high accident rates.

Earlier this month, the Transport Ministry released the list of speed-trap camera spots in effort to reduce accidents during the balik kampung season.

These speed trap cameras are installed along accident prone areas. While this move is very unorthodox, it has it’s purpose.

If the drivers know these high-risk areas have speed traps, they will slow down and thus the accident rates will go down. Excellent reason, shows that the government is focusing on lowering death tolls during the balik kampung season rather than collecting revenue from speed summons.

Source: NST, Bernama

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yhtan on Nov 05, 2005 at 7:25 am

sure lol,if set at 120km/h in m'sia,

more accident will be happen

• auyongtc on Nov 05, 2005 at 7:34 am

Semi Value is not gonna entertain any speed limit increase coz if more cars are travelling at 120kph, then more bridges and highways will crack and he'll have more things to worry about….. >.

• only Datuk2 n rich men are allowed to drive faster than 130km/hr.rakyat jelata,below 110km/hr dah la..n guna local car cukupla..

• HumanSanzz on Nov 05, 2005 at 8:22 am

The G really know nothin abt it.They shud allow a higher speed for bigger cars such as Merc E or S class,Camry Accord………..Small cars like kancil Myvi Savvy plz obey the rules lar coz these cars are not made to go on high speed.

Besides the driver himself shud also SEDARKAN DIRI lar.Don't drive ard 90km/h and stay at the 3rd or 4th lane lar.This will really cause accidents.i faced this before and i got into a accident.i bang a Saga which was driven by a Old man who drive his car peacefully and stay at 3rd lane.MACxBAI!!!!!!!

i think most of the accidents happened on KAMPUNG ROAD leh from wat i have read from newspaper.the statistic on highway is so low compared to those kampung roads

• seriously ..Malaysian drivers has no standard at all You see ppl driving slowly on speed lanes , overtaking in emergency lanes etc ..especially the superman bikers. There was once i was driving bout 160km/h on seremban highway on the speed lane , and out of a sudden , a ah pek cut out into the speed lane from the mid lane in and old datsun , he was doing about 80km/h , I jammed the brakes and almost hit the rear was worrying if my friend who was following behind me would hit me . luckily the E39 brakes were not as crappy as mine . I honk the ah pek but he doesnt feel a thing , hogging the road .

• MutantTomato on Nov 05, 2005 at 8:32 am

Aiihhhh…. why wont the govt ever learn… speeding doesn't kill… its IDIOTS who speed that kill!

• gegaoff on Nov 05, 2005 at 8:35 am

first of all, H22A, i guess u speeding already, right? 160km/h on a 110km/h highway… u give a good example y malaysia's car accident rate is so high. :)

for my opinion, no different between 110km/h and 120km/h. coz most of the accident happens becoz careless, and think he/she is a super F1 driver, or forget there are others drivers on the road, that's all.

cheerss…

• got a story to share which involve a speeding car tht appear behind me.

was driving at ~80km/h on a road with speed limit of 80km/h in the middle lane. theres a slower car in front of me so i plan to shift to the fast lane, i look into my side mirror to see whether got any car on the fast lane, i was careful enup to check my blind spot too. when i see everything is clear i make my move. immediately after tht i heard a loud engine roar behind me, look into my rear mirror, saw a car right behind my tail doing emergency brake, straight away i pull my car back to the middle lane, but its too late, the car start to fish tail and crash into another car. My personal understanding is the driver is driving way over the speed limit (personal guess is ~130 to 150 km/h) and over taking me right off my tail right before i make my move to the fast lane. thts y i cant see him while checking out my side mirror.

just want to share tht it is very dangerous to ur own self as well as other ppl to overtake cars in this way and fyi the fast lane is not for u to drive 160km/h or do some F1 stuff.

cheers!

• infinity on Nov 05, 2005 at 9:10 am

agreed…no need to increase to 120kmh…c now at 110kmh, our friend drove at 160kmh d…if the government increase the speed limit to 120kmh…wat will happen??200kmh??

btw…H22A,from wat i c…the ah pek has not done anything wrong..driving at 80kmh is well within the speed limit…but u…at 160kmh is totally wrong…dun blame the ah pek..if smth bad happened..u've urself to blame..

care to comment??anyone??

• Holyday on Nov 05, 2005 at 10:35 am

I think both H22A and the ah pek was wrong.

H22A was speeding = wrong

the ahpek was way slower than the speed limit (I assume it's 110)

You drive within speed limit does not mean you can drive on any lane.

It's called etiquette and courtesy. Which sad to say, most Malaysian drivers do not have.

I repeat DRIVERS, i am not meaning Malaysians as citizens.

• E-nabill on Nov 05, 2005 at 10:50 am

u see , read the the few msgs above n u know y we have death on the road..ppl driving at 160 is fine..bt drive 80 at the wrong lane is wrong…both are wrong..bt driving at 160 is stupidity…its jus being idiots really..the problem is that u dont realize wat u doing…at that speed , if u die…its fine…bt plz die alone..dont incolve othr ppl by banging thm n blaming it on thm…i cant believe that som guys are actually proud wen saying thy r driving at 160….to me,this is an advertisment to humans ultimate brainless actions really…bt thn again…msian drivers seriously need generations to be on the rite track…its nt gonna hapen overnite..thats how bad it is

• berhaty haty di jalan raya

• altruis on Nov 05, 2005 at 12:33 pm

Actually the speed limit at seremban there is 90 only. SO the 'ah pek' is completely entitled to cut out if the car in front of him is slower. 80 and 90 is only 10kph difference, no problem for the car behind to slow down… 160 though is almost double the allowed limit.

• kalen_XI on Nov 05, 2005 at 2:41 pm

haih…its not the speed that kills dude…idiots on the road kill themselves…

1st..if u are on a bike and surve around cars like valentino rossi…most likely u will end up at the hospital

2nd…kancil arent suppose to go 140km/h..the driver shud realise that and drive carefully

3rd….in France…u will be fined if u are too slow..which is GOOD..becoz…apparently…when u are high speed..ur sense of awareness and reflexes doubles…hence.lower accident rite?

4th…make cars relatively cheaper…and let ppl buy their dream cars…soo.they will sayang the car more..and reduce accidents…ahahah…becoz..the campaign of love ur family avoid accidents..is NOT working lor…it shud..be LOVE your CAR…dont KILL it…

• Let us think what Pak Lah have said. "Kalau semua pemandu ikut peraturan, berhati2 di jalan raya, kemalangan dapat dielakkan. Kalau semua peniaga tak naikkan harga, barang2 takkan naik. Kalau semua penjawat perkhidmatan awam tak ambil atau bagi rasuah, takkan ada rasuah." Is it clear? When someone driving to fast, everyone feel something in their heart and drive very fast. The same goes in everything. We are the one who make our choice.

• SEE FU on Nov 05, 2005 at 3:18 pm

Wah!! New Topic man!! I'm Glad that, you are Back!!

Okay..okay..okay….Speeds issue!??

Aiyooyooh decrease the Speeds limits can reduced the accident rate!!?? F**K U lah!!

I think Speeds and accidents rate has very low connection.

Why? Pls check the history first, how many Ferrari, BMW, Merz,…….Jaguar….Honda Accord drivers were death, I had seen so many of these ppl drive fast like HELL, over 160km/h but…….. accidents rate is very low.

All the accidents cases mostly focus to the small and medium class vehicles…..Mostly Wira and Kancil and Motorbikes user. Plus the MORON drivers driving like a dragon dancer as thier WISH.

Do you really believed that POTONG can run faster then those important continental cars???

I knew, someone will say "Ayaah POTONG and KANCIL cars percentage are higher, therefore more accidents focus on these f***k models". Yeah, I think is not 100% true.

I had many experienced driving at Bolehland highway. Honestly, the faster you drive the safer you will be. Why???

Again, when you drive fast (120km/h about) your eyes and minds are ready to focus on driving 100%. I means no time to play the CD or smoking or doing Nonsense Mobile calls….or Kissing in the car or even SLEEPING.

I strongly believed that, most of the accidents caused by lack of patients, bORING, sleepy, someone always keep their eyes on the Meter (to avoid paying SAMAN), also the driver skills are low but drive like super hero and the irresponsible Bus & TRUCK drivers who had been keeping driving on the fast lane to block others.

I guess the G should increase the speeds limits to 140km/h or no limits, in that case Every drivers will be very CAREFUL of driving their cars at HIGHWAY. Because this Highway is already converted into F1 racing place. If you don't keep your eyes on the Windshield maybe you cannot reach your destination and straight to HELLWAY.

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! …….110km/h :(

• pojot on Nov 05, 2005 at 3:46 pm

again

i would like to propose that the highway be spilt into two divison. one for the F1-hearted (to be fair to them, they assure that by driving fast…they can focus 100% on the road) and one for the pengecut/no skills/cheap car/boring ppl like me who like to drive slow and enjoy talking/music/eating rambutans/scenery when driving.

so: i) no ppl blaming each others…you're too slow…you're too fast, ii) drivers of mercedes, bmws and porsches can drive to their car 'standard' speed without any restraints, iii) putting kancils, wiras and datsuns at their humble place, they can't compete with the bmws at the fast division and they cannot showing off at slower divison since the speed limit (install many speed trap and ridiculous fines!)

• huhuh

cant do like that.

at least 6 lane of higway only u can be an f1 driver.

ahahah

stop urging the government

they have no money bcoz of corruption

• Ferarri on Nov 05, 2005 at 5:13 pm

In Canada and USA, small cars below a certain cc, I think 1000cc or something are NOT allowed on highways as these cars are mean to be city based. In Malaysia, there are no regulations and limit of passengers on small cars. The last accident I read have 10 pax in a Kancil. Most of the family wiped out. I don't think the driver can even see the road behind with all the heads blocking him. Some old cars are so bashed up/and with non-working lights that they cause dangers to other road users.

Pedestrians on the highway? I have witnessed 3 incidents-some old men, some housewives with 2 or 3 kids running across a 3 lane highway. Watch out if you are driving along Sri Kembangan stretch-Macy shops/serdang station, Kajang new highway and the newly widen old klang road.

• nissansunnyGTR on Nov 05, 2005 at 6:17 pm

even if the msian people are taught about etiquette, courtesy and all those defensive driving habit, there is still one problem….msians are "DEGIL" , they won't listen bcoz they think they're so smart…everytime gov/experts try to give advice, msians we'll answer back with 1001 bull s**t opinions/feedback (supposely trying to show they're clever) and some more blast back at the gov…i'm not saying feedback is bad, it's just that majority of the feedbacks are base on ego/feelings without rational thinking….

• My point is … SPEED DOES NOT KILLS !!! ITS STOPPING SUDDENLY AT SPEEDS THAT DOES . Btw PPP , you are one of those incompetent drivers that has really slow response , when driving , checking the side mirrors and making a move 5 seconds later will only cause trouble to others . If you've been to germany , you will know driving at 200 km/h is no big deal . Even here in malaysia , most S-class are going at approx 200km/h in the taiping-juru stretch in N-S highway .

Most of the drivers here are still incompetent . ESPECIALLY old ah pek , housewives and young-chaps who just got their license . I guess due to the old corrupt JPJ whereas driving license can be bought . I dunno if its still true now . Look at other country and what it takes to be able to earn a driving license , and you will see why malaysian drivers are so incompetent

Finally , accident rates are lower at highways compared to trunk roads . Reason ? drive around and you can see 10 yr old riding a bike WITHOUT wearing a helmet . How can an accident not be fatal in such cases ? Sigh … there is still much to go .

• altruis on Nov 05, 2005 at 7:46 pm

Err… i can't believe the person who is speeds at 160kph is scolding the person who check his rear view mirros before switching lanes incompetent… ^_^

• drugkill on Nov 05, 2005 at 7:57 pm

hai yoooooo u all …. i know most of u have a great car that can go very fast … do shame on u guy …this atitude that don't blame the car maker … but blame the driver lah … driving fast will not make u 100% focus on the driving it self …. they ask u to slow 110 kmh why … what if suddenly there is a dog / animal crosing the road … and u r driving 160 km/h …. u break suddently right … u might be can avoid crashing the animal but do people behine u can't ??? be resonable lah guy …. there is cases in malaysia involving merc and ferarri and why it is so few of them involve and many of them involving Proton and Perodua … because …how many of young people can afford to by merc and ferrari … and then u guy will blame the tax that the G putting on this type of car … if there is no tax the G will not have any money and if there is no money pump in they pockets …. i mean G fund there will be no development and if there is no development for sure there is no people can afford to by car … no development u guy will be jobless … yeahhh u guy doing ur own business and if this happen … who going to buy stuff from u guy ??? if u are a contractor building house ,renovation houses … with no money in the market no extra money in people pocket no one will renovate their house …. emmm everthing in this world is related to each other either it is a cycle or a piramid … do think wisely guy … i would like tu suggest to the G and the insurance company … if people are dying because of highspeed crash …. do give the claim to them regradless if it is a life insurance or the car insurance …. baru u all tau … that why we are using HARGAILAH DIRI …

• datsunGod on Nov 05, 2005 at 8:24 pm

Even if the speed limit is increased, accidents will still be there. Even if more emphasize is put on driver education/ awareness, accidents will still happen. Its human nature to rebel against the law. Everywhere in the world not just msia, immoral drivers exist. What we can do at most is to minimize the damage by maintaining the current speed limit, review the driving education syllabus for potential weakness and also "parents" should play a role in educating their sons/daughters about safe driving. For those aggresive drivers try to contain your emotions, do something to relax your mind, be patience. If you still can't do it, go to the track, play go-kart , play paintball or any activites that can channel the stress/anger/negative values in yourself outwards safely without endangering the public, Peter Solberg of Subaru WRC once said drive slow on the roads, drive fast on close roads/ circuits.

• Will we ever see an Autobhan in Malaysia? Sigh….

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 05, 2005 at 9:24 pm

Drugkill : Shut it. Not related at all. That's major Off-Topic. And the money is paid to their pockets straight.. Development? Hell yeah, Better develop the N-S Highway , the roads there sucks. Can't even stop bumping the whole highway.

Back to topic : I'm a new driver, just got my license abt 6 mths ago. And I just drove my 2nd long trip from KL to Penang. And already I found 110 km/h is SHIT. TOTALLY SHITTY, far as I can see, while setting the cruise at 110, the cars blazed thru me like I'm nothing at all. So i pulled into the slower lane at 110, Can you believe it? Wira's and Kancil's etc were blazing through beside me, and I was driving 110, the limit on the roads.. And honestly , 110 is sleeppppyy~~ Could hardly keep my eyes open, esp when I don't have the control the accelerator..

My point is, why enforce a speed limit? People are just ignoring them after all. All those money are better used to educate people tat drive on the roads, much better than feeding it to the speed-cameras.. Esp all those 'souped up' wira's with big big spoilers on their tail, makes me wonder whether they can even see the car behind. Oh wait, they don't have to, coz they only concentrate on overtaking people. =/

• speeding ? on Nov 05, 2005 at 10:14 pm

why do you need to speed..?

an answer I got was " drive so slow at 110, sleepy la".

as for me, I love driving and I did not see the need to drive above 110. I could cruise for 5 hours and enjoy my holiday. Furthermore, I cannot afford to pay for the summon.

• gegaoff on Nov 05, 2005 at 10:16 pm

eRis-Aeir4s , becoz everybody think as u think, speed limit is totally useless at highway. like pak lah said, if everyone think 110km/h is enough, u know the accident rate wil drop. as i always said: HUMAN only think themselve personally, without caring others. sigh…

remember that time PAUL post a car accident's photo at this blog? what happens if u are the driver? who safe from the accident but your passengers dieth becoz of u speeding, or somebody speeding? think twice lo…

i may be too emotional… sorry for any words that hurt… but it remind my friends die in the accident last two week…

cheers… but cheers for what? sigh…

• daniel on Nov 05, 2005 at 10:57 pm

aiyoh.. the ageless evergreen topic of speed limits in malaysia.. my opinion, 110kmhr is too slow.. like eRis-Aeir4s said.. u drive 110 on n-s highway, u feel like a tortoise and will make u soo sleepy.. i've drove kl – penang – kedah – kl 5 times this year, and find that the faster u go, the safer yr journey is.. not 160 fast, just 130 – 140 fast.. thats enuff lar.. the G is wise about not raising the speed limits.. i dun worry bout big cars, but if kancil starts going at 160.. what happen lah? increasing death tolls.. correct or not? it is because not every car can go above 110 and still be safe to drive.. dun blame the kancil drivers.. blame kancil.. cheers~

• OK …time to tell another story , it was about 2 years back , when i was driving to Putrajaya , going at about 130-140kph , then i saw blue flashing lights behind me , and was thinking damm ….a dent in my wallet again , i slow down , and before i could pull over the perdana overtook me , apparently opening the road for another Perdana , a minister's convoy i suppose . I was doin 130+ and the blue flashing lights caught up in almost a flash , at least 170 kph , now tell me if its safe for them to go at that speed and its only a perdana , dont even have ABS . =/ .

BTW , Seremban highway ( Sg.Besi – UPM ) is a 3 lane 110kph limit and the ah pek is not overtaking , he just like to hog the road . As most suiciders do , and if you use the highway often , you will know that nobody drives 110kph at the speedlane , 130 at the very least .

Finally , i do not think its wrong to speed .. ONLY IF your car is properly maintained , is built to handle such speeds and a competent driver .

However , i think its wrong to zig-zagging around ( making drivers unable to see you ) and road hogging ( causes more accidents as ppl would try to overtake you in the slower lane )

• nope

all to blame are the highway itself bcoz of its calculations are not correct.

sometimes it is too dangerous for someone who is not familiar with the road.

a bmw skidded from the highway and crashed while doing 150 km/h.

ahaks

• narrowband on Nov 06, 2005 at 12:20 am

110 km/h speed limit? Ok, time to ask myself if that will affect me. I rarely obey the 110km/h limit rule no matter how hard i try to follow… aiya. Few seconds later i check my speedo, it shows a bout 120-130km/h.

Too slow sometimes make me feel sleepy lar. Abit of overtaking wakes me up.

Actually, some reeallllyyy slow-moving cars can be a real hazard to faster vehicles, too. Should just follow the flow ma (depending average speed of other vehicles).

• H22A,

Wht makes u think tht i switch 5 seconds after i check my mirror? Btw, come back or i can help u get a medium to hail ur lost soul back, u r in M'sia not german, if u like german autobahn so much dont drive in msia. and wht makes u think tht driving at 160km/h makes u a competent driver?

u tok like u r very competent driver, but as ur first post u already mention tht u got a crappy brake, i dun know how to describe a driver who knew he got a crappy brake and still drive tht fast.

To me u r just another selfish, ego and ignorant driver. very sad to see this kind of ppl on m'sia road.

• ppp

lolz …,i think have crappy brakes, . Compared to E39 530i in which was the previous generation of the BMW 5-series , i think my car is far inferior , but its still a SV4 fitted with a 220ps H22A , its no ferrari or sports car , but 160kph doesnt really feel that fast . Ego ? yes .. ignorant , maybe a little less than you.

And no , driving at 160km/h doesnt make you competent .

In a kancil .. 160kph is suicide , in an S-class its boring

• SEE FU on Nov 06, 2005 at 2:35 am

Question: Anybody out there who had drove 110km/h and below, none-stop from Ipoh to KL city during night or day time at the Highway without Sleepy feeling, Please rise up your hands or Legs!!

I can bet Nobody, except those ppl who take a stop or drink coffee or Drug booooooster!! along the way.

Honestly, I myself cannot keep on driving at 110km/h without sleepy……..ZZZZzzzz. Therefore, I always drive 120km/h to 140km/h if I could. I know some Dude will ask….How did you escape from the camera!!??…ha…ha…..the trick is easy…..just follow the TAXI drivers lah, they are Experts at highway's traps. When they speeds you speeds lol, when they slows down like hell..you will meet the Dumy Policeman with simling faces soon…at the moment you can smile CONFIDENTLY back to them too……isn't it simple. I believed they had Makam duit hitam from TAXI drivers. Pls don't tell anybody….only you and I Okay….keep secret. :P

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! Believed it or not!! HA..ha..ha

• HumanSanzz on Nov 06, 2005 at 3:45 am

nice tactics leh.But not everytime u can meet taxi drivers leh.

Sometimes those policemen are really BASxARD.They cheat u.For example,they really did not use the camera to trap u.U know how???They catch people by looking at your car.I drive a big car.Everytime sure kena one.Coz can speed mar.Last time i started to speed at Seremban till some where near Alor Gajah.But the police said i started speed at somewhere after Ayer Keroh.Was that make sense??I asked him to prove it and show me what made him to stop me.That police stunned there and did not reply me.What attitude was that lar????Want Duit Raya kah????

• datsunGod on Nov 06, 2005 at 3:46 am

Might as well, close the highways, everyone travel by train. Only the roads within the city are maintain open. Sounds abit like in Japan, arigato2 :)

And yeah i agree with PPP about H22A 160 km/h drive, no offence to H22A but driving at 160km/h even if you "THINK" you have crappy brakes is way to dangerous. You're basically gambling on people's safety = lives.

• to me, 120 km/h to 140 km/h is still very stable and controllable in my car, but 160 km/h is a bit on the unsafe side, i only do that speed on long stretches of straights with no cars

• SEE FU on Nov 06, 2005 at 5:25 am

HumanSannzz arr!!

You are damn right man, the "LOR SUi" (policeman) always catch BIG cars. Like try their LUCKy pick.

I was caught by them once, but I pay them Zero and question them back. after that, the said sorry mistake…..have a safe drive….Selamat Jalan…hari RAYA….gong xi fatt choy!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! Wanna to know the trick…….Secret he…he…. :)

• yhtan on Nov 06, 2005 at 5:38 am

Well,i drove my uncle car today,what was i met today is quite dangerous,

actually driving 80~90 is not against the rules,but if they overtake suddenly with a speed of 80~90 would cause a big problem,just imagine behind got a car speed 110~120 and bang it,not even the two cars will involve in accident.

For me,120~130 still acceptable,as long as you can handle it,but 160 too dangerous for the driver.To be frank,I can't deny that drive slow will cause sleepiness.

See Fu:beside that still got bus,when u see those express bus driving very slow,then u must be alert

• that would depend how BIG your cars is . If its a BIG NEW S-CLASS with tinted glass ( really dark till cant see the driver ) and single digit no.plates . The Lou Sui wouldn't dare to block also . BOLEH LAND !!

• kanasai on Nov 06, 2005 at 6:40 am

Shit!! …. can go to 110 is dran good lor… Penang costal highway the fastes u can go is 80!!! and u also can see 70 is common on Penang Highway!!!… but then again, is pretty fast to reach the destination la cause penang is too small.. LOL , driving 160 on penang road will damage ur car la… LOL. But again, i really like to try driving 160 cause it should be a good experience and sound fun if my car can la… but again, im afraid of motobikes la, 160 wil surely kill them la.. if they lose out of control and jump to ur lane, HOW? if a lorry driver or bus driver also lose control and jump to ur lane, HOW? die lor… 160 sure die man… even car crash testing doing at 60 or 80 i think…

• intermilan on Nov 06, 2005 at 7:42 am

110 mana cukup…

hangpa sumua toksah dok bohong aih!

sapa kat sini tak pernah bawak over 110?

yg cakap 110 tu dah cukup laju, ok la tu etc.. tak pernah drive more than 110?

ceh!

• Mark Vincent on Nov 06, 2005 at 8:23 am

if speed kills…why autobahn accident rate not climbing?if the man behind the wheel.i notice alot of drive on the road,when thy have the wheel in their hand…their mind is ,"how do i get pass the fella",if speed kills why create road legal cars that can reach top speed of more then 200km/h?besides they shud start to maintain the quality of the highway as always got lubang here lubang there,water here water there,no street light here no street light there,no signboards,motorcycles shud be on the most left lane..

• trav da man on Nov 06, 2005 at 9:17 am

i remember on what jeremy clarkson of topgear mentioned "Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary… That's what gets you"

pls remind this to sammy vellu.

On this 110 or 120 kmh i believe its useless coz the main reasons on why our accidents rate increased coz of bad malaysian driving manners and poor quality and safety on our national cars. I believe most of these fatal accidents are in trunk or state roads and there less fatal accidents in expressways. Why restrict only expressways when those morons didnt restrict the speed limit for state roads :x

Our driving manners are bad due to poor driving education curiculum. Most of us just pass with starbucks money instead, like u n me. Most of these fatal accident victims were driving proton wira and iswara which their safety technology is way back 80ist -90iest where road safety is never a priority then. Till now in order for local cars to save cost, they cost off the basic ABS and airbags as standard. What a shame.

Perhaps samy and co should look at those factors as well insteas of pointing at the speed factor.

• MutantTomato on Nov 06, 2005 at 10:11 am

ok so 110km/h is bad la… i mean, honestly, like what See Fu said, who here can honestly say they can drive NON STOP from KL to Penang or something like that at a constant 110km/h? I'm assuming you don't want to stop at any of the rest houses because that would be a fate worse than death… heck, go inside the toilets and you would drop dead! :P

What gets me is this; who is the stupid son of a forking idiot who decided the speed limit for the LDP from Kepong to Batu Caves is 60km/h?! Yes, that's right… SIXTY FUCKING KILOMETERS PER HOUR!!!!! You might as well get out of your car and push it! Its a SIX LANE HIGHWAY (3 lanes per side la!) mind you…

So, with the new stupid ass format for the "pigs" to stop us for speeding i.e. 1-20km/h over the speed limit = 5 demerit points and so on, if I go at 65km/h, which is sliiiiiiiiiiightly faster than the urine falling from my d*ckhead into the toilet bowl when I take a piss, will I be considered as a "dangerous driver?"

Another "amazing" speed limit for me is the one in KLCC parking entrance la… I know this has nothing to do with highway speed limits and all but… like I said, its just…AMAZING… the speed limit in the tunnel is 15km/h! Now, even Schumacher, Raikonnen, Alonso or any other skilled driver wouldn't be able to maintain their car speed at 15km/h! Check it out yourself if you don't believe me…

• priyan on Nov 06, 2005 at 10:21 am

Well even if speed doesn't kill people, given our Malaysian driving capabilities i would say we should drop the speed limit further. Who are we to state we are good drivers? Even a 10km/h can make all the difference in an accident afterall we are mostly driving inferior cars like malaysian made and korean and even low end Hondas and Toyotas. Is there a special goverment body that gives out this accredations? Furthermore not anyone can drive on the Autobahn, seriously you people (the average Malaysians) think you know alot but whats scary is that none of you have the energy to do some research. Nothing more dangerous than empty minds who are just too lazy. Although the autobahn has no speed limits but there are recomended speed limits that is on 130km/h. On top of that you would need special training to drive fast, not everyone in an S class mercedes is an instant schumacher. If you are speeding and get involved in an accident then you would be have to pay some of the damages eventhough its not your fault. The grass isn't always greener.

So when we Malaysian grow up, realise we are NOT good drivers then we can start to learn from our mistakes and not blame everyone else. I vote for lowering the speed limit, banning cars on the roads during festive seasons, everyone takes bus, train and flight. If no space on these transports then, screw you and your holiday plans cos the fact you're on the road means someone else is going to die.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 06, 2005 at 1:30 pm

READ THIS : I’m driving a Honda Accord (2005) 2.4 on N-S Highway doing 110 constantl while so-called ‘Lancer Evolutions’ (Wira la..) Zooms past I dunno how. But blazingly fast..

gegaoff : To hell with your 110kph is safe shit. If 110 is safe i’d rather kill myself. And don’t give me your crap about passsengers dying, coz if ur driving a Kancil, 130-140 is shaking the whole car already, where on other bigger cars, I’m struggling to stay awake with the car at 110, pal. And i’m a relatively new driver with alot of interest in driving, maybe thats why I’m still awake the whole journey. My dad would probably have slept or just go around 130/140 to wake himself up. I did just that.

On the KL-Kuantan highway, it’s pretty empty and I felt the car vibrating a little then I noticed it was at 180 already, so what’s the problem if bigger cars get the speed limit of 130/140? I seriously don’t get the mentality of people that speed so fast like 180 on a Wira/Kancil. And the Jeremy Clarkson quote was perfect “Speed doesn’t kill, it’s suddenly becoming stationary that does.”

My point : Put 2 speed limits, One for cars Lower than 2.0 and one for >2.0 cars. Then the road will be a beautiful place to drive in,

• HumanSanzz on Nov 06, 2005 at 2:34 pm

fu yoo i did over 200km/h on the kuantan highway.Hehe it is a Toyota Camry 2004.

• Haiya..why people mau speeding lagi….should the government build the bullet train la..380 kmph (not so sure about the speed) lagi sempoi…safer and faster. Imagine penang and KL non stop 45 minutes …walao..like that every week end can go to KLCC…lol

• pojot on Nov 06, 2005 at 3:29 pm

i think the argument on the speed limit is useless

staying put at 110 will be unfair to pricey cars. their car is built for cruising speed of 160-200kmh, ultra-dangerous for kancils but just allrite for them. fair enough

if we do raise it, these 'mira's and 'lancer's celup will be given the license to speed or kill ppl!!! thats why the gov do not want to raise the speed limit baby!

how much does it cost to made 6-lanes anyway? and not like we have to build it the full stretch from kl to jb. for the safety of rakyat and singaporeans ;)…why berkira with rm100k millions?

• Marmitecrab on Nov 06, 2005 at 3:54 pm

I'm quite sure the stretch from Sg. Besi to Bangi is 90km/h and only after that, it opens up to 110km/h. It's been like that for many years.

I think speed doesn't kill if everyone behaves themselves on the road. It's just that sometimes, some idiots, whether in small cars or big cars think that they are in a big hurry and deserve to be going much faster than everyone, that endangers other careful road users. I used to do a lot of driving when l was in sales. I used to average 70 to 80 thousand kilometers a year and l've noticed a change in people's driving behaviour. For example, people tend to not stop at traffic lights when it turns red, people not slowing down when entering a roundabout, people cutting in and out recklessly and being generally impatient and overly aggressive and this can aggravate a lot of law abiding road users. I have a family in my car and want to make sure we get to where we want to go safely but it is these idiots who make it stressful.

To me, it's not about speed limits, it's about 2 things: behaviour and law enforcement (without the corruption).

• priyan on Nov 07, 2005 at 3:42 am

Why are we talking about bigger cc cars having the passport to go faster. That is a terrible mentality to have! Accredated drivers should be allowed to go fast. Those who have been trained to handle their cars at high speeds and not just because they are driving a 2.0cc or higher. We should come out with a new license category, charge them hefty fees if they want to travel faster. Anyway travelling at those speeds is causing excessive exhaust emissions and extra pollution

• Nederlander on Nov 07, 2005 at 4:14 am

Dear See Fu and MutantTomato! For you information, I occasionally drove from USM (Penang) to Klang non-stop at the speed stated on the road signs (80kph or 110 kph) back to 5 years ago. So did my friends. So pls dont draw a conclusion based on the feedback minority that's real a non-scientific conclusion. 4 to 5 hrs drive is not so long!!

I do agree with you that 110kph is a bit slow. 120kph is the best. For those who still want to keep their speed at 110kph or lower, certainly, no one can stop you but pls bear in mind not in the speedlane. Speed is not the main reason resulting such a high statistical accident rates. The main problem is the attititude of the drive. The G always solve the problem at the surface not deep into the problem it just like a very small number of lousy doctor(s) [assuming this is true] will give you medicine for headache when you have headache. They never diagnose carefully until one day ones found out that he/she has dead disease!!! Selesai masalah biarlah from AKAR!!!

Car without ABS and EBD or what so ever plus the bad quality-controlled manufacturer(s) plus less responsive engine (low hp car) will certainly one of the factors. No matter how much 'minyak' you tekan, the less-responsive engine (low hp car) is not responding especially when you are overtaking. MATILAH!! Car from behind at 110kph (especially "THE CAR" I mentioned above) could not stop due to lousy-quality-controlled plus no assistant from those high-tech stuffs… I guess you all know the ending of the story. Without those, even F1-drivers also dare not to driver at the speed of 140-160kph. MALAYSIAN DRIVERS ARE SO BRAVE!!

To DRUGKILL: I am partially agreed with you regarding the matter of economy and chain-reaction so to speak. We need money floating in market!!! By guess, do you know why a lot of car manufacturers built their factories in SEA but not Malaysia? Personally I do not know! To improve the economic, you have thousand ways not just by protecting the local manufacturers then the problem(s) considered solved. How long do you think that G can help them? If you have a healthy and normal child which is 20-years old for example, and yet they still need you to feed (continuously) he/she. What is your opinion and how do you feel? I love Malaysia I love PLOTON that’s why I am concern of them!!

Come back to PLOTONG (sorry for switching title), do you think that they need Agusta (motorcycle company)? Maybe they need LOTUS. But after 10 years owning lotus, what is the major changes can be visualized by us besides handling and so-called CAMPRO? By assuming that an employee salary (lotus and agusta) is about pound 2000 or euro 3000 (RM 13700!!) per month for a fresh graduate engineer according to European standard, guess, how much PLOTONG pay each month to them. By assuming in total (lotus and agusta) there have 200 employees and all of them earn only Euro 3000 per month, PLOTONG pay euro 600 000 (RM 2.75 million) per month and about RM33 millions per year at least. In return, what PLOTONG get?? Can someone tell me? Are the return is equivalent to what has been invested? Not mentioning the proton sale department in UK. MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• it doesn't matter the speed limit is fixed at 110km/h coz nobody cares. If all stupid in M'sia go for professional driving skill course the accidnet will definately drop. Those stupid arse driving at 80-100 or even 110 on highway at the 3rd or 4thlane are really damn brainless coz they not only blocking the road and that's creating accidents. And for those stupid fxxking driver when ppl have to overtake them for the left side the also suddenly go to left side then at last all die. not only that for those driver that dunno where the hell they want to go or maybe they thought that highway is mainly for him can simply switch lane without noticing others.Here is some reason for accidents happen in M'sia. Anyway drive slowly doesn't mean u r safe coz my friend is driving slowly most of the time but he is not safe at last. For those stupid G tat thought themselves are drivin superbikes and still wearing whole black, nvm, but their bikes R WITHOUT LIGHTS ON!!! maybe thier lights were spoil but y cant just go repair and those blind ppl those reverse without looking at mirror and their cars is without reverse light. WTF is this!!!!haiz maybe without those brainless driver M'sia accident rate will drop lar…..

• Marmitecrab on Nov 07, 2005 at 6:43 am

Having a different speed limit for 2.0 litre cars and above is the stupidest suggestion in this entire posting. You're basically asking for another highway for yourself. If not, can you imagine the reaction of the Kancil or Waja driver who's doing 110 km/h when a S-Class comes up from behind at 140km/h?

Let's use this posting to make intelligent suggestions and discussions and not pollute it with dumb ideas and boasts (180 – 200km/h?). Kill yourself if you want, just don't take others and finally, quoting Jeremy Clarkson is the second dumbest thing to do.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 07, 2005 at 9:49 am

Marmitecrab : I don't get quite what your puny brain is trying to say. Are you trying to spark off a great battle of the words on the net? Let's leave it there. I'll just defend what I wrote.

Am I hogging the road to myself? No, not at all. I'm starting to think that idea was wrong now, my apologies. The idea to have a license to speed sounds good to me though. And as HumanSanzz said before, those Myvi, Savvy and other smaller sized cars should just abide with the 110km/h limit. And I will soon own a Myvi, so I'm not saying it coz I favour so-called 'Big' cars. The others, well should be issued a certificate of fitness from Puspakom or some other benchmarking alternatives before allowed to speed on the road. Sounds better?

And 180-200km/h is any problem at all? I don't think so , Given the conditions of the Kl-Kuantan stretch, there are virtually no cars and the roads are new and wide. So i do not foresee any so-called 'deaths' . Maybe the road is a dangerous place for drivers like you are, but not to me. I only speed at 180-200 at places REALLY empty and straight, normal highways? 140 please, no more.

Quoting Jeremy Clarkson is stupid? This is another big question mark, Without question, He IS the authority on driving, not satisfied? Challenge him if you dare, I think his response would probably be 'Buzz off, you're wasting my time". And I don't see anything wrong with his quote. 'Speeding doesn't kill, it's suddenly becoming stationary that kills" . Heck even a Form 4 student would know about impulse in their Physics subject, Maybe you didn't do that? But I think you would at LEAST understand that car makers are actually designing cars to have a crumble zone to increase the duration of the impact so that the passengers would get less impact from the impulse of the accident. For example, a car travelling at 80km/h came to a stop after 0.2 seconds, and another car that came to a stop after 1.2 seconds, Calculated that and tell me the results, if you don't already know that yourself.

eRis out.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 07, 2005 at 9:51 am

Oh , and if you didn't note the hint above : I'm sorry for saying only 'Big' cars can speed. So sorry, I never double check what I posted, Hahaha.

So sorry if I offended anyone with that comment, My sincerest apologies.

eRis out.

• Fendi on Nov 07, 2005 at 10:37 am

A lot of comments have been posted here on the issue of highway speed limit. I understand that there were several factors that led to the proposal of raising speed limit: one was that the current cars are of higher performance, thus can go fast.

However, driving does not only depend on the car alone: it also depends on the driver. The issue here is: are the drivers competent enough in driving techniques? Drivers' competence in handling their cars on the road is a crucial factor here.

Questions to ponder on:

1. Should a driver, who drives a car with manual transmission, shift to the lower gear and maintain speed when taking a sharp bend, or just apply the brake?

2. What is the right gear that a car driver should use when overtaking another car?

3. If the above driver (as in question 1) intends to drive through a small flood, what shall he/she do before that? How should he drive through the flood?

• MahathirSpeakz on Nov 07, 2005 at 5:02 pm

kalen_XI said,

November 5, 2005 @ 6:41 am

4th…make cars relatively cheaper…and let ppl buy their dream cars…soo.they will sayang the car more..and reduce accidents…ahahah…becoz..the campaign of love ur family avoid accidents..is NOT working lor…it shud..be LOVE your CAR…dont KILL it…

> u r so childlish.. talk like budak 3-4 tahun. "Make car cheap, sayang car n reduce accidents." Face de fact will u! So if ferrari r cheap, ppl will NOT luv de cars but to just CRASHED IT! Why? Damn stupid, it so cheap as u wan it cheap n covered wit insurance. Get another lar can u see. U r not giving opinion but jus rubbish talk down de drain. (r u below 18 by de way?)

U r drivin small car obey speed limit. If u r drivin big car for safety reason u drive based on road conditions. Drive in ur own judgement manner, just dun cause ppl to accident. So wht a speeding ticket cost u if u can own a big car when safety reason comes in?

• eMalaysian on Nov 07, 2005 at 5:24 pm

Personal opinion only

1. Accident is mainly caused by the driver attitude. You know thinks like tail gating, speeding on wrong side of the road, weave in and out, not giving way to others, ignoring danger signs, etc.

2. The car and driver. If you drive bmw, macidi, go 140-180 maybe still safe. But kancil/saga/wira go 140-150kmh how? And some more no abs and airbag! So drivers use their brain lah.

3. Implementation. Big car go 140-150 not speeding. Small car go 140-150 is speeding. The G should take this stand because if big car go 110 then that is causing driver to goto sleepy.

4. The road. Lets face it, accidents are least in highways. Most on trunk/federal roads. Cars go faster on is highways. So why not debate on how to make trunk/federal roads safer instead of debate on speed limit on hightways?

5. Maintenance of cars and roads. Enough said.

As you can see, they are all caused by People and speeding is only ONE cause and only if its done at the wrong place, with the wrong car & without safety gadget. So the most important safety feature in the car is the driver and his brain.

• I think for bigger cc car should have the right should not be an issue in malaysia..why do we compare with other country…we must remember that our highway is not like western style where long hours of journey taken for a trip from south to west or vice versa…from penang to JB oso take 8 hours or 7 hours naik bas….i think if everyone respects below 110 kmph i think ok la..but the problem now if Kancil can go 110 Kmph eventhough the max can go is 90 and lets say BMW oso go 110 kmph. kalau both of this car collide siapa menang….sure itu Kancil Kalah….Better improve the local transportation system..safer environment and maybe could safe more life. One of a guy in foreign country who have been in Malaysia told me that "U have a death wish if u are driving in Malaysia"..Maybe malaysian people doesn't have the patience or lack of respect to other drivers.

• autocruise on Nov 07, 2005 at 5:41 pm

Dear SEE FU

Question: Anybody out there who had drove 110km/h and below, none-stop from Ipoh to KL city during night or day time at the Highway without Sleepy feeling, Please rise up your hands or Legs!!

I do, yes, serious, I do.

Melaka to Penang – night driving, constant drive non-stop 6 hours. My car being installed with the auto cruise, just set to 110km/h, I just enjoy my family company till we arrive into Penang. The best part was, I did not feel tired because the auto cruise did all the driving, while I did not have to worry about summon too.

• SEE FU on Nov 07, 2005 at 5:46 pm

Naderlandeerr bro arr!!

At first, May I know what kind of car did you drive at the Highway??

Next, 5 hours without a stopped and kept as 80kph to 110kph not sleepy at all. Wow!! I guess you a the MINORITY (not us) group of ppl lei (I guess less then 1% of Malaysian population) Very Unique man!!…….I think you are a liar……. never drove over speeds limits and not sleepy….no pissed within 5 hours continuously……..Becareful tonight I hear GOT Thunder lightning……maybe you will "Pei Lui PACKKK"!!! JAGA…JAGA….takecare lol. :P

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! No piss No stop No sleepy and No over speeds limits!!?? at Highway ….some more over 5 hours!! Wah….Super Liar!!

• See Fu ..

the car he was driving has a vibrator on the seat leh …. thats y he's trying to prolong the journey .

• the picture of ur ass is here, paul:
    http://www.dustyhawk.com/2005/11/06/kyspeaks-the-…

hahahha.

• mr.eims on Nov 07, 2005 at 7:22 pm

I dont think this limitation is realy effective.

Not at all.

Can you tell me how many sccidents involving a vehicle that crashed while moving more than 110km/j ? And its happen on a highway where everyone moving very fast.

• eMalaysian on Nov 07, 2005 at 9:39 pm

I think the topic is highway speed limit. Well i wonder if the highway speed limit was reduced to 80km/h then the accidents will go down.

What do you think?

• accord kia on Nov 07, 2005 at 9:56 pm

from my experience, pls dont depend too much on your side mirror because got a dead angle which you cant see the car beside you. so before you wan to cut the front car, pls make sure u hv check the side mirror and pls tune ur head to side to confirm there is not any car beside you then only cut…..remember safety 1st, save urself, save everyone

• Michael Chua on Nov 07, 2005 at 10:30 pm

I guess people with the need for speed will never be satisfied. So the motto is: yes you can speed, but don't get caught and don't kill others and yourself on the road(s). Speed? Can. Speed recklessly? Better don't.

• my turn now, 80km/p at climbling & down hill at highway is reasonable & save at cornering, but 110km/p on straight end is a bit too low. 120km/h just nice. i became N-S highway tester recently, i change new tyres on my wira 195/55R15, a bit bigger to fit in wira aeroback wheel compartment, i took 2 passengers at back, the tyres hit compartment when go through bumpy on the highway, penang to genting…. countless bumping on highway… SHIT… ridiculous drive & after came back & straight away went to change better rear absorber (not original brand) cost ~RM300 a pair & no more hitting on wheel compartment… tol price hicking… highway condition is down hill… FXck!!

• paul why are there so little updates these days?????

• trav da man on Nov 07, 2005 at 11:58 pm

i did remember there one time a bugger suggested mysia highways to become like autobahn.

so if that happends we can see bengwara and kancils speeding like nobody business and then roads accidents will be the highest not only in asia but the world.

Too bad bcoz of mysian mentality for speed, highway quality not to standard and lousy safety features on local cars will not make it happen.

Anyway i now waiting for paul's updates, mana ini???

• autocruise on Nov 08, 2005 at 12:57 am

dear SEE FU

"No piss No stop No sleepy and No over speeds limits!!?? at Highway ….some more over 5 hours!"

come on… do you get up every night to piss ??

As for me, I prefer to play safe (use condom), and not getting into accident and summons. :D

• dear eRis-Aeir4s

got you myvi already ?

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 08, 2005 at 1:10 am

Nope, I HATE PERODUA. We poor people just cannot get our cars soon. Those rich ppl tat pay the 'back door' fees, Got them 1st. UNFAIR!

But really, the car on auto-cruise should make you eevn sleepy, in my case. Because my leg is not stepping on anything at all!

• eRis maybe u cant blame PERODUA coz everything in M'sia is done by bribing since u live in this country if u cant paid for that then is too bad for u.anyway i said doesn't mean im rich but actually eRis is rich just stingy only..wakakaka

driving nonstop for so long with auto cruise on, under the speed limit. quite unbelievable maybe ur endurance is too strong than we as normal human.

GREAT~!

• dear eRis-Aeir4s

not all ppl pay from back door,… he he ha h a… I been driving Myvi for the last 4 months already since early July 2005, because I booked the car BEFORE i see it, booked the car in MAR 2005.

Took a big big risk to book before I see the car, cannot imagine if it turn out like savvi, anyway if that happen, I just change to Kenari, so I took the risk.

Myvi is a great car, worth waiting.

Dear Paul,

do you think there is a after market unit of auto cruise ?? Now a days car do not come with Auto Cruise, worth consider installing it, if the price is right.!

• HumanSanzz on Nov 08, 2005 at 3:09 am

Myvi saja mar.Need to wait so long time de meh???My dad can get it within a week lar.Hehe.Only have to settle the loan and those very mafan stuff.Haizzz.

Eris How many month have u waited?????I also sianzzz liao after hearing u have been waited ur myvi lar.Change topic lar…

BTW i heard that now the toyota cars also need to wait for a long time leh..

Stop complaining lar..

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 08, 2005 at 3:23 am

edw : Oooh.. No wonder.. Book so early. Tat time I oso scared to book le..

And at that time I don't want a Kenari too.. But recently something changed my mind and I opted for a 2nd Hand Kenari but never got 1, the 2nd hand price was so high my parents rather buy a new car than a 2nd hand 1 for me. So here I am , Waiting for my car ~.~

Nic : BROTHER, How can you assume I'm not poor? I'm not VERY poor, but considered in the MIDDLE class lar. The ppl tat suffer the most, coz we want this n that, but cannot get them. Aihz, Taxes, taxes. Else I would had opted for something better, but I think the Myvi is the best of what my parents can afford. So, no choice. AND I HAVE NO EXTRA $$$ TO BRIBE OR WHATSOEVER. The world is cruel.

And about Auto-Cruise, I'd suggest NOT having it. It actually made me lazy to step on the accelerator on my dad's car. Making me half-awake through the journey, which honestly can be very dangerous. But I don't want summonses and is lazy to maintain the speed at 110. So this is where the cruise works. But i recommend you to try out maybe a relative's car that has cruise and feel for yourself. You may feel sleepy after driving for a while. Like me, after all, Who can resist sleeping after the whole family is sound asleep and you're alone driving with the radio off? It's major boredom.

• Acid_Rain on Nov 08, 2005 at 6:34 am

Wow… I can see someone here will be leaving us and joined those either up there or down to hell. well, it is a good thing i guess.. lesser madmax on the road… making road safer for some of us. my opinion is we must have discipline. yes?? DISCIPLINE.

And it started from home…… parents these days. you guys here are all smart and brilliant so i don't have to elaborate more. those with big cars don't think when you drive regardless of either you own one or rent one or (this is the most pethatic one)borrow from parents or friends or relative(the ferrari case, remember??).. What make u all think you own the road.??? oh ya, in case…

i own a big car too… so DON'T.

Lastly, G… enforcement needed… badly. don't just talk DO IT. you just lost one vote!!

• Itular on Nov 08, 2005 at 7:56 am

Erm… Does Anyone Know Where To Check Summons??? Hehehe :p

• izwan on Nov 08, 2005 at 8:10 am

H220, strongly agree with you!!!!!! highly level of thinking…excellent!!!

• izwan on Nov 08, 2005 at 8:12 am

ayya correction…H22A, sorry lor.. ;) high level of thinking…excellent!!!

• cbljkkj on Nov 08, 2005 at 8:22 am

What Jeremy Clarkson stated which is “Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary… That’s what gets you” and I personally find that to be true.

The prime example was when he took the challenge of driving to Oslo in the SLR against Richard Hammond and James May who had to take ferries and trains and whatnot. Despite the stretch of Autobahn which he took that was unlimited and the unbearable amount of hours that he was driving, he still made it there in one piece. In all my life I have never seen such appaling driving courtesy compared to other countries. This is truly a case of a national driving mentality.

Its always the case of set off to destination late and speed the rest of the way. I think we should involve careful planning in our destinations and not drive too drastically on the road to make up for it.

• aksMs on Nov 08, 2005 at 11:26 am

eRis-Aeir4s: "….Like me, after all, Who can resist sleeping after the whole family is sound asleep and you’re alone driving with the radio off? It’s major boredom…."

Hahahaha! Been there, done that. Exactly what I went through 10 years ago.

Back to the topic…..

I don't see any differences by increasing the speed limits on the highway. Even if the G allows it, drivers will still break it, there will always be road hoggers and trust me, no one will be pleased (some would say it's not enough and some others will blame it causes more accidents). Another thing is some comments here seems to blame Samy Vellu for the No-Increase speed limits. If you read properly, Dato Samy actually bringing forward the proposal to the G after much (maybe a little only, but who knows?) research and considerations on his ministry. Why blame him? He actually tried to fullfill your (some of you) wish here. Haizz…

Well as for the accidents rate, Everyone knows lah what causes it. This and that…. You can list it down all you want. (I even shared one of the incident that happen before my eyes on the NS highway between Juru and Sg. Dua in one of the post here about a crawling Waja and a speeding E46 Beemer, exactly the same thing that happen to H22A).

I'm no clean drivers. I speed a lot, be it on the highway, federal roads or state's. Wether it's festive season or not, I drive like I always do. Because I enjoy driving. Call me selfish. Yes I am. But that doesn't mean I'm inconsiderate. And it also doesn't mean I am brainless. Most of the time, I did so just to get away from the "more dangerous driver/vehicle that prone to cause an accident" in front of me. I'm sure you can picture that. And I will cruise according to the limits when the road is clear or when I'm not sleepy. And by declaring my bad attitude doesn't mean I'm proud of it either. The thing is the blaming will never stop. Some of you will blame drivers like me. While some others will blame those "OVER CAUTIOUS" drivers. I don't give a shit. I'll speed but with a BIG reminder at the back of my head.

• aksMs on Nov 08, 2005 at 12:00 pm

Just to share a 'little accident' that I had during my travel back from kampung south bound in the east coast last Saturday.

I was driving as USUAL, overtaking all the 'OVER-CAUTIOUS' crawlers, when suddenly an OVER-EAGER white Iswara tail-gating my C5 closely. I started to get worried as in front of me were another 3 national cars, Wira and Wajas. Haizz… those lousy Mitsu brakes! Mind you, the speed at the time was around 40-50km/h when suddenly an old Galant in front slowed down for no reason making the Wira and Wajas screeching to avoid it. Thankfully, I got ABS and manage to swerve to the right (north bound lane). It's clear for over taking but it was double line. And thank god I get to get away from the Iswara as I can hear him screeching behind me.

Then it happen, miles away after that. And the DAMN Iswara is tail gating me again. Haizz…had one close call but still never learn the lesson. That stupid bastard. Saw 2 cars in front of me braking to a halt. I hit the brake and than I heard the same screeching on my back and saw the Iswara skidded forward. Aiseh, that will do it. I release the brake and "dush", my car jerk forward. DAMN. Find me a spot to stop for a quick look. The Iswara followed suit. Thankfully everything is in place, not much damage except a single bumper clip. While the Iswara driver crack his plate number and probably with mis-align head lamp.

Didn't want to waste more time, I waived him off and told him not to tail gate too close with that crappy brakes. Lucky fella, he did apologise and I'm so in Raya mood.

• MahathirSpeakz on Nov 08, 2005 at 4:18 pm

M'sia will not be gettin Autobahn or I shd say no Autobahn. Pretty simple.. do u realy think tt u r capable to drive in such condition? M'sian driving attitude sucks. Whereas de 'garmen' will suck more $$$. Why? Building de autobahn will make garmen opening new source of corruption, de tafik pulis will standby olso for tt. Importantly, M'sia r just too lousy in everything being good($ wasted on stupid project, asshole medic students on loan, poton) but relatively good for bad(high accident rate-m'sia bulih style since anak banyak, university ranking drop but still proud of it falling w/in 200-shit u), corruption from low end – high end)! If everyone here behave in a educated manner discipline, even w/out autobahn, 120km/h it will not be having high accident rate!

• MutantTomato on Nov 08, 2005 at 4:41 pm

To "MahathirSpeakz": Bro, if you don't know the full story about the "asshole medic students on loan," please don't mouth off. Its very easy to read one side of the story, i.e. what is reported in the papers and form a biased opinion. You don't know the full story. So, don't call them assholes for nothing! I have a sister and a couple of cousins&friends on a JPA loan/scholarship so I KNOW the full story…

Sory guys n gals for deviating from the original post. I just had to say something…

• Marmitecrab on Nov 08, 2005 at 4:57 pm

MutantTomato, don't take it so personnally. I don't think MahathirSpeakz was referring to your sister and cousins and it's good that you defend them. But in general, so many of them on scholarships have refused to come back to serve the country, especially since there is a shortage. I hope you are not one who uses govt. hospitals but if you do, I hope you won't fell the shortage and be made to wait for hours before a doctor can see you. That's the first point. The second one being they are going there on govt. funds. Where do you think the govt gets their money from? You and me, when we pay taxes. That's why in a democracy, we have a right to question how these scholarship recipients spend our money.

• Marmitecrab on Nov 08, 2005 at 4:58 pm

Sorry to deviate as well, Paul. But since we are on the same post with nothing new for so long, you can't expect us to speak on the same subject for so long, right? :-)

• MahathirSpeakz on Nov 08, 2005 at 7:28 pm

Thanx Marmitecrab… I dun bother if he/she could understand me sayin'. We shall just see the outcome later on.

"what is reported in the papers and form a biased opinion. You don’t know the full story" > So I asked u if de pressmen could published it, of cos it was a truth. Do u think they write it for fun?! Bear in mind, 'siap makan cili dia rasa pedas'. If ur relative isnt part of tt, tt's good but ask them how wld they feel whn they work here & pay for taxes. And de $ goes to the drain. Haha…

Do u think those payin taxes a must to help them & in return nothing for de country nor us? Those docs r just DOG!

• Selipar on Nov 08, 2005 at 7:45 pm

Dear E-nabill,

u r absolutely right..i'm totally seconded what u've said. malaysian drivers is considered to be one of the most cronicly worst towards driving attitude.

i don't really remember the statistic i read before…if i could remember the link, i'll post it.

• stewpid on Nov 08, 2005 at 9:52 pm

for this I only can say most malaysian drivers are inconsiderate… they:

1.donno how to use brakes (nuts.. keep applying brakes when tailgating)

2.road hoggers (this u can found on highways… ello… keep in mind how fast u can go in less than 1 sec….. please laa… if u are driving a kancil and no matter how u look behind into your mirror, u really can cause accident when u overtaking in the fast lane). so thats also encourage ppl to overtaking using the left – lane… too slow man.

3.un-serviced / your beloved car (are well functioning to drive safely?to speed?to brake in time?) also not brake down and simply park by the road-side (please PARK ON THE GRASS !! if ur car got hit, I think your insurance will not be covered. If u really need to park by the roadside, please tell other motorist, put the triangle reflector, dont just simply put a ranting kayu stuck on your bonnet. If not u will be on risk to be hit from any vehicles behind you)

4.donno how to take corners (come on laa… how u compare cornering according to your car design speed + all 4 tyres??ur tyers all botak?makan sblah?fully allignment?) of course la tayar sotong cannot take corners better than wide tyre wan !

5.donno how to change lanes (please laa… using your SIGNAL LIGHTS !!) even you are overtaking and go back inside the left lane…. I always see this when follows the taxi drivers & zig-zagers….

6.inconsiderate drivers (there are ppl wanna overtake, u see their signal light s, u see them revving, but u dont give them space in front of u on the fast lane…)

7.motobikes (always not using their mirror to see cars behind them, always hogging also in cars lane)… come on la.. u are moving on 50~60km/h and expect the car behind u will follow u nicely ah? and sommore not having a TAIL LIGHT when moving at night!! hey what is this?? they always forget that they only on 2-wheels! wanna die fast ah??

8.Pedestrians/ ppl on foot (come on laa… they are crossing the highway?? and some more in kampungs they are crossing in halfway, they are standing on the middle lines which seperates the oncoming traffic…) haiia… wanna die?? also applies to lembu-kerbau-ayam itik in rural roads….

9.The people on wheel (its u lar, the driver) please be in control, know your limits, and roads condition (hujan lebat pun mau speed kah?)… if u feel sleepy.. go to sleep lor or change driver.

I think the G should could be considerate on highway speed limits takkan lah dah berpuluh taun pon masih 110km/h (they got road engineers what!) and they know that the most road-DEATH-accident isnt on the highway…

• aksMs on Nov 08, 2005 at 10:16 pm

stewpid: I agree with you especially no. 9. Knows your limits and your car. This is what most drivers neglected. Damn Iswara!

• Prometheus on Nov 08, 2005 at 10:36 pm

Damn… I wonder how old See Fu is? He is either Singaporean or Johorian living near Singapore. See Fu, don't take it to heart, I'm sure you are right also in your own opinion..

My name is Prometheus, and I Speed. My last speeding episode was last week.

Anyway.. I'm glad speed limits are still at 110 kmh, even though i speed a lot.. So i will try my best to abide by the speed limit.. I am undisciplined and sometimes, i like to speed. Need someone to remind me..

• Prometheus on Nov 08, 2005 at 10:38 pm

Thoses who want a Malaysian Autobahn, please watch discovery channel's Autobahn episode first.. See how different an infrastructure the country needs for the highway to work.

• yes , its impossible for Malaysia to have an autobahn , if i am not mistaken , the autobahn has only a maximum 4% gradient and is a few times thicker than the average road we have here . And most of the autobahn has a speed limit , i think more than 60% of the autobahn stretch has a speed limit. Putting engineering aspects aside , the attitude of the driver is very important , yes , i am selfish and i SPEED A LOT , but at any given moment , if there is a car faster than me i would let him/her pass ( there was once on the trip to JB , a singaporean CL55 pass me at 190km/h )

and most importantly , the zig-zaggers … when you do that , you actually shift the weight of your and making spring and when it rebounds it might causes oversteer . And the average driver would not know how to deal with oversteer and panic . Cherish your life ..know your limits , know the limit of your vehicle , you might me michael shumacher , but if you are driving a Kancil or an Iswara … how fast you think you can go ? The max i would go in a kancil is 90km/h , after that speed the car would start to shake and i think its no longer safe ( you can say that i am a coward ). In this case , the speed limit for a kancil shd be 90km/h.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 08, 2005 at 11:43 pm

Kancil's can do much more than that. Trust me, hahaha. I drove one while at driving school. When I graduated, the guy actually asked me to drive him back. So i got a lil' feel on Kancil's.

It's not that bad, really. I think it can do 110 stablely. I HATE ZIG-ZAGGERS, I have a friend that drives me to school with a Saga, and he does Zig-zagging all the time, Despite all the warning that he's gonna get it one day. And he thinks zig-zagging is 'skill'. Bullshit, I just hope i'm not in the car if he ever got into an accident.

Damn those ppl tat don't have common sense.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 08, 2005 at 11:44 pm

One more… THE 100TH COMMENT! – Just for fun~

• doc2mee on Nov 09, 2005 at 12:13 am

speeding does not kill

Out of control kills lah……….

Check ur car first

then check d road

of course check d driver

Not all cars r equal

Not all road r equal

worse still not all drivers r equal

So wat do we do

Sent our car for fitness test with puspakom

Certify can be driven at 120kpm, 130kpm or 140kpm

Sent Samy to drive tru our highway lor

Certify it lor

Sent our driver to Simulated driving test

Certify them oso lor

Simple ah ??

• Prometheus on Nov 09, 2005 at 1:04 am

Whats the USA speed limit? Also about 110kph or is it even less at 60 mph? Actually not to say we want to follow the orang putih, but since they have done all the research with their big machines and big money, easier for us to follow only lah.. Should be correct one la. You think we have better drivers ah? or Better roads?

"So wat do we do

Sent our car for fitness test with puspakom

Certify can be driven at 120kpm, 130kpm or 140kpm

Sent Samy to drive tru our highway lor

Certify it lor

Sent our driver to Simulated driving test

Certify them oso lor

Simple ah ?? "

complicated lah.. Proton satria also confuse the police.;

The varieties of engine on a Satria.. from 1.3 to 1.8 not including the 2.0L turbos, front disk rear drum, some with ABS, some 4 disc, some got air bag some no air bag, Some got 4 point harness, some got roll cage etc etc

How to catch who's speeding who's not?

Speed limit must be standard. G is doing the only right thing.

And i'm still going to curse them when i get my speeding tickets for this Raya Holidays!

• Prometheus on Nov 09, 2005 at 1:19 am

AFAIK, just googled, USA speed limit is 70mph in California, which is about 112 kmh. And i generally, their cars have more safety standards than most of ours. Besides california, even less.

Japan Highways, 3 types, max 120kmh.. and look at the cars which are on their roads, as well as their quality of road. You think malaysian roads can compare with Japanese A class roads ah?
    http://www.easts.info/on-line/journal_06/1008.pdf

I think all of us with a need4speed, must go SIC track day la.. I oso never go yet.. want to try next year la..

• perlyn on Nov 09, 2005 at 7:57 am

no one can speed during balik kampong season coz our highway simply too crowded oledi. you'll be lucky if no hujan, no accident, no jam. then, u'll probably getting 40-60kmh.Want to go at180-200kmh, do it during off-peak hour e.g.midnite or early part of the morning (from 0001 to 0600 hrs) but must be careful with those heavy vehicles and concentrate a little bit! the truth is, the lesser car on the road, the risk is little bit lower. be it highway or small road. if you don't hatam people, people hatam u. so, learn to give way to those drivin higher end type. i think that's abt it….

• MutantTomato on Nov 09, 2005 at 9:53 am

MahathirSpeakz: Of course what the press reports is the truth! I NEVER said what was reported was untrue! All I said was, don't form a biased opinion after reading only ONE SIDE of the story!

Fine, so taxpayers' money is being used to fund these students. Fine, so each students takes about RM600k to study medicine. But, have you considered why they have refused to come back?

1: Their pay is like SHIT!

2. They have to work 30-40 hour days!

3. They get posted to some ulu ass place!

4. They are working for a while to earn some cash to start a life here!

I can tell you that most of those doctors are staying back to do specialist courses. Its very easy for non-medical people to say "ala, they can come back here and study!" YOU try working 30 hours non-stop every 3 days or so and study at the same time to take probably the hardest exam in the world!

And another thing, you think the Govt. is stupid ah?! EVERY scholarship student has to sign a bond and give two or three guarrantors! IF they fail to come back, the guarrantors have to pay the RM600k in a lump sum! Not even installments! The fact that these students got a scholarship should tell you that they aren't rich enough to say "fu*k it, I'm not coming home! I will pay RM600k! Its nothing to me!"

So, if they decide to not come home, the Govt. gets back their RM600k…. So? How is the money lost? Even if the students want to stay back, they have to get an approval from the Govt first! No approval for specialist course, no staying back!

THATS why I said, don't be so bloody biased if you don't know both sides of the story!

Marmitecrab: Bro, I agree with you about questioning the usage of tax money… OUR tax money. I hope my explanation above clears it up a little bit.

Paul, once again, sorry for deviating…

• MahathirSpeakz on Nov 09, 2005 at 5:07 pm

MutantTomato:

1: Their pay is like SHIT!

2. They have to work 30-40 hour days!

3. They get posted to some ulu ass place!

4. They are working for a while to earn some cash to start a life here!

> So bcos of these crap they hv to stay outside? So did u ever think carefully tt if de hell thing happen to u need to go oversea for treatment, how wld it be costing 2 u, to other M'sian who is not well to do? Meaning to say they just face death bcos of no $ for treatment oversea. And how $ is going out M'sia for treatment? Do u know economy? If those experts can stay in M'sia they cld be doing something for de country! We r NOT DEVELOPED but developing country. Wht do u expect from then? Struggle at first enjoy later. Even ur parent struggle to raised u! The way u said is just too selfish & U R SO UNGRATEFUL to the country! What a TRASH the country u r! Rmbr tt the country finance ur studies thru scholarship/loan. W/out tt they r just rubbish like u! If every docs been think in tt way, pray tt u will NOT SICK as u will hv to seek oversea for treatment! Thn pray tt u allocate fund for u health or else u just face DEATH! Since u got no $ for oversea treatment. More u shd not seek medical assistant from M'sia, U DONT DESERVED TT! U r merely a BETRAYER to the country's progress. SHAME ON U!

"And another thing, you think the Govt. is stupid ah?! EVERY scholarship student has to sign a bond and give two or three guarrantors! IF they fail to come back, the guarrantors have to pay the RM600k in a lump sum! Not even installments! The fact that these students got a scholarship should tell you that they aren’t rich enough to say “fu*k it, I’m not coming home! I will pay RM600k! Its nothing to me!”

So, if they decide to not come home, the Govt. gets back their RM600k…. So? How is the money lost? Even if the students want to stay back, they have to get an approval from the Govt first! No approval for specialist course, no staying back!"

> So do u think Govt $ fall from the sky? Ofcos there r no free lunch in this world. U ask them for assistant, ofcos it has its conditions. NO PAIN NO GAIN. Unless u r Santa Claus to finance them. Do give me ur details so tt those need fund assistant can look for u. We c if u r able to finance them in return they if they go against u wht wld u feel? But U r just POOR species struggling & blaming the country no gd for this & tt like they owes u! U know NOTHING but keep blaming! Do feel despise urself think in tt way for the country! So Uncle Lim wasnt right either developing Genting. He might just go oversea for development as M'sia r no gd place for development, M'sia r not rich, doesnt pays well. But ask urself did he succeed in M'sia? Are M'sia no good u ask urself! The one tt no good WAS YOU! U r just being ungrateful & disloyal to the country! Ever wonder why M'sia r so lacking behind? It was due to some culprit like U!

• Marmitecrab on Nov 09, 2005 at 6:34 pm

Guys, guys, take it easy and calm down. A forum like this should not be taken so personnally. And quit taking potshots at each other. Do you even know each other?

Remember, we are here exercising free speech and in order to be constructive, make comments and suggestions that are though-provoking and challenging to the mind. Besides, we're talking about speed limits here, not renegade doctors. I fully understand all your views. I was in the medical industry for many years and am freinds with a lot of doctors. I know what the challenges are that await them when they come back. My cousin in an Oncologist and another cousin is in the UK doing post-graduate studies and they are aware of the challenges as well. However, the law is the law and once they take up a scholarship, they are bound by it. The issue here is that some of them are reluctant to come back to do their service and that's the problem we all have to face. If they are family members, we need to encourage them to come back and if they are reluctant, then the G needs to find a way to bring them back.

Pay aside, there are many other benefits the G provides when they serve in public hospitals. And to be fair, it is not only in Malaysia that doctors work 30 hours non-stop. A lot of doctors in developed countries pull multiple shifts at a time, too. But to say money alone is a motivating factor is also not entirely accurate. Some of them, not all, but some of them actually do want to help the sick. Try to remember that the next time you meet a doctor (esp. a G doctor).

• MutantTomato on Nov 09, 2005 at 8:46 pm

MahathirSpeakz: I really wonder if you're too stupid to read peoperly. I'm pretty sure now that you're dyslexic. And to answer your question, YES, I will turn my back to my country if I work hard to achieve something to make my country proud but I don't get any recognition for it! Why should I work and slog when I don't get anything in return? Just because its the right thing to do?! Don't be stupid… Look at Karamjit Singh (paul blogged about it earlier). He has finally reached his breaking point. Basically, if no one is going to help him here, he will leave. So, is he a traitor?! Don't FUCKING CALL ME A TRAITOR just because I am one of those who want to see some change in this country! If all of us were stupid sons of bitches like you, everyone would still be planting kangkung, tapping rubber or working in a tinmine!

I'm not going to bother replying to you from now on because for one, I can't even understand what the hell it is you're trying to say! So, take your plastic bags and balloons and whatever else the people at the spastic centre give you and "go play far far!" If you want, wrap the plastic bag around your head and tie it tight. You'll do the world a favour…

Marmitecrab: Once again bro, I agree with you. "The law is the law and once they take up a scholarship, they are bound by it." Absolutely true! BUT… If they get an extension from the Govt. themselves to stay on or if they decide to pay off the Govt. because they don't want to return, are they really going back on the agreement? Granted, its quite a bastardly thing to do i.e. to tell your country to bugger off.

However, you have to understand that these people are quite human as well. Unfortunately, money is a very big motivation factor, if not the most major necessity in life. Of course I'm not implying that the Govt. should start paying these newbies a similar salary to a CEO and give in to all their whims and fancies. But a slightly better renumeration package will be better I guess.

One more thing; if there is a chronic shortage of doctors here, why then does the Govt. turn away doctors who get their qualifications from "unrecognized" universities? Mind you, these universities are recognized in most other places in the world but not here! Doesn't make much sense to me.

• i do believe we have the rights to do whatever we wish, you can speed above the speed limit, no problem..but pay the summon lah if caught etc..the same, you can turn your back on anything, even the country, if you get better deal somewhere etc, but in the case of the 'made in ireland doctors' from mesiah, pay back lah the RM1 million spent (taken from taxpayers money beb!) so that others can be sponsored the same (so that can minimise the case of top students not able to obtain sponsorship in future!)

are you willing to be treated by these docs from “unrecognized” universities? dont be hypocritelah, even docs from recog U already so much problems/issues etc…

• MutantTomato on Nov 09, 2005 at 9:51 pm

Jake: Brother, you have made a BRILLIANT comment! Champion!!!! I absolutely love the way you put it! Everyone has a choice. If you want to break the law i.e. turn your back to the country, then pay up! Exactly what will happen to these people! The Govt. will get back their cash!

But bro, when I said "unrecognized," I meant every other country recognizes the university except us! So uhmm… If America, England, Germany, France, etc, recognizes a particular university and its graduates but we don't, I still would go to see the doctor from there… Well, I'd rather see a doctor from there than to see a doctor from a university that is recognized ONLY in Malaysia! :P

• Marmitecrab on Nov 09, 2005 at 10:02 pm

Guys,

With regards to the unrecognised university, I'm sure we all agree that there is some hanky-panky going on there. It's very fishy when other countries recognise that university and we don't. I don't know if it's really a case of us being more strict and the other countries more lenient or if it is somehow politically motivated.

But I'm sure the students there are not as bad as we think. After all, do we really check the credentials og a doctor before going to see him/her? And we have really gone off tangent here, discussing about doctors…tsk, tsk. Raise speed limit also cannot, see doctors from unrecognised universities also cannot…..what next? Cannot drive on roads built by unqualified contractors? ;-)

• MahathirSpeakz on Nov 09, 2005 at 10:06 pm

MutantTomato: YES U R A FUCKING TRAITOR! NOR U R STUPID BUT DISGRACE URSELF TO THE FAMILY NOR TO MENTIONED THE COUNTRY. WHO CARES IF DOESNT WAN TO REPLY ME.?! ONLY THE COWARD WILL NOT FACE THE FACT & BLAMING THINGS. U wld be happy to see the country fail more to success.

The "stupid sons of bitches" IS YOU, dun relate it to others. But I say ur family merely born from bicthes. Do know better how does a bitch family live & talk nor communicate. U r just part of it! Be proud to it DOG! U even greet urself "mutant". Ofcos back to the basic, everyone would still be planting kangkung, tapping rubber or working in a tinmine. So whts de prob? Even the contribute to ur relatives studies tt took loans. Mind ur words as my $ went to IRB were use to finance them! But unfortunately it was used by a bunch dogs like U! Dare u to stop loan granted for ur relative & u finance them. Oops u can't as u know how to bark only! Shit

> Well ofcos u cant understand my say as ur just out of spastic centre give doing things like u mentioned "wrap the plastic bag around your head and tie it tight." OMG u idiot still need cares from de govt medical assistant but I think SPCA will help u better as I always luv to kick dog like u!

• Prometheus on Nov 09, 2005 at 10:16 pm

WTF with the last few posts?

Guess what? I'm a government doctor.. really..

Click my name to go to my website.

Small comment.. Thats an endless discussion..

Friend.. Suffer 4 years only. Then if you're not happy, quit and go GP.

Most of us didn't really know what we were getting into when we wanted to become doctors. If you want to change the future, tell other prospective medical student what they are really getting into. Life is much better now than just as recently as 5 years ago.

I've "mistakenly" opted to do Masters now.. Exam next week, I sure bungkus one.

If not mistaken, We are talking about Highway speeds here. Don't show that you don't know the right place to do the right thing to everybody. It may reflect badly on us other G doctors.

• MutantTomato on Nov 09, 2005 at 11:16 pm

Prometheus: Thou hast spoken the truth o bearer of fire! :P Good on you bro! :D Don't be so negative about your exam la! I'm sure you can pass! What you taking by the way? MRCP? 4 years? I thought you have to serve for 10 years?

Anyhow once again, good luck for your exams man!

• MutantTomato on Nov 09, 2005 at 11:29 pm

Paul, I am really sorry for temporarily "hijacking" this blog post by deviating so much form the topic. I promise in the future, I will try to not repeat the same behaviour. Sorry again bro! :D

• Marmitecrab on Nov 09, 2005 at 11:41 pm

Dear MahathirSpeakz,

Why you sound so angry? Until you condemn Tomato's family? I think that is too much. You called MT a dog but what really separates us from animals is that we have the ability to think and reason. We are also aware of our actions but to let go and lash out like you just did….c'mon, it wouldn't be unfair for me to say you're no different….I know you're not going to like it but hey, I don't like reading the stuff you just wrote as well. I think it's very kurang ajar and to curse others like that is "terlampau".

• MutantTomato on Nov 09, 2005 at 11:53 pm

Marmitecrab: Leave it be la bro… don't waste your time. You'll get better response from talking to a wall. Anyhow, thanks for defending me a liiiiiiiiiiiitle bit! :D Its much appreciated!

By the way, have you tried "Marmite crab?" Its quite nice man! There's a place in Hartamas Square that serves Marmite chicken! Also quite nice. :P

• Marmitecrab on Nov 10, 2005 at 12:14 am

MT,

Just saying what I feel, man.

"Have I tried marmite crab??" Where you think I got the name from? It's my all-time favourite!

Never tried marmite chicken, though. What's the name of the restaurant?

• MutantTomato on Nov 10, 2005 at 12:30 am

Marmitecrab: your call bro! :D

Oh, uhmm well, first thing is, you familiar with Hartamas Square? The stall is the same row as the pizza stall. Its the side where the DJ console is located. The stall is right next to a lane between the shops which allows you to get to the other side of Hart. Sq.

The fella sells all sorts of fried rice dishes and one of them is the Marmite Chicken Fried Rice. His ikan pari is also pretty damned good!

While you're at it, try the pizzas at the pizza stall. Damned good for stall level pizza! And definitely value for money as well!

Sorry I can't provide you the name of the stalls la… i just know where they are. Also, by the time I get there, I'm too damned hungry to care about formalities such as stall names! :P

• MahathirSpeakz on Nov 10, 2005 at 5:21 am

WHO CARES??? I dun think its too much. Who start de with kurang ajar word u tell me? I will show no mercy! And u.. r just 'chau-kao'.. SHUT UP! Even a dog will chake its tail when see it's owner home, how grateful they are. If de dogs can behave well so does human in a logical way.

"Leave it be la bro… don’t waste your time. (Who cares u stupid asshole?) You’ll get better response from talking to a wall." > Wht an idiot? If he gets better respond from de wall, he must crazy and crazy fella wont hv to comment. He might well just de bang de wall like which suits u better!

• yhtan on Nov 10, 2005 at 5:48 am

cool down both of u,there's no need for u all to argue in the forum,right?

• shahril on Nov 10, 2005 at 6:40 am

guess what?? i'm a medical student..currently studying overseas…my personally and professional opinion, m'sian medical system sucks!!! yes i am sponsored by govt, but i'm not a SLAVE!! i'm a normal human being…i have family to take care of, i have a future to look for, i have stomach that need food, i have eyes that need some sleep, i need energy to be recovered…so plz, dun mix patriotism with some normal personal demands..i've been in medical system in overseas, as well as in malaysia….in m'sia it is 1000X worse than here (melbourne)..i strongly agree with mutanttomato…yes of course the situation is better compared tp years ago…that's why a term call "RATE" existed…how much has it changed in a given timeframe? very very very little!!!!!!!

• shahril on Nov 10, 2005 at 6:46 am

mahathirspeakz, do u think ur the only one who has patriotism??? r u in medical field by any chance?? even if u do…open up ur eyes…look far beyond ur boundaries…dun talk like u know everything..dpt gaji lambat pon dah bising, ini pulak kalo kene keje straigth 24 hrs…sucks!!!

• Dando on Nov 10, 2005 at 7:24 am

oi mutanttomato… again u deviate from the topic… from doctors to food places in hartamas…. wat's wrong with u aa…. stay to the topic la… if u don't hav anything to comment on the topic, then don't post anything!

• MutantTomato on Nov 10, 2005 at 7:47 am

Dando: Just asking him if he has ever tried marmite crab la… Chill la homes! Paul the blog owner never said anything maaaah! :D And besides, the topic has become quite stale already la… I think everyone stated their opinion and all that. To summarise it, some of us feel 110km/h isn't enough and some of us feel 110km/h is just about right. So, as Paul said in an earlier post, we can agree to disagree. Leng mou? :D

yhtan: Don't know what you mean bro… I said earlier, I ain't going to get dragged into this shouting match la… no point. So, whoever or whatever wants to call me a dog la, asshole la, son of a bitch la, etc etc etc, go ahead la… I don't care…

• MutantTomato on Nov 10, 2005 at 7:57 am

Ok ok, so I will post one more to get back to the topic! :P … I think 110km/h is definitely too slow for our highways. Even more so for the highways that have 90km/h speed limit! However, its no point raising the speed limit when the general attitude towards road usage is "I'm the king of the road!" If people can change their driving courtesy and manners, it will be much safer and all that.

If you want to speed but do it properly, then most likely nothing bad will happen. But if you're going to do a "Need For Speed" on the highways or on any road for that matter, then no matter how slow or fast you're going, a fender bender or worse will most likely happen.

The police should definitely be more proactive in doing something to curb this. I don't mean just doling out summonses. That has been proven to be pointless. No one pays until some "Ops" happens. Then everyone rushes to pay because some discount has been given. How will people learn if the coppers keep doing this?

The new ruling of points seems to be a good thing. But again, it has its limitations. I hope more of the kinks will be ironed out before they proceed with implementing the new system.

• Prometheus on Nov 10, 2005 at 4:14 pm

I'm really scared of the points thing.. I rather pay the fine..

• if they gantung our licence we got no choice but to still driving coz public transport so lousy and at some place non existent!

• apambalik on Nov 10, 2005 at 9:44 pm

i hope you speedsters and selfish drivers knock something or someone and go to hell together!!!

• apambalik on Nov 10, 2005 at 10:28 pm

to add on, better still someone knocks your loved one or someone you know!

• apambalik on Nov 11, 2005 at 11:36 pm

I am sorry. I got up on the wrong side of the bed today. I am sorry and i apologize for typing my 2 previous posts for blantanly obvious reasons. I just remembered:

No one of you is a believer until he desires for his brother that which he desires for himself.

Sunnah

Hurt not others in ways that you yourself would find hurtful.

Udana-Varga 5,1

Do not do to others what you would not like yourself. Then there will be no resentment against you, either in the family or in the state.

Analects 12:2

All things whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do ye so to them; for this is the law and the prophets.

Matthew 7:1

• apambalik on Nov 16, 2005 at 3:18 am

clever! but why nothing from Quran?

• jimmyg7 on Nov 16, 2005 at 11:46 am

they should raise it to 200km/h that way every one will get placrs faster

• Steve Butt on Nov 16, 2005 at 11:51 am

I think you all are just over-thinking it!!!!

• khor_711 on Dec 09, 2005 at 9:51 am

if really the government wanted to limit the speed, do u think it is possible????

even at HARI RAYA season they given 'TIPS' stated that where's the sped trap

location.

i have a very good suggestionthat is why don't the government upgrate the STANDARD of Malaysia's driving level. if u got a good skill on driving,at least u can control when u are speedng.

For those msg up there are so so so non-sense.

IF U FEEL THAT U WANT TO SPEED PLEASE MAKE SURE THAT U CAN CONTROL THAT SITUATION,DON'T TAKE THE RISK!!!!

THINK ABOUT THE ONE WHO CARES ABOUT U!!!!

so what's the porpuse of limiting the speed on road?????

CAN SOMEONE ANSWER MEEEEEEE?â„¢

• suraj (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 6:22 am

We can have variable speed limits based on weather conditions, straights vs bends etc. I feel for the toll we fork out the finish of the North South highway is not that good. The roads sink, crack and get damaged too often. Its either there is not a thick enough concrete base or the tar mix is crap. Also i dont understand why there are obvious flaws like when u cross some bridges ur car will jerk because instead of a smooth gradient ascending onto or descending from a bridge there is a sharp little incline right at the bridge like in the old trunk roads. I think PLUS highway is only up to the standard of a British A Road dual carriegeway (equivalent to our national route) and not its expressway. To be honest, they have to cut down the gradients and bends and improve the finish. I bet you if you are driving less powerful automatics you can see an improvement in handling and acceleration speeds. They have to do justice for all the money they are earning from us incrementally each year.

• suraj (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 6:36 am

With variable speed limits (weather, traffic, straights vs bends or accident prone areas) we will need electronic signboards that flash new limits with changing driving conditions. I think speeding is not the only offence that the authorities should deal with. Tailgating and indiscriminate lane changing and overtaking poses probably a bigger accident risk than just speeding alone. When traffic gets heavy and cars start getting close there must be reminders and warnings to maintain distance. Sensors can be installed to detect this and warn motorists to keep their distance. If need be, some kind of convention on minimum safe distance should be introduced into the road traffic laws and people who violate it should get fined. Cameras are a good way to increase monitoring of driving practices and help the government step up on penalizing drivers more effectively. Our drivers particularly in major urban areas like Klang Valley and Johor Bahru need to be re-educated on conscientious driving habits and road safety.

• Noraini on Mar 10, 2013 at 9:52 am

asal ada speed trap di tengah2 higway antara kl-johor dengan kelajuan hanya 80km. ramai pemandu kena saman bila atas kelajuan tersebut.. bayangkan pemandu yang bawa 110km, tiba2 terpaksa slowkan kelajuan dalam masa yg amat singkat utk had laju tersebut. Bukan ke lagi mengakibatkan kemalangan berlaku???