Ford Malaysia’s Ford Ranger Matchbox

This advertisement for the Ford Ranger back in 2006 was developed by JW Thompson’s Malaysian team for Ford Malaysia. It’s basically a matchbox with matchsticks in them (what else did you expect?) to promote the Ford Ranger Extreme’s extendable cargo bed. It’s really quite clever – it looks like the little Ranger is carrying the matches in the box if viewed from the proper angle.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 4:26 pm

Nice ad!!!

• ab (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 4:44 pm

Does it work like those 'Awas muatan panjang' lorries we see on the roads?

• jazz1011 (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 7:52 pm

A simple ad – but one that really attracts attention.

The creativity of advertising never ceases in the heads of the Creative Directors.

Cheers!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 11:30 pm

Ford Ranger = the best pickup truck in Malaysia!!!!!

but I think most u won't agree with me……

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 11:30 pm

Very clever and well-executed idea.

• nmh (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 11:45 pm

true2 it the best pickup…i mean real pickup. If uses Hilux or Triton…"alamak sayangnye takut calar". If uses Ranger….."lets rock"

• KoNa (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:04 am

Haha, my studio shot this picture and i produced it. It was shortlisted as a finalist for Best Media Ad at last Years Kancil Awards.

• Paul Tan on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:14 am

kona: excellent work!

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:36 am

Great job Kona. BTW, what happens if you open it the other way :P you have the ford crashing into other ppl's tailgate?

• transformer (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 6:53 am

simple yet classy!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 5:34 pm

Cool! Something small and simple but yet points out a big message.

• Mohammad Ismail (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 12:41 am

I like Ford Ranger so much….Power truck it's in your hand…Can U imagine POWER of Ford Ranger. So POWER right?? I already try this pickup/truck in Long Pasia Road in SABAH…. I tell U, this truck like a Monster…POWER.

I'm attracted to see the NEW FORD RANGER, hiii so Beautiful