Mazda Nagare Concept

nagare1.jpg

Mazda’s Nagare Concept seeks to showcase Mazda’s future design language under the leadership of it’s newly appointed global design director, Laurens van den Acker. When designing the Mazda Nagare Concept, Mazda used the concept of flow – inspired by the movement of nature’s elements – it’s designers sought to capture motion, energy and light and embed it into the Nagare’s lines.

“Mazda doesnt produce concept cars to spin its wheels, and while some are more forward-looking than others, we simply do not create pure flights of fantasy. We develop these ideas to demonstrate what we really intend to build and sell,” says Mazda design director Franz von Holzhausen. A future Mazda hatchback or coupe might look like this. I think it looks something like the Calamari Cruisers of the Star Wars universe.

More photos after the jump, including a little peek into the interior through the glass windscreen from the LA Auto Show thanks to reader Syahrizal Salleh.

nagare2.jpg

nagare3.jpg

nagare4.jpg

nagare5.jpg

nagare6.jpg

nagare7.jpg

nagare8.jpg

nagare9.jpg

nagare10.jpg

nagare11.jpg

nagare12.jpg

nagare13.jpg

nagare14.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 3:51 pm

very futuristic indeed ..

• bpkid (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 4:07 pm

that is…so radical!

• foecy (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 4:37 pm

yuck

i dont like this concept

• Dogster (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 5:31 pm

a damn nice Killer machine. ::)

• burn (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 5:37 pm

looks like a whale.

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 5:44 pm

Wow.. like UFO lah…. but practical or not?? sure not cheaplah… they should focus on something modern, pratical & affordable….

• scottaliano (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 5:50 pm

awesome!!

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 5:55 pm

Very futuristic and fresh! The headlamps and rear lamps do look very interesting, and the doors, Mazda's achieved another first! I love notchbacks like this but the rear windscreen will probably make reversing a pain.

• MKCX (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 6:11 pm

Nowaday the car design looks futuristic(concept), very nice. Recent design of concept car not consider to do to a large screen at rear, the rear view getting less and less, like Spectra, Gen2, maybe put a camera at the rear to replace the rear miror.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 6:21 pm

@ motorhead:

It's called a Concept Car for a reason, dude… They are not supposed to be practical and affordable…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 7:23 pm

Absolutely love the tail design of the car. Love the rear brake lamps because they look so great along the lines of the fenders. There are traces of their previous concept cars on their production cars of today such as the RX-8.

Although nice in concept, not much has rubbed off on their production cars. I certainly hope Mazda creates this masterpiece in the vision of their production cars ever more closely.

There is however one design element in the car that will definitely not make it to fruition. The steering wheel and rack. With those sharp and protruding edges, no car safety regulation committee will ever sanction that.

• waimak (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 7:32 pm

Truly in line with 'zoom-zoom' spirit, and it looks like it can really fly!!

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 7:45 pm

Mayonaise… what is the reason arr…?? I don't knowlah, u know aa??… make it look like UFO maybe.. hehehe.. just joking with u.. so they r definitely not practical & affordable lah… to survive in auto ind. they must mass produce, like honda / toyota / VW / renault.. niche market still can meh??.. mazda pun suda kena beli dgn ford kan?..

btw, mrk punya pasal lah, rite??.. anybody can produce anything & sell anything they like…

• KY (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 8:21 pm

better not rain.. no wiper. :P

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 8:28 pm

Yummy………not for malaysian road………

P/S Congrats to Jean Todt on being conferred the title " Datuk Seri"………..Forza Ferrari, Gracie Schumi……

• renyeo (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 8:29 pm

Ok, blah..blah…blah about motion and energy in a form. But this doesn't look convincing to me though with those pesudo wavelines – they are there to influence your mind to think that it is really such when you heart tells you it isn't.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 9:00 pm

almost anything..

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 9:34 pm

Btw, what is the purpose of concept car??.. anybody knows??.. dulu pun byk concept car, but a few roam on the road, never see any on msian road… concept car for eksyen sajakah? like fashion show?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 10:00 pm

This Concept car looks like a TURTLE!

Why this designer was chosen by MAZDA? Pity MADZA…… :P

Hate the look, can't they do something better then this one?

• pirate (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 12:13 am

Highly futuristic and visionary!

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 12:41 am

not much an intricate volumes involves, just look like a reversal of rx8,

look how interesting study made before the emergence of F. enzo,

i belive the concept basis lies on the f 1 car,

alfas derives from the history,

jaguar from the jaguar,

this is a whale, ,,well lets see

• albagmane (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 2:54 am

man… its really "zoom-zoom"!!! i really like the design… from the side, i can see a desert sand design… izit the theme of Sahara desert? wat a stunning concept…

• armandd (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 3:49 am

nice.. but the glass area is too small, even for a concept car.

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 5:46 am

OOo…nice. Surely one of the few concept cars that actualy looks hot. Interesting lines..

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 5:54 am

very nice concept car

• ergo_etc (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 6:47 am

paul, how much does proton pays you for the banner? :)

• womencantdrive (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 7:23 am

nice one paul. By the way something else that caught my attention was the line about calamari cruisers. I am a self professed Star Wars fanatic. U too?

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 10:39 am

mazda's desingns are way better than other japanese makes..they certainlly got balls fer sure…excotic technology and designs….

• kakimotor (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 3:53 am

CooL!

• triplesaber (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:41 am

yeah, it does looks lika a Mon Calamari cruiser! I bet General Ackbar drives it to work everyday..hehehe.

• neurra (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:49 am

hohoho.. this is uber cool.. hope it speeds like rocket too

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 2:30 am

motorhead said,
    December 4, 2006 @ 9:44 am

Wow.. like UFO lah…. but practical or not?? sure not cheaplah… they should focus on something modern, pratical & affordable….

Go get your Savvy now! don’t miss it! …………..stupid fxxkin idiots.