Hammond down

richard-hammond.jpgTop Gear presenter Richard Hammond was seriously hurt after the dragster-style jet-powered car capable of reaching speeds of more than 482km/h he was in crashed while filming an episode of Top Gear.

The Top Gear team was trying to break the British land speed record, and the car had previously done one run that exceeded 482km/h. The team was doing one last round and he was travelling at about 482km/h when the crash happened. The car suddenly veered off to the right side and crashed, ending up upside down and dug in to the ground. Hammond is currently in a serious but stable condition, but no further information was released at request of his family.

Let’s all pray for a quick recovery.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mockviper (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 12:00 am

hope that he's ok.

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 12:25 am

Yea, hope he gets well soon.

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 12:56 am

This guy is the nicest of all the top gear presenters. When I went to the top gear recording a couple of years ago, at the end of the show, Clarkson and May went straight home. But Richard stayed around to chat with the crowd, even though from his face you can obviously see that he was really tired, and his wife and kids were waiting quietly at the back. Really top bloke. Hope he gets well soon.

• ilmondo (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 1:00 am

yeap.. hope he get well soon..

• cyder300 (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 1:33 am

Yep, o'Hamster is a top bloke in deed, May the good Lord bless this man and keep him safe…..

• Cire (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 1:55 am

They have risked their lives in order to keep us from harm. They have went to the limits in order to let us know where it is.

This are one of the many unsung heroes that we are so taken for granted for.

Lets hope and pray that he is alright.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 2:02 am

Please don't be like Steve Irwin…..

May God bless him

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 2:20 am

may god bless dis hamster…gt well soon…

• DtG (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 2:28 am

Jeremy and James will never be as entertaining as present without Hamster by their side. With that said, Richard, please get better because I'm looking forward to two things in the very near future:

1. Hearing Hammond is on his feet again

2. Watching the episode of Top Gear where The Hamster makes a happy return.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 3:41 am

First The Stig was killed, now, Hammond risked his life, all in the name of entertainment..

Is it worth it?

I say YES. Because, these people are not like us. They don't do what they do for the money alone. They have passion and like Senna and Irwin, would put their life on the line doing what they love..

We should learn from them

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 3:49 am

Richard is 'improving' from BBC TOP GEAR

Richard Hammond is 'improving' but remains seriously ill in hospital after a crash in a jet-powered car.

The accident happened during filming for the new series of Top Gear at the former RAF airfield in Elvington, near York.

Richard was taken by air ambulance to Leeds General Infirmary's neurological unit. A hospital spokesman said this morning: "He has seen some improvement overnight, but remains in a serious but stable condition."

Richard's wife Mindy and their daughters Willow and Isabella are at his bedside. We'll update you on his condition as we find out more, but for now our thoughts are with his family.

We've spoken to Jeremy this morning – he's visited Richard and Mindy in Leeds and you can read his statement here.

Obviously the crash will be fully investigated by the Health and Safety Executive and the BBC.

The BBC said in a statement: "We are looking into all the factors of this accident and it would be inappropriate to comment further at this stage until we know the full situation."

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 3:50 am

No more Steve Irwin!!!!no more Hammond??

For god sake,don't they have any regulation regarding the acts that they should and shouldn't do when filming???

Sigh,how he's ok…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 3:52 am

Hope he's teeth is still in good condition. LoL~ anyway, hope that hamster's fine. :)

• eeheng (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 4:06 am

hope he will be ok…

like him so much, what a nice guy…

god bless you, hammond…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 4:11 am

I love people dying for doing their favourite job. (Yeah i know he didn't, and its such a lost for Steve Irwin) But hey, rather than dying choking from some meatball, or dying from constipation, these heroes died because they're at least not doing something for themselves. Heroes, yes they are.

• DtG (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 4:13 am

#

SatriaGuy said,

September 21, 2006 @ 7:41 pm

First The Stig was killed, now, Hammond risked his life, all in the name of entertainment..

Just in case i misunderstood…. The Stig's character was "killed off" at 1 point of the Top Gear tv program. that fella's alive and kicking, or should i say speeding!

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 4:36 am

Please do get well soon, Richard. My prayers go out to the Hamster and his family for a speedy recovery.

• african (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 5:37 am

This type of dangerous act does not make any sense.Why not test something which can benefit the future of mankind and the earth. Putting a jet engine on 4 wheels to test the speed cannot prove anything other than wasting the limited resources of the world, pollute the environment and risk some one life. He is no way a hero.

I hope he gets well again soon.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 6:04 am

Hang in there Hamster! Top Gear would never be the same without you.

I've endured over three months of agony for the new season of Top Gear but I'm willing to endure a little more for the sake of Hammond's recovery.

God bless

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 6:34 am

Update

Richard Hammond is still in the ICU, and there's still no improvement to his condition.

The police have been called to make a formal investigation onto the incident, while the BBC have confirmed that all the required health and safety measures weretaken beforehand.

• xXx (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 6:54 am

Dear Hamster, may God grace is showered upon you and that you make a speedy and full recovery. TopGear will never be the same without you.

TopGear is not TopGear without their resident elf and Hamster. Our prayers are all for you old mate!

• i'm run (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 7:02 am

*1 minute of silence…. and pray for Richard Hammond*

• Din (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 7:06 am

Hammond, I wish you well. Pull yourself through man.

• Elessar (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 7:32 am

Hamster o hamster, may God bless you and may you get well soon.Car entertainment programmes will never be the same without you. we're all praying for you here. Take care.

• geforce (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 7:37 am

I like this Top Gear presenter as he is more friendly and the way he presents in the tv show is much more gentle and polite than Jeremy.

Pray for the god and really wish him get well soon.

• geforce (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 7:39 am

Sigh, really really wish he can get well soon.

• rcv (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 8:50 am

Pity this guy…

Hope he can get well soon..

• nulltrix (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 10:29 am

hope him get well soon..

but, do anyone got the vids or pics? wanna see lol~

• geforce (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 11:12 am

hope he get well soon.

• RangeRover4Eva (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 11:13 am

Hamster…. Get well mate. You are a top bloke and cheeky blighter.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 1:22 pm

Top Gear presenter Richard Hammond has suffered a "significant brain injury" after crashing a jet-powered car at speeds of up to 300mph during filming.

Doctors at Leeds General Infirmary said they were "reasonably optimistic" the 36-year-old would make a good recovery.

Referring to Hammond by his nickname, Clarkson said in statement: "Both James and I are looking forward to getting our 'hamster' back."

The presenter had been driving a jet-powered dragster similar to the Vampire – used by Colin Fallows to set the British land speed record of 300.3mph.

A spokesman for the firm said the vehicle Hammond was driving "had been prepared and was being operated to the highest of standards".

Top Gear has courted controversy in the past over its big-budget car stunts, and in 1999 a group of MPs criticised the series for being "obsessed with acceleration and speed".

Last year, lobby group Transport 2000 called for the show to be taken off the air accusing it of "glamorising speed and failing to make the connection with danger on the roads".

At the time, Hammond defended the programme, saying: "Top Gear is an entertaining show, for people that are interested in cars, that is driven by people who have been motoring journalists for many, many years."

Hammond had to be cut free from the car on Wednesday evening after eyewitnesses at the Elvington airfield near York described how he "veered off to the right" and the car's parachutes were deployed.

BTW: The 'real Stig' was really killed. Not the character. The new Stig is a replacement race driver. Probably Phil Bennett(ex BTCC) or Damon Hill..

• jtshin (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 2:42 pm

yup… hope he gets well soon… got the news yesterday…

• Kaboda (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 6:38 pm

Very sad update on this story, Richard Hammond has apparently suffered quite extensive brain damage read about it here

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2-2006430740,0…

Very very sad news.

Tiff Needell ex top gear talks about the crash

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2-2006440051,0…

• rexis (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 7:07 pm

OMG, hope Richard is okay.

• geforce (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 7:45 pm

Satriaguy, may I know when and how did the real stig die? I thought the stig is still the remaining ex-F1 driver?

Is there any news abt this as well?

• foreverunited (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 7:49 pm

die fast la bro…kuang3 sure kena bash one..

• DtG (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 9:21 pm

#

geforce said,

September 22, 2006 @ 11:45 am

Satriaguy, may I know when and how did the real stig die? I thought the stig is still the remaining ex-F1 driver?

Is there any news abt this as well?

Yea… i want to know too… I've been following Top Gear for so long and knew nothing about this. all i know is 'his character' was killed of at one point of the show. never knew that the original Stig really died.

• Elessar (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 11:21 pm

SatriaGuy,

Are you sure that the real stig really died? As far as i know, his character died just because his identity was revealed. what actually happened?

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 1:10 am

black stig died jumping off from a british aircraft carrier, HMS Invincible. tat's right! the black stig died from invincible.

the new stig is call the white stig… some sources confirmed at one point that stig who drove the renault F1 in top gear was indeed Heikki Kovalainen. however, the stig identity is still mysterious.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 1:30 am

african said,

September 21, 2006 @ 9:37 pm

This type of dangerous act does not make any sense.Why not test something which can benefit the future of mankind and the earth. Putting a jet engine on 4 wheels to test the speed cannot prove anything other than wasting the limited resources of the world, pollute the environment and risk some one life. He is no way a hero.

Yo african, are you nuts or plain stupid? If it hadn't for explorers, there wouldn't be electricity, bullet trains, space shuttles. If we stay comfort on our laurels, nothing could be achieved, perhaps you're right, if not for western people's exploring habits, there wouldn't be 'useful' weapons for you africans to engage in civil wars right?

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 1:35 am

Update:

Richard hammond have been moved out from the ICU unit. Doctors are confident that he will make a good recovery

source: BBC Radio 1 news update

• xXx (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 2:36 am

a certain "african" quotes

"This type of dangerous act does not make any sense.Why not test something which can benefit the future of mankind and the earth. Putting a jet engine on 4 wheels to test the speed cannot prove anything other than wasting the limited resources of the world, pollute the environment and risk some one life. He is no way a hero."

What this native doesn't see (perhaps bad eyesight and not wearing glasses more because he doesnt realise these things exist) and understand (they're natives man! What you expect?) that men never ending thirst for speed has brought about loads of improvement for all of mankind, natives even if he would come out from his environtmentally friendly and earth resourse saving cave home. Had the Wright brothers not dream about flight, which was a proposterous idea at that time, would we be able today to have breakfast first in Japan and then again in London in the same day? Well the native probably got to hunt twice for that….

Talking about heroes… dont even get me started.

• Cire (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 3:08 am

For petrol heads here, he is our Hero.

Too bad this is not your cup of tea. Perhaps for some ppl., going round and round a circuit is stupid and polluting to the environment. But for some, that is what we moron called sport.

Hm… I wondered what stupidity that caused men challenged each other to put a small ball in to a hole the size of marie biscuits?

Just dumpfounding.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 3:14 am

HOPE HE RECOVERS SOON.. I have know R.Hammond for being very opposite of jeremy , in which i like. His opinions are very constructive and not total bullshite most of the time.

hope he recovers fast ! may god speed his recovery!

• geforce (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 4:23 am

Yes, let us pray for him and may the god bless him. I really like R.Hammond for his show compared with Jeremy Clarkson. I used to follow Top Gear, Fifth Gear these 2 shows for 2 years and I really hope nothing bad happens on him.

May god bless him!!!

• xXx (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 5:33 am

yeah may God speed his recovery. Hammond you are still needed for the cool wall! Dont let Jeremy ruin it!

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 6:17 am

well,guess good guys always get god's call,thinks god would never invite jeremy for a chat. sincerely wish he will recover soon!

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 7:31 am

The news came as a shock to me. I hope he'll recover soon. My condolence to his family and friends.

Btw, I havent get to read all the comment above. But this is what I found. Check it out.

http://www.finalgear.com/

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 7:49 am

I just remember something though. If you guys have been following the Top Gear, you must have realize that, everytime the went on a test, they always put Richard. I was just watching an episode from the 3rd season of Top Gear just before the news of the crash came out, where Richard tested on what could happen if you drown inside a car. Another test was, which one is tougher in ice cold weather, a man or a car (featuring Ciroen C1). I mean, look at all those tests. All were taken by our favourite Richard. He's a brave man. Just for the sake of our knowledge and entertainment.

Get well soon Mr. Hammond!

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 6:20 pm

aksMs said,

September 22, 2006 @ 11:49 pm

I just remember something though. If you guys have been following the Top Gear, you must have realize that, everytime the went on a test, they always put Richard…

——————————————————————

sad to happen, prayers to him hopefully he will be ok in the end. Top Gear's humor will not be the same without him. regarding the above…i think we can also put in the age factor. hammond is in his late-30s and pretty much in much better shape and health condition then the other 2 i think. mind u, if not of his bad back i.e. prolapsed disc, jeremy wouldve wanted to go on this all the same!!

• DtG (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 9:28 pm

DarkL1ghT, i agree completely with your last question. Jeremy is very much the kind of chap who would eagerly get himself into these kind of dangerously fun activities. apart from his big mouth, i think he has the most guts among the three. anyway, i shouldn't be talking bout Clarkson now… it's all about unlucky ol' Hamster. really hope to see him in TopGear again in the future. hope he gets well soon.

• xXx (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:39 am

the Hamster walks! Yay!!!

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 9:05 am

Richard Hammond has taken his first steps on the road to recovery as he got up and walked, just 30 hours after his 280mph crash in a jet-powered dragster.

"Just 30 hours after what is almost certainly the world's fastest ever car crash, Richard Hammond suddenly sat up in bed opened his eyes and asked what had happened," Jeremy Clarkson told the Sun.

"'You've been in a car accident,' I said. 'Was I driving like a twat?' he asked. Before getting out of bed and walking shakily to the lavatory."

James May, issued a statement saying: "I've had a conversation with Hammond. Not a long one, but it was a conversation. I want to say this – doctors are cautiously optimistic about his recovery because doctors have to be.

"I'm not a doctor but I am his mate and I believe that deep inside the Hammond I know is perfectly intact."

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 9:21 am

hammond is my fav top gear presenter. he is well no doubt. pagani should give him a free zonda as a recovery gift.

clarkson is still the main man of top gear. without him top gear wont be as good. and he certainly makes hammond look better no doubt. but the interaction between 3 of them certainly make the show good even though the main attention of people are focused on the arguments between clarkson and hammond.

btw i think clarkson has a bit better driving skills than hammond. evne though all of them have exceptional skills.

anyway….like i said, give him his full health back faster and a zonda.

• szw (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 6:03 am

good luck mate

• soporific (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 6:39 pm

umm, actually, he didnt crash at 482km/h did he? that is the current british land speed record. he was trying to break it, and observers feel he was closer to 450km/h at the time of the crash.

• ilmondo (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 1:16 am

any updates on him? i hav checked topgear official website.. but thr is not many news on this. anyway, goodluck richard. get well soon..