SEAT Leon Cupra boasts 240 horses

cupra1.jpg

Spanish marque SEAT, a unit of Volkswagen Group has launched their most powerful production car yet, the SEAT Leon Cupra. The SEAT Leon Cupra was developed with the knowledge SEAT gained during their World Touring Car Championship season. SEAT calls it the embodiment of the Leon WTCC’s spirit in a Leon road car.

cupra2.jpg

The SEAT Leon Cupra introduces to us a new 240 horses version of the Volkswagen AG 2.0 litre Turbo FSI engine that usually makes only 200 in the Golf GTI. This does not count special editions like the Golf GTI Edition 30 which has the same engine tuned to make 230 horses. This might give us a view to what a refreshed Golf GTI’s engine will be producing, since even the Golf R32 will be replaced with an R36 that makes more power. Anyway, I digress, this is supposed to be about the Leon Cupra!

This variation of the 2.0 TFSI is the most powerful engine ever installed in a SEAT production car, giving you 240 horses at 5,700rpm. Torque figures are 300Nm which peaks at a low 2,200rpm. The TFSI is mated to a 6-speed manual transmission. The SEAT León Cupra has a top speed of 247 km/h and accelerates from 0 to 100 in only 6.4 seconds. 1 kilometer can be covered in 26.4 seconds. For stopping power, the SEAT Leon Cupra has the largest disc brakes in the Leon range, 345x30mm. The calipers are painted red for that sporty look. There is also an option for a Brembo four-caliper brake system for even more stopping power.

SEAT also ensured that the Leon Cupra gives the driver a complete sporty driving experience in the form of aural orgasms provided by a special SEAT SOUND exhaust system. The exhaust system has been engineered not only for good exhaust flow but to enhance engine sound especially at the low RPMs. A nice touch, as to me a sports car driving experience is not complete without you hearing the speed as well as feeling it.

cupra3.jpg

cupra4.jpg

cupra5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wai (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 10:33 am

wow cornering on rails?

hate the rev meter though, but with 240 horses @ low rpms all is forgiven

• my accord has gone.. (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 10:55 am

nice car…

powerful car..

240 horses at 5,700rpm. Torque figures are 300Nm which peaks at a low 2,200rpm. The TFSI is mated to a 6-speed manual transmission.

i m manual fans!!!!!

but…Euro face i dun like…

if change to SATRIA GTI face…

IT WILL BE MY NEXT CARRRRR>>>>>

haha

• my accord has gone.. (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 10:57 am

accually….

i dun like the fashion of console meter box…

accord is better…

• bigcow (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 12:08 pm

My opinion is that this car has a Peugeot 407's front and a Peugeot 307's back :)

• rexis (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 4:11 pm

Seriously what is the feeling of having over 200 horses under your right foot?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 4:15 pm

I still prefer the previous generation of Leon Cupra. Surely this one looks sharp and modern, but it lacks the soul of its predecessor… :P

• scudracer (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 4:50 pm

BEST car I've ever driven was the latest Golf GTi!! I thought the BMW 530d was good (500Nm) but the GTi beat it in handling, braking, accelleration, cornering AND ride comfort!! It's the DO ANYTHING, GO ANYWHERE, BEAT ANYONE car!

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 5:30 pm

4 suicide doors ka?… it seems look like it.. no?

• szw (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 6:16 pm

its a nice car , but sadly , we're not getting it over here , haizzz !

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 6:59 pm

WoW!!!

• pirate (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:45 pm

This 'bootlegged' GTI is mighty impressive.

240bhp and 300Nm? My, that's Accord 3.0V6's output but with even higher torque at lower rpms!

TFSI engine tech is truly wonderful- as experienced in the GOLF GTI and A4 TFSI. With no lag at all whatsoever! Throttle response is crisp and power delivery is almost linear like an N/A 2.8L-3.0L engine!

Pual, does Seat LEON Cupra comes with a DSG option?

Gosh! that's the benchmark high-performance tranny of all.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:45 pm

bigcow…maybe dats ur opinion…actually…designer of this car is former designer of alfa 147 and 156 which is walter de silva( now head designer for seat and audi)…u can c the influences frm these 2 models…hhmm..they called seat as the spanish volkswagen…dsg is really sexy…really likes de silva dsg…very good…astonishing…

• pirate (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 8:02 pm

Sorry Paul, typo on your name there!

• pirate (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 9:03 pm

Heck! The rear door handles are concealed and tucked away…

Looks like a 2-door sports hatch from afar…smart!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 10:37 pm

Everything is nice except the front grill. which makes it look ugly

• Dogster (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 5:27 am

The 20:30 words just above the car icon, is that a brake bias control?

• ... (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 5:32 am

Dogster said,

July 22, 2006 @ 9:27 pm

The 20:30 words just above the car icon, is that a brake bias control?

>> I think its just the clock.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 9:46 am

The front and the side design is great and awesome, but the rear is a bit like the Alfa-Romeo. But overall, its still very nice, but sadly we can't get this here in Malaysia……

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 4:38 am

mitlanevo…as i said b4…designer for this car is ex designer frm alfa…

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 8:57 pm

"dsg is really sexy…really likes de silva dsg…very good…astonishing…"

whats de silva dsg?

this is literally an alfa 147 with a seat nose and a VW engine. even the rear of the car looks like a 147.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 3:43 am

ok…wat i meant…de silva or walter maria de silva…is actually ex alfa romeo designer…last car he designed for alfa romeo is the 147…then,vw group hired him…now…in vw group…his dsging audi a4,a6,a8,tt and the rest of audi families…for seat…altea,leon,toledo…now…he got a mission frm vw group to dsg for upcoming lamborghini…

• Whopper (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 6:28 pm

Hmmm…….the rear and the side view of the Seat LEON Cupra looks similar to the Alfa Romeo 147 to me. I LIKE :-)

• AGonzales (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 1:23 pm

I Like De Silva's 147GTA Design, I like this new Leon too, but I think the last generation of the Leon looks more aggresive….the 240hps of this Leon was inspirted in the wtcc version, I guess it would be better with a hi-rev and normally apirated engine(like wtcc too)….

• mrsteeldoctors (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:13 am

really powerfull car..why the meter shown red line on 130kph?what mean…