PSA Peugoet Citroen and Proton to meet next week

Unnamed sources told the NST’s Business Times paper today that PSA Peugeot Citroen will be sending a top team to meet with Proton’s top management as well as officials from the Ministry of Finance and Khazanah Nasional on the proposed purchase of Proton shares.

Apparently this brief was scheduled to be presented later, but the time was brought forward due to pressure from the news of Volkswagen’s renewed interest in Proton’s manufacturing arm last week.

The proposal will include a proposed stake purchase in Proton’s manufacturing arm as well as technical tie-ups between the two car manufacturers that will benefit both parties. Possible collaboration in areas such as product development, manufacturing, quality initiatives, vendor development, contract assembly and distribution will be discussed.

On a side note, updates on this blog from now until next Wednesday might be scarce and sporadic as I will be out of the country – updates will depend on the availability of internet access in the hotel.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chenyl (Member) on Nov 19, 2006 at 9:36 am

well at least is not a GLC company

• aksMs (Member) on Nov 19, 2006 at 1:11 pm

Hmm…There are sure a lot of automaker interested in Proton. But as always, it's only talk. Only this time it is more serious since the government has given the green light. Will there be anything that will be materealise from it? I hope so. If it's for the better…

P.s: Waah…Paul, another overseas trip? Another plant visit?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 19, 2006 at 4:03 pm

Weekly talk show, can conduct reality show on weekly basis aka "apprentice" style the feed the public you all this news!

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Nov 19, 2006 at 4:35 pm

Talk, talk, talk, nothing but talk. PSA? If want to talk, better talk to VW, in a talk show, u need to invite someone with high credential to boost your show's rating.

Some of the people on this land are too obsessed with their so-called pride, wasting precious resources just up-hold this expensive pride.

To me, sell p1 and let the brand disappear, why do we need another scoda, seat? just give us the original VW. p1 is a non viable project, no matter how you do, it still the same like today, imagine a player of 5 feet 5 inches who can't jump trying to compete in the NBA, what you do?

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 19, 2006 at 6:38 pm

I don't mean to criticise but I kinda hope Volkswagen and not Peugeot Citroen gets the proposed stake purchase. I doubt anybody can save Proton at this late period but at least Volkswagen can set them straight with some proper German engineering.

• drM (Member) on Nov 19, 2006 at 7:20 pm

compared to PSA, I duly prefer WV. and hoping Proton will tie up with WV. I am a patriotic Malaysian citizen and I would like Proton to try eveything out there to better things. I am aware that this may take a little bit long, but mind you that the world is changing and Proton also has to make changes, sooner or later.

I'd like to see Proton being successfull and put all these damned critics to rest. Its just the attitude that Proton is lacking of. Everything else they can acquire – by buying or learning.

but, if Proton fails to change, then, I think we should think of closing the shop altogether. but please, try. try as hard as you can.chaaiiyyook!

• womencantdrive (Member) on Nov 19, 2006 at 7:47 pm

ok the prospect of peugeot taking over does seem interesting but there is a clash here. Doesnt NAZA have a MoU with peugeot? So what about NAZA then? As a wage earner who has been disappointed by Proton, I doubt Ill ever go back to the brand. I can take the reproduction of a twety year old model, but parts falling off, lights filled with water, brakes snapping, windows jamming(even the wind up ones) are just toooo much. I really tried to be patient guys but this is my second model from the carmaker and now nobody even wants to buy it from me. :(

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 19, 2006 at 8:01 pm

i tink theres stil much to hear abt VW's interest….their new ceo is the former audi boss….and now porsche are buying 30% of VW inorder to have a majority say…with all these developments…surely thy will relook the whole idea regarding proton…so hopefully sting good works out…bcos frankly speaking…i dont see wat psa can do for proton…beside that thy dont really have a good track record regarding bailing out loss making car makers….so im stil waiting for VW's interest…

• normalcardriver (Member) on Nov 19, 2006 at 8:26 pm

Good for Proton to have either PSA or VW as partner,hopefully it will help Proton to increase their volume.Our market is too small for Proton and Proton need to export their cars to get the necessary large volume to breakeven their investments.

Unlike some of the commentators who only seem to downgrade their own countrymen capability in making parts or car,I would like Proton to succeed and if this need foreign investors to come in,then Proton should take it.

The country have invested a lot in the automotive industry and it will be a shame if at the end of the day,we will be still driving some foreign cars in our roads and still think we got the best deal out of it.Remember the 1960s and 1970s?

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 20, 2006 at 3:44 am

There is free WIFI in KLIA, can try update the blog there :D

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 20, 2006 at 10:30 am

Talk, talk, talk… no comment until it is confirmed.

• rexis (Member) on Nov 20, 2006 at 4:39 pm

Hey guys, they not even started talk yet, the title said they are just "planning" to meet each other…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 20, 2006 at 4:59 pm

PSA is doing bad recently, Personally I didn't like PSA's product so much compare to VW. Therefore Just PRAY that the Top Proton's jokers know which one to choose. Hoping that they don't decide it by using A COIN.

Sigh

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Nov 20, 2006 at 5:31 pm

Not interested at all unless some concrete agreement has been signed. This might be another trick from Proton to stimulate their share price.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Nov 20, 2006 at 7:50 pm

this talkshow is the worst trilogy.

just forget la the Perdana Replacement Model…the myth of the NO PROBLEMS new Proton..(esp NEO and SAVVY) all crap.actually no problems because no sale…

we are heading at right direction…we just need a little bit more to KILL OF PROTON…

MALAYSIAN WE DO NOT NEED PROTON

p/s no more new PROTON car to be registered.NO MORE.

• pycazu (Member) on Nov 20, 2006 at 8:56 pm

Had been dissapointed for few times, dun want to expect much anymore. However suddenly seem like it gonna sell like hot cake, after Khazanah announced gave the greenlight. Lucky for those earning the fast bucks from its stock, who else!

I'll rather shrug and reserve for the progress, good luck anyway.

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 20, 2006 at 10:10 pm

Haiyaa… asyik cakap saja.. I can also what… for instance…

"Unnamed sources told the NST’s Business Times paper today that motorhead will be sending himself to the moon…."

ps:Got the point?

• intermilan (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 5:14 am

hahaha .. good logic point but untrue rite?

the actual story here follow the same logic ka?.

• drifting4eva (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 12:33 pm

altho i am not above a bit of proton bashing myself, i think we should remember that a company is inherently neither good nor bad. it's management which causes a company to turn out good or bad. in proton's case, its failures boil down to one of national ego and politics/political patronage. if proton had been allowed to recruit the best and the brightest and develop under normal market conditions, the company would have turned out far far different. after all, toyota and hyundai started out small not so long ago . . .

• whatsoever (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 5:50 pm

yadda yadda yadda…

"talk" seriously can be a national joke for the next 10 years….

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 7:19 pm

Proton and NAP is in a dilemma and at its juncture " globalisation vs Malaysian pride "……….both have pros and cons and both involve billion of dollars……..

lets recap recent during the 1997 slowdown, some govt prefer capital control, some govt prefer taking IMF loans……..both excel past 1997 crisis swiftfully………..

Whichever way our govt takes, must be in consideration of the voters in mind……..from the people, by the people, for the people………

• domoteka (Member) on Nov 21, 2006 at 7:33 pm

So proton wants a foreign partner after mitsubishi? they want technology transfer and lots of foreign money to be reinvested into proton's termite(G) ,worm(R) and slug(O) infested coffers? and then want 80.9% equity control of proton…..

Louis Armstrong had a dream………

so now proton got a dream……..

I say dream on, dream away…..

• faizulamin (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 12:35 am

hi.. i'm newby here..

erm, i'm using savvy, it's really a good car for me.. but, since proton is concerned, i would like to paste what i wrote at another forum.. because i believe, more car enthuthiast and good commentars will be get here..

+++++++

hi guys..

just attracted with this thread… just to make all of us, to think.

sigh…. for me, poor to be malaysian, coz we have to, even we don't want… to buy.. you see, stated clearly in proton-edar's website..

PROTON SAVVY ZEROKIT FEATURES:

+All New Performance Oriented Profile Styled by R3

+Aggressively Styled Alloy Wheels

+Streamlined Rear Spoiler

+Pronounced Front Splitter

+Full Length Side Skirt with Real Carbon Fibre Logo Inserts

+Made from High Quality Ultra Durable Fibre Reinforced Plastic (FRP)

aggresively styled? what is aggressive if we will get the same one with the ordinnary non-zerokit type?

Carbon fibre logo? where? i don't see any?

Ultra high durability FRP? Oh really? mine already craked.. just because i hit a cat at the road (hoping it still alive)..

sigh.. this is proton.. not daring to change indeed!

however, a standard lazy guy and salesperson or even customer care will answer this if u made a complain…

1. alaa.. just accept la, u already made a finance with bank..

2. alaa.. standard la kereta proton..

3. alaa.. kalo banyak sangat komplen, susah2 ko amik je la honda ke toyota ke… (i think, honda should take over proton la)

so.. what is so good with proton? even some guy also will protect proton from being blamed.. remember 5 power words in the world! "I admit I made mistake" Powerful 1 word "Sorry"… and this is not happen here.. peoples are not practicing it.. and in fact, we don't want to change ourselves to be good from yesterday… poor malaysian..

see.. so sorry to make some annoyance here.. (I did before regarding… mm i forgot what…) because, i don't know where to make a complaint because people malaysian are always say, "terimalah seadanya"… WTF!

PLease la.. be a new generation of malaysian, workers, civilians etc..

as i said before at another thread. i love my savvy, a good car indeed, but the people who are manufactuting it, is only crap! buat sambil lewa.. And furthermore, they work only for salary! not for self satisfactiona and improvement! don't ask me whether i work for salary or satisfaction, because i'm practicing to do something with pride and gratification!

thanks for reading my post and so sorry for my rudeness

p/s: just to tell, i hate the salesman who sold this savvy to me! he is totally crap!

+++++++

• darkteror (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 9:47 pm

i hope wen proton syer been baught it will be better thn ever

• intermilan (Member) on Nov 23, 2006 at 3:26 am

IMHO, most probably Khazanah only want to sell of the manufacturing arm of proton (as wisely reported in the news ).

This make sense as at the end of the day, Govt. would still control Proton, receive financial boost, can 'lease' the Tg. malim factory to other car manufacturer, increase utilisation of the factory etc..

Like this… everybody happy… except the rakyat.

We dont know how all this will pan out for us… maybe cheaper Peugeot and citroen car at the most…