Volkswagen Polo Built to Protect Advertisement

This is Volkswagen’s advertisement for the Volkswagen Polo in the UK produced by DDB London. It was created based on the slogan for the Volkswagen Polo – “Built to Protect”. Lots of guardian angels. Video after the jump!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• acbc (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 1:17 am

Haha… City of Angels!

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 1:24 am

dun understand………

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 1:29 am

their budget must be big to come with this kind of idea.

• chuamike (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 1:43 am

I remember Polo had an even more entertaining ad where a guy drove one off the top of a building and continued talking all the way just before the car hits the ground, he stepped on the brakes and the car stopped in mid-air. That was a very cool ad :)

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 1:50 am

this kind of advertisement always do not bother you in the middle of a great movie… i just hope we in Malaysia can see less of Mawi everyday…

• DAN (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 3:18 am

what that means for this advertises?.

• izudeen (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 4:24 am

Ok, at least this ad is better than the previous one which doesnt make sense at all…

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 5:03 am

This does not make sense. The golf gti commercial made lots of sense

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 5:19 am

haha… i really dono what to say…. what's the message that it wanted to say? if it's gona mean that golf gti is safe like a guardian angel wathing over u, it didnt quite make the point.

but the storyline is sweet, nonetheless…

• moby (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 6:20 am

advertisment are made in a way to let ppl think/ponder about it. if you put a thought to it, then the advertisment has done an impact on you.

if i interpret it correctly, because vw polo is so safe, the guardian angel which is suppose to protect that lady, 'theoretically do not have a job' and can roam/wander around while she is driving the vw polo. unlike other guardian angels which need to be with their protected ones' all the time.

• Tourist (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 6:34 am

VW adv showing angels and car able to freeze in mid air and that's o.k.. Toyota showing adv of lake monster and that's o.k. also. Proton Savvy adv showing monster in adv and got bashed. Strange world this is.

• Mac (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 7:12 am

got to agree with outspoken.

• neurra (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 7:15 am

moby is absolutely right.. that's why when she got out of the car, the angel quickly come to assist her coz she already left her car

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 7:51 am

superb concept la there… brilliant… would love to see more ads like this… VW hav always had brilliant ads, even from the 60's….

• FuGZ (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 9:58 am

Although i like the theme quite much.. but there's not enuf sense of road going, car connecting passion. In other words, no "car feel".

I still love the suicide terrorist ad for the Polo =)

• rexis (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 4:58 pm

Nonetheless this is an ads that keep people thinking isnt it?

Fasinating

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 7:16 pm

Most Malaysians r not ready for this kind of thought-provoking advertisments yet. Some of the good TV ads in Malaysia so far r Malaysian Airlines' "couple" ads.

Still, the popular trend for commercials here is something like.. "Belilah barangan ini.." Bla bla bla.. and please..i dont want to see any more Mawi in TV ads!!!!

• E s s h i g e (Member) on Apr 20, 2006 at 5:32 am

there was once a reader who wrote in one of Star newspaper column, she said tht advertisement is not only to deliver msgs to consumers but also a medium to show much art appreciation than bland ads we usually hv in msia, the one tht kinda ridicule audiences' intelligence. altho tis theme is very subtle, still, the warmth and comfort feel are there, or style i shld say. or mayb the actors in the advert were just cool and natural unlike the ones we hv in the local tvs, theyr quite overeacted

• laser_ampang (Member) on Apr 20, 2006 at 6:01 am

for those who doesnt seem to understand the ad…

i'd suggest u to read moby's interpretation…

i believe that's what it's all about….

banyak pandai aaa u moby :)

• clark_kent (Member) on Apr 20, 2006 at 7:31 am

Sadly, for M'sians, only after the 10th comment, no one still know's what's the meaning of the adv. What's the point of making 'smart' adverts on m'sian tv when the ppl doesnt understand what is it advertising about? But nevertheless, it has to start at a certain point of time, no? Or else, what's the use of the term – improvement? Critical thinking doesnt seem to be the 'thing' of the general Malaysians. Blame it on the education system i'd say.