Chery announces Chery QQ6 (S21)

chery_qq6_1.jpg

Chery has released information on their latest compact car, the Chery QQ6 known internally as the S21. The Chery QQ6 is a small notchback said to be inspired by the design of the Volkswagen New Beetle. The notchback form is popular in China, as evident by Citroen developing the Citroen C-Triomphe, a special notchback version of Citroen C4 the specially for the Chinese market. The 4-door supermini is based on a new platform, not carried over from the previous Chery QQ and the notchback form is the first in a series that will also include a hatchback and a stationwagon.

This platform is said to be developed by Chery entirely on it’s own. It offers two engine options, a 1.1 litre and a 1.3 litre. It will be priced between US$5,250 and US$6,500 in the Chinese market. With the introduction of the QQ6, it’s sibling the Chery QQ will be renamed the Chery QQ3 as Chery intends to continue selling the Chery QQ3. More photos after the jump.

chery_qq6_2.jpg

chery_qq6_3.jpg

chery_qq6_4.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 12:05 am

wtf!!!

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 12:14 am

a thumb down.. but a compact sedan car idea is not bad.. it can be a pioneer in compact car's design & concept… may be daihatsu or p2 can follow the trend with better designs… engines dah ada macam-macam… so no problem punya…

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 12:40 am

see!!! told ya! chili sauce paint! it looks like a cherry.. now wheres the whipped cream?

• goingberserk (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 12:47 am

aiyoh…looks like a egg with 4 wheels.. or a rat without its tail. better not make it available in CarTaxland. !!!!

• hotwheeler (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 12:52 am

bodo…

• freeze (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 12:53 am

Funny looking car.

Why all their names are QQ? What does the QQ stand for?

• Paul Tan on Jul 21, 2006 at 12:54 am

I dunno, QQ = Cute Cute?

• hotwheeler (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 1:00 am

i think…QQ = quang quang quang…plus another Q

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 1:07 am

interesting idea. maybe p2 can consider this. a compact car with a tail. i found in another website a photoshopped savvy with a tail. quite nice. hope the big wigs at p1 study the potential. afterall, malaysians still prefer a visible and larger boot for long balik kamoung trips. agree or don't agree?

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 1:08 am

if it comes here, wonder how much the chery "cute cute" sedan (a very corny sounding name indeed) will cost.

• paradoxx (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 1:30 am

inspired by the VW beetle…?! holy mother of… thats the biggest insult ever…!

this stupid qq looks inspired by the elantra, sephia, and city/liana instead…

• whodz (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 1:30 am

OMG..what is that?

• hotwheeler (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 1:49 am

inside quite impressive…better than savvy i guess..

• demio121 (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 2:03 am

if Sutera can sell, don't see why this QQ can't…. if the price is right & spec is right.

• McPadey (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 2:32 am

VW Bettle ehhh….not even close!!!…

i think i better kill myself…lol

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 2:54 am

erk.. lazy to read.. cauze its look worse than *******.. even more! better kill myself.. =.=''

• chrisbangle (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:08 am

This car must have been designed by some Ah Lians.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 4:32 am

Chinese car vs Malaysian car

whoever wins…we lose again..

sigh…

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 6:26 am

Looks more like a Seat than a New Beetle : )

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 6:30 am

uuuurrrrggghhh….

• kenfresh (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 6:43 am

That, my dear friends, is the most absolutely stupid looking car I have ever seen.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 6:57 am

pppeeerrrggghh…hhhooorrrroooorrr

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 7:26 am

Inspired by the Beetle? OMGWTF!! Can't really find words to describe how ugly i think this car is… Cherry would do better copying other cars like it used to

• jiang093 (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 8:16 am

i see the design is not bad..inovative…better than car design by local maker.

QQ have a global mindset…

Ii price is good, should be can sell .well..

• ... (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 10:10 am

put a chevy spark front panels on it and it will look decent…

• little_momo (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 10:32 am

wahh .. looks better than our beloved PROTON … so long PROTON

• cnc (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 11:55 am

really cannot!

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 4:39 pm

oh my… the first pic looks ugly… I can't understand why chinese automakers design something like that… hmm… the design looks old… but the interior doesn't look bad… doesn't match the exterior of the car…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 5:07 pm

Eeeeeuuuuuwwwww….. *PUKE*

• whatsoever (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 5:21 pm

the idea is good. with a sense of business.

• my accord has gone.. (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 5:52 pm

wa! kao!

Funny look leh….

Come on ……

IT IS REALLY A CHINA CAR>>>

u can knew it by his LOOK….

hahaha….

• Randy (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 6:01 pm

I can see that most ppl here cannot accept Chinese made vehicle. For me, from a subjective point of view, they're improving all the time. OK, it may look stupid now. But looking back in 1985 when the first Proton came out, it didn't look any better. Even though Proton is making lost now, yet they're still the market leader here. So, I will not look down on Chinese car. Certainly, Naza's boss has the same view.

• szw (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 9:17 pm

yucks , where da designer get da idea frm ?

crap man !

• foreverunited (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 10:23 pm

c'mon guys, give them a chance to prove themselves..we dont know yet whether the performance of the car is good or bad. open ur mind a little bit…anyway, the car looks fine to me, just the front lamp looks quite 'childish'..whatever..

• Jiun 88 (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 11:23 pm

So freaggid weird, everything

I hate centre dashboards = i hate this car as a whole

=P

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 2:19 am

No comment. Just dunn dare to ride in this car. May fall over at high speed corner. Up coming Kancil looks better.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:49 am

yeah baby.. we all can bash this QQ car inspire by the VW Bettle…"not even close" for this car and that VW.. that's how we (the world) look at this car. Now.. how bout those savvy adver saying be your 1st lotus car owning a savvy!!! how does that sound to the rest of the world? now we know. we just bash it just like how the rest of the world laugh at savvy's adver… LOL

• yytellmey (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 10:04 am

looks cute

• yiaomo (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:33 pm

After scanning thru the comments posted here, i can only feel sorry for the mentality and attitute possessed by the majority of the bloggers here..( are most Malaysian like this ? ) Why need to be so sarcastic and contemptuos of something which we not even know very well ?

All great car manufacturers (human being as well ) have a very humble beginning, are you all aware how's American reaction towards Japanese and Korean car manufacturers when they first landed on their shore ? Now you just look at the quality of cars produced by these oriental manufacture and the profit they netted as compare to the plight faced at the moment by GM and Ford….so, who's laughing now ?

My point is that it doesn't really matter how's the quality of your pioneer product, more importantly if ones can learn from mistake, progress and improve with time as shown by established big players like Toyota, Honda and Hyundai…can anymore dare to bet that the Chinese won't be capable to join this list of elite manufacturers in another 20 years to come ???

• mickeymouse (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 4:37 am

malaysian, typical malaysian. i am so sorry to say that. i dont blame them for condemning other brand. Because these people are so afraid of competitor. so used to being jaguh kampung. i am a malaysian and i am so shy to say that i am one of them. Because of these few rotten eggs that tarnish the actual malaysian.

These people looked so uneducated, and i think these people are still in the third world country and please for you reader out there. Please understand and forgive these rotten eggs. Not all malaysian are like that.

• yiaomo (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 9:04 pm

you are right, Mickemouse….our country don't need first class infrastructure but third world mentality.

• DtG (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 6:38 am

if u look closely, the shape of the car is almost exactly like the Chevy Aveo sedan (previous model). once again, a Chevy is turned into a Chery… SO SAD……

• Whopper (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 5:29 pm

Holy Toledo!!!!…What a weird exterior design. But the front looks ok to me. Hmmmm however this car does remind me of the Mazda 121/Demio.

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 7:42 pm

i just noticed something… thats the new vios front bumper.. lol

• halfclutch (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 2:55 pm

Sutera are the fugliest cars on the road. I dun get how pple can buy a sutera. yucks! make that double yucks! Add this QQ nonsense and you'll get another fugly car on the road. Comparing my rm6K charade aura and the rm30-odd sutera, looks wise and performance wise, I can't help but pity those sutera drivers. Have fun!

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 1:14 am

i've seen pics of this car online… it's a heavily modified Aveo. just like when they copied d spark… just need to wink a bit. note the doors :)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 11:45 pm

What makes you say that one's taste has got anything to do with his mentality? Am I supposed to like this car if I think it is ugly? Am I a chauvinist if I say one car is uglier than the other? It simply doesn't make any sense! And please tell me, what has any of these got to do with being afraid of competitors? I am – and I believe most of us are – DYING to own imported cars without breaking a bank. At the end of the day my friend, it all boils down to taste. I have a taste for decent-looking cars. I also have a taste for quality and reliability, but I wouldn't buy a high-quality car if it is butt-ugly. Anyway, I wish Chery all the best for the future. I admire them for their bold move, and I believe that one day they will come up with ground-breaking designs.

• author (Member) on Apr 01, 2007 at 8:29 pm

This QQ6 looks unique but my feel is, it's ugly… but maybe others will feel it's pretty… Eveyone have their own taste.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 11:37 pm

ugh looks like a bug on wheels!

• BW (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 10:15 am

Blueks!!!! Kanasai!!! So ugly!!!

• The Inquirer, not ma on Mar 18, 2009 at 6:38 am

To Yiamo & Mickey Mouse. I agree to both of you besides Chery is selling their car at lower price. Enjoy the unique style. I test drive it. Pretty good with full options. Crash test has passing mark.

Cons : I dont feel the strength of underchasis parts, like bushing, joints, and suspensions.

• pablo oña on May 21, 2009 at 2:09 pm

I have that car I think is important to Know more about this car, in my country we need parts of machine and we can supply them.

• Richard on Jul 06, 2009 at 10:11 am

it's a nice car with trivial defects which are pardonable…

• soemin on Jan 03, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Good design and could be attractive to the old age customers