Perodua buyer demographics

white_myvi_small.jpgPerodua has announced that for the first time in 12 years, the demographics of Perodua buyers are 50:50 between Malays and non-Malaysia, compared to 60:40 with the majority being Malay for the past 12 years. This is primarily due to the popularity of the Perodua Myvi, which appeals to non-Malay buyers. 70-80 percent of Perodua buyers are either first time car buyers or people looking to buy a Perodua as a 2nd or 3rd car, not to replace an existing car. The remainder want to replace an existing car in the household.

Perodua Myvi orders have reached 105,000 units since May last year. Record sales for the Perodua Myvi were in May 2006 and June 2006, where Perodua sold 15,200 each month in those two months. Previously the record month was in March where Perodua sold 14,800 units.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 5:25 am

the non-malay portion is definatly to do with knowing that the myvi is essentially a toyota car…n the relaibility that comes with it…u see nissan/toyota sales ..thy r probably more than 80% registered to non-malays…its a perception thing….

• Dominik (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 5:36 am

Where else are the Perodua cars sold?

• swarty (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 6:54 am

yeah..yeah.. the only reason MyVi sale good because people don't have a choice. Beside Proton and Perodua, what other car can we buy? If the price is fair like neighbouring country you won't find this figures. Thai people should be laughing at us, luxury car here Toyota VIOS is just a taxi cab over there :) [Oh! that was two years ago.].

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 7:43 am

Yea, our so-called luxury or upmarket cars are just soooo common in other countries, people don't pay much attention to it, but what to do, we are here in Bolehland, so even common cars boleh become luxury or coveted cars.

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 4:39 pm

Ya… agree… even altis are taxis in neighbour countries… but wat to do, our country has 'own national car' so all those cars are consider as 'luxury' ones. Myvi can sell so many to non malays cos of its size:price. n not to bad quality of cos. n the look is acceptable for chinese? maybe?

• rexis (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 4:53 pm

Aihh, why you dont say that germans using mercedes as cabs?

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 5:10 pm

Well done Perodua! You've got the right marketing strategy and the right products!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 5:30 pm

wah..Malaysia so racist lah..this thing also put into statistic.I saw the "Oldman" car, and guess what? it is not Proton..we heard stories of ship skipper who prefer to be drown together with his ship..but the "oldman" as the main man behind Proton not even driving one.I'm know he is well rich but he is not driving Proton. so why othe Msian still want to buy Proton? I just dont understand?what is the good value of Proton. Why you want to buy a car who will make you a less respected person.Proton a msian car that even cant park at msian hotel lobby.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 6:18 pm

Yeah, if not myvi, what else to buy? since more & more people aware about our NAP, P2 cars is the best for now.. gud support from daihatsu / toyota.. & so many potong parts available.. cant wait for their rep. models…

• Bigjoe (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 6:54 pm

15,200 Units per month gives Perodua (with Kancil sales included) more than 50% of the passenger car market on a monthly basis. I don't think Proton have ever reached this figure in its history for a single model.

Goes to show you how far off Proton really is and MyVi is not even Toyota, its Daihatsu still really, especially the engine.

Imagine if they were really to allow tax difference to come down to say only 15%-20%. Perodua may still survive but Proton would not sell more than a couple of thousand at most. It will still be the same 10 years from now when Japan FTA comes into effect.

• pycazu (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 7:13 pm

Simply prove that Myvi is the only wise choice among all "not-so-expensive" car in the Taxland. Acceptable price tag, "cukup makan" quality, enough features and facilities, cheaper and widely available accessories and spare parts, these are the main consideration points for majority of M'sian when come to buy a car.

I believe that Myvi can even generate good sales out of this Taxland. Excuse me P1, can u suggest to me which model can do that?

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 7:26 pm

point taken bigjoe.. i think many2 of the people have learnt the reliabilty of P2 product like kancil & etc.. so myvi gets big momentum.. dunno what goin to happen to p1 next.. but critical oredi (share market shrink so bad).. sad oso if p1 fail.. its a national project.. but turned rotten.. so much money will be wasted.. looking forward to see p1 radical moves to improve the situation…

• Ricc (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 9:43 pm

Quoted motorhead, answering to ur question, P1 will seek for more help from our Goverment.. :p

• szw (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 10:53 pm

huh ?

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 11:29 pm

Ricc.. haiya.. teruk la itu mcm, current NAP is so bad oredi… but it seems they ve no choice.. mau build brand trust like P2 did to its product took many2 years… its a bit too late for P1 to do the same, lack of models development is a huge problem oredi.. btw thx God we ve P2 in NAPland… P2 offer not la the best cars in the world… but bolehlah pakai, engine gerenti ok punya, jaga minyak hitam & timing belt only…

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 12:47 am

lol..

what would they get for doing this analysis and statistic???

lame…..

We're all MALAYSIAN…there's no differences.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 3:57 am

swarty said,

July 11, 2006 @ 10:54 pm

yeah..yeah.. the only reason MyVi sale good because people don’t have a choice. Beside Proton and Perodua, what other car can we buy? If the price is fair like neighbouring country you won’t find this figures. Thai people should be laughing at us, luxury car here Toyota VIOS is just a taxi cab over there [Oh! that was two years ago.].

Against other super minis, can you suggest me which would you get if all were priced at RM45k.

– Hyundai Getz 1.3

– Kia Picanto

– Proton Savvy

– Perodua Myvi

Perhaps alot would go for Getz because it is actually something priced at RM60-70k. BUT, it's not worth a single penny from RM50k and above. It offers nothing worth RM60-70k.

The Perodua Myvi works and sells because it is actually the first time ever that a Malaysian built car is better than others within its segment. None of the above cars i mentioned are better than Myvi in terms of Bang for Buck. It's a clear winner. I'm pretty sure Myvi would still sell if it's priced RM2k above Picanto, or same price with Getz.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:25 am

hey swarty…

wut abt merc in german…luxury car…but still a taxi…

ingolstadt…

both cars ure mention in ur list…the best all rounder actually is kia picanto…(according to the most journalist…they recommended the picanto as one of the best supermini bside fiat panda..daihatsu mira…etc…)…but…when i compare it with the price in BOLEHLAND…for me…ill go for myvi…picanto…is too small…getz…looks old…still dun hv a refreshment…savvy….rubbish…dsg like penyu…:)…jz my opinion…

• szw (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 5:05 am

ingolstadt

pls add another car in ur list , da satria neo

• edwin2 (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 2:35 am

dear paul

"Perodua buyers are 50:50 between Malays and non-Malaysia"

your mean "non-malay"….. typo error ??!!

• vague (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 5:50 am

50-50…. what happen to those complaints last time. Condem till national car not worth a sen… now… hipokrit, hipokrit.

• king (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 8:57 am

raybrig85,

who said getz dun have facelift Pls take a walk to your nearest showroom and look for yourself. Just bcoz u r blinded by myvi doesn't mean other better cars dun exist.

If myvi is priced same price as getz ( 70k ) still can sell ……yes, but only to a few dumb ass who know nuts about cars only.

• king (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 9:01 am

better say if myvi is priced same as city/vios still can sell. what a joke. pls think b4 you talk.

• alan2006 (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 12:31 am

Back in 1998, I bought a 1.3 Iswara for RM 30K. It was a bare one with just aircon and no other accessories.With full accessories, the car costs RM 40K. With the huge inventory in the market, as reported in the papers today, I wont be surprised if Proton or Perodua will resort to this to push their cars.

Forget about sport rims or CD players, you can get it cheaper from Brothers.

• mr.nice guy (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 5:56 pm

ANOTHER SAD STORY FROM M'SIAN PPL…..

• BLACKCHAMPeON (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 8:58 pm

Hi to all

Our automotive industries provided nearly 350k job opportunities in the country. If we dont produce, other words rely on imported car, the 300k people will become unemployed. Thats is why so important to keep the industry in the country alive, not satisfy all people perception and needs, but to keep some of our people kitchen and some of our kids have something to eat. It is not a sin or even harm to most of the people who posted a nasty remarks towards our own industry and tarnished our own product. It is us to make or to break it.