E-plate to be available at JPJ-appointed dealers

There has been some followup news on the e-plate system, basically a wireless RFID MyKad-like system for cars announced in mid-December 2006.

The e-plate system is part of the government’s Automated Enforcement System to be implemented by 2010, which will also include 700 new surveillance cameras at strategic locations nationwide. It is assumed that these surveillance cameras will be equipped with e-plate readers, helping enforcement offices detect drivers who break traffic rules such as red lights and double lines.

The system will be implemented in stages, starting with new cars, followed by those already running on the road. Range is 100 meters. The e-plates have a battery lifespan of 10 years.

Transport Minister Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy reveals more details:

1. Tamper-proof e-plates will be sealed into the body of vehicles.
  2. Will contain information on driver, chassis and engine number, and model.
  3. E-plates are only available at authorised e-plate makers appointed by JPJ.
  4. Enforcement officers will be equipped with hand-held scanners.

The supplier of the e-plate technology has not been decided yet though, the government is still deciding between 13 proposals from various parties. It is hoped that implementation can be done within this year.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aesthari (Member) on Jan 11, 2007 at 9:15 pm

Somebody's gonna get filthy rich over this plan, and add several new Benz models to his garage, maybe a concubine or two too. Very doubtful if this plan will work well, tamper-proof, yea, rite, our resourceful geniuses will find a way to un-tamper-proof it real soon. Then there will be that crap about JPJ officers not having the equipment to read the plate again.

• khimfoh (Member) on Jan 11, 2007 at 10:01 pm

"1. Tamper-proof e-plates will be sealed into the body of vehicles."

I wonder how is the appointed JPJ dealers gonna seal the RFID MyKad-like system e-plate into the body of my car?

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Jan 11, 2007 at 10:15 pm

Wonder what freq or band with they using. My company sells RFID reader and writer.

He he…

• Jay (Member) on Jan 11, 2007 at 10:28 pm

Another hopeless idea ! Tax payers money to drain again ! Can these people come out with something else ? Come on guys we need to have broad mind like the people in HK, Singapore, Usa, Europe, India, Japan ………do these people have such technology there ! I’m not surprise if the can come out with e-human ! something worth investing !

OOOhhhmmyyyy …. i’ve just given up hope with all this new dum ideas ! Just only we had a hike in toll rates now this…what else ? only God knows !

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 11, 2007 at 10:36 pm

In London you don't have to have to use any toll device, the cameras can check the number plate, and the computer can automatically register the number. They should do it in KL for all the people who cut lanes, change lanes without signalling, drive recklessly, drive on emergency lanes, etc.

• kjryth (Member) on Jan 11, 2007 at 10:36 pm

"The supplier of the e-plate technology has not been decided yet though, the government is still deciding between 13 proposals from various parties."

meaning that their duit kopi offering is still not up to the desired level……….

• transformer (Member) on Jan 11, 2007 at 10:42 pm

STUPID IDEA!

this excercise is to drive a demand

create many opportunaties, suppliers(that supplied those Tag, Reader), installer, software makers to upgrade their current software to incorporate this function and law makers too(increase manpower, trainnings & etc.)

they would have more things to do than current…. more buzzzzy!

• transformer (Member) on Jan 11, 2007 at 10:44 pm

Its would be great if it able to catch those mat rempit!

If only they would ever will…….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 11, 2007 at 10:50 pm

horrible way to waste money like so many othr tings , the fact of the matter is , thrs no enforcement of da law itself , wateva tech u introduce , not enough ppl n officers to implement , i say use the money to get rid of those corrupted police and jpj officers…n get a new breed of officers who r clean…

• motorhead (Member) on Jan 11, 2007 at 11:00 pm

Damn, e plate la, e this, e that.. what about enforcement??.. enforcement like sh*t, mau buat macam-macam…itu millions of chips kat penang kargo pun bole hilang.. ada jumpa balik ka??? e plate pun bole curi jugak.. polis mau check all plates ka??? curi punya e plate pun bole pakai juga, kalu saya punya e plate hilang, siapa mau ganti??? gomen ka? indons pun ramai ada mykad curi or klons…

ps: Definitely, another god damn crocodile's project….

• ckengyo (Member) on Jan 11, 2007 at 11:39 pm

NO APPOINTED DEALER OR MONOPOLY ON E PLATE, PLEASE. i think our protest is useless cos g excuses will b: user should pay 4 the state of art tecnology or service. but the question is, we didnt ask 4 the problem.

very time a problem come out, money is the solution. but our problem didnt even solve.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 12:32 am

n wil say , oh,our e-plate is stil the cheapest in the world !

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 12:35 am

IC pun tak pandai fully utilise, now wanna come out with this gizmo. The last thing we need is forcing this new gadgetry onto everybody but JPJ and Polis tak pandai guna. Another MYKAD story repeating itself. JPJ can't even equipt all officers with MYKAD Reader, so don't expect this to be fully compliant by government agencies.

If they just want this system for the sake of identifying number plates, they should implement a number plate recognition system. More cost effective that way. Check out:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CityLink#Tolling_sys…

Anyway, this idea will sure make someone a new rich bugger.

• motorhead (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 12:42 am

our protest is not useless… takpa… tunggu saja GE… now our poklah still dreaming.. still think the people on his side.. still thinks we love him so much.. well, they all make me sick… even Tun oso very sick of him.. i am sick with m'sia politics.. we r victimize on our own land… w r govern by morons….

• Cire (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 1:45 am

E-plate idea is opened for abuse.

Yeah, somebody gonna be filty rich if the scheme gets to kick off fully.

Like the sms thingy on to LPK, all lorries still carries them, but its of no use at all. Half past six ideas that was based on shallow studies, and incompetent

people.

• abe (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 2:00 am

CAPITALIST GOV !!

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 2:05 am

So I guess its the end for individual plate font design. Our liberty is now taken away all for the sake of weeding out the bad guys.

Surveillance cameras are already watching us, our identification are monitored electronically and now, our properties are also being monitored.

Because of the limited privacy, I see a risk of manipulation and error which can affect a person's liberty and safety. Who's to say what the information is going to be used for? Who's watching your every move? And when?

There are no safeguards. At least as far as we know, there isn't any.

• domoteka (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 3:52 am

Samy has his highways, paklah has his penang 2nd bridge, Najib has his khidmat negara, Rafidah got her APs and 30%s,…..

Come on lah obedient and submissive Bolehlah people, Chan Kong Choy also want to earn extra extra millions wor, give the guy a chance to fleece we Malaysians dry lah……

Where is your "Malaysia boleh!!!" spirit? Where is your sense of patriotism??!!

• J (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 4:43 am

Another chance for crony :)

A question to all… if I get a used car (change of ownership), do I need to have the "dumb" plate change to this "smart plate" ?

The best way for us is to continue using old cars until this plate is proven flwless without money wasted.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 6:16 am

who is going to cover the cost of this e-plates? Is it like the metal flakes sprayed under vehicles that contain info?

Also as good as it is, what happens if the car is dirty. No RFID is going to pass thru mud on the car. We still have kampung area's.

Better off gov spent money on GPS and making more maps rather than this. What does this means to cars which are imported by students studying abroad?

• azhargoth (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 4:48 pm

Think it should be implement to newly registerd car..if compulsory to all car ..can't image what is the cost..liking changing my dusun usage car (KE30) to an e-plate?..and soon motorcycles also..

• transformer (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 5:00 pm

just a tool to make someone richer!

and someone else(Malaysian Roaduser) would become poorer!

SO SAD !

and we don't know yet are they able to catch those people who suddenly change lane, those who beat traffic light, jump queue, mat rempit, speeding…. or just implement for "Economic Values", to create "opportunaties" from poor roaduser…

then what about car from Singapore and Thailand entering our country…. does this mean they are invunerable to be traced/tracked….???

• kendo (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 5:16 pm

MONEY POLITIC PLAN!

• ganz (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 6:17 pm

any one dare enough to guest what next to be implement??

lots of E project but none of them succusfull.. E mean Empty the G money and Extend it to those *** people

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 6:56 pm

Government might implement human tagging which requires a micro ID tag embeded into every rakyat. That way police will solve crime and catch suspects easier with easier detection.

Back to the topic of RFID tagging, I came across news like this:
    http://www.mmail.com.my/Current_News/mm/Thursday/…

Our current MYKAD is prone to silly errors such as religion, race and etc. Imagine the same problem with RFID? Who knows a Perodua Kancil can be recorded as a Porsche Cayenne? Then that poor driver will have his ass hauled to balai for suspected stolen number plate.

• azhargoth (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 7:13 pm

Woho..sounds like Minority Report..or The 6th days maybe.??

• Hikaru (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 8:28 pm

I cringed at the thought of having this E-plate system on our cars when our govt. can't even differentiate between what is useful and what is a waste of time.

My kad is a good example when once again our govt e-plans are not all that successful. I think this E-plate system will be bring more problems than solving which it is designed for and adding to the already existing problems. Madness i say, why not think hard and concentrate on improving the current one or use some brain juice to make better roads? I pray deep down in my heart that this doesn't go through at all but it seems like it is going full steam ahead.

Just another way to enrich a few but to cause hardship and problem to the public. I would be damned if they can hold their hands to their hearts and say this is really for the good of Malaysia.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 9:24 pm

BrakeFader, human tagging! Good biz plan by crocs.

All can tag like every main door of the house also need to tag so that ot prevent break in but G lough all the way to tax more!

• ganz (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 10:28 pm

human tagging… kekekeke

* prepare all the paper work..then we to any ministry.. discuss about our proposal.. make it fast.. before others get this idea..

honestly… i think i will happen..

• ganz (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 10:29 pm

human tagging… kekekeke

* prepare all the paper work..then we go to see any minister/ ksu/ DG.. discuss about our proposal.. make it fast.. before others get this idea..make sure to make-up 1000%.. just for fun only

honestly… i think i will happen..

• motberg (Member) on Jan 13, 2007 at 12:42 am

this would never work because e-plate is smart but human crooks even smarter but at the end it all goes to show the incompetence of those at the top. will we be the first country in the world to introduce this? my, my, it's an achievement to celebrate!! will it curb stolen cars? if this works, i will eat my old plates!!!!

• vexus (Member) on Jan 13, 2007 at 9:00 am

i afraid that the bladdy JPJ will charge rm300 -500 for the stupid e-plate to be install on each vehicle.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jan 13, 2007 at 10:43 am

vexus, they order from Made in China e-plate at RM 30 – RM 50 per piece.

• oranglulu (Member) on Jan 17, 2007 at 9:28 am

thats what they said on our new ic and all our credit cards…..still ……