EON in talks with Daimler Chrysler

smallmblogo.jpgEON has been in talks with DaimlerChrysler and some of it’s unit companies for a distributorship here in Malaysia. The talks are centered on distributing cars with engine capacities of more than 2 litres. DaimlerChrysler currently has the following marques under their umbrella: Mercedes Benz, Maybach, smart, Chrysler, Dodge, and Jeep. They used to own a stake in Mitsubishi as well but disposed of it not too long ago.

DRB-HICOM who is leading the distributorship talks already assembles and distributes Mercedes cars here in Malaysia, and smart’s engine capacities are below 2 litres. That leaves Chrysler, Dodge, and Jeep. Perhaps we might be able to see a 2.4 litre Dodge Stratus or new Jeeps being officially brought in. The new Jeep Compass looks good. Or this could be a new Mercedes distributorship.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 9:52 pm

Haha.. i read this news yesterday.. paul why u didnt say why??.. well, let me add… declining sales from potons model, rite??… too bad… well, business must go on… nobody can wait 4ever… cant blame EON….

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 10:46 pm

this is a good news..we should prepare for Proton funerals..nobody is invincible..even Superman almost die after the return. come on Mssia cheers for "real money real machine scheme"

welcome DC welcome to tax land…

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 10:52 pm

Haha, yea, those real machines are gonna cost lotsa real money :)

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 10:58 pm

What DRB Hicom does not have is a premium brand to its stable of dealerships. Well at least a brand that they can sell. Like maybe a PT Cruiser. Personally, mehinks Its better off trying to sell Merc trucks than a Chrysler.

There's a hate site for them, but mind you it simmers with American patriotism against the Germans. Michelin was right to stop the last GP. So take it with a pinch of salt.

http://www.daimlerchryslervehicleproblems.com/

• redragon (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 11:04 pm

How abt a chrysler hemi ?

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 1:11 am

I thought EON was branching out because they had this squabble with Proton over distributorship?

• olowokandi (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 1:25 am

I believe they will have difficulty breaking into our market. US car is just not the type of car most of us will buy. Unless they bring in Asian cars with US badge (like Chevy did), they gonna have hard time selling these machines.

• olowokandi (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 1:27 am

I mean Chrysler.

• cell3216 (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 2:48 am

It's hard to sell Chrysler, Dodge, and Jeep in Malaysia market. Why don't they consider distributorship with lexus, subaru, alfa romeo, opel, saab, etc, which they are still not hot in malaysia and contain quite good potentials due to EON centers are easily to getting in enywhere in entire Malaysia. I hope to see much more brands come out in Malaysia market coz there still a limitation of variety of model here.

• cell3216 (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 2:51 am

I think lexus, subaru, alfa romeo, opel, saab contains the car market which similar with Chrysler, Dodge, and Jeep and those are more easily to be accepted by malaysian and I THINK their price would be in same range too.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 3:16 am

Yeah great… chrysler or what, its goin to be CBU… the price tag wont suprise me… the cars wud be nice to be a show in the showrooms.. to some, just watch & touch onlylah….

• szw (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 3:59 am

r we getting crossfire n viper ?

jz luv those V8

luckily their not doin it like GM givin weird cars frm korea instead frm da US .

• szw (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 4:01 am

oh ya don 4get da chrysler 300C wif da hemi V8 , lolz !

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 4:24 am

Neon!!!……… =))

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 5:10 am

One way to make sure factory running at full capacity?

• KW Tan (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 5:16 am

jangan mara poton, nak mara pun mara pun mara kerajaan ma….. too protection…. who wan 2 improve ??????

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 6:01 am

szw…viper??haha..i think its hard for them to compete in m'sia…we already gt porsch…ferrari and lambo here….mabe its hard for them to compete…mabe the price for viper is lower than those lambos and ferraris…but…abt the road tax???7.0L engine ma….cekik darah…jual bulu ar nak byr road tax….actually viper is jaguh kampung….a lot of sale in america only…but in europe…fail to compete with other sport cars….also in aussie and others also…outside america fail…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 6:29 am

american cars wil neva make it here frankly…we are on a japanese product mindset…thy r too big and anti social..thy all drink petrol like camel….thy have monster highways thr…their lanes is as twice as big as ours..everything thy have their is big…its not gonna work at all…bad move by EON..thy have beter chance of selling European cars here…its accepted and appreciated..not like american cars…will neva buy american car…NEVER!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:13 am

ya….american cars are big…even their bus and lorry are bigger than us…their displacement engine also really big to compare it with others…btw…they still producing a medium and small car to compete outside especially in europe….but still fail to convince the european…only certain cars are accept by the european like the chrysler voyager,chrysler 300,ford cars…….but IMO…most of american cars still far behind the european standard…

• nadebambo (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:46 am

What should i do to my car. The timing belt fails to often. in less than 2 months. please advise.

• nadebambo (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:47 am

What should i do to my car. The timing belt fails too often. in less than 2 months. please advise.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 8:14 am

well i dont agree with raybrig85 and e-nabilll.. american cars are not big anymore.. thier displacement might be big but not the size.. i been to US/canada and must say they make the best car in the world.. the quality and built is among the best. proton might do what chevy is doing in malaysia. come to think of it chevy sales are not so encouraging. proton must be up to something else. if proton were to market dodge.. it might sell the dodge neon. small car with 1.6-1.8cc. i think dodge is marketing it in singapore if not mistaken.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 8:15 am

mind u … american have started to think small time now….

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 8:20 am

best cars in the wold? I don't think so. Its only big engine. The handling on some are damm awful.

• Celicazz (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 12:47 pm

what? u hav been to see their cars real life and u think thier's good…cmon…their cars sucks man…plastics is awful…handling, only those they manage to get 'merced' are good…

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 1:21 pm

v_noz its eon and not proton so I doubt any rebadging going on here.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 3:58 pm

motorhead,mycar_stolen,

eon is a totally separate entity from proton.. and they already sell different makes of cars.. they are also not a main distributor of proton. please get your facts right before posting.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 5:24 pm

sorry for the misuderstanding or confusing statement.

see when you make friend with a loser or a corrupt company people also will judge your the same.

"good gals go to heaven, bad girls go everywhere"

"todya I'm screwing your friend, tomorrow is your turn"

p/s dont mix up with Proton it will effect your reputation.

• ptit (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 5:54 pm

new satria neo caught in action http://i6.tinypic.com/1z1d6z8.jpg

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 6:26 pm

Honda_driver,

Yeah, i know tat.. who says EON is the same entity with poton?.. if u dont understand my comment pls read the starbizweek 3/07.. it has all the story, & mentioned about sliding sales from poton models, one of reasons they look for new partner.. u think i talked craps ka??.. i talked base on facts & what reported in the newspapers..

u think u r smart ass ka??.. go la & read more before making stupid comment to others!! lagak mcm pandai sgt… but hampeh…

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:04 pm

honda_driver

i think u cari pasal… i read again n again and i don see motorhead or mycar_stolen mention anything about "eon same entity from proton". so i don understand y u mention it and my best guess is that u cari pasal or misunderstand them.

so poeple like u should read more b4 making any more stupid comment cause u r just bullshit on wut u said and can offend others. pls don do this again n u should apologise to motorhead and mycar_stolen.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:41 pm

no apologies, and i'm not out to offend, i stand by what I just said. If i'm wrong, let the mighty Paul strike me out of this blog ;)

motorhead, you are insinuating that declining proton sales has made EON decide to tie up with daimler chrysler.

I'm saying, EON has always been working with other partners, as they are not obliged to only work with PROTON, as they are a separate entity. If anything, declining PROTON sales can also be contributed in part to EON, as they are part of the P1 sales and service network.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:48 pm

ptit said,

July 5, 2006 @ 9:54 am

new satria neo caught in action

hi…

just delivered to owner or accident because of test drive.

p/s I think(my opinion la) SINCE msian so desperate to drive a sport car(you know why price like hell)they always consider the SATRIA IS THE MALAYSIAN SPORT CAR.(coz it have 2 doors)so drive very fast and they FORGOTTEN it is a PROTON which means it is not safe and reliable to push the car to the limit.Proton bandwith is very short "it just give you uncomforatble ride from A to B,without prestige and respect sometimes let you down with their long time trademark problems".

from my experience in college time when Satria owner always act like they are driving sport cars.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:55 pm

mr honda_driver ,

I think yourself can be categorised as a "TYPICAL MALAYSIAN DRIVER" because you driving a HONDA and you think you a in different league of other bloggers as "maybe" you think other people drive Proton and les smarter than you.come on la EGO wont bring you good we are sharing information here not to make enemy.

p/s NoToLowQuality i think this type of MSIAN that reader's digest surveyed.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 8:01 pm

Wel Said!

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 8:17 pm

"EON says:Profit before tax was substantially lower due to lower earnings from Proton business…..Proton sales fell in tandem with decline in total Proton sales." Excerpt for starbizweek 03/07

1. Everybody knows Proton is EON main supplier.. & sells other car too…

2. NoToLowQuality, thx, but i dont need any apology from this smart as*..

3. Let others see his own true color…He should feel ashame of himself…

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 9:57 pm

honda_driver

"no apologies, and i’m not out to offend, i stand by what I just said"

my goodness, kinda felt disgusted!! pls honda_driver.. read wut others said again and unless u do not understand english, i have nothing to say.

What ever EON is doing, it is for the benefit of it's own company, just like proton sold off Agusta.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 10:29 pm

you guys are not reading exactly what i'm saying as well.

"Everybody knows Proton is EON main supplier" This is wrong, and it is a fact. Proton edar is the main distributor for Proton. You can keep bashing away at me, but the facts are the facts.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 10:48 pm

now the digusted ego want to run away from his mistake, create new conflict,… "Proton is EON's main supplier".. sorry, i just miss the 's.. so now this ego want to cari pasal with grammar… the others sure know what i am trying to say… oklah the digusted one, next time i'll watch my grammar oso…

• Paul Tan on Jul 05, 2006 at 11:34 pm

Are any of you shareholders in either EON or Proton? If not, then I suggest you relax. Neither EON nor Proton are going to give you money or discount on cars if you defend them, so why get so worked up about it when it doesn't benefit you?

• szw (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 12:12 am

lolz !

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 2:01 am

Hahahah!! good job paul..everytime when come news related to proton or eon sure will come W.M.W(World Mouth War)…LoL

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 7:16 am

Nice comment Paul.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 7:50 am

V_Nos…

ok…maybe dats ur opinion…actually ive seen a few of it in US and europe too…ya…ok…in term of technology…their cars is ok…mabe more to electronic thing…and quite fun…but…in term of quality…for me….still not as great as european cars…okla…in term of biggy thing…ya ure rite…they started to produced a small car(if u noticed…ive stated at my last post…they started to produce a medium and small car now to compete with the european n jap…)but still got a lot of bigger car there…hhmm…mabe kalau tgk kete x ketara…but if u c their suv…..still big…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 7:57 am

relax….dun gado2…we want to share our info here…cheers…

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 5:19 pm

Yeah, i pun bukan cari gado.. nak share info juga, thats why i add…but mr. paul, why dun u write more of the article, since i think u write 20% only of the whole story.. apparently one of us memang tak baca the recent newspaper about the story, & main tembak2 org suka hati.. mmg suka cari pasal…mana x temper.. but now x temper lagilah.. malaslah nak layan…

ps: The article quite long, if u ve limited space, its oklah…

• gabanpolis (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 6:44 pm

proton edar is the distributor of proton's cars. eon is the super dealer. every car requested by eon must go through proton edar.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 10:19 pm

I never said, EON is Proton's main distributors… I said “Proton is EON’s main supplier”… somebody twisted my comment beyond meaning.. if we go EON's showroom, which car we see the most? proton's?.. who supply? proton?.. so what is wrong with "“Proton is EON’s main supplier”… until now proton is still the biggest supplier to EON, but now proton sales goin down, force EON to look for more car maker, looking for more car to sell such as DC… that what the article was all about…

ps:I am not in mad mode now, just explain to avoid things will go more messy…

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 1:33 am

.. firstly.. i got mixed up with the EON/Edar and proton. since u know proton manufactures the car and EON sell them.. but come to replacing inferior stuff in the car or engine problems.. u still have to go back to EON/Edar.. and not proton.. pity for EON/Edar , they cant do anything much since they have sticked thier hand in the pie. well i dont think any company one would want to give after sales service for proton cars. thanks for highlighting my error. now i know why EON merged with EDAR. Edar came about when eon started to selling other brands.

back on american cars… i wonder why the rich still buy american cars when some of u say its quality is inferior?? i was in the US.. i found hardly any german cars on the road. mostly japs coz their are cheap. so why?? conspircy??lol… well check ur facts agian.. u might be looking at some old models and not the new ones. i have driven one and it so much like driving a bmw or a merc….i have frends there any many opt for american makes. american makers are getting better now. they might not be the best handeling cars around but quality is obvious.is iam not mistaken the TBJ(tunku bendahara johor) drives a american car.. quality tells alot about a car and makes the car sellable.. there are many stories like hyundai…a very good example..DaimlerChrysler is basiclly a german company.. so they have transfered some of thier technology to american cars. Chrysler Group makes

Chrysler,Dodge,Jeep. iam sure it is the best. dont just think that german or japs are the best. they too have problems with quality its just that u dont notice it coz they have good after sales service.make me wonder why jeremy

bought a ford GT and cant get into it.. what a clown!!! so u be the judge.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 3:12 am

nope…im not saying german and japs are the best…a certain are the best…same like american…i dunnola…thats wat im saying…okla…when i was in america…i rent the cadillac seville(still brand new one)…its big..and spacious…driving feel…in term of speed and pickup…double thumbs up…i like it…but…in term of conering???still a long way back if to compare it with the german one…merc or beemer…ya…the interior is in beige color…the stuff inside…looking good…btw…when u see in dtail…yes..still not satisfied me…i dunno how to say it…and..my frenz there own an american…i cant remember the brand…but a luxury one…ya…looking good but still not as good as the european one…nevermind…dats my opinion…

abt the TBJ…i think he owned the chrysler 300c…ive seen one in the highway…followed by police with johor plat…something like datla…i think so..silver in color…ive seen that car when i was on my way home from watching f1 at sepang…

abt the jeremy…ya…he seems to like the ford gt…he bought that car and give him headache…ford gt sucking ur money for fuel consumption…tu yang jeremy pening tu…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 11:12 pm

rent the cadillac seville(still brand new one)…

wah this car popular one la my fren also rent this one…drive around the states surprising only a few toll booth..and it just 25cents…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 6:01 am

ya…okla that quite…felt quite comfortable and quite nice..but…jz…IMO..the feel and the quality still bhd the european luxurious…

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 8:25 am

well iam waiting to hear… which i dont think will happen in my life time… luxurious malaysian quality.. i mean.. superb quality… i guess u guys are trying hard to comprehend the meaning.. lol..