Gumpert Apollo powered by Audi

06gumpertapollo1.jpg

Roland Gumpert was one of the key employees of Audi. He was the motorsports division manager in the 1970s and the 1980s, a good two decades where he led Audi to win 4 Rally World Championship titles. This car, the Gumpert Apollo is a his brainchild, what one might consider the Lotus Elise of the Audi world.

Construction options for the Gumpert Apollo is fairly flexible, you can either opt for a GRP reinforced fiberglass resin, or a full carbon fibre bodywork. The 4.2 litre V8 is lifted from the Audi RS4 and is twin-turbocharged, boosting power from the normally aspirated 450hp to a nice 650hp at 6,800rpm and 809 newton meters of torque at 5,000rpm, a pretty high value as the engine is a high revving one, redlining at over 8,000rpm. This is for the top line model.

A mid-line model will feature a supercharged version with 460hp, while the base line is the standard normally aspirated 4.2 litre V8. Even so, the base line still has good performance stats, with 0-100km/h at 4.1 seconds and a top speed of 290km/h. All variants use a 6-speed sequential gearbox with twin clutches.

The Gumpert Apollo is 167.3 inches in length, 76.0 inches wide and 43.2 inches tall with a 106.8 inch wheelbase. Body drag coefficient is about 0.39 cD, really not very impressive by today’s standards.

06gumpertapollo2.jpg

06gumpertapollo3.jpg

06gumpertapollo4.jpg

06gumpertapollo5.jpg

06gumpertapollo6.jpg

06gumpertapollo7.jpg

06gumpertapollo8.jpg

06gumpertapollo9.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• analyzer (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 10:02 am

shares the same looks as the buggati veyron i feel…and the exhaust silencers that is visible from the rear looks good…

• familyman (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 11:53 am

fugly… said jeremy clarkson

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 3:19 pm

heif!this it a cool car yo!

• Cire (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 4:47 pm

With all those Horses and torques in the car, its only drivable in the track.

I am sure its a nightmare to drive in urban areas.

Anyways, great engine tune-up.

• aesthari (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 5:12 pm

Exterior styling's very good, can't say the same about the interior too. And that's a pretty long shifter there too, maybe to shorten the hand's travel distance from the steering to shifter, but looks it could come off anytime :p

• shooter (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 6:18 pm

all those vents and gaping holes arent for show guys, and i bet they didnt design it to be pretty in the first place, its (almost) pure function, all go and no show…….

• Hikaru (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 6:46 pm

Seems like they tidied up the exterior and interior since i last saw it. No beauty and not leading in terms of technology. But highly interesting because it is produced by a small company. I wish for their success.

• motorhead (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 7:13 pm

typical custom car…. poor CD for a sport car.. 0.39??, very badlah even for a sedan cars… nampak saja hebat…. for u guys info, vios CD is 0.30… even the new MIRA cuore's CD is 0.31(new kancil rep)… so u guys thinklah…

• mattyboy (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 8:21 pm

Motorhead – poor CD?!?!

WTF – when you are driving in excess of 300kmph I think you might be in favour of this little thing called 'downforce' which will stop you from taking off – now this downforce stuff needs spoilers to produce it which are going to increase your drag co-efficient. I really would hope that it's CD is higher than a Vios which will create a postive lift, great for fuel economy while goinf 110 on the highway, deadly at 300 on a track!

• motorhead (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 9:20 pm

mattyboy,

WTF, the fact is, it's CD IS truly poor!!.. like it or not…., furthermore we don't know much about it's downforce at high speed.. u know kah?.. so, WTF?..

the problem with custom cars, they didn't go through outstanding research b4 production.. must be budget factor… but suka2 mau beli bole punya….& great effort la for car industry… but sure no big impact to market.. mcm gigit nyamuk saja….

ps; WTF… (since u like to use that word….)

• mattyboy (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 10:15 pm

Motorhead – yes we do know about its downforce, pretty much what the car has always been about from it's design inception – I quote:

“It has always been a dream of mine to have a car that has so much downforce, such aerodynamic efficiency that you could drive on the roof of a tunnel at high speed – and this car can.” (Roland Gumpert)

• khimfoh (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 10:15 pm

Hmmm..Gumpert Apollo….the name sounds like one of those characters from Sesame Street

• protonGL (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 12:32 am

good CD- targeted lowering drag for fuel efficiency,

CD sometime disrupted or sacrifised for the sake of downforce,

-like f1 wing setup, good corner grip -slower straight line, and

good straight line, less grippy corner, –depend on track,

-for normal small engined car, having overdoing wings and spoiler do not make the car faster, stable well ..ok,

anyway this thing is hard core, the styling could be civilised for audi supercar maybe,

• albagmane (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 2:02 am

f1 feeling car…

• umarss (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 6:12 am

looks fab fr outside! cant say the same for the interior though.looks like a sports car fr mid 80s

anyway, hats off!

nice research mattboy.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 6:31 am

Is it from UK? utter rubbish…..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 6:35 am

Well, mattboy's correct. Lower CD means higher top speed, higher downforce means lower top speed. Downforce and coefficient drags are tradeoffs….

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 8:08 am

i think its better just to use ferrari's method…the f430

keep the sleek look without any rear wings

• protonGL (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 9:26 am

well i think the non heavily winged ferrari f430 or even ENZO use a radical diffuser, as the car moves fast, the air releases out from under tray leaving the diffuser creating low air pressure hence suck the rear to the ground,

-this will as well causing drag, but take only fraction of its high engine power to over come this drag as stability and traction is essential,

but when it comes to ferrari FXX still this ENZO need some wings (race track capable car), wing design is more effictive for downforce.

-saw diffuser too on that appolo,- well i do agree topgun the design is simply too spartan, to be beautiful and civilised,

• tanasi (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 6:23 pm

does it make sense to compare the CD of this car to that of Vios? Please — exercise some thinking.

• MrScuderria (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 7:32 pm

wow wud be an understatement!!!…….but i doubt its comfy and meant for road use…….most def not for our ever great Malaysian roads wih the wide array of pot-holes, man-holes and tarmac cracks………..

• neurra (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 8:33 pm

ROFL.. compare this one to vios? u think they can't make it lower than vios? sweats.. if you want the Cd to be so low, u want the car to go airborne zit? fyi, in F1, the Cd value is very high.. the lower the Cd- low drag, high speed, less grip, higher fuel efficiency.. and vice versa.. think before you talk =)

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 10:34 pm

Just to put things into perspective, the Lotus Cadena Exige MY06, the sports version of the standard exige, being raced in the GT3 series in UK has a Cd value of atleast 0.4. In 2006, this car won outright the GT3 series beating the likes of Aston Martins and Ascaris (they race in the same class due to the same power to weight ratios).

http://www.lotussportcadena.com/news.asp

The higher Cd is due to the downforce required for the handling of the car. Remember, in racing, fuel efficiency is last on their list. In fact, a lower Cd value is ideal not to save fuel, but to be able to accelerate faster!

• J (Member) on Feb 10, 2007 at 1:55 am

Why is the gear stick so long ! LOL….

• motorhead (Member) on Feb 10, 2007 at 5:09 pm

mattyboy,

i don't know u quote from where, u didn't mention.. but if it true, i accept it. no poblem…

• mattyboy (Member) on Feb 10, 2007 at 8:15 pm

Motorhead

That is from their website – quote from the designer

• ingolstadt (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 6:19 am

Speed junkie, lower cd value doesn't help much at accelleration.