FAW Haima H12 Electric Vehicle

Haima H12

This is the First Automobile Works Haima H12 EV, an electric vehicle that looks suspiciously like the Mazda3 Sedan. It was shown at the 2007 Shanghai Auto Show, but no specs can be found anywhere on the net, typical of Chinese manufacturers. The Haima H12 is supposedly built on an older generation Mazda 323 platform, which should probably explain it’s resemblance to the current generation Mazda 3.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton.com (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 6:20 pm

typical china cars. quality worst than P1 i think.

• sooaun (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 6:48 pm

maybe the specs are in chinese…

• indigo (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 7:07 pm

It is a Mazda 323, FAW joint-ventures with Mazda. Dubbed as Familia ("Fu Mei Lai") in Chinese local market.

• aswad (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 7:11 pm

Worst like other chinese product….

n also 'ciplak' another country product n design………..

poor china……….

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 7:17 pm

China stuff, copycat cars, low quality, period. But still, an electric vehicle, you don't see Proton or Perodua having a go at that yet, do you? Quality might be low, but at the rate they are going, it won't be long before China overtakes us in terms of car technology.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 7:58 pm

FYI, Lotus now is developing Hybrid Gen2, so that's quite a move from Proton-Lotus. Proton built the Campro, Lotus complete the other half, lol.

Perodua? ugh….you can nvr expect ANYTHING from them, if ever you need to know what they're up to, just look at what Daihatsu is doin, n that'll be exactly what Perodua WILL do eventually.

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 8:49 pm

whats the big deal about an electric car? Its already proven for many years now that they're actually "more polluting" than regular cars.. not by their emissions but by the problems relating to used battery disposal, as well as the extra pollutants being emitted by the power stations to charge these cars.

• aswad (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 10:08 pm

seriusly,never expected that china can built this kind of car…what u will see here is wat u will NOT get…same like other china product…

cheap with low quality…

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 10:22 pm

i wonder hows the hybrid gen2 functions with the toyoua prius……….

• mad_guy (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 10:24 pm

y china always copy ppl's work??? y never do it themself???

• renyeo (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 11:39 pm

Good luck with the Chinese who wants to be the first with cleantech. But if they flopped, this will create a negative perception of fuel cell and electric propulsion systems in the marketplace. Better trust the Honda and GM to lead the way … :)

• iosis (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 11:55 pm

as a reply to tokmoh's post. at least perodua is in a positive direction, not milking tax payers' money and producing cars which are decent in quality and reasonable in price. proton has spend billions of gov's money & wat crap hav they come out wif? their so called "campro" & "handling by lotus"??? honestly msia doesn't need a national car maker. who suffers in d end? consumers like u & me, tokmoh… msian pride? think again…

• indigo (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 11:58 pm

I understand that there are a lot of so-called copycat cars around but do you guys know that license is needed to produce cars from other manufacturer?

Well Paul, maybe you should share something like platform sharing and rebadging in the car industry. I know there are some copycat issues like Chery QQ/Chevy Spark. In reality, Proton licensed cars from Mitsubihi and Citroen while Perodua actually invested on Passo/Myvi/Boon development. Those are not copycats, those are rebadged or reengineered cars. Please think rationally before starts to comment on it. FAW actually manufactures Mazda, VW and Toyota cars in China.

• kody (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 12:09 am

wahlaueh…

not bad from China. In near future ~10years time, i believe China will overcome their quality problems as they evolve fast. As we compare time to time on growing for China car company & P1, i bet in 25yrs time, China car manufacturer will become top quality & cheap car not like our P1. P1 just sucking our nation money… News stated G is giving away 50millions to help P1 to establish their vendors & networks…. link only in chinese..
    http://www.guangming.com.my/content.phtml?sec=193…

What a stupid move from our G. Just dumping money into the drain. P1 will not be able to pay back G on this money… G is wasting our money again…

• kody (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 12:11 am

recap.

The G is just GIVING the money to P1… not on loans…

• kody (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 12:13 am

sorry to recap more… a bit out of topics.

The money sure will go to someone pockets again… When P1 failed… the reasons will be stiff competitions from others car brand…

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 1:54 am

kody said,

April 24, 2007 @ 4:11 pm

The G is just GIVING the money to P1… not on loans…

—————————————————

and whr the money come frm? tax payer, rakyat of msia.

those who think china product ar low in quality..pls lar..ipod, nike, sonyericson and etc international brand place their main factory there.

think bck the oldtime when ppl said japan products ar not good in quality..

wat happened nowsday?

time change, life change, they learned, they changed and they progress..no protection policy and many excuses frm them.

India & china ar already the rapid growth nation in Asian nowsday.

Msia & some other ASEAN countries already lost their place in competition wiv them.

No doubt tat their car industry will bcome stronger in yrs to come.

• Creashion (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 2:27 am

Chinese made not necessarily being bad quality, their rocket was launched and they're chinese made too, when do you think we can launch our own rocket?

• jonjwlee (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 2:45 am

Not a single blog post escapes without having someone comment about Proton. Guys, grow up.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 3:58 am

Who knows its just a VVTI engine which is greener:P

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 4:20 am

iosis said,

April 24, 2007 @ 3:55 pm

as a reply to tokmoh’s post. at least perodua is in a positive direction, not milking tax payers’ money and producing cars which are decent in quality and reasonable in price. proton has spend billions of gov’s money & wat crap hav they come out wif? their so called “campro” & “handling by lotus”??? honestly msia doesn’t need a national car maker. who suffers in d end? consumers like u & me, tokmoh… msian pride? think again…

————————————————–

lol, perhaps I shud've said I dun exactly support any of them. As hondadriver hv said, hybrids are actually more polluting to the Earth than a Hummer, so I actually think Proton-Lotus' efforts are a waste n stupid. Well, mayb it can be more fuel efficient, bt if Campro's rly suposed to be sporty, wtf are they thinking makin a hybrid out of it? Just in case aesthari dunno that, I just only tell him what those 2 local boys are doing exactly.

I've sort of lost hope now that Proton will definitely nt be in the hands VW bcuz of *cough* political *cough* reasons. Bt I dun like Perodua either despite they are as what u describe, Perodua is nothing bt a money factory producing 'tasteless' cars, it's like eating just plain white rice wit no curry or anything to compliment it's taste. In the end, perhaps as u hv described, Msia needs no car manufacturer.

And I wonder just why in the hell are Msians still wanna vote those faggots who did all this to them………

• transformer (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 7:18 am

hope it makes it way to the consumer…

glad to see more green car on road…

but still prefer diesel to go green….

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 3:16 am

Well the source of energy they charge into their cars have 2 ways, 1 is from their home electric, and one is from the fuel station. I have done some research what hondadriver claim, actually Honda that invent the hybrid electric car IS 90% Using recyclable material! And the power source they use in recharging the car battery from their company and recommended stations is from solar and wind power! The only thing pollution maybe is from the battery material. but if compare to the pollution that emitted daily by your car, i think is worst then the battery, coz of global warming. You can check this website http://world.honda.com/news/1998/c980303.html

Now in US they are reducing charcoal burning, changing it to corn biofuel to burn. Their G know it have to reduce pollution, and change to renewable electric source.

Do you think that these company don't know what their customers want? Usually these people who use these green cars are people who concern about environment! If they found out that this car pollute more after used, do you think they will purchase it? The car company fame will be sued or made worst by those environmentalist.

And if you say that Chinese car may not be so good, i admit it will light way to match Honda hybrid. If they can made one and sell, why not? They have the guts to sell it to the world and met their strict emission level, compare to P1 that have already in our market near 25 years, they improve like snail path, while other people are already flying..

Ya a lot of people throw away the converter for more performance, but increase in fuel consumption is also true. Do you know the converter is not only emission control, they also prevent unburnt fuel from wasting. If your car is manual, i understand. But if your car is auto, it will be hard to accelerate coz the torque will drop; thanks to its free flow.

• transformer (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:04 am

IMHO, diesel would be cleaner than those batteries…. there are so many type of rechargable cells…. there are Lead-acid battery, Gel battery, Lithium ion battery, Lithium ion polymer battery, NaS battery, Nickel-iron battery, Nickel metal hydride battery, Nickel-cadmium battery, Nickel-zinc battery, Molten salt battery, Silver Zinc battery & many more…. (source: wikipedia)

why i prefer diesel are because :-

1) are these substance bio-degradable naturally ?

2) when there are electricity, there are radiation, would your health affected ?

(we already had a battery in hood(normal fuel engine), Car Audio and our mobile phones….maybe more and now add the motor and high voltage/amp batteries/cells )

after there are positive comment from a study(from a recognised body) of these electric car, say 10years study on user health…. then only i might buy one! (IMHO)