New 2007 Porsche Cayenne facelift

newcayenne1.jpg

Shortly after BMW introduced it’s new second generation BMW X5, Porsche has released details of the new 2007 model Porsche Cayenne, stuffed with new features including improved engines as well new technologies that give the sporty SUV better ride and handling. Check out my post after the jump for more details on what’s new with the 2007 Porsche Cayenne.

newcayenne2.jpg

In the engine department, the Cayenne gets a 40hp boost to it’s normally aspirated six-cylinder engine, thanks to an increase of displacement from 3.2 litres to 3.6 litres. The base Porsche Cayenne now goes form 0-100km/h in 8.1 seconds, a whole second faster than it’s precedessor – that’s thanks to the 290hp and 385Nm of torque at work. Top speed is a respectable 227km/h.

The mid range model is the Cayenne S, featuring a 4.8 litre normally aspirated V8 engine with 500Nm of torque (up from 420Nm) and 385hp (previously 340hp). This allows the new V8 model to have a 0-100 time of 6.6 seconds and a top speed of 252 km/h. (Previous model: 6.8 seconds and 242 km/h.)

The top of the line is of course, the Porsche Cayenne Turbo, also receiving improvements in the engine department with this new edition. The twin turbocharged V8 powerplant now makes 500 bhp (previously 450 hp) and 700 Nm (previously 620 Nm).

Being an SUV, of course you need to have 4WD. Porsche’s 4WD system, Porsche Traction Management (PTM), sends power in a 38:62 ratio between the front and rear wheels via a multi-disc clutch in the middle. This clutch can also vary power fully to either the front or rear wheels depending on traction needs.

Something new in the 2007 Porsche Cayenne series is the Porsche Dynamic Chassis Control (PDCC) roll stabilizer system, which is somewhat similiar to BMW’s Adaptive Drive. While it’s not immediately known how Porsche achieves it, but PDCC limits vehicle roll on corners and counterbalances it, improving handling, directional stability and ride comfort. When off-road, the system enables maximum axle articulation and improves traction. PDCC is optional on the Porsche Cayenne, Porsche Cayenne S, and the Porsche Cayenne Turbo. Standard on the Turbo is the Porsche Active Suspension Management (PASM) air suspension system, while for the Cayenne and Cayenne S it is an option. Other new features include bi-xenon headlamps that have dynamic bend lighting, standard on the Turbo and optional for the rest.

The Cayenne goes on sale in showrooms from February 24 2007 onwards, with the Cayenne going for 43,300 Euros, the Cayenne S for 55,800 Euros, and the Cayenne Turbo for 91,100 Euros. Malaysian prices and availability has not been announced yet.

newcayenne3.jpg

newcayenne4.jpg

newcayenne5.jpg

newcayenne6.jpg

newcayenne7.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jehutyz (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 8:35 am

Wooo it look great.

Got some modify for the headlamp and rearlamp.

Nice Nice…..wish i able to drive it.

• maxtek (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 11:22 am

Well, all I can say is that no matter how much the facelift has done for any of the Cayennes, it will always suck donkey balls… Clearly, Crossover ideas like this is really starting to go down the drain. At least the Nissan Murano or even the BMW X5 is far better per se…

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 11:58 am

Hmm. Still as awkward as ever. The main reason for the facelfit as the embarassment that the cheaper VW Touareg (of which had the same platform) was getting more sales than the high performance Cayenne.

Note to Porsche: it's not good enough guys!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 1:23 pm

satriaGuy.. Maybe its really not supposed to sell more than the Tuoareg, cos Cayenne is supposed to be higher end…

tht said, i dun think its a flop cos it sells pretty well, esp in the U.S… and am pretty sure it meets porsche's expectations… and yeah… u see MANY this close to Rm1mil ride on our roads…. definately more than Range Rovers…. and i'll go "waahhh… so many rich people ah in this country!"

but then again.. i'd still pick the X5 over the Cayenne anyway cos yeah, the cayenne is just so PLAIN!

• shaif (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 3:40 pm

VW Touareg looks better, bold and strong, tough and macho while the Cayenne looks like very upmarket, for elite few, a boarding school boy with neat shirt.

Only few lucky people manage to buy Porsche in Malaysia including Dato' Mokhzani.

• holy_cow (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 3:58 pm

Hang on a sec, weren't they supposed to solve that big problem that the first-generation Cayenne had? It looks like they haven't. You know what problem I'm talking about, right? Now what's it called again? Oh yes: I believe the technical term for it is 'Fugliness Beyond All Reason'.

• holy_cow (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 4:01 pm

I just thought of something – it's still as if they chopped the top half off a 911 and the bottom half off a Touareg and sort of welded it all together, only this time around it looks like they used an uglier 911 and an uglier Touareg.

• mangkuk (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 4:35 pm

Yup…It is ugly.

Its look great bcoz of 'Porsche'.

No doubt the quality :)

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 5:03 pm

it looks like a frog with 4 wheels… :)

• engtaokia (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 7:21 pm

Audi Q7 will get two cars tailgating behind its rear mirror, one is bmw x5 and another is cayenne turbo :O

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 8:33 pm

Same comment as SatriaGuy.

I like Cayenne very much, but unfortunately, this poor SUV is listed in The World's Worst Cars (by Craig Cheetam). The 2003 Cayenne claims to be a Porsche, but the vehicle has almost everything the same as the Touareg including the interior design and built platform, despite it has the Porsche badge on it.

Hope that the improved engine and the addition of new technologies will set the Cayenne's handling and performance to a higher level, or else the production of 2007 Cayenne will be a multi-million dollar disaster for sure.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 8:44 pm

dated

• Hikaru (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 9:02 pm

Yup, yup yup, I guess I am not along think that this thing has grown from stupid to absolutely ugly…..

• ilmondo (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 11:38 pm

nice.. its very unique indeed.. but i doubt owners wil really do rough off-roading wit this masterpiece.. anyway paul, wat do u mean by after d jump?? hehe

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 12:01 am

no way Q7 can outpace cayenne turbo. 4.2 vs 4.8 turbo. the cayenne turbo may look like a bloated guppy that slimmed down a bit now but its still one seriously quick car for what it weighs. 350bhp vs 500bhp. its the Q7 that'll be trailing the guppy. even the cayenne s has 385 bhp oredi. but in the Q7, there's space for 7 ppl lah. cayenne only seats 5. looks, well thats a personal choicelah. some like it, some like it not.

• engtaokia (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 1:02 am

"no way Q7 can outpace cayenne turbo. 4.2 vs 4.8 turbo. the cayenne turbo may look like a bloated guppy that slimmed down a bit now but its still one seriously quick car for what it weighs. 350bhp vs 500bhp. its the Q7 that’ll be trailing the guppy. even the cayenne s has 385 bhp oredi. but in the Q7, there’s space for 7 ppl lah. cayenne only seats 5. looks, well thats a personal choicelah. some like it, some like it not."

man, did u know Q7 has a 6.0L version with 500hp? :)

• armandd (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 8:25 am

that 500hp Q7 is a turbodiesel one lah. i think porsche shud stick to making 2-door sports coupe.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 5:05 pm

4 me…i will stick to my murano eventho if i can afford this boy…4 me murano gt a best package…affordable and really great looking…still luv my murano…

mbe murano is not in d league of dis boy…but…if i gt a choice…i will go 4 merc m-class or vw toureg…talk abt toureg…y u should choose and buy this cayenne???u can get all in d toureg…sigh

• shaun (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 5:14 pm

The Cayenne will still ugly no matter how many facelifts it gets. The new headlights give me the impression that it's obviously angry at something. But the last thing we need is an angry driver in a huge 4WD! hahaha

The Cayenne for me will never be a true Porsche but i do accept that fact that it had to be born out of necessity. Porsche was struggling financially with only the Boxster and 911 in its lineup. But now with the funds Porsche has accumulated from tapping into the lucrative SUV market, they can now make their 911 line-up even greater and produce new and better products like the Panamera and Cayman.

Well that's what i think.

• shaun (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 5:16 pm

As Jeremy Clarkson said Toureg = Toe Rag! hehe

A bit of tongue in cheek there.

But hell, give me a Supercharged V8 Range Rover Sport any day.

• engtaokia (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 6:49 pm

Toureg can drag a Boeing 747 with its powerful torque! u can search the related video at youtube :)

• ergo_etc (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 8:34 am

I used to think Cayenne is butt ugly, but after a while, it started to grow on me, and now, I think it is the most beautiful luxury SUV ever!. I'd pick one over any toureg/merc/x5, any time!

• How many Porsche Cayenne in Msia? Now everywhere in Klang Valley can c Porsche Cayenne. Is it very hard to get the parts and mechanics nowadays?

Would appreciate it if any Porsche lovers can assist?

Thanks and cheers