Fifth Gear McLaren F1 vs Enzo Ferrari

yellowmclarenf1.jpg

Tiff Needell of Fifth Gear puts two supercar engineering marvels to the test – while they’re amazing on the track, how does it perform on real roads? What about maintenance costs? Let’s find out what it really takes to own a supercar like the F1 or the Enzo. Video after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• khimfoh (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 10:43 pm

I liked Tiff Needles said at the end "You're still the baby" whilst tapping on the steering wheel of the Mclaren F1 roadcar.

• Charger (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:34 pm

McLaren F1 can chew Veyron without engine tuning as well. Just need to tweak the body panels a bit. Believe it or not?

A technology aged >10 years!

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:47 pm

yeah! super fast cars! i wonder when will thy upgade this mclaren f1.change the styling and other things.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:53 pm

Top Gear should have Tiff Needle, someone who really knows how to drive one, with the correct snobbish british accent, the better looks (think Clarkson) and most of all, he's a true race car driver. TG would be best with those 3 clowns + a real automotive journalist like Tiff and to top it off, there could always be a showdown between Tiff and Stig.

• mattyboy (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:03 am

Ingolstadt – Tiff did used to present Top Gear back when it was good, the presenter line up ws Clarkson, Tiff and Quentin Wilson (who is even more snobbish than Tiff).

McLaren F1 is still the supercar I would own if money was no object, only ever seen 1 on the roads in the UK, driven by Rowan Atkinson (thats Mr Bean!!) in Guildford, the sound was stunning!

If I remember correctly this LM spec F1 is actually slightly down on power over the standard road car due to the air intake size that is limited for Le Mans classes but the overall weight loss leads to a jump in power/weight ratio, plus it has shorter gear ratios for better acceleration – someone feel free to correct me if I'm wrong about that :)

• I my (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:50 am

What??!! Mr. Bean hv 1 of this "baby"….. where is the Mini heheh….. shoudl see his face when his is driving it…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:56 am

Well done, Tiff!

McLaren F1 and Enzo are both supercars, expensive and fast.

I like both!!

:-)

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 1:06 am

I my, Mr Bean has a LOT of Aston Martins and TWO Mclaren F1, which he bought the 2nd one after he crashed the first one, he's dam rich and have very good taste, ain't he? As for how many AM he hv, I dun remember lor, go wiki to find out, me too lazy atm, lol.

ingolstadt, Tiff is still writing for Top Gear mag if I'm nt mistaken, well, not sure actually, cuz that's what wiki wrote, so…….may nt be true anymore, lol. Get a copy of Top Gear Msia and find out if he's in the mag or not ;) You sure hv a great idea there, then he'll need extravagant intro too: Some say that he is actually The Stig's brother, and some say that he can be more snobbish than Jeremy Clarkson. All we know is, he's called Tiff Needell!!

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 1:17 am

To me McLaren F1 is the all time favourite car.

Nice design and is a great car at that time and even now.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 6:01 am

those are two awesome monsters…

all of us can just sigh cos we can never own them in this lifetime…

i've read a couple of tiff's articles in autocar… perhaps he's writing for them too now?

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 6:43 am

i do appreciate supercar,

but my standard is a hothatch.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 7:22 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8SAx9uvTj0

badly understeer midengine supercar,

• Ricc (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 7:29 am

Superb car.. and yeah.. Mr Bean has McLaren F1 and crashed it.. :p I tot he killed in that accident.. But hell.. now onli I realized he survived (when Mr Bean's Holiday came out).. :D

Anyway, I'd park 3 cars in my car porch..

i) a McLaren F1 (no doubt)

ii) Lamborghini Gallargo Superleggera (super cool)

iii) Ferrari F50 (I dun like the Enzo's design though. :D)

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:19 pm

listen… to the ignition sound………………….. music to ears…………

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 7:55 pm

Haha, nice vid, Tiff Needell's a good presenter, as well as the lady with good driving skills from Fith Gear, but no one can beat the Top Gear trio when it comes to humor and goofiness.

I remember Jeremy Clarkson doing a similar test in a McLaren F1, that was better, because he actually drove around town at slow speeds, behind slower cars, and in stop and go traffic; in other words, real everyday driving conditions. Tiff's just running on the open road with no obstacles, so I guess it wouldn't be too difficult even for race cars, let alone road cars.

• wmblade (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 9:08 pm

Jeremy also did a drag race between McLaren F1 & Nissan Skyline.

Pointless race =p