Corolla to be renamed in the UK market

uk_corolla_compressor.jpg

Toyota intends to drop the name Corolla when the next generation of the hatchback version of the car is unveiled in the UK. Toyota says the new model will be a radical change, so much that a name change is needed to reflect that. Toyota says it is hoping to repeat what Ford managed to achieve when it dropped the Escort badge for the new Focus name.

Honda had actually considered putting a new name on it’s European Honda Civic because of it’s radically different nature and having moved slightly more upmarket, but in the end they decided to stick with the Civic moniker.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• szw (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 9:42 pm

name it altis lor .

lolz !

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 9:42 pm

A very nice car, Hope to see the front design :)

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 9:45 pm

is this seca? hmm

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 9:52 pm

The Toyota Altis for the UK market sounds good. Inline with the likes of Yaris and Aventis. They should consider dropping the Picnic name too :)

• Celicazz (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 11:29 pm

why bother changing name? I dont get it… the Corolla name had been established for year and some of them gain quite a good feedback like 'mini lexus' or so…Toyota has too many models, too many names… Just dont put silly name on a good, nice looking car, otherwise, Mr Jeremy Clarkson would do the same thing he did on Savvy…

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 4:19 am

they are making a big mistake! they should learn how to keep names since its create an establisment of products and loyal following for generations.my family has been a very good example in making the brand famous.they are a living testiment! if those guys are seriously going to change names for the UK market it might effect the corolla's resale value . this is gonna be badly effect the other markets as well.i dont see a real reason for they actions beside follwing what has ford has done. from my point the focus is not doing to good here wherelse the escort was doing much better. i knew a lots of plp in my home town would love to drive the old escort. so how can toyota follow a car maker who is not doing to well in the market. they should look at them self. i know the corolla has been a mojar bestseller in every country i visited. the name also spell for reliability and quality which it has taken many years for plp to comprehend. if honda would to do it on its civic its like killing a family member. well that what i think and hope toyota makers would think like me! lol

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 5:30 am

so what?There was more when Escort>Focus. It changed alltogether.

Retain the name…don't create new names all the time…

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 6:36 am

TOYOTA TOROLLA haha….

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 6:38 am

MUGEN = CIVIC = OCT……

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 9:37 am

someone plz help me..i even sent a msg to paul….its tottaly off topic but today i drove up genting to pick my gf and i was challenge by a standard wira sedan…we were overtakin each other until the top but i won…trouble is..im drivin a 2.0 mazda6!!!!!!!!!…i mean why is this happenin?..shouldnt i be leavin him for dead?….im dead sure thats a standard wira coz he was pushin it super hard until i could smell his engine but i pushed mine reli hard…infact in one straight uphill climb he actually overtook me and my pedal was to the metal!!!!…i wont mine if it was a higher powered card or a souped up one but somethin

's not rite in this situatuon…guys..i need proper advice on this…not cristicisms as im being reli honest here..the car is realy fast but it seemed so weak up there agianst a wira!!!!!!!….im not into modfying this car but i thought of installin a mazdaspeed muffler coz i heard it gives extra horses..can anyone tell me how much does it cost and plz explain my situation…..i would realy appricate it..thank you

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 4:15 pm

Someone…

How off topic can you really get???

Answer : the Wira was modified, or the Driver in the Mazda 6 needs some advanced driver's training or better tyres. I've driven a Mazda 6 and it would have left a standard wira for dead.

As for toyota, it would be a waste for them to drop the Corolla name. Corolla has been Toyota's longest running name and in fact, Corollas have sold more than any other cars in the automotive history.

However, the European Corolla is vastly different than the Corolla we get everywhere else. It makes sense to have the European Corolla renamed the Altis (as someoen suggested), while keeping the Corolla Altis as just Corolla (local, and North America)

• stewpid (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 4:39 pm

to SoMeOnE..

that was not a wira but a mitsuwira. or wira 1.8 etc… if it got turbo summore u will be left behind.

on topic..

why they just not put the starlet name on it? that model suppose to be the new starlet supercharge rite?

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 4:49 pm

Just name it Altis… That sounds cool enough!

• familyman (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 6:54 pm

starlet! starlet! starlet!

• familyman (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 7:00 pm

to someone..

the possibility is endless:

wira + VR4

wira + 4G63

wira + 4G93

wira + 4G36

wira + 6A12

plus suspension = adjustables, brakes = twinpot

but going UP genting ehhh, thats force induction territory period.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 7:57 pm

SoMeOnE said,

August 3, 2006 @ 1:37 am

nevermind are you on time to pick your gf? then ok la..

if you do lost the wira++/rojak car your gf still with you..there is no way that any girl would like to be dated in Proton..unless because of desperation.

• AETAaAS (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 10:16 pm

That hatch looks pretty mean, I hope its got power to go with the looks.

About the Wira, as many have said, it was most likely tuned. A buddy has a Perdana with the 6A12, and he got a 25R turbo on it. It goes like a rocket and handles brilliantly. We dont have dyno equipment here, but we think its right around 290hp.

• KY (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 11:18 pm

obviously they should name it the Corolla Neo. :P

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 1:30 am

If you read UK mags or even talk to guys there, they would say something like; ' The ratio of Corsas to Pugs are 40:1 ….in favour of Corsas'. There are no mention of Toyotas, Hondas, or anything japanese hatches(see Aug issue Maxpower). Coz they are imports and don't have the utter brute force that a Golf packs in. Plus after sales is pretty hard to find.

Its a hard discerning market. I had a new Golf GTi pass me at Gambang Pahang on the new East Coast highway. Man it was sweet and utter brute power and rooted to the road. And the English thinks its a bit outdated but good overall. That's the car Toyota is trying to beat.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 1:38 am

On that Genting road. Turbos cant make the twistys there unless its tuned for mid rpm range. My bet its because its a manual and the Ford is an auto. That's 15% loss at the transmission.

2 days ago, was doing it up there had headlights on my tail but slipped away with 10 sec distance. Slowed up coming to Karak toll, slowed to see. Headlights passed. E46 flew on the straights. But the fact is, anybody who can afford a good car won't drive it as hard as it was meant to be.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 3:57 am

the focus was totally changed. not just the name. the car itself is well engineered and still is getting better.

• narrowband (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 6:00 am

Looks like a Baby Audi RS4 Sportswagon.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 8:24 am

i think bobilder is so correct….coz mine was an auto and the wira was a manual…btw its a mazda6 and not a ford…btw 4G63T DSM….my car rides on 17 inch bridgestone potenzas re050's and i do have some driver tranin……i dun think there are many tyres out there better than this..like i told u guys..i still managed to beat him in da corners coz my car stuck like a glue…..and i dun think its force induction or modified…i think it was becoz mine was an auto…and the wira was a manual…even in sports modes the auto does not rev above the red line…i think this was the main reason……