2007 Honda Civic Type R Spyshots

ctr1.jpg

Honda has been seen testing it’s 2007 Honda Civic Type R on German grounds. The 2007 Honda Civic Type R will be based on the three-door version of the Honda Civic Euro. Previously, Honda showcased a 2007 Honda Civic Type R Concept at the Geneva Motor Show, a stunning kitted out yellow speed demon. The 2007 Honda Civic Type R will likely feature a 220hp i-VTEC engine similiar to the one found in the Acura RSX. The car will be front-wheel drive, no SH-AWD (Superior Handling All Wheel Drive) for this little speed demon. Two more photos after the jump.

ctr2.jpg

ctr3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• imrik82 (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:32 am

the more i look at this version of the civic the less i like it :D still love the civic we have here in msia. Will there be a type R for the sedans we have here in msia?

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 11:01 am

This Civic is based on what people in UK called Civic Hatchback and our version of Civic is called Civic Saloon in UK.

• aksMs (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 1:05 pm

Is it true that Honda is for oldies in the UK? *chuckle*

• neurra (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 1:09 pm

haha that's according to TopGear

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 1:19 pm

actually I don't think they sell the saloon model here in uk. All civics I've seen here are hatchbacks. corollas too for that matter.

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 2:39 pm

They do sell the saloon.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 4:50 pm

Twin triangle exhaust pipe. seems like this Type R got a lot of triangle stuffs on it. triangle fog lamps as well… Is fine for this Type R… no further comments…

• Zgriffin (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:15 pm

Such retro design definately a big hit in State, but not for Malaysian market from my point of view.

• karheng (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:32 pm

The civic looks better in flesh…

• KY (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 6:30 pm

time for honda to hire some real designers.. ouch.

• Initial D (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:00 pm

old civic type R better……this new's too radical………looks like a fat car to me……..?

Cheers!!!!!

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:03 pm

traditionally, the honda type R's dont sell well in europe, i have no idea why. they called the EP type R civic, a fast bread van in the UK.

I'm not too keen with this model as well. looks big and bulky.

• acbc (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 7:56 pm

EP3 still looks better… just my 2 sen.

• ShaolinTiger (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:12 pm

German grounds?

That's a UK registration plate..

Our Civic has always been different anyway, I love the old 2.0 civic type-r.

http://www.performancedriven.co.uk/media/images/t…

• SpongeBob (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:18 pm

The rear suspension is a tortion beam type. So there is a concern if that impact performance.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 9:31 pm

Huyoo.. dasatlah ini keta… look very radical.. like sporty horn beetle…. Honda is no1 in car innovative design… Gransazer & masked rider faiz is sponsered by HONDA… so their cars look so futuristic.. like japan super heros car oso…

ps: Malaysia should has its own super hero, Masked Driver Bolehman… poton can sponsor…

• foreverunited (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:16 pm

this car looks stoopid..

• szw (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:19 pm

wats da purpose of showin dis car ?

we're not getting dis car oso .

stop dreaming n be back to reality .

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:34 pm

I like this car a lot, it's wide stance and all, though some may say that it has a fat ass. It looks really cool and futuristic.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 10:47 pm

OF COURSE we will get this car. I have no doubt in my mind that Naza already has a few orders for it as we speak. only problem is, we're probably looking at RM230K and above to buy one.

• Whopper (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 11:01 pm

My opinion, it looks down right ugly compared to other hot hatches like the Ford Focus RS. I was hoping that the front design follows the CIVIC Modulo that was displayed during the recent KLIMS06. But then again beauty is subjective and overtime, one gets used to the design of the car.

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 11:20 pm

It's not on their website too MyBoy. But I might still be wrong.

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 11:34 pm

oh yeah MyBoy you're right. They do sell the saloon version. But it's only available as hybrid.

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 1:16 am

tbcheese,

Yes, the one that i happened to come across is hybrid with 1.3L engine.

• superman (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 2:29 am

The Euro Civic and the Asia-Pac Civic has diffferent "face". Asia Pac Civic has similiar exterior design to the US Civic, with some minor difference.

Europeans in general prefer Hatchs over sedans for their smaller to medium size cars. Examples are Vauxhall/Opel Astra and Ford Focus, plus the numerous Peugeot/Citroen . Most are 3/5 door hatches

BTW The car shown is a two door, surprising since some misinformed forummers were saying , I quote, "Nobody makes 2 door cars anymore, only for prestige marques". Surprisingly they are on this thread but since the car in question is not a Proton they have mostly positive comments..

weird…

• afhstingray (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 5:28 am

the euro type civic is manufactured in england…..

• retrofuturism (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 9:29 am

no point to give a final judgement for a car with black duct tape on it (especially spyshots)… for the triangle design theme, actually you can see those triangular exhausts and foglamps in Standard honda civic euro…usually it takes longer time for public to accept innovative/breakthrough design, it was proven by BMW 5 series as you can see many 5 series on the road now…however, for some people it is still a freaking ugly car…

Personally I think the euro civic is very futuristic and innovative. The interior is like Honda's concept itself: man-maximum, machine-minimum; Small car with big space..but a bit shock as it's not going to have SH-AWD..maybe to cut the cost down?

oh ya…what makes Honda so successful is the power of dreams…and why should i stop dreaming….?!?

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 22, 2006 at 1:34 am

thanks for the heads up MyBoy

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2006 at 1:26 am

prototype dsg into production…quite nice…

the triangle exhaust reminds me of lambo murcie lp640…

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 23, 2006 at 10:49 am

i think they wont use shawd in the civic….goes against the type r motto. sure it will be a nice handling car, but it will be the electronics doing the driving. the civic made its name being an FF car and more so for the civic type r.

• mtay (Member) on Jun 25, 2006 at 1:54 am

Hmmm… take a Euro Civic, make it a coupe, and suddenly you have a Type R worth blogging about?

I love the design of the Euro Civic, but surely the "Type R" range needs more work than just new rims, two doors less, and an engine change?

Look at the previous generation of type Rs, the of the civic and integra type r's were both unique from the "regular" line-up… this one isn't.

• vernieman (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 8:30 pm

Yum. Yum. Yums!

• Dinosore on Apr 05, 2009 at 8:10 pm

looks like Citroen C4 design