Who’s your Dadi?

lmg_just_add_water.jpg

After that short speculation in my previous post, it’s quite obvious the new car to be launched this Tuesday in Johor will be a Dadi SUV or pick-up truck with an LMG Auto badge. While The Star’s report only mentioned a national car, a similiar report by Bernama confirms that the car is an LMG.

dadi123.jpg

Dadi has two SUVs called the Dadi Shuttle and the Dadi Tourer, as well as a pick-up called the Dadi Trekker. Not sure which one will be launched this Tuesday, but the lights in the teaser looks like the pick-up truck. Reminds you of the Isuzu D-MAX eh?

Dadi vehicles use Mitsubishi engines in general, namely a 4G64 2.4 litre SOHC engine producing about 147hp and 214Nm of torque, which should be ample for an SUV or pickup of that size.

The theme of the ad is strange though – what do they mean by just add water?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 6:15 am

well paul, i obviously think that means, u have to give money to LMC (money liquidity) to get this deal, lol, or the car is just eco-friendly, lol

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 6:23 am

The facelifted version seems nice to me… but overall still have to wait to be judged… add water? no idea… lets wait for another day… feel curious bout this LMG already…

• Isamu (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 6:37 am

Hydrogen?

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 6:44 am

Well,the worst nightmare had begun..

The Chinese dumping of their cheap metal in our Bolehland….

As Malaysia is 49 years old and continue to develop…………sigh.

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 6:57 am

"Just add water" is that direct translation from Cantonese "ka sooi", means "pay up the money" you get your car!

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 7:06 am

P1 talking about want to design SUV or MPV few month back, but now this kind of products from Dragonland start to flood our market. Can P1 compete since these cars also rebadge to become "national car"?

Very funny, Honda Accord or Toyota Camry 100% make in USA factory, the US never claimerd it is their "national car" but still consider Japanese makes. Even Toyota and Honda almost 100% make in Thailand still consider as Japanese and not Thai. Our country make National brand for electrical products, just say made in Malaysia but never consider it is national products – damn real funny, "until die also want face" by merely put up their logo!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 8:19 am

They should badge it Maibatsu, with model names 'Thunder', 'Lightning', 'Zap', etc.

• acbc (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 9:09 am

Goodie… can swap with VR4 engines.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 9:27 am

Another "national car"???

well… like a mixture of 80% of Mit. Storm & 20% of Isuzu D-Max…

Wats the name again?? Daddy?? Wat a funky name ??

• freeze (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 10:13 am

Just add water… meaning they give you petrol vouchers for a few years

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 4:31 pm

This is what happens when you take an ageing Isuzu Rodeo and slap the D-Max's front end on it. The Chinese are very creative indeed. Seen their boxy "SUV" with a curvy Prado front end? That is just stunningly beautiful…if you know what I mean… :D

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 4:54 pm

At least it looks better than Tata Telcoline… but… Pickup with a 4G64????

• rexis (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 5:20 pm

the front looks sooo Dmax…

I think everybody curious about what the hell is "just add water" let me list down a few possibilities our blog readers suggested:

#1 – water = money, just add water = just pay

#2 – water = H2O, another break down to hydrogen and oxygen with a magic box skim/scam

heres my suggestion:

#a – water = cooling effect, spray water on intercooler = extra cooling = extra power n torque.

#b – water = evapourise expansion effect, inject water into hot cylinders and it will evapourise immediately and expand and generate half of the horses.

#c – mix water and diesel thru specific process, lower pollution and less diesel fuel burnt.

#d – the car has a self cleaning system, just add water and some car shampoo and it will clean itself up. Note: interior vacum not included.

#e – the car has a in-car drinking water supply system with hot and ice water supplied!

#f – @_@

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 5:38 pm

add water in its petrol tank!!.. stupid ads.. for few days only the logo appear.. what da heck.. what is LMG??.. macam peti sejuk aje.. now what r they try to say?… hydrogen engine??.. no way.. but thx to this blog, at least now i know what it is…

• NationalCarSupporter (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 7:13 pm

Just wait n see…

Hydogen Fuel will take over the NGV population.. :)

• synchro_k (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 7:52 pm

of course add water, this is not a 1940's volkswagon that doesnt use water radiators, just add water in the radiator la….if no water in the radiator how can it works? hehehe….but anyway, its kinda lame motto, 'just add water', hmm which reminds me of Warner Bros cartoon, ACME inc, Mr Coyote used to get this kind of weird stuff and the instruction is always 'just add water' and kabooshh!! A brand new rocket launcher! From this point i guess its an instant kind of car with cheap plastic, 'onion skin' metal, aluminium body strength same as aluminium can drinks or tin milo, bad paintworks, crappy gears and so on and so forth….. and the best thing is, U CAN ALWAYS SELL IT IN MALAYSIAAA!!! zzzZzzzzZzzzzz…

• rexis (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 8:02 pm

At first I thought the circle star looks like subaru, if china company, hmmm, not much expectation. Just wait and see.

• satrialover (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 8:06 pm

if I am not mistaken, this vehicle can also use hydrogen to reduce fuel consumption. There is maybe a machine in the vehicle to seperate the hydrogen from the water that is H20.

Highest chance is it runs on petrol and the water will be turned to hydrogen as alternative fuel to reduce petrol consumption.

• satrialover (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 8:18 pm

http://www.techreview.com/read_article.aspx?id=16…

This gives a new meaning to add water :-)

• szw (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 10:00 pm

dadi ?

da car looks so cheap lar .

who did da design ?

still stayin in da 90s ar ?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 11:23 pm

Maybe it runs on HYDROGEN!? So you add water, it breaks down the H2O to Hydrogen and Oxygen, and the hydrogen is burnt to power the vehicle!!? If it really is a hydrogen vehicle, it might be expensive. And also we have to be careful about hydrogen leaking. Remember the Hindenburg? But then they say the Hindenburg burnt due to the fabric used, not the hydrogen gas itself.

Who knows why add water but it must be the most talked about teaser in Malaysian automotive history. WHY ADD WATER!? Creative eh?

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 11:45 pm

Ok, this might be the answer…

Cleaner-Burning Fuel? Just Add Water

For years, energy-company researchers have been trying to mix oil and water. The goal was to create a cleaner-burning fuel that could help meet tougher air-pollution standards. Now, Lubrizol Corp. may have the formula: a cocktail containing conventional diesel fuel, 10% to 20% purified water, and an emulsifier that keeps the liquids blended, like bottled salad dressing, for months. Although not typically found in fuel, water alters the combustion process, resulting in a cleaner burn.

Lubrizol recently finished field-testing its new fuel, called PuriNOx, in a fleet of mass-transit buses operating outside Cleveland. By switching to the new fuel, Lubrizol found it could cut emissions of soot by up to 55% and those of smog-forming nitrogen oxide by up to 32%. Because PuriNOx is so much cleaner, the California Air Resources Board will subsidize its use to meet stricter 2005 ozone standards. Why the extra funding? While the blend costs no more than regular fuel, it cuts mileage by about 10%. Lubrizol is now rolling out PuriNOx in California, Great Britain, and Italy.

By Michael Arndt
    http://www.businessweek.com/magazine/content/01_1…

So the LMG got some really high tech stuff under its bonnet.

• hackers (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 12:54 am

juz add water???? Is it steam engine??

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 2:54 am

Off-roading SUV, just add water? Let's see if I am right :P

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 5:52 pm

Eh.. really la.. add water in its petrol tank??.. but still a few of info.. paul, pls provide more info, cant u?

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 7:39 pm

Ok, I was at Zon Regency Hotel when PM visited this morning and picked up some brochures on the Tourer and Trekker. I couldn't see the vehicles as we weren't invited to sit in the presentation.

Obviously, LMG has got some revolutionary engine technology that could changed the world and renders Toyota hybrid investment worthless!

The Tourer and Trekker are powered by the world's first production "water-gasoline & diesel" hybrid engines.

There are two tanks – one for fuel and the other for water. As water enters a cannister, it is split into hydrogen and oxygen and then enters the fuel injection system and mixed with gasoline or diesel to power the vehicle.

LMG claims that the water hybrid engines consume 50% less petrol/diesel than a conventional one.

It is an honor that Malaysian and Chinese developed this piece of important technology that could threaten the exisitence of the oil companies :)

• asimo (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 7:43 pm

huhu..sudah keluar…cuma guna air sebagai minyak..COOL GILER..KENAPA TAK PERCAYA…PAKAI AIR SAJE BRO….

• rexis (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 7:46 pm

Really hope that this is the real thing and not another "magic canister" scam.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 7:54 pm

A new revolutionary hybrid engine of water-petrol powered?

Since it's Mitsu sourced, will we get to see it in Proton's future Mitsu models (eg Perdana Replacement) ?

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 8:53 pm

Quite possibly LMG will license the technology.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 9:18 pm

Just add water? What the hell?

Paul,

please shed some light on this advert issue.

• insomnia (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 9:29 pm

It's a lousy ads but in the same time, it's also a good ads.

Why? It makes people think and successfully made you all dicussed about it too.

Bu the brand name, i don't know man, it's just doesn't feel right.

Who's your Dadi?? Hehehe.

• blunt (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 9:54 pm

add water..very interesting..nice info renyeo..pray hard this is true….

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 10:12 pm

While we wait for Paul, I have posted some images here for those who are keen to find out more.

http://motoring.asia1.com.sg/cgi-bin/motorbb/ulti…

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 10:23 pm

I believe it when i see it. :)

• blunt (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 10:42 pm

very suprised since nobody can smell about this before…not even a hint or rumours..for example..we talk about satria neo 2++ yrs before it was officially launched..but for this breakthrough tech..tup..tup dah ada..very secreative this LM star ..

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 10:46 pm

Very secretive n very dubious. :)

Run on 50% less fuel compared to the same engine without the technology…Thats very bold claim.

Anybody, more info please.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 11:29 pm

Ooops.. looks like i have to hold any car purchase.. this could be a great turning point for conventional engines…..

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 11:52 pm

I agree with you, Motorhead. I wonder what's the repercussions for Toyota's hybrid.

• asimo (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 12:19 am

pak lah just launch it..cuma tambah air

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 8:43 am

before this,never heard of this company call LMG,who's the owner,partner,malaysian or china owns,so mysterous,no background on this company,at least when naza launch their so call national car,we know naza background very well,definately not a fly by nite company,LMG,DALI,never heard of it,how to trust them and buy their vehicles,what if after couple of months of low sales,they decided to packs their beg and we the consumer are left with our dali with no spares and service,then is not add water but we are pour water away!

• rexis (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 2:48 am

renyeo, you are not believing in free energy arn't you?

Its just like a religion. Once people believe its hard to wipe it away.

• burp (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 10:19 pm

it's worth lorr.. with that price.. and the technology and more 52% of the part are from local supplier. we can say the quality was 70% improve lorrrr

• antilmg (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 8:21 am

If this technology can work, NASA will look for our scientist laa…. we can use water as a base for fuel to power rockets to outer space and Malaysia will be creating HISTORY!! Still sound like nonsense to me… the fact is… its BULLSHIT!

• azeman on Oct 23, 2010 at 2:42 pm

Thank’s to the scientist who developed this high tech. We proud. Governement should promote as Malaysian Founder Technolgy……Apply to all Malaysia engine