Flexi-fuel Cars run on gasoline and alcohol

saab_biopower.jpg

Flexi-fuel vehicles, short for “flexible-fuel” or “dual-fuel” vehicles are cars that can run on two sources of fuel. Common flexi-fuel vehicles run on gasoline and ethanol. Our Malaysian taxis are also flexi-fuel vehicles, as they can run on petrol and natural gas.

Ethanol-gasoline flexi-fuel vehicles are very popular in Brazil, with their popularity increasing ever since the oil crisis of the 70s. While most flexi-fuel vehicles can run on ethanol and petrol mixes from E10 (10 parts ethanol, 80 parts gasoline) to E85 (85 parts ethanol, 15 parts gasoline) most of Brazil’s flxei-fuel cars can run up to 100% ethanol, with a small gasoline tank used to start the car during cold mornings.

There was an alcohol shortage in 1989, and demand for flexi-fuel cars in Brazil died off, but they are picking up again and gaining popularity due to the sky-high gasoline prices recently. Most of the ethanol in Brazil is made from sugarcane. Natural gas is not so popular in Brazil as it takes up too much space in the trunk for the natural gas tank.

Volkswagen AG has committed to go 100% flexi-fuel cars in Brazil. 75% of current Volkswagen cars sold in Brazil are flexi-fuel, and Volkswagen holds a 35.5% share in the flexi-fuel car market in Brazil, with 10 of it’s models having flexi-fuel capable engines. This makes it the largest flexi-fuel marque in Brazil, with Fiat trailing close in second place with 30.5%.

fiat_fire_engine.jpgSo what’s the difference between a normal engine and a flexi-fuel engine? The engine and fuel delivery system has to be adapted for flexi-fuel as alcohol/ethanol is corrosive. So materials that can withstand the corrosion must be used. There also has to be a sensor in the fuel line to analyze the fuel mixture and control the fuel injection and timing for different mixes of gasoline and ethanol.

Hmm… alcohol guzzling cars. Sounds like my kind of car ;)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• iguanaa (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 11:06 am

…heard someone in Malaysia is coming out with a device that converts water into Hydrogen and injects it to mix with the petrol….Paul…can you find some details on this???

• rexis (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 5:37 pm

Try go thru:
    http://www.fuelsaving.info/hydrogen.htm
    regarding hydrogen generator on board and hydrogen injection.

Thailand is also setting up ethanol plant to make fuel from cassava, basically still nothing heard from malaysia having any alternative plan to the petrol car. NGV? You can find roadside mcdonals easier then spotting an NGV refill station.

Envo diesel? Very funny, how many diesel car on the road… And its only with 5% biodiesel.

• rexis (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 5:44 pm

Paul,

Indeed, alcohol guzzling cars, fasinating, Saab concept car Aero X can produce 400bhp on a turbocharged engine with pure ethanol, Saab biopower turbo can produce more horses running on E85 then on pure gasoline. Actually ethanol fuel very good to turbo and high compression, they have very high octane rating and wont knock easily.

We should really dig more into Ethanol and other alternative car, so everyone can be aware to its exsistance.

• Tracks (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 7:26 pm

NGV refills station are limited in Malaysia due to the monopolisation by Petronas. They government would not allow others to supply. Anyway, NGV vehicled has a pretty short range and therefore dual fuel is a necessity as you would see in a taxi. Furthermore, you need to carry a huge tank that takes up a lot of space in the boot. Besides that, the tanks is not exactly light weight due to it design to with high pressure.

I agree with rexis that 5% biodiesel in the Envo diesel does not provide significant savings and benefit.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 11:30 pm

i hope in future auto maker wud make some special space, so the owner can decide to install 2nd tank.. i wud like 2 install ngv to my kancil.. make it the 1st kancil with ngv, but no space.. bonet so small oredi..

ps: my kancil still can roam at 135kmp after 5 years.. goin for 6th…hehe..

• cyrixMX (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 3:06 am

alcohol as fuel? make sure u seal ur tank securely in case somebody short of $$ to buy alcohol take a sip from ur car :D

btw, what is the by product of the combustion cycle? Can get high or not after inhaling exhaust fumes from alcohol based cars?