Å koda Joyster Concept

skoda_joyster.jpg

This is the Å koda Joyster Concept, Å koda’s vision for a new B-segment compact car that might make it into production as the new Å koda Fabia hatchback in the year 2007. The current Å koda Fabia is based on the Volkswagen Polo platform – watch out for a test drive report soon on the Fabia 1.4 hatch.

Skoda is a company that has pretty much filled up the market segment where Volkswagen used to be – as Volkswagen has moved up a notch in the market, no longer concentrating on making cheap basic cars that everyone can afford.

The Skoda Joyster Concept design study will be presented alongside other innovations from Å koda Auto at the Paris Motor Show on Thursday 28th September, 2006.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• armandd (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 2:24 pm

it looks a bit like VW golf..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 4:21 pm

No it does not. Not even close.

• FarinaRacer (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 4:59 pm

this car like our NEO…

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 5:08 pm

Hmmm… I did a chop based on the Skoda Roomster. It was my impression of a hatchback smaller than the Fabia. Maybe the new Fabia will look like my chop, albit bigger
    http://img70.imageshack.us/img70/7485/contest072h…

• Xoomie (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 5:58 pm

I tot is was a little brother of 1 Series Beemer

• drM (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 7:41 pm

errmm….its 3-4 years in advance? but, concept cars are not somekind of guarantee, right? some of them dont really make it to production line and remains concept as ever..but this skoda really making a statement. bravado!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 7:43 pm

The Lancia Stratos glassware pops up every now and then, again and again proving that Bertone had a genius concept!

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 7:59 pm

looks like a satria neo? hahahahahahaha

probably sharing the same platform as the vw iroc.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 10:02 pm

maibatsu_thunder said,

September 20, 2006 @ 11:43 am

The Lancia Stratos glassware pops up every now and then, again and again proving that Bertone had a genius concept!

Wished more cars had it. Amazing front visibility. However, looks like this concept jsut has disguised A pillars, real wrap-around greenhouses would be nice.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 10:05 pm

+

Ever tried doing spirited drives up mountain passes often enough? You'd probably wished the A-pillar isn't that intrusive, especially on that tight right hander.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 12:13 am

Comparatively speaking..,Savvy's back reminds me of ULTRAMAN, but this front view,correct me if I'm wrong- looks like POWER RANGERS!!!!

Wonder what will the next "new" P1 model going to look like..?

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 12:18 am

wish can have this one in Taxland / Bolehland sometime in future..

• AMG (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 7:23 am

Cool!! I like the yellow

• geminas (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 10:46 am

the front like savvy a bit..:P

• motberg (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 8:26 pm

guys… can we stop comparing and saying it looks a bit like like this, looks a bit like tat? becoz the fact is ALL cars tend to look like some other car in some way or another. This is due to designers using computers to give them the optimum use of space/safety/features, etc all in one.

I don't deny that some auto manufacturers do copy outright, but in most cases, it just looks like you've seen it some where before. Unless it's a Citroen, then their designs are out of this world… :)

• szw (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 11:50 pm

it looks more like swift to me , hehe !