Mitsubishi 380 to be exported to Malaysia

380vrx-small.JPGA team of Proton engineers met with Mitsubishi officials at Mitsubishi Australia’s Adelaide assembly plant last week to discuss the possible import of the Mitsubishi 380 large sedan into Malaysia. This followed the shipment of a single Mitsubishi 380 here last month for climate and government regulation approval testing.

The Mitsubishi 380 is a large sedan based on the North American Mitsubishi Galant and is powered by a 3.8 litre SOHC V6 engine making 235 horsepower at 5250rpm and 343Nm of torque at 4000rpm. Malaysia and other Asia Pacific countries as an export market could relieve the pressure that Mitsubishi Australia is facing as sales on their home grounds for the car isn’t very encouraging.

More details on the Mitsubishi 380 in my previous post.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• shaif (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 4:49 pm

Next replacement for Perdana huh!

• Paul Tan on Mar 09, 2006 at 4:50 pm

engine too big for malaysian market i think =/

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 4:58 pm

Yeah…3.8 liter…….

Petrol 30sen ler…. hahaha

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 5:20 pm

downgrade it into 2.0cc then it will hv a good sales.

• E-Nabill (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 5:27 pm

ya with our luvly tax structure,this car could easily cost around 300k…whos gonna buy that..can get bmw 320 or c-class….

• Oops! (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 5:31 pm

is Proton talking about rebadge Mitsu? if direct import, that should be EON right?

• bummerboy (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 6:17 pm

downgrade to 2liter and the car wont even move. so big and heavy macam hippo.

• catborg (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 8:34 pm

eleh!.. ninyak mahal konon. macam la mampu sangat nak beli!.. :p

btw.. 3.8 also already in Mitsubishi AirTrex. not so new lar..

SOHC? (nah.. myvi = DOHC? most people must learn to understand about this! Savvy=Sohc=Old Tech?)

Do sohc is more petrol usage or less than dohc?

any comparison or chart about that?

• nd (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 9:30 pm

SOHC is better than DOHC than DOHC? You must be in the 90's!

Do you realize that nowadays many manufacturers are going back to SOHC? Why? DOHC or SOHC with VVT technology performs about the same. Better choose SOHC because of reduce parts and complication = reduce cost! Example.. Honda had been using SOHC 1.7vtec engine for its Civic model long time ago and the new Civic 2006 is also using SOHC 1.8ivtec engine.

The new Mitsubishi 6G75 is even better because of of its advance design, they manage to make the engine torquey and efficient without the VVT mechanism. Read this…

"This efficient design with a state-of-the-art engine management system incorporates only 10% carry-over parts from the former 3.5-litre engine, and eliminates complications, such as double overhead cams, variable valve timing, variable intake manifold, secondary air system and an EGR system."

Theres more from where it comes: http://www.webwombat.com.au/motoring/news_reports…

• Paul Tan on Mar 09, 2006 at 10:54 pm

i think probably getting proton edar to sell it, not rebadging it.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 12:09 am

but wouldn't it be weird to be selling a mitsubishi at proton edar? :P

• laser_ampang (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 2:22 am

for a japannese car, the engine is definitely too big for malaysians..

big towkays, will go for merc and bm's…

i dont think this will sell, unless its more like waja (size wise)..

but then, who knows…

• demio121 (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 4:49 am

that self posessed advosir muz be freaking out now. First, going back to Mits snd now import a Mits from Aussie.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 12, 2006 at 6:12 am

I think put a diesel engine with 2 turbo's like the 5 series

• proton12vauto (Member) on Mar 12, 2006 at 6:51 pm

Haiya nd…

Savvy=Sohc=Old Tech? Been test drive Savvy before? AMT or MT..?

Actually Sohc good for Town Driving. More fuel saving…drive Dohc for long distance will suck your fuel more…but this fact for past time…now with new tech…SOHC are more better fuel consumption…Good aerodynamic design e.g. Honda City IDSL. Modern engine tech, SOHC will more perform than those Dohc and Sohc with those VVTi, Mivec, VTc, Vtec, iVtec, iDsl etc and future Camprofiling in Proton (hope so)..the dohc will be history…

• acbc (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 4:22 am

3.8L? Are they crazy?

The Government should change to weight-based roadtax like in the US. The heavier the car, the higher the roadtax.

Current CC-based is plain stupid!

• jono87 (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 3:32 am

Proton might change the engine to a 2.4 litre engine that's being used in Lancer in Aust. But if proton keep the 3.8 engine city fuel consumption can reach up to 15L/100km plus depending driving habits. Interior rear space is larger than Chevrolet Lumina!!!

• Dogster (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 6:32 am

Wat. U all say now 3.8 too much? NO! 100% no 3.8 is just nice. We malaysian cannot be deprived by our G and our small roads. 3.8 still ppl buy. all the 4 wheelers got 3.8 or more or less and nobody complain when buying them. :S

I do say that malaysia should have those cars . Get them in., 2.8L, 3.0L, 3.2L …..

whatever. We kenot live in 2.0 too long. Its depriving our nation of powerful cars and technologies!!!!!!!!!

• Dogster (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 6:39 am

i have personally driven that car when i was in aus. its gonna be a very big mistake if proton puts a 2.4 into it. that car is very solid and tough & heavy. i would personally get it if i am a citizen there. but unfortunatly not.

• topgunthang (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 9:34 am

you are right paul. the 380 is doing terribly in australia…for which mitsubishi australia has put nearly all of thier resources into (to save the mitsubishi factory here) and it turns out to be a flop. i think prices have fallen from aud 35000 to aud27000 as base price (with the usual extras as bonus) just to keep sales alive.

i think because it cannot compete with holden or ford on the big sedan ground……and most importantly toyota will be releasing thier own v6 Aurion and most likely a sportivo version with it. which should kill off the sales of the 380.

mitsubishi australia employees are counting thier blessings they found somewhere to dump thier car. malaysia just saved thier jobs…if the deal gets through.

its getting good reviews here in australia mainly because the local factory and workers jobs are on the line.

• jared323f (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 8:45 pm

and wat makes proton think they can sell this model in Malaysia.. when their australian counterpart can't? it's 3.8L for god's sake… fuel consumption.. road tax..

• tony seet on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:45 pm

i drove this 380 in melbourne recently and found it a very quiet, smooth, agile and reliable car. Definitely superior than the current honda accord and nissan sylphy! Only the style is a bit of a let down..