Australian Toyota Hilux TRD Concept

hilux_trd_1.jpg

Unlike our local 2.5 litre turbocharged non-intercooled Hilux, the Australian Toyota Hilux comes in three variants – a 2.7 litre VVT-i (found in our petrol Fortuner), a 4.0 litre V6 VVT-i as well as a 3.0 litre intercooled turbodiesel. The 4.0 litre V6 is good for 235 horsepower and 343Nm of torque between 2,400rpm to 4,800rpm. To quality for this concept truck to have the TRD badge on it, what Toyota has done is fit a supercharger to the V6. Official power output has not been disclosed, but expect something in excess of the 320 horsepower range.

The bodykit has TRD all over it, with the letters TRD embossed above the front grille. The front bumper has some very nicely done foglamp inserts, and looks perfect for showcasing a shiny intercooler in the central air intake.

hilux_trd_2.jpg

hilux_trd_3.jpg

hilux_trd_4.jpg

hilux_trd_5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 3:17 am

WWWUUUHHHAAAH…!!! (Typical Dayak ceremonial tune..) Proud 2 be the 1st to jolt down something…This is a very catchy one for me…being in S'wak,(plus our "excellent" type of riding style)…I'm a fan of this particular class of vehicle…

Wonder if this ever gets here…If this one comes here…I'm sure there a others who share my views..

So…UMW….do something…and make them AFFORDABLE…!!!!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 5:12 am

I a bit doubtful about UMW… As what i found out it is control by Malays… And Malays are Goverment… And also high power, CC cars are hard to sell to Malaysia… Even turbo Vios cant see it selling in Malaysia .. What i can tell, Naza are more likely to sell those AP cars..

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 7:21 am

Very nice looking kit, and with a supercharger on, this truck sure has power to back it's looks.

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 7:42 am

gosh… its nice to be an australian huh? i really hope can get this v6 pick up truck which will shock all the v6 accord drivers…

• Celicazz (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 8:53 am

whether it is UMW or not, sarawak will get any toyota they want…

u guys never look at toyota kluger, toyota wish and toyota mark x before…

also, u guys in peninsula never seen any suzuki ignis or many more cheap and fun japanese makes…

in sarawak, there's plenty of rx8, celica, and skylines… proton is just another cheap makes there…

sorry to say, but, extreme toyotas will make their way to sarawak…

dont believe me? get a ticket, stay for a day or two, rent a car and counts…

• J (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 4:23 pm

Hilux is a high target for people to steal it in KL. How about other places in Msia ? Most owners report stolen not longer than 6 months of ownership. Scary ! (in a way, it means how good Hilux is… :))

Excellent Hilux ! Hopefully UMW provide a 3.0 option for us :)

• Din (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 6:59 pm

I'm already in Seventh Heaven after seeing this already good looking pick-up looking even more bad-ass!

Please come to our shores!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 7:40 pm

I know Sabah and Sarawak have a lot of rich ppl over there. I have seen Evo's, Skyline, Merc, Subaru, and lot more.. All of them mostly are from Naza. You can ask them to show you the kastam form and see who imported it. My cousin staying in Sabah drive a Lexus land cruiser V8 over there, also AP. Because he own a oil palm plantation, he need a 4X4 car with luxury to drive to those terrain. UMW also got AP, but they are limited. Only the rich and famous like Datuk and Sultan can get it importing new Lexus, Toyota or Daihatsu from Japan, USA or Thailand. If you rich you can do anything in this boleh land… $$$.

Mostly extreme cars over there are tune and modified locally using half cuts from Japan.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 11:47 pm

triton looks beter in std form , how abt a ralliart triton??!

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 05, 2007 at 2:20 am

Like the frontgrille, but overall, seems like missing something..

Sarawak.. my home state.. sports or some luxurious cars here are more often re-conditioned from Japan.. At least at my home town where Ty Wish and other MPVs and Land Cruiser King are splatered all over the roads… Maybe in other town in Sarawak like Miri and Kuching, it has more sports cars models available.. whether its new or not, I don't really know. like LittleFire85 said, extreme cars here are from half-cuts.. yeah.. part of them… Anyway, Toyota can sell very well here other than local automakers. Other imports, Can't fight Toyota here. Tonnes of Hilux running around in a small town.. fuh…

• acbc (Member) on Mar 05, 2007 at 5:31 am

Damn cool looking… very fierce too. But, roadtax alone will be RM 2.3k because it is calculated by CC whereby in AU, it goes by vehicle weight.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 05, 2007 at 6:33 am

AS 4 ME I LIKE TO TINKER WITH THE BACK A LITTLE BIT MORE DONT YA ALL THINK?? THE BACK LOOKS A BIT PLANE…

• engtaokia (Member) on Mar 05, 2007 at 8:33 pm

swak got alot 4wd vehicles becoz the roadtax is lower compare to west msia rite?

• transformer (Member) on Mar 05, 2007 at 9:19 pm

IMHO.

its a great move to renew/rejuvenate its midlife crisis…..

as fierce competition from newer trucks from Ford, Mitsubishi and etc.

not impressive though!

bring in the tundra instead!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 5:06 am

I think the old toyota Hilux which was blown in Top Gear is more durable than this. This is just my gut feeling.

• Tanpanama (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 7:02 pm

This Hilux sure look good…but, for offroad driving…I'm not that sure…try driving in logging road and you get what i mean..you get stuck in the mud with that type of tyres…Power is impressive…Australians normally installs bullbars in their 4WD.(for safety)..,but this trd versions without the bullbars…Then again, this hilux vigo model is doesn't meant for offroad driving..Compares withe the older versions (SR), this model lack durability..For example, the front suspension use coil springs instead of torsion bars which mean more comfortable rides but less durable than torsion bars..By the way, I'm from Sarawak, where Hilux is popular especially for offroad driving….

• Can anyone tell me where i can purchase the TRD front bumper

• would like o buy this TRD bumper, need info

• COOL!

• Yawar Aminuddin on Oct 04, 2009 at 3:14 am

It's a kickass machine I'm sure. I own a Toyota Surf [4 Runner] 4.0 V6/ '06. Love the power! Hauls ass! Very good off road as well. Taken it to 13,000 feet up in the mountains [drove for 6 hrs in Low4!], screwed some older Mitsub. Evo's in the desert as well … totally love it!

• i would like to make an order for the front pumper am really sure what u call it but thing between the lights dose anyone know from where i can get it or order it

• saeid on Apr 13, 2011 at 12:47 pm

very good hilux

• i likeee hilux trd 4.0….when hilux trd coming in malaysian..?