More next-gen Toyota Corolla previews

newcorolla_1.jpg

These are new scans from Japanese magazines depicting how the new next generation Toyota Corolla sedan (JDM) will look like. It looks pretty much similiar to the previous scans by New Model Magazine X which I posted in mid-July, but these images have much more detail than the plain ones I posted before. It’s not as futuristic as the current Honda Civic, but it does look sportier than the current Toyota Corolla Altis. More details and photos after the jump.

newcorolla_2.jpg

As you should know, there are a few variations of the current Toyota Corolla on the market. Our Corolla is the Corolla Altis, which is similar to the USDM Toyota Corolla. The European market has it’s Corolla hatchback. The current Japanese Toyota Corolla is similiar to the Toyota Corolla offered in Singapore.

The new Corolla will be offered in Japan in sedan form, while a hatchback version will carry a new name. Unconfirmed rumours are that this new name will be the Toyota Blade. Toyota has announced recently that it’s next generation Corolla hatchback for the UK market will undergo a name change, so this might be the name that will be used for the European market as well.

While the JDM Corolla maintains it’s current size, the JDM hatchback version will move up a class in terms of size, as with the sedan and hatchback versions of the Corolla everywhere else. The bigger Corolla will be based on a new platform. The JDM Corolla has to be smaller to qualify for Japan’s mass-market class.

Other than sedan and hatchback forms, apparently the new Corolla will be offered in wagon form too, as you can see from the remaining two scans below. Expected unveilin date for the new JDM Toyota Corolla sedan is October this year.

newcorolla_3.jpg

newcorolla_4.jpg

Corolla to be renamed in the UK market
New flagship 1.8 litre powerplant from Toyota
JDM 2007 Toyota Corolla magazine scan

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 2:26 pm

Its a Lexus. That new Lexus with hybrid has the same front. Its still uglier than the Civic.Looks like some Korean design

• tbcheese (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 3:11 pm

The front end looks a bit plain. The grill reminds me of a Punto :p

BTW Paul sorry about the photos. Still haven't collected them yet.

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 4:30 pm

I just don't quite appreciate the design of this car. Anyway, thanks for the posting, Paul.

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 4:31 pm

How about the specifications? Would you mind to release the specification for our consumption?

• demio121 (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 4:49 pm

I think this is the JDM model. Previously, Paul blog abt Toyota thinking of droping the Corolla name in Europe due to a departure from the Corrolla idea for the next gen but looking at this pic its more a facelift than an entire new model. The exterior profile looks almost the same as the current Altis and the interior, except for the air-con vent its almost like Altis too.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 5:51 pm

Ermm.. plain?.. emm.. i think it looks bold.. bold & beautiful.. more classic & sporty…

• e-keretaDotCom (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 6:21 pm

i always support toyota :)

• damion (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 6:39 pm

It does look like the Lexus GS in the front. So perhaps now Toyota is adapting the Lexus looks into their Toyota lineups?

If so, I would prefer they adopt the IS looks instead of the GS which looks rather bulky and weird.

Judging from the few interior pictures that was included with the exterior, I would agree with motorhead that it does indeed look, plain. and might I add, bland also.

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 7:04 pm

no big surprises…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 7:51 pm

Dear Paul,

Any statistic for sales number between the Altis and new Civic.

Last time 01/02 I remember Altis 1.8G a winner compare to Civic 1.7.This time ?

p/s The next gen Corolla any special specs?dual vvti?5 speed gearbox?if it is using Lexus platform..will it come with pedal(foot) brake instead of hand brake?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 9:05 pm

toyotas r like that la…the altis specially have always looked boring inside n out…the interior is almost the same as the curent one..except for the sat navigation which ofcourse wil not be offered here..

• kitman (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 9:32 pm

what a boring looking car ….. but i'm sure it will sell well as usual becos of the toyota badge. if you look at the malaysian toyotas on sale none of the model excite – even the new camry looks boring.

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 10:34 pm

kinda lame and 'old man' looking car… not quite suitable for youngsters i think… btw, are all the executives, designers from TOYOTA aged more than 70 oredi? TOYOTA seems to be losing spirit from HONDA… btw, i think the civic is the best designed car so far…

• nmh (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 11:10 pm

i support toyota but this…..what tha….very2 sad

• freeze (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 11:23 pm

Rear lights like the Optra lights right?

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 11:55 pm

Massive disappointment! I hope it is no the finished product. Who would buy this!? Something somewhere is wrong inside Toyota Japan.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 1:09 am

hahaha, everyone bash at this toyota design.. this show that we malaysian not only bash proton just becos it is proton but bcos that's wut we, the general public have in mind. so if it's bad design, it is bad… if it is good, is good. so pls stop those 'beauty from the eyes of the beholder' s horse shit.

• e-keretaDotCom (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 1:12 am

I love it lor….

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 1:23 am

Given the financial capacity, I will buy it over Civic if I can afford it because this Toyota Corrola design is more "conservative" with Harrier's and Lexus's DNA. Don't under estimate the design apart from their high quality and low maintenance cost for engine, unlike P1 relatively low quality but high maintenance car.

• foreverunited (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 1:51 am

the front looks like yaris

• philippecr (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 2:43 am

hem…. i wonder…. where's the 'Trueno' series that Toyota said to revive?

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 2:50 am

Given the new look which is unfornuately already like that – don't pin too much hope on the New Altis 'cos a complete architecture redesign will prove too costly and too late for the undisputed King of obnoxiously bland cars. Shame!

(Obnoxious is defined as unpleasant, offensive and rude. Rude is because the obnoxious King thinks we are all morons who will fall in love by default with a car called Corolla regardless)

• jonjwlee (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 3:18 am

Paul, the Corolla available in Singapore is the Altis. Not the JDM Corolla. Only Japan (of course) and Hong Kong have the JDM Corolla.

• happymeal (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 3:29 am

looks like a GS? looks nothing like a GS to me…

they should have made the corolla look like a smaller mark-x… now thats a nice toyota.

• Paul Tan on Aug 08, 2006 at 3:31 am

jonjwlee: no, both the small butt jdm corolla and the corolla altis is available in singapore.

http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/showroom/coroll…

• altis_fan (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 5:50 am

This new model looks daring. I love it so much. Cannot wait to see the actual. With Toyota, you guys don't have to worry – performance, quality, service, etc.

It is world class ! The design is very latest style. Not like some brand – always design for sporty, which is 70s style lah, so boring!

• szw (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 6:05 am

not much comment on it

• v0ices (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 6:19 am

not much comment… but you commented!

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 6:45 am

Yalah, not much comment on it is also a comment!

Yahooooooo, waiting for new Corrola to Bolehland, previously Paul mentioned shall be available 2008. Good good also because the nearer to 2010, the lower the ED tax.

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 7:00 am

I hope this is not the final version of 2008 toyota corolla, I hope the design will has some Scion tC DNA plus some IS 250/350 DNA, then the car should look better.

• Celicazz (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 7:57 am

doesnt look modern…

• retrofuturism (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 8:16 am

yes, a bit punto….but the design is still too conservative for me…i would stick to mazda 3/ civic…i think my parents would like it…=)

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 8:26 am

the design is a bit like the new camry. and it would benefit if the headlights looked alot sharper like the camry sportivo one. and also get rid of the nose type badge in the front engine air intake. use a more conventional one like the IS250.

http://www.drive.com.au/Editorial/ArticleDetail.a…

• drifting4eva (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 9:19 am

not much change from the current corolla except for some minor cosmetic tweaks. toyota now so big (going to surpass gm soon) that it is afraid of taking risks. we have to look to honda for inspiration in the future. new civic was a radical change from the past. sooo disappointed as i was looking forward to corolla going back to its levin/trueno roots :(

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 11:08 am

IMO, the current (Malaysian) Civic looked abit "Try-too-hard-to-be-sporty"

This Corolla's design is very mature, not trying to be sporty cos its not, these 1.8-2.0 cars are the primary target for family man, hence it looked very family like. Good, mature design. Albeit boring.

It look like Korean? not in a million years. Look at previous (Benz+Jaguar) Sonata, Elantra, Accent and Kia Optima…. these are the UGLIEST cars money can WASTE nowadays…. no where Korean design is good. oh… except SsangYong thou….. (bar SsangYong Chairman and the new Rexton…….. ok…. the SsangYong Yacht-like-MPV is also yuckie….)

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 10:17 pm

Hmmm….I kinda like the new Corolla. Looks more macho than the current Altis. Toyota could do more in making the dashboard design more appealing.

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 11:41 pm

Why no one has noticed that the car behind could just well be the next Vios, which is already out in US. I am just waiting for UMW to bring the new Vios in so that 2nd hand Vios are cheaper!

PS: i know this is an entry on the new Corrolla. But maybe Paul can give us an update on the Vios? Much obliged….

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 12:45 am

Hmmm… new corolla… its a family car… not young family… older families.. Toyota always aim for middle age markets as the market is bigger n hv more potential on buying cars… n youngsters can't afford cars like tat unless their family buy it for them… even though a 30 yr old maybe cant afford such cars nowadays… for middle age family man… they won't go look at Civic's type of design.. that's for younger generations.. they look for designs like this corolla which looks more mature like some of u said… they won't care about the sporty design. they just care about the quality of the car and after sales services thats all. thats a piece of my opinion though.

• drifting4eva (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 5:42 am

everywhere else in the world the corolla is geared towards young working adults. the progression is like this: college students – yaris, vios, young adults – corolla, family man – camry, professionals – avalon or lexus. but m'sian nap artificially screwed the equation up.

hikaru: they sell vios in the us? i thought vios only for se asia + china?

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 5:51 am

Vios basically Toyota's "local best" sub-compact budget car mainly for ASEAN market but not China.

• Paul Tan on Aug 09, 2006 at 5:51 am

here it's more of:

college students: toyota corolla ae90

young adults – 2nd hand ae101/111

family man – vios

professionals – altis

management – camry

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 5:56 am

Agreed with you drifting4eva, NAP make Yaris target at young professional, Corrola for "luxury" mid-income family car, Camry "entry level" for CEO, boss, MD, tauke and Lexus/Avalon (US market) become big boss, crocs, datok, Tan Sri, etc super-duper luxury car.

• king (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 7:28 am

If i am 35 years old and i drive this car i will look like 65 years old. just look at that old fashioned interior.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 8:46 am

i drive a corolla as well. the whole car is pretty much just a car. instruments may look dull but after a while it doesnt really matter much.

the only one thing that makes you glad is the piece of mind…everytime u start that car it will start up and that the thing wont break down….anytime soon that is. 6 years and still feels solid.

another great thing bout toyota is the body of the car is more resilient to knocks and dings. as compared to a honda.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 7:43 pm

Yawwnn!

• king (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 9:27 am

zzz zzz

• slippers (Member) on Aug 19, 2006 at 5:30 am

Hideous… they should have mass-produced the Will VS and used it to replace the Corolla. The Will first made its appearance in 2001 and design-wise, is still light ages ahead of this sad-looking Toyota lemon. If only they would revive the Will, or at least bring us the Caldina… that's another aggressive looking beast that'll scare the b'jesus out of this lame-duck offering

• willirord Joe on Oct 11, 2009 at 8:58 pm

Is it true that the new generation TOYOTA cars (e.g AVANZA,CAMBRY,VOIS) do not required any tune-up for peak performance as comented by your service consultant.