BMW Extreme Testing Technology

small_bmw_logo.jpgThis is amazing. This is a video of BMW’s extreme testing innovations. For a producer of cars so packed with technology, it’s only normal for their testing procedures to be highly advanced too. They actually have a Nurburgring track test simulator, which allows a BMW being tested to experience the trials of the Nurburgring track without actually having to be there. There’s also a room where ultraviolet light is used to test the car’s hardiness against the harsh sun. This ultraviolet light is so intense that it could give you a sunburn in 3 minutes.

One of the most important things is testing, testing, testing, to produce quality in the hands of our customers. The quality really depends on the R&D process. It starts at the R&D process. You cannot produce quality at the end of the production line.” – Anton Ruf, BMW Head of Technical Integration.

If you have a BMW, it will really make you appreciate the work and effort that went into the vehicle that justifies it’s premium price tag. A highly recommended watch.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 4:46 pm

awesome… all car manufacturers should make sure their cars go through this. the rain n heat tests really apply to us, and i hope they check their dashboards too, as they tend to fade and crack in continuous extreme heat…

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 5:32 pm

Wah.. poton shuld take a look of this.. dont let your customers become test subjects.. i dunno if we can reach this level or not.. but at least poton can learn some of the practice in more affordable way… i think the simulation hardwares must be expensive…but procedures are not….

• rexis (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 5:43 pm

Could our cars last just 50% of the test?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 5:47 pm

Proton should spend more time on quality like this

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 5:59 pm

U see how BMW demonstrate their quality control to customers and other viewers. P1 just make noise and pass the bug in media on substandard vendors. If P1 "grandfather car" like Iswara go through this kind of test, then it will fall into pieces!

mystvearn – P1 can spend time talk cock on quality on the media only. Better next time we concentrate our mind admire the best in the world rather than talk a same thig over and voer again!

• assimo (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 6:36 pm

Err…when i read the subject, i never see anything bout proton but thats 'proton' words still appears here….hahaha..just joke…

Wahh…very good la the testing technology…really can see how the parts working..especially on suspension system…uuuu…thanks Paul,this short clip i repeat to watch it many time…very good.

• Zabimaru794 (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 6:48 pm

Hello ppl,im new here..

Paul,i've got an email containing new proton sportcar spyshot..want to share with all of u..but dunno how to do it..help..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 7:08 pm

Zabimaru794,

If you wish to contact Paul, just browse to the top right hand screen and look for "Contact Me" in the navigation box. Post your details and description and I'm sure Paul will contact you when the time comes.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 7:10 pm

P1 oso did product testing;

1. drive kampung roads

2. fill up at petrol station

3. drive around town

4. get stuck in mud for all to see and to know p1 got new car coming out and pretend no one going to find out coz the car all in black tape and think by doing so will make the car mysterious will make all people want one coz someone said going to have kleemann supercharger so will be best. i think. not

• Zabimaru794 (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 7:26 pm

cbljkkj,

Thanks arr..really appriciate it..

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 11:01 pm

Why would Proton invest so much on quality control if all the average Malaysian are forced to buy local cars?

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 12:11 am

how did u know all the investment is on qc? =P

• aksMs (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 1:29 am

"You cannot produce quality at the end of the production line.” – Anton Ruf."

I am so agree with this remark. Shouldn't Proton do this too?

Something out of topic, Proton Savvy goes on to the "Uncool Wall" in Top Gear new season Episode 3. Reason? It is really savvy to drive, nice little car but UNFORTUNATELY, it's a Proton! What does that say?

• szw (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 2:15 am

dey shud started it earlier .

i think dey finally learn frm their mistake .

i think dey hav been losing money on waranty becoz of their moduel inside their cars .

lol !

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 3:52 am

Haha… Joe Ooi… I agree the grandfather car will fall into pieces la… haha… i think it wont pass the shaking test… the suspension will be out of order only till half of the test… haha… and the heat test… oh my… can't imagine… hehe… anyway, BMW do this for all consumers out there… That makes BMW The Ultimate Driving Mahine… all those needs a lot of investments, that's why BMW cost a lot… If P1 wanna do all those… 50 yrs later (if still got) dunno got or not if continue like now… I don't think many car makers got these kinda tests… I mean not as many tests as BMW…

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 4:06 am

i think to say a bmw is the ultimate driving machine is taking it just a bit too far. no car manufacturer can really claim that they have that.. which is why, bmw today has already dropped that tagline.

but yes, BMW do make a really fantastic, and special lineup of automobiles.

• Isamu (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 6:00 am

Dear All,

Proton has among others, a similar test track simulator in its R&D facility in Shah Alam. Some of the data are taken from proving grounds using the actual cars under development. Various sensors record the yaw, roll, pitch and etc of the cars when driven around the track in various modes.

Yes, all RECENT Protons go through similar tests during development period. In all fairness, developing a good car is a very tedious task involving some of the steepest learning curve you can imagine. I would say that generally, the learning curve of automotive technologies is the third steepest of mainstream manufacturing/engineering after space and aviation.

Most of the times, you really need to try you hand at it to really understand and appreciate the delicate skills and know-hows required to develop a good car. I've done it and I know how difficult it is to make a good car. Constructive criticisms are good but when it has done something right, the very least that it deserves is some space to breathe.

In all fairness, it has all the right ingredients to succeed. All it needs now is the chef's (Syed Zainal) skill to whip out the perfect dish.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 2:01 pm

Isamu – P1 have to get many thing rights, even most of the news about P1 and/or press release by them, the quality is as bad as the car, on many occasion not reliable and accurate. e.g. launching date for SRM "keep on postpone" until now no news but got excuse ("Pak Lah not free"), partnership with PSA Peugeot Citroen, etc.

There are ton of constructive critisms (most are "-") on this weblog but talk about doing right thing to rakyat, the very first thing P1 have to do is come out with good quality, highest safety features at lowest price. Also rakyat money is involve in setting up P1, so P1 owe a duty of care to rakyat to prove that it is capable of surviving and protect/respect local consumers rights, not ask G to implement NAP and P1 just churn out outdated products at "whim and fancy", throw it into market and expected/"force" rakyat to pick it up. So the rakyat P1 can conquer the world market, but not currently suppress and squeeze the local market thru NAP!

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 4:06 pm

Joe oii, i dont really agree that there are a "tonne" of constructive criticism. i think most of any discussion about proton in this blog is "bashing" and I'm just plain tired, and BORED of reading about the same things from the same people over and over again in threads that are totally unrelated to proton. Please, lets be creative and actually post up stuff that has some thought gone into it.

to be fair, all the press coverage on proton that you are complaining about does not even come from proton. If you had bothered to read all the news properly, proton didnt announce the SRM launch date, nor did they announce any postponement or any reason for it. They also did not announce any talks with PSA. These stories are the press, doing their job.

But yes, the public are frustrated. there too few new models, they have delayed launches again. savvy was late, and so is the SRM now by quite a few years in fact. I really hope they can surprise us with the cars quality. But I still stick by what I have always been saying, as long as proton are around by what ever means, it should be in the best interests of the rakyat, that it will improve and do well in future. I think to keep complaining, and criticising proton in blogs for the next 2-3 years is totally unconstructive.

I also hope that the new model proton are working with mitsubishi turns out well also. Having seen the current mitsu models at the recent motorshow, i think their quality and standards have definitely improved quite a bit.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 4:09 pm

Joe oii, i dont really agree that there are a "tonne" of constructive criticism. i think most of any discussion about proton in this blog is "bashing" and I'm just plain tired, and BORED of reading about the same things from the same people over and over again in threads that are totally unrelated to proton. Please, lets be creative and actually post up stuff that has some thought gone into it.

to be fair, all the press coverage on proton that you are complaining about does not even come from proton. If you had bothered to read all the news properly, proton didnt announce the SRM launch date, nor did they announce any postponement or any reason for it. They also did not announce any talks with PSA. These stories are the press, doing their job.

But yes, the public are frustrated. there too few new models, they have delayed launches again. savvy was late, and so is the SRM now by quite a few years in fact. I really hope they can surprise us with the cars quality. But I still stick by what I have always been saying, as long as proton are around by what ever means, it should be in the best interests of the rakyat, that it will improve and do well in future. I think to keep complaining, about proton in blogs for the next 2-3 years is totally unconstructive. We already know the problems they have, now we see if they can fix it. The quality problems, the cars themselves, and the after-sales service.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 5:42 pm

Double cheeseburger anyone?

• E s s h i g e (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 6:52 pm

constructive or dmging criticisim, yeah whtever. i don mind giving Proton money to burn if it can improve but 20 yrs didnt justify it. Proton's board r hopeless, just want to eat money.

proton has forked up. i just know im not giving proton another 20 yrs to fork up again. period.

• E s s h i g e (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 6:53 pm

i don mind giving Proton money to burn if it can improve but 20 yrs didnt justify it. Proton’s board r hopeless, just want to eat money.

constructive or dmging criticisim, yeah whtever. proton has forked up. i just know im not giving proton another 20 yrs to fork up again. period.

• E s s h i g e (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 6:57 pm

the result for complacency is grave.

by the time u learnt/ realise from mistake. its already been too late. dmgs been done. uve only urself to blame.

now for the proton's supporters, u can go ahead with ur supprots by buying its prdt, i do not disrespect u but we hv every right to hate it. hating it doesnt ISA us,so don u screw us

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 7:31 pm

Ultimate driving machine is VW's Bugati – Veyron… its faster than any F1 cars… extreme performance..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 9:43 pm

honda_driver – If the press coverage is not come from proton, but the statements were quotes P1's SZ MD, and you said these stories are the press, doing their job. Then it have very serious legal repercussion? So who to believe P1, journalist, mainstream media or non at all? How do you know these stories is the job of press?

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 12:54 am

talking about test track simulator in Proton's R&D facility, recent Proton's model undergo testing bla bla bla bullshlt, they cant even fix a power window problem for a freaking 20 years. Explain that.

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 1:10 am

honda_driver

I got a solution for you. Instead of whining about Proton bashers, why not you post some constructive and topic-related comments? since, you are the one making hooha here you should lead others by example.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 1:30 am

Yalah cyborgx, there is a lot of constructive comments on P1 which happen to be most if not all is "negative". These are precise descriptions of what happen at P1. However, …………..

honda_driver – "But I still stick by what I have always been saying, as long as proton are around by what ever means, it should be in the best interests of the rakyat, that it will improve and do well in future."

Joe Ooi – don't understand this statement on P1 existence by whatever means and best interests of the rakyat ….. ? Hope honda_driver can elaborate in details how P1 achieve this in order for us to know! very interesting!

• DAN (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 2:32 am

>people from German made (BMW) , how good ?

> people from Malaysia made (proton), how good?, this = to that type of people!.

there only talk big act like there know every thing, ya..only 1 thing there know is how to burden the citizens n get easy money from us all !

• Isamu (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:15 am

Waja's infamous power windows were designed by a German door module expert called Kiekert.

Waja's shock absorbers are made by Kayaba, a top=tier Japanese supplier.

Waja's meter cluster is made by SiemensVDO, a top-tier German supplier.

Waja's driveshafts are made by GKN, a top-tier British supplier.

Waja's fuel pump was designed by Delphi, an US company which is also one of the biggest automotive component supplier in the world.

Wira's throttle body is also supplied by SiemensVDO.

I believe that these are but some of the components directly related to most of the complaints that you often hear from Proton owners. These companies are world-class suppliers that supplies components to companies such as the Big Three, Toyota, Volkswagen and et cetera.

Component reliability is a major concern especially with safety items like brakes and fuel pumps. Nobody wants quality issues. Everyone is equally perplexed by the failures. They are often massive headaches and cause some of the best engineers in the industry to lose their job. Normally, one major design flaw and you are out. There are seldom second chances if you are dealing with safety items.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:31 pm

Yeah Waja's apparently alot more reliable and the best p1 platform so far IMO. dun really hear alot of complaints about it too. just a bit of loose items here and there but overall it is relatively stable platform. Even after years of use the Waja would still retain its solidness.

But still the Waja is based on the Mitsubishi Carisma platform. Meaning most of the engineering is literally there. just have to change/upgrade the components listed by the previous comment. Sounds more like vehicle development rather than all new build up. Even with that still comes with hefty price tag.

If given a more extensive facelift and more engine and tranny options the Waja could still be a hit. if it came with basic model (1.3l dohc manual, airbags and abs), i think many will consider. Making a chancellor or supercharged version i doubt many will buy. 1.6 campro dohc supercharged with 150ps? i'd rather drive a B16A, 170ps on tap. NA powered even.

come to think of it, we really have very few options in terms of tranny n engine selections. so far most potray furnishing options n if compared in this terms, its quite irrelevant. maybe p1 should look into giving such options.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:40 pm

Isamu,

I got ur points, some great suppliers supply poton components.. but can u tell me how can poton let many of its faulty cars sell on the road, even they knew about it.. for instance, last few years they keep selling gen2 with faulty doors, even anybody could test it in the showroom!

Is it only recently they really tested their cars?.. before this no QC?.. What kind of QC? Where went wrong? It seems like you sound like a poton technician.. so pls tell us about it!!!.. i am sure u know about it, but are u dare enough to share with us?

tq..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 12:41 am

Isamu – "Component reliability is a major concern especially with safety items like brakes and fuel pumps. Nobody wants quality issues. Everyone is equally perplexed by the failures. They are often massive headaches and cause some of the best engineers in the industry to lose their job. Normally, one major design flaw and you are out. There are seldom second chances if you are dealing with safety items."

Joe Ooi – So P1 cars have components as well as safety problems, but P1 engineers still there and can last for 20 years++? Never lost their job? Should kick them out just like TM? Like to hear from you.

• Isamu (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 7:25 am

Motorhead,

I am unable to answer your question on why Proton keeps on selling cars with problems. Only Proton itself knows the answer. But if you want my wild speculation, I would say that it's most probably due to deviation in assembly process problem, meaning some guys are not installling the things properly. No, I'm not in Proton's payroll. :)

Joe Ooi,

I have NEVER said that Proton have safety problems. All components have their own Design-Failure Modes and Effects Analysis (DFMEA). In the DFMEA, all potential problems, its effects, severities and risks are rated and prioritised accordingly. Depending on circumstances, carmakers analyse the failures and their corresponding severity and/or risk ratings before deciding on the next course of actions. Although a fuel pump is a safety item, the failure mode (and severity and risk) of the market claims might not pose a high risk. An example of safety problem would be the the recent Waja alloy rim. Proton asked the owners to have their rims checked in the service sentres.

• Paul Tan on Jun 08, 2006 at 7:29 am

Driven2020: you may get 170ps from a vtec engine, but if you check the torque and hp curves, the vtec has mediocre torque and the high power only comes at a very high rpm. forced induction through supercharging will mean the engine will behave just like a larger displacement engine – big torque and high horsepower achievable at lower rpms. i'd prefer the latter.

150hp at 6000rpm sounds better than 170hp at 8200rpm. alot more driveable.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 8:08 am

Isamu – Thank for your comments. So you sound very technical but DFMEA "final decision" is based on technical or cost consideration or both? How about P1 stick a lot of "QC passed" stickers on models like Iswara, is it safe or lower the safety standard or any car make at P1 also can pass the QC? I just wonder (in technical perspective) how they still sale this old model but new car at our market for damn 20 years++! In term of economic perspective, definitely they continue with this model as far as it is "saleable" under CarTaxLand regime (i.e. close market). Like to hear your opinion if you willing to share.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 8:26 am

Hi Paul. I agree with the engine output difference. high torque at low rpms is more practical on day to day drivings. The waja with supercharger should be a good combo. very minimal turbo lag makes the car quite ideal for daily use. but since its mechanically forced induced, there will be some mileage penalty for this kinda setup. unless kleemann has developed something like magnetic clutch engaged supercharger or something. if so that will strike my interest.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 11:26 pm

"I am unable to answer your question on why Proton keeps on selling cars with problems. Only Proton itself knows the answer. But if you want my wild speculation, I would say that it’s most probably due to deviation in assembly process problem, meaning some guys are not installling the things properly.."

Let me answer for you…They can keep selling cars with problems, bcoz we have NAP… in free market P1 boleh tapau oredi….

ps: They can have faulty cars in their showrooms! What else can I say… No wonder some people very angry with P1…. especially Joe Ooi..

• neurra (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 4:05 am

wow.. the track simulator is really awesome..