Satria Replacement Model in April?

srm_100306_thumbnail.jpgA report by New Straits Times says Proton expects to launch a new model in April. This could most likely be the SRM as I don’t think there’s any possibility of a Perdana based on the Mitsubishi 380 to be launched in such a short time frame. If you read the article, you would notice the bad reporting by the journalist, who said the Proton Savvy uses a Campro engine. Journalists should really do their homework.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• purity (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 8:53 pm

finally… it's here! what shd i do? what will the NAP do to the price of SRM? Any comment?

Proton SRM – Service Required, Monthly!!

• indigo (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 9:24 pm

Can't blame him Paul, Proton was the one who said Savvy will be fitted with Campro.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 10:26 pm

Umm… Proton SRM, what would u think they will called it? How would it performed, i am sure its another T.U.V. approved? hahaha… but based on Proton history…. they will probably launch the car by June.

• pseudonymous (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 10:47 pm

Proton MD said SRM will come out in May…not in April as we all expected

Yet another delay…hmmm

• catborg (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 10:50 pm

can fit campro into savvy meh.. aiya… poor reporter..

think he not even know about car la..

i'm wait until out on market la..

wont make rubbish judgement.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 11:47 pm

they really never learned.. they never studied the market.. with all stuf, costs rising & economy isu etc.. they think people wud buy 2 doors cars nowdays? got market or not? 80s or 90s can la.. people now want economy, space & practical.. sales sure worse than savvy..

• NR Calvin (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 12:08 am

2 doors? not so hot nowadays. people go for taller car 4 doors. like myvi,kenari,aveo,jazz…….toyota XXXXX(coming soon)…naza hafei lobo…

TRM sudah mati, SRM how ar? can mer? wait & see.

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 1:13 am

gotta wait……wait n seee……….see n comment……..comment then go n tidur!!!!

• kody (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 1:20 am

Wahlaueh…

Aren't you all forget, P1 tend to use older 10-20yrs tech, so opinion also same late for 10 yrs (that's why come out model that is not execatly current majority market needs)… i think the SRM target group will be similar to savvy… another failure project from P1… i wonder why they are not learning from Honda by performing surveys on customers feedback….Oops…too much bad comments until the management bored to read the feedback…haha… (may be need to save survey cost for own p1 org besar's pocket)

The SRM just keep on test on highway but not bumpy road & sure no problems when development when come to customers , i think less than a year , you can hear all sort of 'parts' music from your P1 car… (this is the only impression i can get from p1 new model)… High risk to buy P1 new batch/model of cars.

• kody (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 1:27 am

Wahlaueh…

Wira still selling like hotcakes with exterior & interior touch up (but still suck in quality, like my one less than a year all sound coming out from back of the car, already giveup to repair & try so many times still can't found rootcause just use radio to cover it ), P1 will not dare to sudden change any replacement model for this model. Gen2 is a good example already & that's why (i think) they come out WAJA campro & try to gain back the 1600cc customers… Hohooo SRM…i do not see u will have bright future….haha…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 2:00 am

What SRM – just like Savvy, another junk and old model (perhaps Mit. Colt) to be modified and restyling, later pass on into Malaysian market as brand new model! Still treat consumers as "blind".

• catborg (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 2:22 am

kody .. go read more lah..

Savvy wasnt failed somehow..

still best sell in UK, AUS South Africa etc..

i said, GO READ MORE!..

Not everybody want a BIG, spacious car..

Many people still want hatchback, 2 door. sporty look one.. not a family car.. at least i'm the one.. and i do believe.. many people also want that type of car..

imagine.. if in all this WOLRD.. u only have MPV type of car.. so? boring?

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 2:52 am

i rated that NST article the lowest i can give… which is 1. i suggest u guys do the same too.

• afhstingray (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 3:36 am

catborg: where on earth did you read that it was a best seller in the uk?

• king (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 4:53 am

catborg i agree with you….many ppl want a small car and style and not like motorhead and NR only focus on space or 4wd – thats bulls***, u think petrol is free?… its not because of the model that p1 makes. Even if potong makes any mpv or 4wd also won't sell….just look at juara….so u r wrong to say SRM will fail…..if it fails it is due to potongs poor quality and uncompetitive pricing…..not the type of cars it produces

eg: if gen2 / waja's interior is same quality as city/vios, wouldn't everyone buy it already?

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 7:20 am

I don't think performance is really a contributing factor to P1's poor sales. Rather, it's the low manufacture quality that puts buyers off.

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 7:55 am

I agree with you king. Proton could've made better sales if their quality is up to the standard (at least)! Their new models such Waja, Gen.2 and Savvy got a respectable handling from all over the world. Not the best, but respectable. But, that's not good enough because some part of the car will start making sounds even after only 20km journey. Quality is always an issue for them.

In my opinion, hot hatches might not be choice of the car for the masses. But they do have a strong follower and enthusiast. Hot hatches are still selling like hot cakes in many parts of Europe. I don't easily believe that Savvy sales in UK is that good. But, since the car are half Renault, I'm sure there are a lot of upgrades available in UK market for it especially the engine. It could make a good sales, don't you think? Citroen Saxo and Renault Clio were sold like hot cakes in UK. Why can't Savvy?

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 7:59 am

Aiyyoh…it suppose to be SRM topic. My bad eh? Huhuhu…

Whatever it is I believe there are markets for SRM. It is up to P1 if they could reach the standard to enter the 'open market'.

• wsy3k (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 10:18 am

is the new SRM 1800cc?

• afhstingray (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 11:43 am

not so easy to upgrade engine etc like in malaysia….rules are very very strict here, and people tend to think a LOT about resale value and depreciation before modding…people who mod (major mod like engine,) their new cars here are usually people who use them on the track. the young teenagers usually buy an old peugeot, fiat or vauxhall (2nd or 3rd hand) and modify!!

• afhstingray (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 11:45 am

the design of the waja, gen2 are really nice……i like them, and i think the interior design looks quite nice to, a bit sporty but not over the top (at least not so plain like the hyundai's !!!)

however it has the "plasticy" feel, and things dont fit together well, etc…..

this low quality is their drawback….if they felt as nice as a honda or toyota, i think the complaints will be cut in half!

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 6:06 pm

aloww.. brother, king & u guys.. wait & see la.. sure fail one.. if market so good for 2 door cars, why didnt produa sell it 1st? Produa not so stupid like protong.. they know what people want.. every where in the world 2 doors market is lesser, unless sports car la.. small car like yaris oso have 4 doors, acuro oso got 4 doors.. like u guys gonna buy it.. go ahead la.. i want to see…SRM must be a very good car & high quality (impossible) or sure it will fail… but sure can sell 1k-2k, a year.. hahaha

• NR Calvin (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 6:41 pm

hey bro king, I meant taller car not 4WD, buka mata & read.

kenari , myvi,aveo,jazz……. = 4WD?????????

2 doors SRM not no good, but is it popular in market? will sell like hot cake?

I dun think so.

wait & see.

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 7:05 pm

Stop being narrow minded la… Motorhead.. u might be rite.. no market.. but then again, satria's do sell quite well.. and with hiking fuel prices.. singles might just opt for that.. those who hv families might aim 4 other vehicles.. bt nt every1 out there has a family.. There is potential in europe for hot hatches.. just look at their range.. VW, Renault.. their hatches are selling quite well.. so.. its abit harsh to say its gonna fail completely.. might not be one of the best ideas by proton, but none the less, its still an effort.. U know proton la.. they dont have the most brilliant ceo.. Cut some slack.. =p but with the same breath.. TOOOT proton for having such lame QC.. T.U.V aprroved.. big deal.. a little improvement from total utter rubbish to so so quality aint gonna get them far.

• Tracks (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 7:16 pm

It has always been a fact that 3 door hatches like the SRM are not volume sellers here. However, Proton has to introduce new models that are not available in the market in order to capture some share of it. Why, simply because with more production = money. Plus they share the same engine as Gen2 and Waja making the production volume of the engine to be increased substantial from the economic scale point of view. Pricing of the SRM would be one of the critical determination of its sales potential.

The SRM would be released using the 1.6L Campro. The development of the high performance 1.6L Campro with CPS(Cam Profile Switching) and VIM(Variable Intake Management) has not been completed yet. Exterior looks of the SRM is sleek and sporty. However, interior is better than Gen2 but to me still not up to the mark yet. Wait for the release before you comment or rather bashed further.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 11:42 pm

ok ok.. lets the sales figure later proves if i am narrow minded.. i am sure many out there have the same opinion like me.. yeah totally fail may be not.. but sure create more lost & less profit…R&D for 1 car is huge RM..

but why they dont focus on popular category?? wonder why a…?? ermm.. Ooo.. bcoz they r poton.. its people (khazanah share) money what.. who cares… lost, lost la.. they got the money from the project enough la..

• TheMachine (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 1:32 am

From the press, CEO of proton mentioned that SRM will be launched in May .. i wonder why take them so damn long to launch, testing …. testing but at the end when launched still with problems etc, why dun launch in 2020

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 5:42 am

i'm sooo looking forward to this car… if i didn't already have my car i'd order it.

shud be popular among single people and young families… and also people who want sportiness n style ;)

• super33 (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 7:51 am

Check this ladies & gentlement..it was not bad too….. keke

http://www.autozine.org/Award/AutoZine/AutoZine_A…

• king (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 1:02 pm

NR and bashing gang,

Look, its pointless for you to argue which vehicle class is more marketable. take a look at the figures of 3-door hot hatch sales in europe.

If you don't know i suggest you go check it out 1st b4 saying hot hatches are not marketable.

potong intends to export to UK and other markets but the europeans wun buy their car mainly due to the 3rd world interior quality of their cars. You will probably be rite about SRM not selling well but it is due to the one and only one reason:- potong is taking 2 steps backward in quality in every new model they roll out.( maybe with exception to savvy which they took half a step forward )

Question: would you buy a potong-made-jazz with a gen-2 interior and quality for 10k less than original jazz?

So no matter what car shape they will suffer the same fate.

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:19 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.

• iblisz_petaka (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:12 pm

hello guys,

apa sudah jadi sama PROTON? always facelift the old model. dont get any idea hahhhhhhhhhhhh? berenti sajalah. tidak payah buat kereta lagi. boringlah. always the same strategy. so boring. ask the marketlah. do some research. if you guys at PROTON dont know how, appoint some people to do the researchlah.