New sporty Nissan for Malaysians in Q1 2007

versa9.jpg

Edaran Tan Chong Motor Sdn Bhd plans to unveil a sports concept car aimed at the younger buyer market segment in the first quarter of 2007. The car is said to be based on the Nissan Sports Concept which was recently shown at the 2006 KL International Motor Show and first unveiled at the 2005 New York International Auto Show.

versa1.jpg

Of course, the Nissan Sports Concept is not a production model. Cues from the Nissan Sports Concept have been incorporated into the 1.8 litre sporty 2007 Nissan Versa hatchback and this will likely be the car that Edaran Tan Chong will be bringing in to Malaysia. The car will likely be priced in the RM100-120K range, making it a direct competitor to the Ford Focus 2.0 hatchback. It is already available in Singapore as the Nissan Latio Sport, but the Singaporean version only offers a 1.5 litre engine instead of a 1.8 litre engine.

The 2007 Nissan Versa comes with a 122 horsepower 169Nm torque 1.8 litre 4-cylinder DOHC engine (MR18DE) mated to a choice of three transmissions – a 6-speed stick shift, a 4-speed automatic and a high-end Xtronic CVT transmission. If the Nissan Versa does make it appearance on local shores, it’s not known which transmission options will be offered but let’s hope that we get at least the CVT transmission instead of the 4-speed auto. The Ford Focus 2.0 has come under criticism for offering only a 4-speed slush box.

Nissan’s Xtronic CVT is a continuously variable transmission which is “stepless”, but also offers 6 virtual gears for those that prefer the feel of a normal gear changes. The same MR18DE and CVT combo in the Nissan Wingroad featured paddle shifters on the steering wheel, so this new Versa might offer the same. Would be a really good plus point if it did, since it is geared towards spirited driving.

The 2007 Nissan Versa uses a stretched wheelbase version of the Renault-Nissan B platform, also used by other vehicles like the Nissan Cube, Nissan March/Micra Mk3, Renault Clio Mk3, Nissan Note and Renault Modus.

Despite it being a newly developed engine, the MR18DE powertrain remains strangely basic. It has no variable intake runners, no variable valve timing, no high tech electronics, no high precision direct injection, no turbo, nothing. There is an electric power steering though.

Anyhow, we have something to look forward to from Nissan in Quarter 1 2007. There has been no genuinely new models from Edaran Tan Chong in a pretty long time. I am not sure whether the Versa is indeed the new sporty model that Tan Chong will be bringing in, so let’s just cross our fingers.

versa13.jpg

versa2.jpg

versa3.jpg

versa4.jpg

versa14.jpg

versa5.jpg

versa10.jpg

versa6.jpg

versa7.jpg

versa8.jpg

versa11.jpg

versa12.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 6:11 am

wau,wow waaa… =O =))

• claxxion (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 6:55 am

Wow. This car surely looks cool. The new focus looks plain. Something interesting from the local nissan in a long time..

I wished nissan could have brought in the skyline. That would be super duper cool!

• philippecr (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 7:54 am

tis one looks not bad throught. I like the 2din CD/mp3 CD changer player :p

the dashboard looks different ^^ . something new.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 8:11 am

nissans answer to the civic?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 8:29 am

i like the dashboard…looks really good and nice…

• neurra (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 8:33 am

lol.. u got me excited for a moment there paul.. i thought the sport concept is really gonna make a debut.. but then, xD

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 9:00 am

It looks like an uglier version of the Megane

• karheng (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 9:14 am

tbcheese: exactly. That was what i was gonna say. The megane is sexier..ANYTIME.

I don't know if the dashboard will be of good quality. Nissan cars so far have been ok when it comes to the plastic they use for the dashboard. Love the tachos but dislike the centre console. Fabric on the seats looks typical Nissan. I prefer the leather ones anytime.

I utterly dislike the rear end. It's as if there is or isn't a butt. I don't know.

I prefer the two door. That is yummy.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 10:02 am

OMG~ They better not do it at all.

I hate when this happens, an original concept turned into a pile of dung shit.

Guys, know why Apple's products looked so cool? Because the designers never give an inch of space for the manufacturers and engineers to breath. Steve Jobs wants something that looked conceptually good, to end up as it is in consumer's hands. Hence the world adores iPODS, iMACs etc. This Nissan dungshit is an example of engineering tradeoffs, cost cutting tradeoffs, and simply lazy manufacturers. THIS IS A RENAULT MEGANE for god's sake! Bring back the original ! We don't want wannabes. That dungshit looked horrible! and dare they said it's "Produced using the Sport's Concept's ideas…" pui~ dun shit on me you marketers. Worst of all, stupid malaysians who only recognises brands…. close your eyes and imagine that dungshit above with a Proton's badge…. then those "So-Called-Car-Designers" would turn up and give some valuable "solutions" but with Nissan and the Sports Concept behind… you all go "WoW"

This Nissan sucks…. wats the name? TIIDA?

I agree… the dash looked damn good. But if the Sports Concept never existed, this dungshit looked ok also…. but…. but…. haigh…. why~`~ ?

• Paul Tan on Jun 26, 2006 at 11:02 am

This is not a Renault Megane. It's based on an extended Clio platform (Nissan-Renault B platform). The Renault Megane is based on the Nissan-Renault C platform.

So far, Nissan vehicles which use the Nissan-Renault C platform are the Nissan Bluebird Sylphy, the Nissan Lafesta (a van) and the upcoming Nissan Qashqai SUV as far as I know.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 1:52 pm

“Another car without an engine temperature gauge.”… really dont have ka??.. why aa??.. not important meh?.. weird la, a car without temp. indicator.. or there other kind of indicator?… for me, it is very important, unless they can gurantee the radiator system can stand at least for 10 years, jaga air saja… but i think stupid la not put the temp. gauge.. so costly meh this thing?.. kancil oso got.. classic cars oso got…

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 2:38 pm

yeah I know what you mean Paul but the front end is very Ranault-ish and the rear is like the Megane's jutting out butt with the center part flattened back in.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 4:43 pm

Hi Paul, been here for a long while, just letting you know that the Nissan Tiida was launched in February 2006 in Melbourne Motor Show to replace the Nissan Sentra (Pulsar over there). Not sure whats the move, but the ad about the car was totally sexy. Chick drives the car over the bumps and she gives out sensual sound, gotta watch it though!

Sorry for late intro

• raverus (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 5:07 pm

NICE but talking about affordability the tax will kill it anyway, so THE END.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 5:28 pm

Is a very nice car. Sometime saw it OTR, SG number plate.

If here also have the 1.5L then maybe can offer in a lower price which will be around 90K instead of just having the 1.8L that will hit the 100-120K price tag.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 5:55 pm

you guys are all correct on the "resemblance" of this car to a renault.. why? because the car is basically a renault clio. rebadged. Since everyone now knows its a renault, will everyone start bashing it as they bashed the use of renault engines in proton? will be interesting to see….

Also, in case you guys don't know, renault owns a substantial share of nissan.

http://www.carbodydesign.com/production-cars/2005…

• terenceg (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 7:21 pm

wah !!! paul, any idea how much is going to be ? my kenari needs a partner !

• szw (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 7:37 pm

wat a wonderful way to cheat a buyer to think da dis car jz came out frm a concept car.

i think its a sentra replacement model , n dey better do so .

sentra its becoming a freaking old car d .

• johanbey (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 7:48 pm

Nissan worldwide is doing fabulous, producing sexy car like Z and Murano, but we arre still stuck with a sentra that have more facelift than Waja and a cefiro nearing wira age. not to mention the never-say-retire Vannete. There is something terribly wrong, cause with all the crap models, Tan Chong still make millions! where is the catch? or are will still so loyal and in-love with the company who brought us the "Sunny" (The L driving school fav)?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 7:50 pm

can anybody answer me why the Murano and Fairlady 350z is so much different from the previous Nissan? are they true Nissan or engineered for Nissan?

• KY (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 8:04 pm

seems like everything is over 100k.. sien.

• xg9 (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 8:10 pm

saw the sina[prean version of the versa last week in cheras. it looked pretty big for a 1.5 car. love those taillights! too bad the sports concept is not going into production.

• Luke Ashwin (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 8:27 pm

i saw the nissan sports concept in the motorshow and thought, "wow, i would like to have one of those" ..the 20 inch rims were just stunning.. but the actual production model is a big let down, design wise.. i do agree with honda_driver, it sure does look extremely similar to the renault clio which top gear rated as one very good car.. so hopefully, we get a quality car with good NVH, then we could ignore the looks.. and my gosh, when will malaysia stop putting high tax margins on imported cars.. its all about the money.. high tax forces people to buy proton, local cars with poor poor qualities.. i dont mind perodua though.. back to the topic, nissan tiida, please be good =P

-out-

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 8:27 pm

johan, tanchong is already officially importing the murano and 350Z since early last year already.

i think we cant complain about the availability of cars in malaysia, we can buy anything we want here, as long as we can afford it(thats the catch!).

• Kamui (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 9:10 pm

Another car without an engine temperature gauge.

Seems to be the current trend nowadays… hope the cars don't go BOOM.

• johanbey (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 10:54 pm

honda_driver, yes, TC is bringing in Murano and Z at CBU = price cant afford by 60% of car buyers in M'sia. Like you say, money is the catch. But i believe there are many more new/updated models from Nissan than these 2. Question is, why are we still stuffed with the current Cefiro after all these years? Singapore get a much broader product range. I never like Nissan, sorry. I know there are tonnes of skyline lovers out there but at the local sence, nothing from the Tan Chong is not replaceble buy another model/carmaker.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 26, 2006 at 11:16 pm

I know Ghosn is a genius handling Renault and Nissan, but please don't make almost same design for different manufacturer. Even though not based on a Megane, straight away I think its a megane with a Nissan badge. Ideas are really low at Nissan/Renault

• yiaomo (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 12:32 am

The engine is little bit underpower for a 1.8L, 122bhp only ??? Should make in the range of 136-140bhp to be more sensible and desirable, the torque however is quite acceptable….Anyway, RM120K for a 1.8L hatchback ? You can buy two in Thailand with that sort of price !

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 12:37 am

"can anybody answer me why the Murano and Fairlady 350z is so much different from the previous Nissan? are they true Nissan or engineered for Nissan?"

mycar_stolen….

maybe dis will help u abit…hhhmmm…nissan 350z was produced is target for american market….ok…we know it is the jap car…but the dsg and assemble is in america…same goes to the murano…it is based on nissan Z and was dsg in american base…u can noticed both car is more look alike a american style car….u can c aclear in murano dsg….b4 murano…they had done it to many nissan cars like the altima and gtr proto which will replace the skyline gtr soon…the altima is 4 door sedan which one of the best selling nissan car in america…many american buy the altima…and for the sport coupe abv…it is base on murano…u can c it in the front look and the rear lamp….

actually nissan had produce many better looking,quality and best car…bt not at all in m'sia…wut we gt in m'sia…the Z,murano,micra,x-trail…both of them is very nice car

hopefully this info will help u abit mycar_stolen…:)

y u guyz concern abt the nissan and renault thing….the tiida is not a rebadge car…they develope the car with the renault clio together…if ure saying like that…wut abt the fiat,peugeot and citroen…got same dsg,tech and platform for thier new mpv…

else…wut abt ferrari enzo and maserati mc12??izit maserati is a rebadge car for enzo???nope…they develope the mc12 with the enzo…and mc12 is a racing car for enzo…thats why u can c mc12 in the fia gt and american le man…

others…same goes to vw group…produce seat leon,vw golf,audi a3 and skoda…i cant remember which skoda…based on one platform…and design influences etc….same goes to the toyota aygo,peugeot 107 and citroen c1…same too…

okla…samela to our P2…produce the myvi same like the passo and the boon/sirion…myvi is not rebadge but develope together with the toyota and daihatsu to produce a same car but different badge…

hhmmm…but the ssanyongg chairman…rebadge of merc…the kancil…rebadge of mira…wira rebadge of lancer same goes to the satria with colt….

some of them develope thier car together actually to reduce thier cost and time…but some carmakers rebadge other car…like proton to mitsu….the ssanyongg and merc…and others…(actually many carmakers rebadging cars)…maybe bcoz in the begining they dun hv enough budget and knowledge…but now the proton not rebadging…but shares and used thier partner info of tech to produce thier own car…and comeout wit thier own dsg…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 12:39 am

1.8L with 122 bhp??yala…same like the alfa 147…had 1.6 with 120 bhp….for 1.8L…with that kind of hp…not enoughla…

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 4:36 am

raybrig they the cars you mentioned shares platforms but have their own distinctive design. eg. Citroen/Pug/Toyota C1/107/Aygo same car but looks quite different. The cars in the VW group too. The only similarities I see are Audi's shield grill and VW's new grill like in the new Jetta.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 5:59 am

hv u seen the aygo,c1 and 107???ull c both car had a similar dsg…

try c this…both cars i mentioned above…the c1,aygo and the 107

http://www.autozine.org/html/Toyota/Aygo.html

okla…maybe thats ur opinion…but…IMO…okla…i mean not 100% same…but still u can note/see the similarities of both cars…if u said so…same goes to tiida and clio…same car but looks quite different…izit???

okla…some of my example show the 100% similar for some makers…like the fiat,citroen, and peugeot mpv…but some is not 100% similar dsg like the vw group or wut else…but still u can see the connection of the car which theyre apply in thier dsg(the language and the style)…i dunno how to xplain it…i hope u knoe wut i mean…

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 7:26 am

I dont see why they show the awesome concept car and on the other hand, release a shitty version of that concept.

• ariz8 (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 8:14 am

Why Nissan have to use Renault platform ? Renault parent company should allow Nissan to do their own R&D. Not to rely on Renault platform and come out with genuine design. If I want to buy a Renault Clio or Megane, I will go to Renault instead of Nissan. Simple right.

Nissan is a Japanese Company and should be it even though belongs to Renault. Japanese design flair should be injected into the model, as such make it similar to Fairlady Z but with 4 doors or whatsover and compact in size. Suzuki swift also a good example of the Japanese with mix of european – Japanese design.

• Celicazz (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 8:28 am

ariz8, if you have a stake in a company and in the same time owning another, what u would do to get more money?

try ordering the same thing two company uses in a mass number..that will reduce the price of that thing…economic of scale in another point of view i think…

to built a new platform is to go for RnD and it is time consuming and need A LOT OF MONEY…by the way, the car look awful to me..i would not bother to buy one (for free, i'll take it and resell)

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 10:56 am

well this car should be ckd's by nissan..it will do very well as it will be put in da price range of the city and vios and instead of competin directly..tan chong can offer a hatch for that price…..as fer he basic 1.8 engine…nissan is lookin to target the style consious i think …well as for the temp gauge…my gf bought a face lifted city lately and its not even there..when we called the sales man he said the car will automaticaly stop .if it heats.well..what if shes on a lonely road at nite and the engine decides to stop…well i dun want to complete the res of da line…..its just stupid..

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 1:54 pm

hmm you're right raybrig. the headlights of the 107/aygo/c1 do look identical. my mistake

• vernieman (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 8:23 pm

The Nissan Sports Concept made me cream my pants, and it remains one of my favourite cars at KLIMS06. But the Versa certainly does not provoke the same response. Design cues from the Sports Concept? I don't see any. In fact, this is almost an insult to the concept we saw at KLIMS06.

It looks like a passionless Megane/Scenic hybrid. Compare it to other 4 door hatchbacks in the market and the Versa looks downright fugly and odd.

Bring us the real Sports Concept and perhaps I'll change my mind. Otherwise, I'd give it a miss. A BIG one.

• gabanpolis (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 1:29 am

107, Aygo and C1 are same car. co-develop by toyota and peugeot-citroen psa. Built in same factory in Czech republic.But please, P2 never co-developed the Myvi, its boon, just go to japan, choose a model that they like, redesigned the front and back portion. walahh – malaysian car. in order to say that p2 co-developed myvi with toyota and daihatsu, they must chip in money, but have it ever happen. just to keep the record straight.

• intermilan (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 4:38 am

agreed with yiaomo on the engine issue..

to offer a hatchback and said it was based on a sporty concept with a 1.8L engine producing 122bhp is cow dung.

Eh, Nissan.. keep it as a concept car lor. Don't waste M'sian money.

Better TC & co. continue your internal power struggle. More excitement.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 7:16 am

argh… the sports concept look really nice but second picture suddenly… oh my… crap version… haha… when it turns to 4 doors with those wheels… haha… funny la… what happened…? I don't think it looks nice though…

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 11:32 pm

Looks like sober, starving and sedated version of Renault Clio V6 to me which unfortunately we will never see. Everybody's gone putting 3liters inside a hatch after VW came out with the Golf R32.

This is also the reality of Business Consolidation. Nissan was making losses before Renault came into the picture. No matter how much you, me or anybody loves an R32, if it does not make money for Nissan, its useless, rather put time and money inside SUV developments. So rather than start from scratch, why not prune an already successful model; the Clio. Its a formula. It will work. It will sell. Even if they don't sell it much, they would have saved on development and tooling costs.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 7:01 am

bobdbilder…

b4 vw produce the golf r32…renault already got their clio v6 with 3 l engine…

• ckteh (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 5:38 pm

Hi Paul,

any reason that we are not seeing Nissan Latio in Malaysia, this model seems pretty common in Singapore and China?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 6:04 pm

Looks like they wanted to build a Renault Megane but ended up with something not as nice looking (especially the 3 door Megane).