Subaru scraps aircraft grille

impreza_grille.jpg

Subaru’s controversial aircraft propellor-inspired grille that has appeared on the Subaru Tribeca and the Subaru Impreza will be tossed out the window with the next generation of models. I think it’s safe to say that most of us think the new grille is not exactly the most pleasing design to look at. It’s even been called “The Flying Vagina”.

The upcoming Subaru Impreza to be released in both sedan and hatchback form will feature yet another new corporate grille, which I hope is much more better looking than the current weird grille, though topping the current grille in a beauty contest isn’t exactly the hardest thing in the world to do.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• armandd (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 11:16 am

“The Flying Vagina”?? r u serious?, hahaha… this new grille looks way better.

• exodust (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 12:36 pm

@armandd: yeah, i totally agree. the old one looks so dull & unsporty. i really wonder why most people dont like the new grille. i didnt like it at first either, but i got used to it in less than a month

• demio121 (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 4:11 pm

aircraft propellor-inspired grille…!!! and i thought for a while Subaru wanted to be different for the sake of being different.

• yiaomo (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 5:43 pm

This sort of design won't appeal to those with conservative taste lar….

The Flying Vagina ??? Doesn't that sound sexy instead of being boring ???

All sexually straight guy should like it rather than loathing it. Hehehe…..

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 5:44 pm

Flying Vagina ??? hehehe….hmmmm…come to think of it, if you stare at it long enough and let your mind wonder a bit, it does look like a vagina. :-)

Let Subaru can redesign the front grill to look like a 'Flying Penis', but just make sure they don't touch the engine and road handling performance.

• drM (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 6:01 pm

hey.. i dont think there's anything wrong on that grill. seriously it looks great. more 'mature' i must say. And about the vagina thing, it doesn't look like one to me..cheerrs!

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 7:37 pm

That Subaru grill in the picture is quite frankly, hideous. There's too much details being cramped into the front part of the car. Keep it simple, look at Audi.

• KY (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 8:06 pm

did you just make that up? flying vagina? LOL

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 8:17 pm

Flying Vagina? Hmm…Then I guess mine's a heat-seeking missile!!

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 8:55 pm

Tehehee…..Paul, where does that come from? A "flying vagina"? Aiyoh! I guess the small Subaru logo represent the clitoris, eh? Hahaha…

Anyway, I don't think they've gone astray with the current aircraft grill. It's a lil awkward for a Subaru but not weird. But any changes, (good changes) are always welcome. As long as they move forward and make it better.

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 9:23 pm

the flying vagina… nice one… but i personally love the current new grille.. it matches the sharp looking headlights…

• szw (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 9:56 pm

da new grill takes time to luv it.

its not luv at 1st sight.

but when accepted d it actually looks nice.

jz like honda city , hehe !

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 10:11 pm

Honda City? Ahahaha…not for me la. I personally will never like the look of it. Never. Period.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 10:45 pm

Honda City may look like a certain fish but it is a refined car unlike the Vios. Anyway airborne vagina or not, I also like the new Subaru grille. Nampak more garang

• maxtek (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 11:08 pm

Hey Paul, don't insult the Subaru Design. Even me myself, I felt like killing Andreas Zapitanas for that stupid design. But since the leaked photos of the next generation Imprezas, I became thankful.

The current grille may look ugly, but the BMW 5 Series inspired eyes and it's AWD performance saved it from sales extinction. Haha…

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 1:19 am

ok what the grille, whats wrong with it?.. btw, I like vagina, anybody here don't?

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 2:08 am

the problem with Subaru not the grill.

but the overall body design and curve.

they msut get the right styling & even whatever kind of grill, the sales will be awesome.

• surfer_boy (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 3:41 am

I see nothing wrong with that grill, in fact, I really like it. I've always been the big fan of impreza. Many people used to said the rounded-headlight version was ugly. But I think it wasn't that bad either. I guess different individual has their own preference.

• DAN (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 5:32 am

what ever any thing is nice about Subaru!!!!

• sarawakguy (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 5:50 am

THE FLYING WHAA….? OOHH MY PETARA!!!! ( GOD in Iban…) why….grill looks ok to me maaa…and the car front reminds me of Ultraman i used to watch long time ago…

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 6:14 am

I won't mind bout the grill. As long as u get a machine with a boxer4 engine, an AWD system, and 280 horses underneath the hood, is more than enough to overlook the grill. Sigh.. when will i be able to afford this….

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 6:18 am

after looking at the car for 1 year. i agree it looks better than the old one. grill is ok. just make the nose bit smaller. nobody liked the bmw nostrils when most people were getting into cars. now its alright. but then again, its a bmw.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 10:16 am

If you look at the vagina grille (is it official now?) in isolation, maybe it seems a bit weird, like what Saab used to do on their 900 series cars.

But you shouldn't look at just the grille. The WRX nose design works as a whole and I guess it's a very successful clean-up of the original round lights version when it frist came out.

Subaru should stop feeling their way in the dark for a design language. Just stick to evolutions of the current one and be done with it!

• yytellmey (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 3:37 am

well, the current one is OK with me, i wouldn't mind owing a car like that =P

• raybrig85 (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 4:42 am

i dun like dis grille…yucks…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 6:34 pm

Selamat Menyambut Hari Merdeka ke-49 pada 31 Ogos 06 Kepada Semua Rakyat Malaysia.

• darkteror (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 10:11 pm

Its is sutaible 2 call the flying vagina cause it does look like vagina kekek