Hyundai’s new model naming scheme

Hyundai i30

As you’ve known, Hyundai has changed it’s naming scheme. Rather than using pretentious un-Korean names like Velacruz and Santa Fe, it has decided to adopt an alphanumeric naming scheme, ala BMW and Mercedes. All Hyundai cars will have an i prefix, a numeric segment identifier, and an alphabetical suffix to denote it’s body type. Hyundai chose i because of it’s association with technology products, as well as the association with the word inspire. As for the numbers:

i10 = A segment
i20 = B segment
i30 = C segment
i40 = D segment
i50 = E segment

If the car is a station wagon, it will receive suffixes like CW, which Hyundai says stands for Cross-Wagon. A Cross-Wagon is of course nothing more than a fancy name for a stationwagon. An example would be the Hyundai i30 CW stationwagon. A Hyundai i40 or i50 is also coming up soon, to be based on the Hyundai Concept Genesis V8 rear wheel driven sedan.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NiceCar (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 3:41 pm

Once a car manufacturing company undergoes developement to certain level, is good to having a standart naming scheme for its cars.

The consumer also easily to know the car type once read the car name, like Merz C, E, S, CLK, CL, ML, GL and etc..

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 4:29 pm

Good for consumer

Having a standardize name sure make it easier

• seancheaw (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 5:08 pm

Haha, but the rest of the world still will notice it is a Hyundai no matter what kind of silly naming standard they are applying.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 5:56 pm

Nice going, it does help in identifying car types and makes the car line-up more formal haha.

• jazz1011 (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 8:05 pm

Pretty good idea.

Makes its cars more "noticeable". And takes out the painstaking process of thinking of names to identify their range of cars.

Cheers!

• japankiller (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 8:22 pm

what about proton saga, iswara, satria, wira, perdana, then bla bla bla or may be proton hang tuah…

• armandd (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 9:11 pm

the next step should be having distinctive styling for their product line-up, just like volvo, bmw or merc, so that people will know it's a hyundai at the first glance.

• NiceCar (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 9:23 pm

seancheaw said,

April 16, 2007 @ 9:08 am

Haha, but the rest of the world still will notice it is a Hyundai no matter what kind of silly naming standard they are applying.

huh? what wrong are u? what wrong for the ppl notice is a Hyundai car?

• azrai (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 10:18 pm

Ada apa pada nama.

• drM (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 10:55 pm

u can call a horse – the four leg with bushy tail and nick backside which you can ride during horse riding competition.

u also can all a pig – a hyundai with reddish skin, made in Korea with cheap plastic.

opss.. sorry.

• alternation (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 11:45 pm

The side profile looks so much like BMW 1 series.

• nmh (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 11:49 pm

the design looks bangle

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:39 am

well its easier to pronounce, then will not be on the bad end of the cool wall caused its call the "savvy" LOL

• seancheaw (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 11:14 pm

seancheaw said,

—————————————————————-coz i think korean cars are rubbish, they are adoptin a name scheme based on bmw, i don like it, and its freedom of speech.so wat?

• NiceCar (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 4:04 pm

seancheaw said,

April 17, 2007 @ 3:14 pm

seancheaw said,

—————————————————————-coz i think korean cars are rubbish, they are adoptin a name scheme based on bmw, i don like it, and its freedom of speech.so wat?

————————————————————

so what? so so lah.. sure one have the freedom of speech and im not meant to offense..

I tot u have some poor experience on korean car to share..

since u only "THINK" that korean cars are rubbish, the go ahead to think so lah!!!

• dinobros (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 2:28 am

#

NiceCar said,

April 19, 2007 @ 8:04 am

seancheaw said,

April 17, 2007 @ 3:14 pm

seancheaw said,

————————————————————

so what? so so lah.. sure one have the freedom of speech and im not meant to offense..

I tot u have some poor experience on korean car to share..

since u only “THINK” that korean cars are rubbish, the go ahead to think so lah!!!

——————————————————————————

actually if u compared hyundai to proton. i remember in the 80s hyundai cars are on par with proton like the old excel and the saga. but the new sonata compared to perdana? the gen 2 compared to verna? i think its not so rubbish after all. of course we are not comparing hyundai to bmw or even honda. they know where they stand and they are MOVING to their goals. whereas some other company has lots of talks and seem like still henta kaki