Perodua to boost exports mid-2007

white_myvi_small.jpgPerodua aims to increase export activity beginning mid-2007 with it’s Indonesian exports spearheading the export drive. Originally, the Perodua Myvi was to be exported to other ASEAN countries in the second half of 2006, but domestic orders have been averaging 7,000 units a month for the last three months.

The plans were postponed due to the lack of production capacity available for export. Perodua intends to help create a compact car market in Indonesia and sell about 500 Perodua Myvi cars a month. Indonesia has a relatively low person to car ratio and the automotive industry volume in 2006 to date is 30-40 percent lower than the same period last year. Compact cars will be welcome in the Indonesian market. Just October last year, the Indonesian government raised fuel prices by 87% in drastic measures to reduce subsidies that are hurting the government coffers.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bpkid (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 4:05 pm

most indonesians prefer motorcycles than cars. is it true?

• oversight (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 4:39 pm

how's the compact car market there? proton don't have any intention to sell their savvy there? wonder people there want to buy it or not.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 4:55 pm

very hard to sell, the local based Indonesians sure will highlights the Msian makes issues to their home based relatives.and it is not fair if local car makes will have a special specs for the export and let the "rakyat" to suffer with low quality make.like spore specs, some more sporian not even have a look to msian make.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 5:49 pm

i guess there is no worries for indonesian market as toyota is always there to look after them.

• johanbey (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 6:09 pm

planning for export while you cant even look after your own backyard totally an absurd notion, hurt us seeing p2 not caring for its loyal supporter, instead going over to Indo for a quick buck or two. tough i highly suspect the call is in the hands of toyota instead of the big fat lazy butt BOD of p2. I mean its not right to ask a malaysian to wait 6 months for a car delivery while p2 go poking their nose to a new market. but as cratzelogy said earlier, its a toyota call, and avanza sells like hot cakes in the middle and lower market section in indon, vios is a taxi car there, i guess toyota do need a passenger car for the lower market segment.

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 6:57 pm

it's business, they saw an opportunity to get a market and there they go. compact car is a good market for them, considering indon high fuel price.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 7:01 pm

hhhmmm…

• engtaokia (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 8:25 pm

hmmmm….

• whodz (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 10:15 pm

Indonesian have 200 million prospects. If only 10 % of them is making 1 million (USD) a year. It's merely population in Malaysia. So, of course Indonesian market is valuable.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 10:25 pm

johanbey…

planning to export on Mid 2007, which is one year from now. that i think is a good planning as P2's reason for delay is due to high locals order. and now i do not think u have to wait for 6 months to get myvi as i got mine less than 5 months.. thanks to increase output of 8k per month!!

who knows P2 have others plan as they can predict mid 2007, myvi local order will decline.. y? cause P2 is coming a new model!! and send those outdated myvi to other aseans countries to increase profit.. money bring back to Malaysia.. that's good planning!!

– "big fat lazy butt BOD of p2"

– "wait 6 months for a car delivery while p2 go poking their nose to a new market"

i know u r just bullshiting a lot on your statement!! how can lazy BOD can have Myvi increase output of 8k permonth? wait 6 months? this is soo untrue by present time.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 11:16 pm

the 8k unit per month delivered sounds good but Perodua not doing much on increasing their overall capabilities. means to achieve high demands they neglect to invest more money then the story of low quality Proton now also happen to Myvi, as they were rushing to deliver everything also ok, QC all sleep, if dont believe now you litsen to unsatisfied P2 customer.

• johanbey (Member) on Jun 28, 2006 at 11:41 pm

lets all not start accusing anyone here, the forum is for anyone to give their 2cent worth of comment, "bullshiting" is rather a crude word to use in this gentlemen forum, wouldnt you agree "NoToLowQuality".

I have shared the experience of booking a MyVi, love the car to bits, but 9 months (in my case) was rather unrealistic. To be honest, none of us here really know whats going on in the local car industry, we all call it as we read on papers, heard it over news or discussed about it over ss2 mamak. can anyone really explain why the petrol keep going up? can anyone explain where are the billions that proton made in the past 20years? why p2 started off as a national car maker and now toyota have a major stake instead? etc etc etc…..

before we even try to jump on to these question, please remember this, none of us sit on the BOD on these GLCs, so nothing is what it seems. we claim p2 increased output and delivery 8k a month, anything to justify that? pls an advert is just a PR excercise, to make believe, a propaganda to the one wo initiate the concept of the advert, to make you think what they want you to think. 1st rule of advertising.

my claims of them being fat and lazy was rather harsh i presume, but if anyone have a copy of p2 annual report, perhaps we can all take a good look how many of them are actually overweight. do you know how much are these non-executive directors being paid for attending 1 AGM a year, no less than 30k a month plus benefits, if you think my estimate is far off the radar, call up Watson Wyatt, purchase a copy of their Top Management Rewards Studies or BOD studies and be enlighthen what are the rates of directors' remuneration in the market.

A sincere and ethical business dealing is to exchange goods or services at a business transaction, that business 101, i truly believe a man of your level of intelligence would agree with that. therefore, why are made to believe there should be a significant difference for the period of goods delivery between purchasing a car and ordering a cup of teh tarik at any of our local mamak? question is, how long would you wait for your cup of teh tarik?

then again, the notion of time and waiting is totally subjective, hence the purpose of a forum is to share and exchange views of a singular topic or matter. not to curse and criticise our fellow bloggers, any gentlemen here disagree? kindly comment.

• szw (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 4:21 am

hope dey can cope wif da capacity .

muahahaha !

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 10:16 am

johanbey – "not to curse and criticise our fellow bloggers"

Just wana let u knw that if i find that those bloggers who is bullshit in his statement, then i just point it out la.. no offence but pls b a gentlement and admit it.. simple as that.

u mention "big fat lazy butt BOD of p2", u r half rite as they may be fat but not lazy ma… so bullshit

u mention “wait 6 months for a car delivery while p2 go poking their nose to a new market”, not everyone waited for 6 months. i waited less than that, my fren got it within 1 month… it depends on the model u r looking for and also the location or may b the sales person or the shop u book from… so again u r bullshit..

am i cursing and criticise ? or i just point it out the untrue stuff u bullshit about and pls, bullshit means bluffing if u know wut i mean… nothing special… so cheer up boy…

• johanbey (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 8:04 pm

Dear NoToLowQuality,

your assumption of everyone will accept the word "bullshitting" (actually its not even an english word) is equivalent to the meaning of "bluffing" is utterly preposterous. however if that is level of english you are will to accept and practise, i would gladly accept the explanation although i do not entirely agree such travesty towards the beauty of the langauge should not be encourage.

my best friend family owns a p2 dealership in Puchong Kinrara, i was trying to book a 1.3/manual/no airbag & ABS/black back in august 2005, he says 6 months waiting. in fact he refuse to accept any "extra" to speed up my MyVi delivery. which part of the above is consider as "bullshit" may i ask? may i have the outlet/date/model/sales-person of p2 which your friend managed to get his MyVi in 30 days? my wife would be so please to hear that, we have been planning to place a booking since 2005!

can you prove all the BOD of p2 are excellent, qualify, certified and best suited for their job, so how may i ask you know they hardworking executives? or you are as you have put it so elegantly, "bullshitting" like a "bullshitter" as well? (Im allowed to use the word since according to you, it carries the same meaning as bluffing)

i am a extremely cheerful person, im a marketeer in professional management development and corporate training, i have to be cheerful when i make my presentation to my clients eg.EON, Maybank, TNB, PSNB, PNB, UMW Toyota, Genting etc etc. U KNOW WHAT I MEAN…..NOTHING SPECIAL…..BOY.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 29, 2006 at 11:15 pm

johanbey

ai… u misunderstand me ..

i surely cannot prove all the BOD of p2 are excellent, qualify, certified and best suited for their job. And i m sure din say anything about them hardworking executives le..

your statment about BOD of p2 is fat and lazy.. listen to ur self instead of asking me."how do u prove it as well?" one thing is for sure is that they r not lazy cause p2 is earning money!! b4 the launch of Myvi or when under developement, by logic im sure they are some how doing some strong groud work and later after launch, well, they may b enjoying the fruits… is this call lazy? so u misunderstand me and i know u… u r mad on p2 of your 9 months waiting duration of myvi… that's y u have no one to blame but BOD (may b) and call them lazy… so pls .. just listen to ur self..

about the less than 30 days delivery of myvi, my fren book it from penang, prai area. his myvi is White in colour, no airbag/ABS, Auto and yes, it is non-metalic. very few people book this color, thus got it within 30 days.

and if p2 promise to deliver myvi to u within 6 mths but they fail, then i should by ur side to call them bullshit or cheater. but i will not blame the BOD of p2 fat n lazy.

the reason i mention to u cheer up, meaning do not be upset when u know others got their myvi less than 6 mths… aiyo, i din ask for ur explanation bout your working life la… just to prove that u r a cheerful person.

so, i hope u got my message. good luck

• daffy (Member) on Jul 01, 2006 at 4:38 pm

MyVi in 30 days? my wife would be so please to hear that, we have been planning to place a booking since 2005!

—–

If you had booked since 2005 and not planned you would have gotten your car already.

I booked on 7th November 2005 and got my car on the 19th of April 2006

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 6:37 am

now…those who are planning to buy mabe…jz order and dun choose the color…guarantee ull b purchase early and dun hv to wait…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 6:38 am

typo mistake…not mabe…myvi…