Honda Accord 2.4 VTi-L Facelift Test Drive

accordtestdrive1.jpg

The Honda Accord was recently facelifted for the 2006 model earlier this year, with subtle changes in front and something more radical at the back, but if you want details on what’s changed, I’ll have to point you to my previous post on the launch. Here, I’ll be providing an account of my experience driving the car around the roads of Langkawi for 1 day, as well as 3 days in the KL city. I tested the 2.4 litre model.

Test drive report after the jump.

accordtestdrive3.jpg

The first thing most will notice about the new Accord is the completely redesigned butt. While many would say the Accord is ripping off the Mercedes Benz E-Class with this design, its actually more American influenced. The story is, the Americans hated the pre-facelift Accord sedans butt but loved the Accord Coupes. Even pre-facelift, the Accord Coupe already had a rear end designed that looked like this, so with the facelift, the new Accord sedans butt was given a similar treatment, which Honda says is more sporty, but that is up to personal tastes of course – debatable! Since we get the same Accord as the Americans, we have to make do with the new butt as well. Apparently the new butt is slightly more aerodynamic as well, and reduces drag coefficient, but its a percentage really too small for even Honda themselves to promote, so they didnt. The new tail lamps are lit up by LEDs, and man, they’re really bright. The front end receives Hondas new floating style grille, and foglamps are now standard on all trim levels.

accordtestdrive5.jpg

accordtestdrive8.jpg

As you get into the car, a combination of wood and a cream interior gives the Honda Accord a very spacious and upmarket feel. Turn on the ignition and you’ll be greeted by relatively huge self-illuminating meters lighting up, slowly increasing in brightness until you crank the engine up – where it goes up another step to full brightness. Nice effect. If it’s dark, you’ll notice the ambient lights lighting up the area below the dashboard, gives the interior a nice mood, for the passengers sitting in front anyway.

The 2.4 litre model comes with cream leather seats, instead of the fabric ones on the 2.0 litre model. Theyre snug and supportive for what theyre worth, and I like the driving position, the rake and reach adjustable steering wheel allows the steering wheel to be exactly where I want it, the armrest is in a good position for me to do real arm resting (unlike say, the one on the Cefiro A32), and the newly redesigned cobra head gear shift feels good in your hands. Initially, I couldn’t find the cupholders, but later I found out they are hidden in a compartment next to the handbrake. Not the most convenient spot to be honest, I would have preferred them somewhere at the center console where it’s more easily reachable. In the current position, if you extend the arm rest, the cupholders are not really convenient to use.

accordtestdrive9.jpg

The 2.4 litre DOHC i-VTEC engine is torquey in the mid RPM band onwards, but there is not much pull at the higher ends of the range, unlike its smaller displacement brother the K20 in the Civic 2.0 litre. But the combination of the engine and the 5-speed gearbox (with 2 overdrive gears) provides for a very smooth ride – gear changes are extremely smooth and picking up speed is effortless.

You will want to drive this engine with a half-throttle position most of the time, youll smile at the pull it has at mid-throttle, but floor it often and you will start to feel a 2.4 litre block should be putting out more power. There are actually Honda K24 powerplants that make more power around the world, but ours is relatively underpowered because of regional supply consolidation, we have to be content with an engine with a relatively low compression ratio due to the low grade petrol they get in Thailand.

This new K24 also has 10 PS more than the unit in the pre-facelift Accord, though I have not driven the previous Accord and thus cannot say if I can feel the extra 10 PS, feedback from other journalists seem to indicate they cant really feel the extra power. But with good mid range torque, the engine makes use of the two overdrive gears well – in 5th gear you can cruise at about 150km/h at an engine speed of only about 3,000+ rpm. Yeah, the general feeling of not having to push the engine and the comfortable interior makes this a great highway cruiser indeed.

In straight lines of course. Despite what Honda Malaysia says – sportiness, sportiness, sportiness – the Accord is sporty only in image, the bodyroll is irritatingly bouncy around the bends. It goes boing boing boing, making it hard to stay composed during negotiating a long corner – Im not talking about sharp 60 degree kinds that end in a split second, it would be quite silly expecting the Accord to perform well in THAT kind of corner. But I did it anyway! Got the VSA to kick in many many times, it was fun, despite the long wheel base and general unagileness of the car.

Another problem with negotiating long bends are the gearbox’s tendency to be shift-happy, during upshifts the car’s balance is messed up, so one has to put the car into the D3 shift position before taking a corner, otherwise it’s a recipe for disaster. So from my observation, the suspension actually manages to hold out against short, tight and quick corners, but goes haywire on long bends.

Again, since I have not tried the previous one, feedback from fellow journalists say the new Accord is better than the old one around bends, but when we asked Honda Malaysia if they updated the car’s suspension system, they answer was no, but an explanation was offered to the improvement we felt “it could be due to the improved production process at Honda’s Malacca plant, allowing the margin of error to be closed down to a minimal, and this indirectly affects the suspension.”

Back to the interior, while the new front-loading 6-CD changer sounds nice, the lettering Premium Audio System spoils the whole luxurious image of the interior. Looking like an afterthought slapped on without much thinking, it’s written in Brothers-like italic font that does not match the fonts of all the other labels in the car at all. I am really fussy about my car interiors, and the Accord’s would be perfect without that jarring text. Other than that, the layout of the center dash is good, with a good choice of large dials that are easy to turn instead of buttons that can be quite tiring to press repeatedly.

accordtestdrive6.jpg

accordtestdrive7.jpg

The boot is humongous, and can easily accomplish the task of say, picking up an aunt and a cousin whose visiting from the UK who are going to stay over for a few weeks – the luggage required for that sort of trip was easily put into the boot. Yup, tried and tested. While at first I thought there would be no point buying an Accord since the new Civic’s legroom is pretty amazing already, but the Accord does provide even better legroom. With a full load of 5 people in the car, as well as 2 huge suitcases in the trunk, the Accord still tackled the highway comfortably, the engine did not run out of breath there – so it was a pleasant experience for both the driver and the passengers.

So, would I buy an Accord? I can’t say, since I haven’t been able to get my hands on one of the newly launched Camrys yet, and I do like the Australian-like fatness of the new Camry but given a choice between the new Accord faceliftand the previous Camry, yes I would buy one, and scrap the Premium Audio System text off the front-loading CD changer of course.

Comfy interior, nice engine though it could use more power, very smooth gearbox but generally could do with more adaptive programming to suit driver behaviour (don’t upshift through corners!), comfy ride but not inspiring around corners – the Accord is a very, very good family car, but you won’t find a sporty drive – just sporty looks. Some might argue that I am focusing too much on the sporty drive in my test, or rather the lack of one, but it’s only because Honda positioned the Accord that way. As a family car it’s great.

More photos will be added to this post soon, they’re in my desktop computer and it has crashed – I am writing this from my notebook.

2006 Honda Accord facelift in Malaysia (launch)

Video: Honda Accord 2.4 VTi-L Facelift Test Drive

accordtestdrive2.jpg

accordtestdrive4.jpg

accordtestdrive10.jpg

accordcoupe.jpg
This is the Accord Coupe. See the rear lamps?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DtG (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 5:04 am

considering that the camera is not faulty or very low-end, the car's nvh isn't so good is it? there seems to be a lot of noise in the vid

• cbljkkj (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 5:07 am

I have to agree with you regarding the overall sportiness of the car. The car looks a little bit sporty but the suspension did not negotiate the corners very well. Once I was in the car from KL to Penang. Ride comfort was good but when it came to a corner it felt like the world was going to tip over

A car this big, in my honest opinion lacked the necessary torque. For a 2.4 litre engine, I was expecting a lot more torque. I am not sure about the compression rate of the pistons for this car but it seems to be very low. Even a 1.6 litre Toyota Corolla Altis felt more torquey.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 6:06 am

Better wait for the All-New.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 6:10 am

In my opinion, these consumer-grade, non-performance-VTECs loose out to VVTi in every bit of performance curve.

By the way, save the trouble, test drive the Camry please. No one is going to buy this car for quite some time.

• Paul Tan on Oct 23, 2006 at 6:17 am

ingolstadt: Won't be easy for me to get a Camry to test, considering I have zero contact with UMW Toyota.

DtG: while i dont really know what that background noise is in the video, my experience with the car is what you're hearing is mostly tyre roll, they're using goodyear nct5 as the standard tyres, which are noisy imho compared to the rest of the car.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 6:29 am

"Paul Tan said,

ingolstadt: Won’t be easy for me to get a Camry to test, considering I have zero contact with UMW Toyota."

You may have ZERO contact, but you do have thousands of readership to back you up. Hope you can get the review done soon. ;)

• Andrew B (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 6:35 am

I've driven my dad's pre facelift 2.0 Accord. My coments are that its got good engine pull (especially over 5000rpm). The reason you felt lack of grunt is maybe because ur car is not run-in yet. Most honda engines are hard to accelerate below 3000kms.

I don't think i will get a chance to drive this latest one but i hope these problems are fixed: steering too light, brake pedals too sensitive and shitty interior build quality.

• Paul Tan on Oct 23, 2006 at 6:35 am

True, but thanks to the mainstream media's negative play-up on blogs, though they mainly target political blogs, it's going to be a long way before blogs are taken seriously by everyone. Even if you have over 20,000 unique visitors reading you daily, a figure audited by third party. I'll try to get a Camry tester.

• J (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 7:04 am

The back of the Accord Coupe looks a bit nicer than the current Accord sedan. Note the smooth rear butt cover as compared to the Accord weird deep cave in butt-bumper.

I think with the new Camry on board, it is hard for Accord to see more sales unless from die-hard Honda fans.

No Camry test drive currently available. They have waiting list until early next year, so I don't see they need to offer test drive to the public :) At least for now..

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 7:12 am

I like the pre-facelift Accord better; it has a better looking butt. Post-facelift, and it's a butt-ugly car. Funny, the Accord looks long, yet rear legroom is kinda small, not so comfy for long rides i think.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 7:42 am

"aesthari said,

I like the pre-facelift Accord better; it has a better looking butt. Post-facelift, and it’s a butt-ugly car. Funny, the Accord looks long, yet rear legroom is kinda small, not so comfy for long rides i think."

Me too think that way. The new butt doesnt seems to integrate well.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 8:02 am

for people with bags of money, bought it, seemed cant visualise this but-uglyness,

look ; no ooomph

engineering ; salute

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 9:11 am

I haven't seen a clear photo of the facelifted rear-end but from the video it appears that its the bumper that's ruining the proportion.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 9:30 am

The Honda Accord we have here in M'sia is actually known as the Honda Inspire in Japan.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 10:28 am

facelift? i would call it , bottomlift (sorry)

well… new facelift….still its mundane.

but look at latest civiccoupe ,seemed a turning point of beautiful asianic honda.

on the other hand ,the hatch, confused me…?@#(from mars)

• Paul Tan on Oct 23, 2006 at 10:34 am

Andrew B: the 2.0 and 2.4 liter, naturally have different engines. i know the 2.0 has pull at high revs, as i've experienced the engine in the civic 2.0, which i mentioned in my report. but the 2.4 has different behaviour.

• king (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 12:24 pm

this accord's butt is ugly…..but there will still be buyers coz the previous elephant butt camry is even more fugly and sold like hot cakes.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 1:21 pm

"king said,

this accord’s butt is ugly…..but there will still be buyers coz the previous elephant butt camry is even more fugly and sold like hot cakes."

Well said. ;)

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 2:17 pm

The American body Accord (this one!) was designed for 2.4L and 3.0L V6 engines. The 2.0 is a special Asia only deal for people who want a big body but can't afford to pay up. Therefore, you can't expect a 2.0 to haul @$$. :)

• cacing (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 3:45 pm

Paul,

if you can enlighten them, mainstream media may have a million readers, but its limited to malaysia.

but your "only" 20,000 readers are worldwide. and if 10 overseas working ppl wants to buy camrys (to which many could afford after earning foreign $$) for their ageing parents back home, (easily a million ringgit in sales) maybe its a different story!

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 4:12 pm

maibatsu_thunder said, "The 2.0 is a special Asia only deal for people who want a big body but can’t afford to pay up."

I feel so hurt.

• KY (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 5:20 pm

maybe the adaptive programming on the transmission takes more than a few driving trips to get adapted?

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 6:36 pm

I wanna add how I like the Coupe's butt; it definitely looks like a C-class Benz, but it looks good, unlike the post-facelift butt.

King: Yea, I think so too, if the previous gen butt-ugly Camry sold so well, so will the Accord :)

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 7:00 pm

not quite a tech person, here

some car maybe has been detuned for its performance to be a normally lazy luxury. unless it is labeled as a sport sedan, being the type r ,then engine and suspension will be put the fullest for the spirited drive.

the appearence is clear that this big honda is in a fast and relaxing luxury catagory.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 7:16 pm

Like the pre-facelift Accord to the current one, especially the back. Now with the Camry breathing down yr neck, it will give the Accord a run for the money. Looking forward to the review of the Camry, especially the 2.4. Between the two, my choice is the Camry.

• renyeo (Member) on Oct 23, 2006 at 11:23 pm

I don't know but why does Honda (still) uses a cheapo auto stick? Its high time to go gaters!

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 12:29 am

remember that i used to have a friend, japanese stay over a year in malaysia, nuts about car ,loves the continetals, drives continetal in japan.japanese car ,ofcourse he did.

when asked him …….. 'generally what is the best car made in japan '. he said TOYOTA.

(1-0)

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 2:14 am

Paul,

I wonder why we dont have any pics of that ugly butt of Accord (only the quite Okay part has been shown). Is it because Honda Malaysia specifically ask you not to publish the pic? Just curious. ;)

• jtshin (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 3:31 am

MyBoy, Paul is writing this blog using his laptop cos his desktop crashed. he said more pics will be uploaded after his desktop get fixed.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 4:11 am

"jtshin said,

MyBoy, Paul is writing this blog using his laptop cos his desktop crashed. he said more pics will be uploaded after his desktop get fixed."

Thanks man.

About my question: Paul, please dont get me wrong okay. ;) Its purely out of my curiousity.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 4:17 am

this baby is AGEING now, facelift is an indication of model to EXPIRE, just type -accord 2008- to get some idea of the next accord to be.

saga never tired of expiry date uhukkk,uhukk.

• sewell (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 4:38 am

what is the percentage that need to proove to enjoy the lower tax rate? since naza and inokom are re-badge all the kia and hyundai car.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 5:19 am

"sewell said,

what is the percentage that need to proove to enjoy the lower tax rate? since naza and inokom are re-badge all the kia and hyundai car."

Perhaps re-badge Honda will do. ;)

(at least in my dream, hehehe)

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 5:28 am

"Paul Tan said,

True, but thanks to the mainstream media’s negative play-up on blogs, though they mainly target political blogs, it’s going to be a long way before blogs are taken seriously by everyone. Even if you have over 20,000 unique visitors reading you daily, a figure audited by third party. I’ll try to get a Camry tester."

I see you (paultan.org) have the upper hand here. Among 20,000 plus unique visitors here, most of them are the people who have the final say on what car to buy. Unlike 1 Million readership of some local news paper who consist of quite large number of school boys and others who are not a decision maker.

Hope the Auto company will take us seriously from now on. ;)

• szw (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 6:02 am

da accord coupe looks nice

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 6:29 am

The pre-FL accord vs old camry, accord win; the FL accrod with new camry, camry win. Have to wait until the new 07/08 accord come out, then it will be apple to apple fight with new camry. BTW, the FL accord coupe in US looks better than the old accord coupe.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 7:38 am

rebadge waaaaaa, briliant,

over my dead body (kah motor said)

if this its happened, peel off that cheapo "cap X" get a original shiny H nicely and smile until ur lips become U.

BESTARI owner take your screw driver now!!!

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 5:31 pm

hmmm my opinion

blakang die buruk from the previous :p

• ian (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 12:03 am

Did you mash the rear end into the barb wire fence? Looks like it in the first pic.

Anyway – we're getting the American accord. Which means that we're not getting the 'true' Accord at all. The traits of the early Accords – superb handling, refinement, and technology – have all been abandoned ever since people wanted value for money. In this case, the average Malaysians want a big car and not much else.

If you're looking for sporty handling, you should go look at the Japanese Accord, which has been designed as an Accord all along. The problem is you'll complain it lacks legroom.

• nuggyn (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 3:15 am

With regard to the Accord's NVH…i must say that Camry's NVH (previous model) is much much better than Accord's.

I have sat in both cars before and the difference is obvious.

Thumbsup to Toyota.

• ian (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 8:32 am

While I agree that Camry has a much better noise refinement than the accord, I do recall when test driving the previous gen Camry;

1. handles like boat compared to the accord

2. has much more wind noise compared to the accord

3. has no character.

4. ugly rear end

Pretty much it's all subjective. I find the new Accord equally appealing as the Camry, only with some pros and cons switched around between the two.

• tancp118 (Member) on Oct 26, 2006 at 4:48 am

Pls do some comparisons between Accord and new camry………

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 26, 2006 at 5:07 am

tancp118 said,

Pls do some comparisons between Accord and new camry………"

If they did, it wont be apple to apple comparison (though i have no problem with that). We should wait for the all-new Accord 1st. ;)

• Driven2020 (Member) on Oct 26, 2006 at 7:33 pm

This version of Accord has been around in Malaysia for quite a while now so everybody has a rough feeling how the car handles/performs.

The new Camry however no doubt is an eye-chatcher but better wait for Paul or whoever to review it.

I read this link the other day and it really disturbed me.

http://autos.yahoo.com/newcars/toyota_camry_2007/…

hope our local Camry's dun share the same fate.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 12:58 am

Driven2020,

(thai will be a hub for automotive industry in SEA). what happen now?

THIS IS TOYOTA MADE IN GOLOK.

I BET ITS GONNA BE MERC MADE IN GOLOK TOO.

PROTON MADE IN MLESIA (i know people gonna hate this)

• tancp118 (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 5:03 pm

Special request to UMW,

Pls cordially invites our honourable Mr Paul to do a test drive for Camry 2007 as soon as possile.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 5:25 pm

Actually speaking, the tranny problem according to the feedbacks from the States for Camry may not be entirely Toyota's fault. I'm not sure about Toyota usually they have a vendor supplying these trannies such as Jatco but for our local shores it's too early to tell whether local 2007 Camrys will have any tranny issues.

A test drive + long term user feedback are highly recommended.

• tancp118 (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 2:51 am

Driven2020 said,

October 27, 2006 @ 9:25 am

Actually speaking, the tranny problem according to the feedbacks from the States for Camry may not be entirely Toyota’s fault. I’m not sure about Toyota usually they have a vendor supplying these trannies such as Jatco but for our local shores it’s too early to tell whether local 2007 Camrys will have any tranny issues.

A test drive + long term user feedback are highly recommended.

Who can perform such tasks. Mr Paul lah!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 4:51 am

paul nice review. Suggestions:

1. Can you talk/fill the sound part of the video. Something like Top gear :D

2. A link to download video/commercials.

I just got back after 5 hours on EWHW today. The accord (2001) does not have that problem of upshifting, but it does not have a i-vtec engine anyway. Maybe its the i-vtec itself?

• my_AccordV6 (Member) on Oct 28, 2006 at 6:13 pm

If you want sublime power and better handling ability, try the 3.0 V6. It does 0-60 in seven secs. mid-range acceleration is definiteley in the junior supercar class. I once did 80-170 in well under ten secs. Don't expect Evo like handling though, but it does take corner very flat indeed. The electric steering feel light but grips well enough for sweepnig corner at high speed. The fly-by-wire throttle make the engine very responsive.

This model is imported CBU from Thailand and very rare here. In the six month that I bought mine, I have seen less than ten other units on the road. I am not sure whether the Thailand plant cater for the whole Asia-Pacific region as build quality is definitely of international standard.

• oman (Member) on Oct 29, 2006 at 11:25 pm

To: Paul

Please let me know the fuel consumption for Honda 2.0 & Camry 2.0

Thank You.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 7:18 am

nice paul…btw…replacement plz…camry will top dis car…seen a lot of new camry on d road…

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 1:42 pm

honda is clearing stock of the accord and accord euro. new accord arriving in febuary.

• fattzeai on Apr 27, 2009 at 8:36 am

i wanted to know how about Onda Accord 2.4L year 2005?

just 1 model before this 2006 model. The rear is long tail brake light.

is all engine same as this 2006 model ? except the butt ?

• if 2.4got HID ?