E60 BMW M5 now with manual transmission

m5_450.jpg

When the new E60 BMW M5 was released, everyone drooled over the awesome 5.0 litre V10 engine, and the advanced 7-speed SMG-III computerized clutch gearbox, but the boys in the stick shift camp found themselves alienated – the SMG-III gearbox was the only gearbox available with the M5.

BMW North America listened, and is now offering the E60 BMW M5 with a manual transmission, a no cost option. The manual box is a 6-speed though, one cog less than SMG-III’s 7 ratios. However, the manual model removes the ability to fully disengage DSC stability control – BMW doesn’t want owners doing 8000-rpm dump launches and making BMW pay for new drivetrain components under the warranty period.

Instead, it will have something called an “M Dynamic Mode”, which turns off most of DSC’s features, similiar to the Dynamic Traction Control (DTC) on the BMW X5, but still keeps some of the electronic governing of madness on – you can’t do redline launches, this means there’ll be no extreme tyre burning with the manual M5.

What exactly is the point then? Takes abit of the fun out of having a manual transmission in the first place, but I guess there’ll have to be some give and take eh? The manual BMW M5 is only available in North America at the moment, the rest of us will have to continue tearing up roads with the SMG-III M5s, not like they’re a bad thing.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Dec 10, 2006 at 12:39 pm

Well, some people still love to work their left (or right) hand to shift gears, old skool-style to get the buzz from driving such a devastating car like the M5.

And when you drive it out on the track, heel and toe is now possible. That means, you can listen to the lovely V10 revs blip, just as in a true racing car.

I'll have one please (even in left-hand drive)

• J (Member) on Dec 10, 2006 at 5:33 pm

I prefer manual gear shift for all type of cars :)

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 10, 2006 at 8:37 pm

Me too. Till now, Manual is my choice. But, with 507hp powering the rear wheels, i don't mind driving the 7-speed SMG-III version.

• AmiR (Member) on Dec 10, 2006 at 9:03 pm

y cannot burn some rubbers?.. dats the best part with manual transmission…last time i burned perdana v6 shoe since its automatik, the gearbox ruined…. lucky got waranty….hehe

i think the saudi arabians willing to drift this baby!..still remember the video which paul uploaded last time?…ala the one the saudis drift car using BMW 7SERIES….;)

• Mayonaise (Member) on Dec 10, 2006 at 10:17 pm

Dang… The Americans gets all the cool stuffs…

• Deodorant (Member) on Dec 10, 2006 at 11:15 pm

"… the rest of us will have to continue tearing up roads with the SMG-III M5s …"

Who is this 'rest of us' you are referrring to? Cos it sure as hell isn't anybody who reads your blog =D

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 12:24 am

have to press clutch, before turning on the ignition…..(americannnn manual kan? )

if not tak hidup.

last time sports car got heavy clutch..i dont know now, any improvement technology of more friendly clutch?

• KY (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 2:32 am

Put some cooper cobra tires and you can have smoking launch already.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 4:05 am

Is the gear box very vulnerable?

• engtaokia (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 8:17 am

those US boyracer will using advance technology to override the original computer setting, at the end, still can burn tyre and doing red-line lauch..haha…but liddat warranty void liaw…maybe…

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 8:32 am

What is the point getting a manual transmission but cannot perform the full performance on it? Shouldnt BMW want to prevent claiming warranty for changing the new tansmission during the warranty period..Who the hell thought of this idea..smart ass..

But whatever is it..auto transmission always a best choice comparing to those manuals..Would people willing to keep themself busy changing gear while there is sweet lady beside?…Give the hand for a rest la..hahaha!

• soporific (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 5:51 pm

the reason why bmw only provides manual boxes for north america is because demand for it there is very high.

even though a few motorheads like ourselves might want a manual or at least have that option if we so please, we are very few in number.

production costs just don't justify the availibility of this option globally. for eg, the z4m coupe ONLY comes in manual because bmw finds that worldwide, the pple interested in an M sports coupe are manual drivers, ie, motorheads la.

the m5 driver? not necessarily. he might just want the fastest, top-of-the-line sedan that bmw can offer.

anyway, if anyone thinks 8,000 rpm dump launches are full performance, then you obviously aren't the fastest pple on a drag-race. the redline launches are only to show off, smoke some rubber and make a big drama when u get off the start line. they are definitely not the fastest way to launch a car.

obviously a car as refined as the m5 was never built to do something like that, that was never the idea with that car. i think for pple who want to do that, even if u could afford it, you wouldnt go and buy an m5, you'd get something fullon sports rather than a sports sedan.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 3:40 am

thats the idea, to show off actually. Buying a beemer is already showing off

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 10:06 am

Love SMG-III, awesome!!!!