Perdana Replacement Model to get I4 engine?

380vrx-small.JPGCarPoint Australia has a preview article on the new Proton Satria Neo, but that’s not important. What’s interesting is something in the article regarding the upcoming Perdana Replacement Model, said to be based on the Australian-built Mitsubishi 380.

CarPoint quotes it’s sources saying up to 15,000 Mitsubishi 380 cars could find it’s way to Malaysia if a viable four-cylinder engine can be engineered into the Mitsubishi 380. With a curb weight of 1,625kg as compared to the current Proton Perdana V6‘s 1,300kg it would require at least a 2.4 litre engine to lug it around so it will not feel sluggy. Of course, 2.0 litre engine would be sufficient, but it would not be as nice a drive as the current Perdana. The current Perdana has a Mitsubishi 6A12 2.0 litre DOHC V6 engine that makes 147hp at 6,750rpm and 179Nm of torque at 4,000rpm.

If you take a look at the current Mitsubishi Galant which shares many underpinings with the Mitsubishi 380, you will find that it has a 2.4 litre 4-cylinder engine with MIVEC variable valve timing that could be suitable for the new Perdana Replacement Model.

The 2.4 litre 4G69 makes 160hp at 5,500rpm and has a maximum torque of 212Nm at 4,000rpm. One downside is it looks like there are only 4-speed automatic gearbox options for all the possible engines, while the other cars in the Perdana range are moving up to 5-speed transmissions. Tentative launch date is April 2007.

I will continue monitoring industry sources for updates on the Perdana Replacement Model, so stay tuned!

Perdana Replacement Model in April 2007
Proton-Mitsubishi Feasibility Study
Mitsubishi 380 3.8L V6

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• freeze (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 12:02 pm

The current V6 2.0 has 150hp right? If so why not use it? only slightly less power.

Or it should be a 2.4 V6.

I think many people (not car fans) associate V6 to Perdana. Tell them V6 and immidiately the Perdana comes to mind.

• djyakuza (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 3:11 pm

good thing is tht the lovely perdana gets a replacement cos its been long overdue… yay!!

btw, paultan.. were u at stevens yest nite? i think i saw u @ the table next to mine…

• Paul Tan on Jul 17, 2006 at 4:30 pm

djyakuza: no lah, last night at home only.

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 4:31 pm

Hmm… why not install a 2.4 V6? At least some V6 in Proton car range. n the V6 sounds nice too… a 4-cylinder would be boring.. hmm…

• Tracks (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 5:15 pm

Being the flagship Proton, I would think that the new Perdana should be fitted with a 2.4L engine instead of the 2.0L simply because it is way too heavy. When you place an under-power engine into any car, the fuel economy normally suffers significantly especially in a town drive. Besides that, it would feel slugish too if the 2.0L was to be used instead. Furthermore, the current Perdana V6 engine only generates 179Nm of torque which is low comparing with other 2.0L in the market that produces torque in the region of 190Nm.

V6 engine always sounds nice but generally are not cheap to maintained and repair due to the additional parts and mechanism involved (DOHCx2, spark plugs x 6, etc). Therefore, I would think that I4 is always a great choice. Except for Nissan, Toyota and Honda also use on I4 for their 2.0 and 2.4L engine as well.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 5:25 pm

this is a major problem, this is a heart problem.the engine.Protonians hardly able to solve small problems, wah I just dont have the feeling that April 07 the car will be launch, if they do all of you wonthappy one sure like a last minute assignment with all the copycat and add on , paste on or "rojak" one.

p/s One of the Proton policy in their SC is not to properly correct the problems that occur because they said it will be same later you will come back for other problem.case study on G2 problems.come to conclusion Proton drivers will spend their whole life with sickening tumors..

• drM (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 5:43 pm

honda got the accord. two version.2.0L and 2.4L. toyota got the camry. 2.0L and 2.4L. hyundai? the same engine capacity. 2.0 and 2.4L. and the list go on and on. why not the next Perdana, has two variety of power plant? 2.0L and 2.4L. and one more thing P1, please improve everything. please forgive me for being so sceptical and very mean towards them, but all i want is a product that can satisty each buyer as honda and toyota already done since years.

and if I say everything, that includes the QC, the design, the colour scheme, accesories, rims, the PRICE.P1 has already did a good job on the Neo, keep on the good work.

ps- i am expecting a turbocharge 2.4L Perdana. the price doesn't worry me as long as it still in the same region of todays market of 2.4L turbocharge models. i'm sure many of us agree on this. we will invest our money on quality product. no problem. cheers!

• rexis (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:12 pm

2.4L? Sure? 2.0L already guzz fuel like crazy, how about 2.4L with a heavier body?

And this is a very heavy car too! Hilux is only about 200kg heavier.

• terenceg (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:15 pm

people stopped selling them blueprints or they ran out of pets, heroes, building, names to call ?

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:38 pm

err can i ask what is I4???? =))

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 7:03 pm

I'm not the one who used the terms..but…

I4 Inline 4
    http://auto.howstuffworks.com/engine-inline.htm

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 7:53 pm

Power-to-weight ratio is always a moot point for heavy cars. You don't need a very powerful engine if the car is mostly made of aluminium (like the 5-series and Audi A6).

Still, in selecting an engine for the upcoming Perdana replacement (PRM?), Proton needs to also consider other important matters such as crash test performance, engine mounting(which relates to NVH), emissions(regulations for sale overseas), fuel economy etc, etc.

So it's not just confined to power alone. A car like the Perdana has to be quiet and refined, ride well and roomy inside.

• KY (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 8:24 pm

evo engine. :P

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 8:50 pm

wah surely good engine but not suitable la. even if it is, so costly and much more expensive compared to current perdana. me think any engine with more than 160hp is suficient 4 this car considering it's weight. hopefully P1 can put a good mitsu engine into this

• szw (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 9:53 pm

i think an inline 4 will do da job well if dey r usin 2.4 .

but pls put in a 5-speed auto or giv us cvt pls .

• acbc (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 11:34 pm

I'm already planning a hybrid of 4G63 + 4G64 + turbo… should give lots of torque on the low end. :)

• ... (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 12:47 am

They can use the 2.5 litre V6 6a13 from a JDM galant. AFAIK the 2.4 I4 is called 4G64. Fuel consumption is relative. A person who is used to driving an Iswara would surely say it consumes alot of fuel. but i think perdana's FC is comparable to other cars in its class.

And a Lotus Carlton replacement based on the PRM maybe? (6A13 2.5 twin turbo 300hp)

• szw (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 12:50 am

is there a rwd ?

• ... (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 1:10 am

Nope, the 380 does not have RWD. That is one of the reason it is not selling well in Australia, when its competitors the Holden Commodore and Ford Falcon both are RWD. Toyota is even planning to give its Toyota Aurion a 4WD to try and capture the market of the Holden and Ford.

I think the 380 can be fitted with 4WD and it would make a nice to of the range car.

• Paul Tan on Jul 18, 2006 at 1:16 am

I know there is a 4G64 2.4 liter, but the USDM Galant's 2.4 liter is the 4G69.

Differences:

"the new engine uses a lighter iron block, a higher 9.5:1 compression ratio (from 9.0:1), a dual-port exhaust manifold (from a single), longer intake runners, and lighter valves, pistons, connecting rods, crankshaft, and rocker cover. Most notable is the installation of MIVEC, Mitsubishi's variable-valve-timing-and-lift system. Similar to Honda's VTEC system, MIVEC employs separate cam profiles for low and high engine speeds. But whereas VTEC uses two distinct cam profiles, MIVEC uses three—a high-lift, high-speed profile and low- and mid-lift, low-speed profiles, which, according to Mitsubishi, better induce swirl in the cylinders for improved combustion and emissions"

http://www.mitsubishicars.com/MMSA/jsp/galant/fea… http://www.caranddriver.com/previews/7065/mitsubi…

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 2:09 am

blur~

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 4:02 am

Looks like they need to redesign the car to make it very very light

• Isamu (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 4:23 am

The problem with Proton was always "nice idea, bad execution..". If Satria Neo can be used as a yardstick, I believe Proton is heading towards the right direction.. :)

• szw (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 4:30 am

i think ppl would be interested in buyin a rwd .

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 6:47 am

i tink best is using the VW 2Litre FSI Engine….turbo or none turbo are very flexible…i jus hope proton finally gets a proper 5speed auto box for the perdana no mater wat engine it wil use…if thy can borow mitsibishis 5 speed invec2 tiptronic..wil be a good choice…current perdanas v6 engine is really good..bt the auto box doesnt match the engine at all…..

• sukanduniaaku (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 7:05 am

wah..300kg heavier than the perdana. why hah? cant they make it lighter?

btw, how much the price of the PRM? i guess it'll be rm110k at least..!

• ... (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 11:32 am

The australian 380 with the 3.8 litre engine is selling for around RM80k in australia. If a smaller than 380-engined PRM is sold at more than the current Perdana prices, then it is yet another Proton rip off from the rakyat.

• tariq (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 3:19 pm

a heavy car like this, i think,should be RWD.fuel consumption is maybe compromised abit,but hey,it's the buyer's choice to get one.

• Whopper (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 6:50 pm

The achilles heel of the new PRM or the Mitsubishi 380 would be that it still uses a 4 speed automatic transmission whereas most of its rivals have gone for a 5 speed automatic transmission. Otherwise the PRM aka Mitsu 380 looks like beautiful. Just hope Proton doesn't mess up the build quality.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 8:01 pm

Whopper said

Just hope Proton doesn’t mess up the build quality.

you hope gonne a very BIG HOPE.

tariq said

but hey,it’s the buyer’s choice to get one

THEN CHOOSE OTHER MAKE LA…WHY BOTHER ABOUT PROTON.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 8:35 pm

Proton should have a 2.0 light pressure turbo and a 2.4 or 2.5 naturally aspirated engine in the 380. for that kind of weight, the car needs at least 180bhp – 190bhp to move around. Size wise, its kinda huge (built for Aussie and American size mah) so it might go well with Malaysians who need a large sized car (though not necessarily with large engine) to shout success ;) ala Camry and Accord.

• Matthew Seleigh (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 10:18 pm

There can't be any 2.4, 2.4 or 2.0 V6 engines as Mitsubishi has pulled the pin on all of the company's sub-3.0 litre bent sixes. If it's a V6 with three diamonds, it'll be a 3.0, 3.5 or 3.8 now.

As fuel economy has become more and more of an issue, the Japanese are abandoning the small V6 concept. Vis-a-vis a well-designed four of equal displacement, the small V6s lack of torque at critical speed ranges has a big impact on installed fuel economy. Mazda abandonded the field nearly a decade ago and Mitsu is belatedly (of course – after all they were quite busy hiding recall information) following suit.

Matthew S

• drifter (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 9:26 am

is rwd a back wheel drive…if it is then…alot of youngsters would buy it cause it can drift…

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 10:45 pm

its impossible that proton would fit a 4wd system in it. it was engineered as a fwd. besides….its definitely gonna be lacking power so no point of putting 4wd in. would be nice to at least get the engine of the golf gti or the mazda 6 mps engine in it. but we all know this is proton. oh wait thats not right. its a mitsubishi rebadged.

well its lucky mitsu could find a market for it. the new holden looks like its gonna sell alot at about the same price with tons more power and rwd plus a range of electronic gizmos as standard. btw….the rear on both cars look alike. shared aussie designs?

• galvintan (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 11:14 pm

Boy…I cant wait to see the new Perdana replacement unit. Though I just got my V6, I don't mind changing to a better version of Perdana :)

I'll still keep my old V6 to mod into an Eterna Twin Turbo :)

• kazman03 (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 9:26 am

i heard from one proton source it gonna be v6 2.0 mivec engine

• OPRAH WINFREY (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 3:34 pm

OLD DESIGN…………>