Volkswagen Touareg Kong

Supposedly in the filming of the blockbuster movie King Kong, Volkswagen Touaregs were used to ferry around the film crew. In commemoration of this, Volkswagen has released a limited run of vehicles called the Volkswagen Touareg Kong.

The Touareg Kong comes in an exclusive Kong bodykit, with widened colour-coded sills and new 19″ Avignon alloy wheels in sterling silver wrapped with 275/45/R19 tyres.

Two petrol engine options are available – a 3.2 litre V6 making 241ps and 310Nm of torque. The other option is a 4.2 litre V8 making 310ps and 410Nm torque. There are also 3 diesel engine choices. There is the low-end 2.5 inline 5 cylinder making 174ps and 400Nm torque. In the mid range you have a V6 TDI making 225ps and 500Nm torque. The top-end diesel Touareg Kong runs a V10 TDI making 313ps and 750Nm of torque. That’s ALOT of torque!

There is a King Kong Crew member badge on the B-pillar.

The interior has been souped up abit with better trim. A DVD player and full entertainment system has been installed. Rear passangers have a wireless headphone system so they can watch their DVDs with full aural experience while the driver concentrates on driving.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• I love every products from Volkswagen AG including the Audi's. And this VW Touareg is GREAT!!

Dear Paul,

Do you know if there are any comments from Peter Jackson about this German SUV? I would like to know

• cool man…

• anuar on Jan 04, 2006 at 4:53 am

hopefully it wont kong easily. nice colour tough

• stupid…. I drive the KONG~ LOL ~

I'd rather they go Volkswagen Touareg DVD …. LOL ~

• Strider on Jan 04, 2006 at 6:00 am

Cool lookin suv…Damnnnnn…Woooo… Carry on VW do ur best..

• Wao! so great !

but if got Volkswagen SUv like beetle style more good….haha!

• jo jo pot on Jan 04, 2006 at 6:16 am

i went to dubai last week….seems like touareg a famous car in the emirates..I wonder what will happen if Mahathir get this car would he reject it again?????

• Jason on Jan 04, 2006 at 6:16 am

WTF! Just because used to ferry the crew around. Sigh.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Jan 04, 2006 at 7:15 am

when i read the title… i thought paul is reporting on somebody's Touareg that "kong"ed beside the road somewhere… hmmm… lain pulak ceritanya…

• tu7uh on Jan 04, 2006 at 8:07 am

Is it the same with the one that is currently in contention for the Paris-Dakkar rally? Last yr it was the X5's that monopolised.

• LOL…that name is seriously dodgy. Had a good laugh upon reading what it actually was.

• pycazu on Jan 04, 2006 at 5:32 pm

huh… nice color with handsome bodykit, i like the design.

if every car makers apply the car name of the movie title even merely ferry the crew around, then I'll wonder then we'll see quite a lot like: "Spider"-car, "Geish"-kuruma blah blah… :)

• Sharfox on Jan 04, 2006 at 7:02 pm

Hahahahaha…… The Touareg Kong comes in an exclusive Kong bodykit, A Kong DVD player and full entertainment Kong system, the top-end diesel Touareg Kong runs a V10 TDI making 313ps and 750Nm of torque. Everything's Kong!!

But seriuosly, it's still a great machine minus the name.

• Michael Chua on Jan 04, 2006 at 8:28 pm

The Touareg is definitely one hell of a car! It's got the size, the power, the luxurious features. No cheap car at all :)

• Ezmil on Jan 04, 2006 at 8:34 pm

If VW wants to sell this car in Malaysia, gotta drop the Kong name hehehehe.. Maybe can replace with King

• m_1_6 on Jan 05, 2006 at 12:19 am

cool suv!!! i like it but i hate the kong badge!

• purity on Jan 05, 2006 at 7:06 am

wah like this if proton-VW deal goes thru, proton ada harapan lorrr…

• The VW Race Touareg is definitely a whole different beast to the regular Touareg. The dominant Dakar Rally winner for the past five years have been Mitsubishi. However, this year VW looks very strong. As of this time of writing, five of the six front runners are VW Racing Touaregs.

• In Malaysia they should name it "Utan" from orang utan.

• Lucky Proton didn't hook up with VW…design sucks!…Go japanese la…

• shaymen on Jan 06, 2006 at 12:02 am

its a good suv…but never drive it so no comment.better than pajero i guess…

• albagmane on Jan 06, 2006 at 5:48 pm

gosh… nice! love the design.. since the engine is damn powerful, this SUV might go to millions of RINGGIT??? by the way, i found the touareg is also used for the DAKAR RALLY as well.. this is a really tough vehicle from VW.. anyway, since there is a KONG vehicle from the western company on the road now, will there be a GODZILLA vehicle from the eastern company in the future??? how will it look like if this happens??? hehe.. this will be very interesting…

• shaymen on Jan 09, 2006 at 6:26 pm

albagmane said,

January 6, 2006 @ 9:48 am

—————————————————

aiyooy abagmane….just sayy like param said,wwwwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh sudah la…

cos u cant afford to buy this kong la…too expensive i tell u.better buy house la or maybe buy a girl to be your second wife…lagi bagus what.