Mercedes Benz C230 Avantgarde V6 launched

c230_1.jpg

DaimlerChrysler Malaysia has launched the latest in it’s C-class line-up yesterday morning, the locally assembled Mercedes Benz C230 Avantgarde. Not to be confused with the C230K which runs a 1.8 litre supercharged engine, the C230 is powered by a 2.5 litre 24 valve V6 engine, making 204hp at 6,100rpm and features an amazingly flat torque curve for an normally aspirated engine – 245Nm of torque between 2,900rpm to 5,500rpm. In comparison, the C230K’s 1.8 litre inline-4 Kompressor makes 192hp at 5,800rpm, and 260Nm of torque between 3,500rpm to 4,000rpm.

This very nice torque curve is likely thanks to the engine’s infinitely variable adjustment of both intake and exhaust camshafts, this ensures optimum valve timing for all 24 valves at all times! The engine’s high power output of 204hp is thanks to the high compression ratio of 11.2:1. Other enhancements to extract more power at the mid revs include intake ducts equipped with tumble flaps – these help regulate gas flow. Under partial load, the mechanism swivels out, creating turbulence, resulting in a better air-fuel mixture in the combustion chamber. At high revs, the flaps sit fully recessed to ensure optimum gas flow. The engine is also equipped with a two-stage variable length intake manifold. Despite it’s high output, the engine has a combined cycle rated mileage of 9.3 to 9.6 litres per 100km.

The 0-100km/h sprint takes 8.9 seconds, and the car pushes on to a maximum speed of 238km/h. Emissions are well below Eu4 limits, thanks to two catalytic converters close to the engine, and other features such as internal exhaust gas recirculation.

The 7G-TRONIC transmission also makes it’s debut in this C-class, being available only on more high end Mercedes Benz models before this. It features 7 speeds spaced out optimumly for the engine’s torque curve. There are three shift pattern modes – S for a sporty shift pattern, C for comfortable cruising and M for manual mode.

The Avantgarde trim levels means you get options like THERMATIC climate control, windowbags, anti-theft alarm, interior motion sensor, PARKTRONIC system, multi-function steering wheel with gearshift buttons, and bi-xenon headlights. The standard C230 features 16 inch 5-spoke alloy wheels, but a sports package which costs RM20,000 offers bigger wheels at 17 inches among other extra sporty trims.

The locally assembled Mercedes Benz C230 Avantgarde will cost you RM268,888, while the version with the sports package will cost you another 20K at RM288,888. As a comparison, the force inducted C230K, also locally assembled, goes for RM279,888.

More photos after the jump.

c230_2.jpg

c230_4.jpg

c230_3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 9:08 am

big mistake launching it… as i know the all new c class is due soon. but not sure in malaysia when it will hit the market. it is wise to wait for the new one as this model will depreciate badly if anyone would to buy one now. besides the new features, i personally wont want to buy an out dated design. if not mistaken it was launched in 2001.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 9:41 am

, the C230K’s 1.8 liter inline-4 Kompressor makes 192hp at 5,800rpm, and 260Nm of torque between 3,500rpm to 4,000rpm.

—————————————————————

as rpm got higger the SC starved,

they PROBALLY a need for spin mode, gearing or transmission for SC to spin faster at higher rpm. dual speed clutch actuated or controlled cvt may be to overcome this additional boost?.

….just an OLD SCHOOL tought,

or simply TSI,

by the way,

yes, this model very soon be expired,

• king (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 10:52 am

protonGL…difficult to understand ur slang…

well, this is a big improvement over the old 4 pot coarse engine. At least it can nearly match the 325i in terms of the powerplant. still, what took them until now to launch this model? better wait until the launch of the new model next year.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 11:18 am

actually NO BIG THING la king, just to point out some disadvantages of the supercharged,

just think that torque to be broaden surpass the 4000rpm mark simply increasing the boost, that it,…

SC threfore should spin faster , to achieve this need taller gearing for the SC at 4000+ rpm.(so dual speed mode for supercharger, taller gearing for higher rpm,with greater boost)

————————————————

sory la, no need to comprehend this la , just my day dream,

merc is good engineering already. they know how to compromise between performance and relaibilty, leave to the tuner alone for the batterment of power.

just mumbling saja…..

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 4:27 pm

protongl,

the reason for hp and torque to peak at relatively low RPM's is because the engine is designed that way.. its a mercedes, no one is about to go buy one that has a peaky engine that makes max power at Vtech RPM levels.

• ruykava (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 8:05 pm

as usual, we get models very late compared to most other countries… this has been out for about 1 year.

still, not a bad buy considering it has most of the features the new bodystyle C will have – i.e. 7 speed tranny and new V6 engine. have heard the new engine is fantastic.

• tiredguy (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 9:14 pm

They launch the all new CL Class in middle east like last month. Its amazingly flat and awesome.I have a photo of it,here is the link i uploaded.

http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p198/tiredguy/…

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 9:32 pm

what an awesome car. if only can afford in this Bolehland.

• shaun (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 10:22 pm

The C350 would be more of a hoot!

268bhp and 350Nm

All through the 7G-TRONIC or 6-speed manual

0-100 in 6.4 seconds.

Now that would give a 330i a run for its money!

• shaun (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 10:28 pm

The 3.5 has a combine fuel consumption of 9.7 to 10.6 litres per100 km

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 11:16 pm

ProtonGL:

The supercharger cannot peak past 4000 RPM just by tweaking it to higher boost. The calculations for air flow must be re-calculated all over again.

I agree with Honda_Driver's comments about the peak torque peaking from the bottom of the rev counter instead of the top of the rev counter.

This is to provide the Merc with good overtaking characteristics plus give the Merc a zippy character in town despite it's heavy body pulling it down.

• shaun (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 11:28 pm

You can have a listen to the C230's exhaust here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tw9xPyPkcA

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 16, 2006 at 1:14 am

i know supercharged cant boost higher, thats why TSI is design so that turbo take place for higher boost.

my tought is that, extra boost WOULD be acheive by regear the supercharger speed at higher engine rpm via some kind of transmission, (cvt type probally create un sudden boost), so that torgue curve could be extended.

calculation? (leave it to engineer la)

just an idea la… im not saying im right,

cheers…….

• Friend this Tsi and the whole lot of over engineered cars are good whete and so long as therr is a warranty..these gizmo gobbledegook cars cost a bomb to fix when something goes wrong and not many people outside the licensed dealers workshop have thr tools skills training experirnce and know how to service them

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 6:04 am

Seamless engine. Crsip and Smooth 7G-TRONIC.

Test-driven one a couple of months back.

The V6 powerplant does make a difference. True blue Mercedes engineering.

Never thought I'll be saying this but if I have RM290K to spare, I'll be getting this C230 V6 than the E90 325i.

Cheers!

• Expect this model to hold its value because firstly its more bang/whack for the buck secondly good badge thirdly limited production fourthly plenty of w203 s so plenty of body and trim parts from wreckers for years to come and lastly the car maturity range is longer ie its a luxury spirts sedan not just a sports sedan like the e90 for a youngish image

• I am looking for one