Around the lap in a Lamborghini Murcielago LP640

Lamborghini LP640

The Lamborghini Murcielago LP640 is a track monster sporting a 6.5 litre V12 that like it’s namesake has 640 horsepower at 8,000rpm, and 660Nm of torque at 6,000rpm. All that power is put through all four wheels using an all-wheel drive system and a 6-speed manual gearbox, with an optional 6-speed e-gear automatic gearbox. Check out this recording of someone getting a taxi ride around the track in an LP640 belonging to Valentino Balboni, Lamborghini’s chief test driver.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 9:29 am

WOW! Someone actually brought a Countach to the track!!! I'd love to see that one run hahah. Track footage didn't show much, but Valentino Balboni sure is friendly and nice. Dang, if his job isn't the best in the world, I don't know what is hehehe.

• armandd (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 11:27 am

haha, love the funny arabic accent..

• azrai (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 9:32 pm

It's at Bahrain Circuit. Sure the hitchhiker is Arab Millonaire Sheikh. Fu yoh..

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 10:05 pm

countach is awful! u have to open ur door stick one hand on the steering wheel n ur head facing the back cos cannot see back clearly.valentino is awesome!.he is the king of Lambo of course after giugero lamborghini……the founder.

• happymeal (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 4:40 am

how to save this file into my pc ah?? keepvid can or not?

• happymeal (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 4:44 am

actually.. i dont think its a track monster…. far from it… stuff like radical SR3, caterham 7 and lotus 2-eleven …those are real track monsters.

still an amazingly fast road car … :) glorious 12 cylinder orchestra.

• avanza (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 7:26 am

You can hear that he wasn't really pushing it. Would have love to see a REAL race on the Murcielago.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 4:52 am

Gallardo better….

• ferruccio (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 10:46 pm

Ah.. my favourite Lambo currently. Just to add to kei9's comments, Countach, Diablo and Murcielago ALL require the driver to 'stick their head & torso' out the door frame to reverse the car. Some rare variants like the Diablo GT did come fitted with reverse cams though. Also the founders name was… ahem… FERRUCCIO Lamborghini :)

• ferruccio (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 10:59 pm

The LP640. My current fav Lambo. Just to add to kei9's comments, ALL the post-modern mid-engined V12 Lambos(Countach, Diablo, Murcielago) require the driver to 'stick out' his head and torso out the door frame to effectively reverse the car. Though rare variants like the Diablo GT did come fitted with rear view cams. Also the founder's name was.. ahem.. FERRUCCIO Lamborghini :)

• gtmaniac (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 11:38 pm

That is a one BIG exhaust tailpipe..

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:43 am

oh thanks 4 ur info, hehehe sorry bout the name….i forgot.=)

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 13, 2009 at 7:47 am

u wont c taxi drivers driving lambos at sepang ..

sort of ..

• ferruccio on Mar 13, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Not without a meter :)