Perodua to enter used car market

white_myvi_small.jpgPerusahaan Otomobil Kedua Sdn Bhd (Perodua) is set to follow Toyota’s footsteps with TopMark and venture into the used-car business in a year’s time. Perodua Managing Director Syed Hafiz Syed Abu Bakar says Perodua has been studying the used car market over the past one year, including observing how Japan conducts it’s second hand vehicle auction concept that is so successful that it attracts international buyers.

Syed Hafiz says in matured markets, there will be fewer and fewer first-time buyers of new cars, just like what is happening in Malaysia now. Perhaps over here it is more of the fact that first time car buyers are usually very young and have just started working, and with their meagre salaries they cannot go anywhere else but turn to the second hand car market. Perodua’s used car business will deal in both Perodua and non-Perodua makes.

As for it’s new car business, the Myvi is still doing well and Perodua will invest RM295 million to incraese capacity to 240,000 units from it’s current capacity of 205,000. Perodua also wants to lit it’s export volume to 10,000 units a year from the current 3,000 units.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pirate (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 11:42 pm

Good to be the first here to post a comment!

Anyway, it's a good move by Perodua to sustain its sales momentum, since depending on 3rd party used car dealers can get unreliable and insulting to potential trade-in buyers.

• drM (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 11:53 pm

I am not quite understand the concept of selling second hand cars like Topmark and the thing P2 is doing..As far as i know, the prices are quite low.but how low? the reability factor also should be serious concerned..but, for sure, I will try to have new ones rather than second hand cars..cheers!

• clutch_plate (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 12:50 am

In my opinion, if the price is only have a different about RM2000 – RM5000, better buy a brand new car!

• craziqbal (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 1:07 am

for me..i won't buy cars from top mark..for it's quite expensive when comparing with other second hand car dealers…they mark up the price because of the 1-year guarantee..hopefully perodua won't go down the same road…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 2:42 am

yala…better buy a brand new..

• tango5 (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 4:05 am

P2 MD said they are observing the Japs 2nd hand auction. If P2 decides to go this way, does this means we'll see reconditionned P2 abroad? I wonder where will it be..

• szw (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 4:55 am

used car ?

dey shud enter dat market coz theres lots of used perodua which is a runnin tin can .

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:06 am

Not a good idea as this 2nd hand compact car low value do not warrant P2 to involve in 2nd car biz. If include other brand, how competitive they are?

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 7:55 am

Why not over one year got sec hand on the market already ??…. coz.. wat you can see, most of them are full spec auto ,fuel consumption takes high thats why….

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 8:26 am

Heard a lot of P2 ee leaves the company due to a lot of Japs taking over.

Hmmm, support P2, support Toyota, support Japs…..Merdeka….!!!!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 11:58 am

i think this is a get-ready step for manufactures to start a 2nd hand car biz since thy r anticipating the 15yr scrap policy to be implemented soon..it could be thy know sting that the ordianry u n me dont know….btw…those kind of concepts are not only locally bound..counld be easily exported to 3rd world countries like africa…in europe thy r doing it for decades…

• Ralliace (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 6:42 pm

Not suprising for Perodua to follow Toyota in this aspect. After all, Perodua's business model is typically influenced by Toyata.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 6:49 pm

Toyota=Daihatsu=Perodua

Perodua=Daihatsu=Toyota

Daihatsu=Toyota=Perodua

Get it?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 8:41 pm

SatriaGuy said,

September 5, 2006 @ 10:49 am

Toyota=Daihatsu=Perodua

proton-power window-door handle

door handle-proton-power window

power window-door handle-proton

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 6:51 am

U think a car company's success is measured by incessant faults on its cars alone? Surely you cannot be that shallow.

Look at Ford, they are losing money and had to get rid of Jaguar and Aston.

Anybody cares to tell me whats wrong in that car making giant?

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 7:01 am

Proton is a sick company right now but there's no reason to put it to sleep.

I believe it is like a sick person, you just need to send it to the doctor and diagnose the disease and cure it. Right now, a thorough prognosis is being carried out by the new team and of course, by administering new treatments, the weak body is bound to suffer a little pain.

But that's common when you are in the process of getting rid of a disease. The thing for us to do is just sit by the bed and hope it will get better soon.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 8:16 am

SatriaGuy said,

Toyota=Daihatsu=Perodua

Perodua=Daihatsu=Toyota

Daihatsu=Toyota=Perodua

Get it?

——————————

Toyota>Daihatsu>Perodua

PeroduaPerodua

Talk about P1 sickness, it is diagnoss with AIDS – Auto(P1) Is Dying Soon! So no cure don't need prescription to get rid of disease.

P1 = High Price = Unsafe car = Cheap Life = Low Quality

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 10:15 am

good luck…

2nd hand kancil?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 6:33 pm

just dont think too much or try to hide the facts la…Ford Jaguar Aston …Proton is not even comparable not in the same league the mentioned three is car/truck/lorry but Proton is only "overpriced jointly cheap moving metal come with problems as standard".

Come la Ford Jaguar Aston involve in F1/Le Mans/WRC for long time,but Proton is spoil brat like a drug addict or mat rempit or snacth thieft….

p/s they are some sickness are curable but some you have to let it go,Proton is human creation it is not God act so it can start and definitely it can stop.If the G want to use EPF/SOCSO or any "rakyat" moeny then try la, see what happen during the day where "X" is precious.

one question "why you people put think Proton is superior?come on la 22 years only in Msian market.SatriaGuy wake up la, it is ok for you to drive Proton but later you need to change to a "car" then you know why.

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 1:45 am

a no of new car company venture into 2nd hand cars buisness to encourage ppl to trade in their cars for their new cars ,due to high overhead and usally higher trade in price,these 2nd cars normally are priced a lot higher then those average joe usecar dealers,with exorbitant showroom,aircon office,too many manager,etc,etc,compair to average joe container office and roadside openair natural showroom,do you think,the prices will be fair?and most of the time,their price are not bargainable!

• rexis (Member) on May 22, 2008 at 10:20 am

But isn’t that 2nd hand perodua car usually fetch higher price then proton 2nd hand car? A 5 years old kenari can sell like a 5 years old waja.

Furthermore if its directly from the car maker, it should give more value to it.