2007 Jaguar XK Coupe and Convertible

Let’s have a look at some very expensive cars which almost none of us will ever have the chance of owning or driving ever in our lives, except for working in some high-profile car review magazine. Heheh. Forget the old and boring Jaguar that you know, this is the Jaguar XK.

The Jaguar XK reminds me alot of an Aston Martin. Am I the only one who thinks so? The 2007 Jaguar XK is a totally newly engineered model over the old 1996 Jaguar XK, and first of a new generation of “beautiful and fast Jaguars”. That’s about 11 years apart. So what’s new?

The new chassis is made from all-aluminium construction and has best-in-class rigidity in the Coupe form. The Convertible is naturallly less rigid for the lack of a solid roof, but is 50% more rigid than the previous Jaguar XK Convertible. The all-aluminium body also makes the new Jaguar XK lighter than the previous edition, weighing in at 1665kg for the coupe and 1705kg for the convertible. The car is a 2+2, so there’s still room for little people in the back, just in case.

The new 2007 Jaguar XK comes with a new Jaguar AJ-series V8 engine which satisfies ULEV II emmission standards. The AJ-V8 engine is a relatively compact 4.2 litre V8 DOHC engine that comes with Variable Valve Timing which can vary intake cam timing up to 48 degrees. The AJ-V8 comes in either a normally aspirated version making 300 horsepower, or a supercharged version making 400 horsepower.

This takes the 2007 Jaguar XK Coupe from 0-100km/h in 5.9 seconds. The XK Convertible being slightly heavier goes from 0-100km/h in 6 seconds. I’m not sure if you can feel the 0.1 seconds on paper in real life.

The engine is hooked up to a ZF 6-speed automatic transmission with Jaguar’s Sequential Shift allowing manual gear changes from paddles on the steering wheel.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chris (Member) on Feb 07, 2006 at 7:53 am

Nice post paul.Perhaps you should post it before everyone wash up and sleep :P

• Paul Tan on Feb 07, 2006 at 7:57 am

wash up and sleep? why, what would they want to do while looking at the photos of this car? :P

anyway, i just got back from the office not too long ago. busy lah. :(

• ingolstadt (Member) on Feb 07, 2006 at 8:00 am

It is an Aston Martin. Sucks, just looked at the dashboard, the lines from A-C pillars. This Jag is an Aston.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Feb 07, 2006 at 8:28 am

Paul…

Drool at those pics, then when all those saliva fell all over the body so have to wash up ma…

• aksMs (Member) on Feb 07, 2006 at 8:59 am

ingolstadt: omigod! You only realize that now ka? Hahaha…

For your information, the Jag and Aston shared the same platform. While Aston will be the first to be release, Jaguar will follow suit with a better refinements and finishing.

• retrofuturism (Member) on Feb 07, 2006 at 9:27 am

hey guys is this jag XK sharing its platform with aston martin V8 vantage or db9? Should be V8 vantage right? In overall design wise, apparently aston martin is unbeatable, for me this gen Xk really dissapointed me due to its tear drop headlight…but Jag's remarkable oval shape air intake is still my favourite and it blends well in this new XK.good job..sorry not the head light..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 07, 2006 at 9:32 am

retrofuturism:

The Jaguar XK shares the same platform as the Aston Martin DB9

• Paul Tan on Feb 07, 2006 at 9:44 am

should be DB9 as it's a 2+2. the rest all 2-seater i think?

• kody (Member) on Feb 07, 2006 at 4:33 pm

wahlaueh….

stunning car… fantastic & aggressive outlook. COOL man. but price… will be like sky high…

• oversight (Member) on Feb 07, 2006 at 4:44 pm

better to have Aston Martin DBRS 9 or the original DBR 9. engineered from le mans race or at least DB 9 Volante

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 07, 2006 at 4:46 pm

lovely car… Jags have always had that classy-British charm with their cars. yeah paul, u're not alone. this does seem very Aston to me. the car looks lovely, with the E-Type grille and all, but I wish the dash wasn't so conventional. what happened to the traditionalist Jag dash? they used to bring a whole sense of environment when it comes to their dash. and the J-shifter is gone too. sobs…

lol… commenting on a car I'll never be able to own :D

• edwin2 (Member) on Feb 07, 2006 at 6:09 pm

Dear Paul.

you say

"Let’s have a look at some very expensive cars which almost none of us will ever have the chance of owning or driving ever in our lives"

if you continue to think, say and act as above mention, I am sure you will.

BUT as for me, I think this is a GREAT car and there are also other great cars in the expensive car market, AND I plan to own at least 1 unit. My current aim now is a BMW 523.

AND I continue to think, act and aim for my BMW 523, I am sure I will get it.

Paul…. it is all in your mind, unless U are very very happy with your Proton with the Mitsubishi heart.

rgd

edwin

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 07, 2006 at 11:16 pm

Cut the sass Mr Sassy Pants,

Aiming for it just doesnt cut it if you do not have the courage to let go of the arrow. It all comes from hard work not by sitting at home wanking at the computer. Paul does not mean it in such a deranged manner till the extent of undermining our capabilities.

If I am not mistakened, the Jag XK Coupe and Convertible cost less than the original DB9 , DB9 Volante and DBRS 9 for that matter.

• chuamike (Member) on Feb 07, 2006 at 11:50 pm

Lovely. I agree with you. It does remind me of an Aston Martin too :)

• i'm run (Member) on Feb 08, 2006 at 1:33 am

wow nice.. but proton savvy is better…

just kidding hehe..

but i still prefer mzda rx-8… ferrari…

• chris (Member) on Feb 08, 2006 at 6:08 am

Oh poor paul.What kinda job dragging u until messed up ur sunday? :)

Anyway hope u enjoy ur work and do take more rest whenever u can.

P/s:At least we can dream of those car if u post it earlier before everyone wash up & sleep hehehe.Evil minded paul….no wet or perverted dreams kekeke :P

• marmitecrab (Member) on Feb 08, 2006 at 6:30 am

The DB9 interior is a work of art. Much nicer than the XK and the engine is more powerful too. 450bhp versus the XK's 300. Even the supercharged XKR is only 400bhp. And the DB9 looks super cool.

However, the XK is still cheaper than the DB9 and if you reside in the UK and earn a decent living, you can actually own one. No need to be super rich like here to own nice cars.

And one day, when AFTA is in effect and the taxes are removed, who knows? Paul might even be able to think of owning one. :-)

• Paul Tan on Feb 08, 2006 at 7:47 am

DB9 has a bigger AJ engine at 4.3 liters I think. or a V12. forgot.

• Paul Tan on Feb 08, 2006 at 7:48 am

chris: my company does web development and IT support, i've blogged before about one of my day job's experiences with Dell.