Getz pwns Prius in GreenFleet Challenge

newgetz.jpg

In GreenFleet’s Capital Fuel Challenge, the Hyundai Getz 1.5 CRDi turbodiesel won first place for the private sector category, beating a Toyota Prius 1.6 petrol hybrid which got 2nd place as well as a Volkswagen Caddy 1.9 TDi turbodiesel which ended up third.

The test was conducted in London traffic, with speeds averaging from 5 to 10 mph, yup – this isn’t a highway test. City traffic only. The Getz managed to get 45.15 mpg, while the Prius only got 32.43 mpg. The third place Caddy managed 36.53 mpg, better than the Prius, but it lost the 2nd place to the Prius because Prius emissions were slightly lower – 201.85 CO2 g/km versus 204.31 CO2 g/km for the Caddy.

In the public sector category, there was a Prius which managed 45.71 mpg, as opposed to the 32.43 mpg for the Prius in the private sector category – this shows that Prius fuel efficiency is highly dependant on external factors – perhaps the driver in this case. Still, 45.71 mpg in the best performing Prius is only slightly better than the Getz’s 45.15 mpg.

Perhaps hybrids are overrated after all.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cyder300 (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 12:16 am

Time and again it is proven that diesel engines beat the hitech hybrid by miles. There will be a boom and demand for diesel engines in a big way over here in Asia for passenger cars, just like in Europe.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 12:19 am

Good test, now these hybrid users might be angry, coz they had paid more but yet still not save enough fuel cost compare to a normal gasoline engine.

Funny. :P

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 12:24 am

Paul, do you know the list of chanllegers on this test?

Who knows your KANCIL might be possible to beat this Hyundai GETZ and Prius too. :P

• demio121 (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 12:37 am

right now diesel is best bet to counter the rising fuel cost but diesel still depend on fossil fuel production & price though it may not cost as much as petrol.

For long (… very long) term, i think a total departure from fossil fuel will be good. Given time, electric car technology will mature and run as efficient as cars today.

Now… back to today, when are we gonna get affordable diesel locally?

I am not sure but i was told our diesel quality won't work with the latest diesel engine. is this true???

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 12:42 am

its a well known fact that a proper high tech diesel do actually save more fuel than a hybrid…

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 12:46 am

Diesel is the way to go as opposed to the hype that Hybrid Cars save a lot of view but in fact it costs a lot to own one..

• Tracks (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 12:53 am

The modern turbo diesel engines churns out comparable power but much higher torque as compared to their petrol equivalent. Furthermore, they have excellent fuel economy and lower emission as well. Cars with diesel engines meant for Malaysia had been tuned and accustomed to our quality of fuel. Just make sure that the reqular service interval are follow strictly.

I think electric car is not the only option in the future as electricity need to be generated in the first place. Power generartion using nature forces only supplement a small fraction of what we are getting today. Perhaps, bio fuel would be a replacement for fossil fuel after its depletion.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 1:15 am

yeah its time to poularize disel, centainly save money, gonna be hot caces in sold in malaysia, as rm/liter is so much a concern now.

its less sulfurous ,though a bit ugly with that black particles,and sometime people put discarded chips oil to the unmodified disel engine (extreme side) ,……perferformance? turbo will do. .driving wise, relax high speed crusing at low rpm. what more we want,

for the same rm/litre it bet u can drive bigger, more confortable, and safer car than the kancil.

eeeeeeeeeehem new road tax structure for disel engine or new prise for disel?

please please no no no…..oooo

• trav_da_man (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 1:22 am

I guess this is Toyota's way to fool more ppl and make more money by acting to be environment friendly though creating hybrid cars. These hybrid cars only benefited by creating low emmission, as now emmission in western countries are alot stricter.

Hybrids are just a hype, but the sucess of hybrids were contributed by the rising price of fuel and the great num of celebrities driving it. I wonder how much Toyota is paying them to drive them out.

I remember Jeremy Clarkson's review on the toyota prius saying that hybrids are overrated, as diesel cars has better FC than hybrids. Unfortunatelly, Toyota has got into hollywood by brainwashing some celebrities telling that hybrids are cool to save the environment. That why we see cameron diaz owning one and leonardo dicaprio owns 3!

At least the europeans are smart enough thinking diesels are the most economical and the way of the future…….too bad the yanks think otherwise.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 1:37 am

I don't think anyone sells Diesel passenger cars in US, do they? Maybe sulphur content is just too high. The cars would cost a bit more than equivalent spec gasoline engines though.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 2:33 am

for the us patrol considered cheap, that why they dont mine driving 3lite 4litre even 5litre or more, bigger engine is common place.(they used to big blocks)

but when talking about pollution. regardless patrol or disel 1 person driving 5litre mustang not the same as a person produce fumes from its 1.5litre car here, so who pollute the most.the us or the US

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 3:22 am

but well…anyway http://www.worldproutassembly.org/archives/2005/0….

disels not clean though

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 3:50 am

Maibatsu,

Most of the arrogant and ignorant Americans will never move away from their big mentality block of big-block engines. A friend of mine from Houston once said, "2.0-litre? That's a lawn-mower for Christ's sake! 4.6-litre is more like it."

Anyway, turbodiesel has come a long way and is getting more competitive by the day. I used to drive a 1997 Prado 3.0-litre turbodiesel around town and on the motorway, and I thought the engine was very torquey. Recently I drove a 2006 Previa 2.0 D-4D and was impressed by the its flexibility. Only the idle-speed rattle tells you it is a diesel. Torque? I did an unintentional wheelspin while coming out of a junction – and the engine was not revving THAT high…

So, the conclusion is __________ (Finish the sentence in your own words.)

• szw (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 4:08 am

diesel always rox.

only ppl frm donno which century say diesel sux.

btw, y they don't sell da diesel edition in m'sia, i wanted to get my hands on 1 .

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 4:39 am

more plus point.

-engine durability and logevity of life span extended due to the a relaxed operation (low rpm characteristic).less wear and tear as on the high reeving patrol's

-fumes ..,for that amount of emition it already covers more miles thn petrol.

-noisy rattle sound..,damped as tech advances. even acceptable now, .

-service…, all car shoud be serviced ,kancil, 240d, ferrari, saga,f340

-frequent commuting, …, fuel/rd tax cover already.

come on it a good deal

(even alfa got disel)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 6:41 am

Paul said, "The test was conducted in London traffic, with speeds averaging from 5 to 10 mph,"

———–

London exist for more than 1,000 year and most of the current roads at city centre (except Motorway like M5) is narrow and basically designed to accommodate pedestrian and horse carriage. Somemore, most of the buildiing is "half" storey lower than road level simply because the road is tar and keep on laid with new layer over time immemorial. Therefore, the above criterion use to test this 3 car is likely based on "horse carriage criteria" in term of road conditions and speed, which is "not conclusive" to objectively test the average FC.

If this 3 car bring to Kedah and test at muddy paddy field with "tractor speed and road condition", perhaps this car even can't move 10 meter by the time they use up full tank!

Who is this "poor guy" use this "ancient transport mode variables" to test modern car FC!

• Paul Tan on Oct 20, 2006 at 10:19 am

Joe: You got to be kidding me. I've just got back from central London (St Martins Lane area, near the National Art Gallery) and the roads are nothing like what you've described. Even in the City, it's mostly 2 lane roads, not 1 lane. And it doesn't move as slow as horse carriage, the only jams/slowdowns are at the traffic lights. The roads are not half story above the ground floor of buildings as well.

And as for your arguement on average FC, it's clearly stated in the source link, click the link text "Capital Fuel Challenge" where the car was tested, what speed it was tested, etc. It did not make any claims that it was testing AVERAGE fuel consumption.

Give it some thought, while everyone can agree highway cruising produces the best fuel economy for almost all cars, what matters is how much fuel is consumed during stop and go traffic!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 4:20 pm

Thanks, noted your informative and constructive clarification!

• renyeo (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 10:27 pm

To put things into the correct perspective, we should view hybrid as a tool to improve mileage on larger cars. For a car the size of the Prius, it can't match the Getz for fuel economy if it is not for its hybrid engine while on the other hand, diesel engines couldn't match the Prius' cleaner emissions either.

It would make a lot more sense if they pitch a Getz against a hybrid Yaris (if there's one actually).

• king (Member) on Oct 22, 2006 at 1:06 pm

hybrid cars still not impressive enough to offset the exra premium that you need to pay for it. just another gimmick.

• drdamn (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 7:13 am

I think there is some misunderstanding of why people have hybrid cars here. It is not purely a cost saving exercise – they aren't cheap cars to buy for a start. It is about emissions, and not just CO2 but particulates. You will see from the article that with the Public Sector Prius the MPG is comparable to the Getz but the emissions were significantly less.

Also as mentioned by someone else the Prius is not a comparable car to a Getz in terms of size, comfort and features.

On the subject of cost and given the location of the test you might also want to include the cost of congestion charge to cost per mile of the Getz ;-)

• floyd2006 (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 5:21 pm

I read that the merc M Class diesel version ML280 and ML320 will never make it to malaysia for the obvious reason – inferior diesel fuel quality.

Bad news, X5 doesnt get its contender landing here in the form of diesel powered luxury off roader.

• CyberJack (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 3:15 am

The title of this thread is completely misleading — anyone who bothered to read the original article will see that the Prius run by Bexley council gave better MPG than the Getz *and* considerably lower CO2 emissions; and, obviously, lower particulate emissions, more space, and greater comfort.

Perhaps you should recaption it as "5-seater hybrid hatchback proves greener than diesel micro-car" :-)