Volkswagen Polo BlueMotion

polo_bluemotion_1.jpg

What is a recession-proof car? Naza’s own definition is a car cheap enough to buy, finance, and maintain. Even through the bad times of recession. I suppose if Malaysia did not have ridiculous levels of imported car taxation, a car like the Volkswagen Polo BlueMotion could qualify as a recession-proof car.

polo_bluemotion_2.jpg

The Volkswagen Polo BlueMotion is a small car equipped with a 1.5 litre 3-cylinder turbodiesel engine. This engine makes about 80 horsepower, more than enough for a car that you just use to get around town. The little machine’s top speed is 176 km/h. It’s turbodiesel engine makes a peak torque of 195Nm from 1800rpm to 2200rpm. The 1.5 litre 3-cylinder turbodiesel uses a variable geometry turbine turbocharger. 0-100 km/h acceleration is about 12.8 seconds. Can’t really expect too much actually

The transmission is a 5-speed transmission with gear ratios optimised for the turbodiesel engine’s torque curve. This should make it a very relaxing drive in the down and it will also make it more fuel-efficient on long distance highway cruises.

The average fuel consumption for this car is 3.9 litres of diesel for 100km of travel. With the current diesel price of RM1.58 per litre, this means 100km of travel costs you round RM6.17. A full tank of 45 litres would cost you RM71 and it would take you a ridiculously long way. About 1150 kilomterers. That’s just amazing fuel economy for performance stats that are not much different from a Proton Wira 1.3/1.5 that most of us drive everyday. And that 3.9 litre mileage is for mixed town and highway driving. For highway driving, fuel economy is an average of 3.2 litres of diesel per 100km. Really good savings! This good fuel economy is achieved with the combination of the small and efficient VGT turbodiesel as well as good aerodynamics.

polo_bluemotion_3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:22 am

Paul Tan, when will this model will be available in Malaysian market?

No car will be recession proof in Malaysian auto market! Forget about it as far as current NAP is in place!

• Paul Tan on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:26 am

Joe Ooi: when recession strikes, we have to "ubah gaya hidup" :)

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:27 am

Sure can save a lot on fuel with this car. But, our current diesel would probably be hazardous to the car in the long run, don't you think?

I wonder what will be the price of this car if it ever reach our shore. By the way, nice interior! :)

• ToiletBowl (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:29 am

yea lah. every car in malaysia is a non-recession proof one. i think the polo will be priced at least at the price of a chevy aveo. CBU right?

• lance (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:37 am

Try … "about the price of a Honda Jazz"

(RM100k)

sad…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:40 am

Paul Tan: "Ubah gaya hidup" lagi ah, mati lol. I already over paid for my Waja yet have to endure with the "creaking sound" and power window failure (I email to you on this advert, why you don't post in your blogs for us to comment – must be big joke).

aksMs said,

April 4, 2006 @ 4:27 pm

"I wonder what will be the price of this car if it ever reach our shore".

Friend, what to wonder! the G will give you a price that make you "wonder".

As an indication when NAP is in, this compact car with 1.5L, the price shall be higher than MyVi and probably match Honda Jazz! What to wonder! it is "understood" aleadi lol,…..

• tbcheese (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:41 am

Do our diesel have low sulfur content? If this engine uses the new high pressure injectors then it needs diesel with low sulfur content.

• pycazu (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:56 am

Woh! More and more new cars to run on diesel rather than petrol. Or, maybe Paul, u just post these selective, seriously look for a diesel-powered car now. :)

OK, quite fond on the "smooth" curve design, just feel like not so convenience coz it has 2-door only. Really surprise on its excellent fuel consumption. But any advantage will be offset by its price tag, u're actually paying extra to subsidy the fuel.

• tbcheese (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 1:03 am

A bit off topic but I just read about the Polo GTI. 5V 1.8T developing 150hp. I'm guessing this is the current TT engine. If this really is the TT engine then 180hp is just a chip away. Every bit as good looking as its big brother Golf.

• swarty (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 1:18 am

Is it misunderstand about diesel, well there it two type petrol diesel and bio-diesel. I believe most new car manufactor heading bio-diesel direction. Guy, correct me if I am wrong. Volkwagen in Malaysia!! Price tag should be exceed RM100k, just imagine the Two and Four price with 900cc to 1.3cc tag.

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 2:53 am

nice car ……..so naza's car is based on this?

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 3:02 am

1. CBU non-Asean price increasing, parts price might follows..

2. Interest rate increasing and will increase again in few months.

3. Fuel price increasing (diesel ade turun sikit kan?)

All factors above nicely 'happened' to kill off interest of the atas-pagar middle-class rakyat who are eyeing / saving / dreaming to purchase Conti car.

small % of them might decided to weather the storm, but most…

Therefore, this good car will not get the attention its deserved.

Media qouted 'they' said NAP is formulated with the rakyat in mind..

'Their' spin doctors will just propagate this repeatedly until they think we believe it.

Actually, that is what they mean when they said they are thinking about the rakyat when formulated the NAP (or any policy).

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 3:15 am

Wow.. for this category, this car cun la… 3X cun compare to savvy.. but 2 doors aa??.. turbo diesel somemore.. huyoo… for me, diesel sound very masculine.. remind me of lorries… but our road tax for diesel vehicles still cut throat la.. if i am not mistaken road tax is more RM1k/year.. very funny, G encourage biodiesel konon, but give us cut throat road tax in return… something is very wrong with our economc adviser for PM…

honestly speaking, i almost book myself a nissan frontier.. since my fren said its FC very good.. but cancel when i knew the road tax.. RM1700 / yr, that time… woo.. noway that was tooo muchh… plus insurans.. more than RM3000 oredi…

ps: Run from crocodiles mouth… Ngap,Ngap, NAP…

• MyBoy (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:21 am

Paul Tan>>>"ubah gaya hidup"

I have never take that bullsh*t "ubah gaya hidup" seriously. Would u?

• gowin (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:35 am

sure it can save some money on fuel, but we have to pay more on road tax, car selling price and the spare part…..indirectly it also not economic, right?

• gonz (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 11:04 am

hi paul

this is my first time commenting

although ive been reading in n out for a year or so

id like your consult on cars (ofcourse)

it'll be quit inappropriate to blaber here

so can i get ur mail add or u can just mail me 1st

btw, this blog is so mf cool!

cheers!

• Paul Tan on Apr 05, 2006 at 11:37 am

MyBoy: of course not :P

• waimak (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 4:30 pm

I really like this diesel engine idea here but like motorhead said, it's cut throat roadtax is really frustrating..

• rexis (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 4:40 pm

One full tank can go over~ 1000km, thats means i only need to refuel once per month…

Roadtax for this car(if it really get into m'sia) should have some 50% discount rite? Coz theres a 50% discount for cars with 1.6L below.

• Tracks (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 4:56 pm

Joe Ooi said,

"I already over paid for my Waja yet have to endure with the “creaking sound” and power window failure (I email to you on this advert, why you don’t post in your blogs for us to comment – must be big joke)."

Hey friend, tell me more on your Waja problem. What is the year of manufacture? I have got advice for Waja problem.

tbcheese said,

"Do our diesel have low sulfur content? If this engine uses the new high pressure injectors then it needs diesel with low sulfur content."

If I remenber correctly, the diesel available locally has high sulphur content as Malaysia exported their low sulphur diesel due to its higher value. However, the quality is different among the suppliers locally. Modern diesel cars that are brought into Malaysia has been modified to accustomed to our diesel grade but requires higher maintenance. failure to observe the maintenance requirement would lead to injector clogging and loss of power.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 5:30 pm

Tracks said,

April 5, 2006 @ 8:56 am

"Hey friend, tell me more on your Waja problem. What is the year of manufacture? I have got advice for Waja problem."

Joe Ooi – My Waja was purchased on April 03, but the power window was mulfunction slightly more than one year later, beyond the one year warranty!

When go to workshop they said the "motherboard" is of plastic component when it cost more than RM 300. So I feel it is not worth to change and have to

put up inconvenience with open door especially pass through tol booth!

Actually there are many minor problems which are very irritating like meter reading bulb burned (change already), headlight light beam not in same distance, one side of rearlight does not fixed properly with slightly out compare to boot, etc. The most I don't like is the position of aircond vent in which it is mostly blow to driver seat only. The only thing I happy with my Waja is the light is relatively bright and the aircond is cold enough at anytime.

• cheesecake (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 6:24 pm

Road Tax Cheaper

Hi all, I noticed that there were comments that the road tax would be expensive for diesel vehicle. However i think with the new diesel 50% rebate as well as the 50% rebate for cars below 1.6, the road tax would be quite low. I did a check using a road tax calculator and the result for a 1500cc diesel is Rm440. This is almost comparable to a 2000cc petrol without the 50% rebate. (I'm not sure whether this calculation has already includes the 50% rebate for diesel engines with Euro emission compliance) Could someone verify and post more info if any?

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 6:34 pm

Joe..

Nice to see u again buddy.. where ve u been?? any new research of yours???

My fren give a tip for WAJAs power window.. to avoid poblems, do not lower your power window to maximum.. lower half or 3/4 only.. then it can last longer at least 3-4 years… WAJA owners try la…

My kancil's power window never fail for 5 years oredi, goin for 6th.. the mechanism is very simple…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 6:50 pm

To Motorhead – Actually go back to Kedah for "ching min – sembayang kubur".

Plan to do more study but haven't decided where to zoom down! Thank for your advise on Waja power window, but it give me an impression the quality is not good!

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:41 pm

Joe..

power window mechanism is very simple.. i think poly students can be their engineer for power window oso.. i really dont understand why so difficult to them..

but i think not quality poblem.. but they did it purposely can kong easily so people will keep buying their spare parts.. can make money some more.. ok what.. people angry oso no point..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 9:17 pm

Motorhead – wah like dat one ah……. "designer" bad quality to suck more money!

Supposed any national project shall lead to what the economist term it as multiplier effects – means implementation of one project benefit people in multiple. Apart from create job, may also revitalize support industries like supplier (catering), vendor, services like transportation, accommodation, etc, which on the whole benefits everyone either directly or indirectly. However, for P1 case it create what the political science term it as "Domino Effects" – implementation of one national project lead to one or another suffering to the people. Good money for P1 but people get suck!

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 11:00 pm

hailorr…. like that oneloh.. u got it right lor.. in business term…. or another term PIRATES SAGA…. Hahaha…

• Tracks (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 11:56 pm

Joe Ooi said,

April 5, 2006 @ 9:30 am

"My Waja was purchased on April 03, but the power window was mulfunction slightly more than one year later, beyond the one year warranty!

When go to workshop they said the “motherboard” is of plastic component when it cost more than RM 300. So I feel it is not worth to change and have to put up inconvenience with open door especially pass through tol booth!"

In which way the power window failed. It can't be open/closed or not functioning at all. If the plastic module broke, you could get a replacement for around RM200 for parts only. However, try to get the new parts that have an additional metal brace to the motor and pulley mount. As for the headlight beam not same distance, adjustment is even easier twisting the adjustment knob with an allen key.

Both Joe Ooi and Motorhead are somewhat right regarding the poor design of the power window. It is a fact that is a design problem. They tried to solve the known problem but in the process created a few more. Sad case. But after they solve the problem, P1 don't dare to admit it in fear of the ensuing claims. Warranty period is only for manufacturing defects but if it is a proven design defect, there is practically no time limit for claims.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 1:29 am

Tracks said – In which way the power window failed. It can’t be open/closed or not functioning at all.

Joe Ooi – in all way possible and happen both as described by you.

Can't be open – driver seat button can open window on driver side down around 3" only, afterward, "ngor, ngor, ngoooor……" sound come up. Driver side button can open the other 3 window but slow like snail. Unfortunately, front passenger seat and one of back seat button not functioning – can't open their respective windows. Really shorten my life and more hair drop……..

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 2:10 am

Tracks… some sort like MRR2 design flaw arr?? Tracks sounds like a technician @ pomen to me…

ps:i opened my car doors myself many2 time… like to see what inside gen2 doors.. anyone have?

• swarty (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 5:03 pm

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…

Next generation fuel.. Hrm.. how long we plan to pay up installment; 9 YEARS! Engine is changing and fuel price expected to raise.